Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bank House Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Bank House Farm
Hulme End
Nr Hartington
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 0EX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01298 84441

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 10m   5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Easter To End Sep/oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
              8/10 from 114 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (10)

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 7 to 12                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kittyboochris 4 reviews from this member

Stayed on the meadow field August bank holiday weekend. Lovely site, friendly and welcoming wardens and we really appreciated the fact they don't take the opportunity to cram as many people in as they could on bank holidays (there was certainly the demand).

There was plenty of room in the meadow field and it was really refreshing to have the freedom to pitch where we wanted and for it not to be overcrowded. It was also nice and peaceful, no loud campers and it's great to be able to have a camp fire.

The main site (where the facilities are) has marked pitches which looked rather small and appeared cramped - I wouldn't want to stay there, despite the ease of access to the facilities.

Minor inconvenience was that the facilities were a 5 minute walk away from the meadow field (but we were aware of that in advance).

The only slightly concerning discovery I made on a 2am trip to the facilities was that they locked the gates to the field (with a bike lock) at night. We were locked in. I had to climb over the gate (fine for me as I'm fit an able) but I would be concerned in the event of an emergency, if someone needed to leave suddenly, or an ambulance needed access.

Otherwise, no complaints and I would return.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Philandlol 15 reviews from this member

There are many things to like about this site; the friendly wardens, the superb location, the overall tidiness and The Manifold Inn at the end of the driveway.

We were the only touring van staying amongst 40 or so tents and that's a first for us ! I think the site is definitely more suited to camping than caravanning. My advice is that you ring prior to find out your pitch number, because once past it, turning space is very limited. Thank you to the warden who helped us out doing this !.

Alot of the pitches, particularly those backing onto the river are quite small and really this would be my only gripe.

Showers and toilets are fine if a little dated (new shower though block which is good).

Its a superb site for families with children, the river is very shallow ideal for kids to mess about in.

The Manifold Inn offers excellent real ale and good food. Lovely area for walking and site seeing. 10/10 for campers 8/10 for caravanners.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ellioteleanor 3 reviews from this member

I stayed here with 4 adults and 2 children for 4 nights in the meadow field. On arrival, we parked in the 'booking in' bay before being told where to pitch. We received a warm welcome by the wardens.

There are two main areas to this campsite which are separated by a busy road so that is worth bearing in mind if you have small children. The tents with EHU are positioned next to the reception on this side of the site. In my opinion, they are too close to each other but they are positioned right next to the stream which makes it a nice setting otherwise.

All facilities were also located on this side of the here (e. G. Fridge/ freezer, toilets and showers). The showers were hot, clean and free. The only facilities in the meadow field were one water tap and bins. This did made it a bit awkward when it came to the loos as the children in our party were only 2 and 5 years old. However, the stream was lovely and the kids enjoyed playing in the large open field, as well as the toasted marshmallows on our campfire (fires permitted as long as they are off the ground).

We had lunch in the pub which was tasty if a bit pricey and we also used the very quaint Hulme End shop (separate business) whose owners were very friendly.

We enjoyed a walk along the Manifold Way and this site is also handy for visits to Ashbourne and Dove Dale.

A nice campsite but I am not sure I would return as I found the prices quite steep for the facilities available to campers in the meadow field. 18 per night for 2 adults in a tent with a car, 5 extra for children aged 5+.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ovcubberley 6 reviews from this member

We've just returned from our second visit to Bank House Farm. How lovely to see that, what was a lovely spot 5 years ago has only improved with time.

We were booked into the Meadow Field (the smaller of the two fields). It is over the road from the main site which means a short walk along the road to the toilets and other facilities. If you have young children it does mean you have to watch them on the road.

Facilities themselves were clean. Can't comment on the showers as we didn't use them. Looked reasonable though and were free. The wash basin area in the ladies was a bit cramped, but well kept.

Two good sized washing up stations and a couple of fridge freezers. The site also allows fires and provides fire bowls and kindling at a small cost. I noticed the staff also take the time to check on fire safety around the site.

The highlights for us:

The river. In the meadow field, the river was shallow enough that all the kids on the site could play safely (and get very wet). If you camp in the right spot, you can supervise them. Our 8 year old had a great time making new friends.

The pub: Don't be put off by the closeness of the pub to the site. It was a lovely place. Not rowdy. Food was outstanding (Manifold Inn). Lovely field at the front where kids played. Just be warned of the temptation to stop off on the way back from the loos.

The shop: Well stocked, open early and no more than a five minute walk from the main site. Just a short hop over the wall from the meadow field.

The Manifold Way:

Starts in Hulme End. About 200 yards from the site. Amazing tea shop at the start of the route (biggest selection of home baked cakes I've ever seen). Beautiful valley with a family friendly cycle route and a number of circular walks along it. Don't miss Thor's Cave.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Snoopysmum 20 reviews from this member

What a super site!

Wayne, Alexa (and the princess with chicken pox!) made us very welcome!

We were concerned about pitching on very wet ground so Wayne let us use the wardens hard standing. He was constantly checking that everything was neat and tidy. People have commented that there is only a small shower/ toilet block but a new one has been constructed. These were spotlessly clean, the showers were hot and no annoying push buttons!

The site is in a beautiful spot, right next to the Manifold river, there is a small shop in the village 5 minutes walk away and the Manifold Inn is just across the road from the site. We ate there a few times and the welcome was friendly and the food very good!

There is a huge field at the back of the site where you can exercise your dog, Wayne has even mown a path round it!

Nearby there are wonderful walks, the Manifold trail starts in the village, Hartington is 2 miles away where you can walk in Wolfcotedale - absolutely beautiful! Dovedale and Milldale are a short drive or you could walk there.

We had a lovely relaxing 6 nights here, were very lucky with the weather and will probably return soon!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: R0450111 3 reviews from this member

Fab little gem of a camp site. We pitched in the meadow field and found a gorgeous spot. Nice and level but very sheltered from the wind. Only facilities in the field are bins and a water tap! We used a chemical loo for our stay and we were fine course not everyone has one! Site looks spotless and very well maintained. Owner was brill, gave us lots of local information and a choice of which field to pitch in. We will be returning next year to continue exploring the area. You do get some traffic noise and some airplanes going over head but it isn't often. All campers were quiet by 10 pm, and it was fab to lie in bed and listen to the river babbling away! Perfect site for those of us who wish to relax and watch the world go by, or have a wander round some fabulous countryside.

Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 7 to 12      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6810 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938