Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 241 Reviews
              9/10 from 241 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  241 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheHarrisFamily 1 review from this member

Fantastic camp site! Plot was perfect. Shower and toilet block was the cleanest we have ever experienced. Clair and Mike made us feel very welcome.

The shop is very reasonably priced. Newspapers, milk, food, everything all at normal shop prices. Wetsuit hire is cheaper than anywhere you'll find and Mike threw in body-boards for free!

Best beach in Cornwall for surfing, rock pools, sunbathing etc.

Great family feel to the place. Lovely village with traditional pub over the road.

We can't recommend it highly enough. We're going back next year.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tony scott 2 reviews from this member

First time we had been camping for more than a few days. Many would say we weren't proper campers as we are a family of four with a 16 berth tent with every accessory you can think of. However, we decided to visit Gwithian Farm for three weeks following reading reviews on this site the previous year.

We weren't disappointed. This site is very well run by the owners Mike and Clair. Our tent is obviously very large however it fitted on the 10m sq pitch comfortably. I have read the previous reviews on this site from visitors this year and there is nothing to disagree with. Almost all have positive reviews.

If I had to make a criticism it would be the amount of young kids on bikes hurtling along as you head towards the toilet block. It is a family site and I have no problems with kids on bikes but the message needs to get across to the parents to be vigilant with their own.

This campsite is highly recommended. Finally, I was disappointed there were no Mr. Gwithian Farm beauty contests as I am sure I would have won!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JudyS 4 reviews from this member

This campsite is well placed to enjoy the best of southwest Cornwall. However, it was spoilt for us (Mum, Dad, 8 year old daughter)due to the presence of very large groups of young, single and mixed sex groups. Not at all what we were expecting. The new toilet block could be fantastic but as it not divided by solid walls all the way up the noise nuisance from the "boys" room was quite bad and some language extremely choice. Not enough sanitary bins in the "girls", really needs one per toilet cubicle then no unpleasant surprises will be left for us to find! The family shower room is a nice idea but would benefit from some kind of dry area to stand and dress and some kind of key system that only allows families with children to use it (couples seemed to frequent it and on one occasion some dim couple thought it would make an ideal dog wash). The showers also slowed to a trickle and seemed inadequate to cope at busy periods. The noise nuisance and state of the toilet blocks (despite the best efforts of overworked owners who could perhaps do to hire some help at peak season) and the fact that it was not strictly a family orientated site means that we will be unlikely to stay there again. I would like to add that the majority of bad language and noise nuisance came from English youths whilst the foreign visitors whilst a little noisy at times certainly had more respect for the rules. Perhaps if this site was patrolled at key times and rules enforced we might have enjoyed it more. I would further like to point out that we stayed on site for 3 weeks and therefore did not form our opinion on a whim.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clbewi 10 reviews from this member

Arrived at lunchtime and was welcomed by Mike and Claire (we have a large twin axle van and the entrance was a bit narrow, and caused a bit of chaos as there was nowhere to pullover while we went and booked in)who then gave us a plan of the site with our plot number marked, and showed us how to get to beach and said to ask if we wanted to know anything.

The plots I felt were a bit small, as next door was right on the border of their plot and felt we were right on top of them. The site itself seemed to be to capacity, and they only had one chemical point which was quite a trek.

There were plenty of toilets/showers which were kept very clean.
Someone before said the site was sheltered but I disagree, we arrived and the wind was howling and struggled with us and 3 kids trying to get the awning up (well I bet we gave some people a laugh!). The plot was on quite a slope too.

The beach is absolutey glorious and only a short walk from site, but is quite a hike back to site as it's all uphill.

Unfortunately we left after only 3 days as the weather was horrendous, wind rain and quite cold, and sons bedding got soaked after a night of torrential rain and gales, and they reckoned it was in for the rest of the week.

We enjoyed a day out at Flambards (used Tesco clubcard vouchers), St Ives, but I would recommend Lands End to be avoided like the plague, as it has been over commercialised and sadly spoilt.

I would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dizzy068 4 reviews from this member

This is THE BEST campsite that we have ever stayed on. The site is well laid out with very generous pitches, the facilities are absolutely second to none. The shower block was always clean and well stocked not to mention well designed so all your clothes stay dry while showering. The hot water for showering and washing up is plentiful and there is a usefull wetsuit wash. The location is great and the owners are really friendly. The site was full when we stayed but never felt crowded it had a lovely laid back feel and the sensible campsite rules were well enforced ensuring everyone stayed chilled!

Its a great setting too, walking distance from the fabulous beaches and close enough to good local shops not to have to bulk buy. The site also hires wetsuits and bodyboards. I don't think that there is much more they could do to improve it - except perhaps gag the local crows!

Without doubt we will be back, probably for years to come.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dudkat72 1 review from this member

Just come back from a 1 weeks stay at Gwithian Farm and its quite simply the best campsite we have stayed on in 10 years. We have 2 young children and found the family bathroom and shower room excellent. All of the facilities were clean all of the time and you can tell the owners take alot of pride in the site.

Pub across the road was also very good but like everyone else has said you need to book in advance. Lidl just down the road came in very useful for the drinks and tin food etc. The chip shop came onto site on Sunday and the pizza guy came on Wednesday but you need to get to the front of the the pizza cue otherwise you'll have a long wait.

The owners were both very helpful and even opened up the shop when I forgot to get milk the night before, its all of the above and the little touches that make this site the best we've ever stayed on and will make us want to book again, ideal site for families and couples alike.

One very small criticism was the amount of pushbikes on site , we were there peak season and there were loads and it makes going to the toilet in the evening a bit hazardous due to none of them had lights on

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Michael.dent1 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from our first visit to Cornwall.The owners are friendly and helpful,the pitches are a good size. The toilets, free showers, family showers, laundry room are all located in a new building and are as good as any campsite facilities I have used. There is a small shop on site where you can buy milk, bread, pop etc and the campsite also provide free freezers where you can freeze your ice blocks. Over the road there is a small pub but you can only take kids in if you are having a meal so you have to sit over the road in the beer garden. There is a nice beach which is a short walk away or there's plenty of others if you travel by car (try Carbis Bay about 7 miles away). Over all its a good clean campsite to stay.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Magicatty 2 reviews from this member

This was our first camping trip, and the site was extremely well cared for, The owners Claire and Mike were very busy, in fact, I can't remember them ever standing still for even a second.

Their induction at the start of the holiday was clear and we were given a map, with details of a walk down to Gwithian beach, which came in very handy. Even though the site became very busy, it wasn't overwhelming.

The facilities were clean and well kept, and the noise levels after eleven at night were tolerable.

The site is slightly sloped, there are not many even pitches, which if your in a caravan will not matter, however being in a tent made it slightly uncomfortable for sleeping, there is a bottom field near the facilities that is level, so ask for these pitches before you book, and you will love this site.

The only downside I had was the amount of dogs on the site, which even though, Mike and Claire strictly state they must be tethered at all times, and not exercised on the site, it was basically ignored and I had to clean up twice right outside our tent, from dogs being let out on a morning from irresponsible owners. Not nice for my children.

The beach is only a ten minute walk away and the walk is very pleasant, The sand is lovely and clean the view of Godrevy Island just lovely, all in all, we really enjoyed it and would come again, but definitely in a caravan the next time.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hornie dawnie 2 reviews from this member

This site is fantastic if you want clubs and entertainment don't bother with this site if you want a clean and well run site with friendly owners that's close to the beach and got great walks nearby then this is the site for you. We went on the first two weeks of the summer hols when it was busy and still it wasn't overcrowded we are definitely going back next year

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claire83 1 review from this member

This was the first time I had ever been camping and I have to admit I was a bit nervous, I'm so glad that we picked this place, it was so beautiful. Me and my boyfriend had a fantastic time, the site was really well planned out and the facilities were all spotless. Would defiantly recommend this place for all ages, and families. The walk to the beach was ok, one of the fields was a bit over grown so wasn't good that I was wearins shorts and filp flops, would recommend jeans and trainers! just so you don't get stung or scratched to bits!

The cream teas were out of this world, and reasonabley priced, and St Ives is only a few minutes drive and has a large number of places to eat, although there is a Lidl down the road that sells cheap camping food! Already can't wait to go back there!

Previous     241 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4810 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0957