Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 245 Reviews
              9/10 from 245 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  245 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saints13 7 reviews from this member

Visited the week of August bank holiday for 6 nights. Site was full and although initially we thought that we would be on top of each other we were given a corner plot with plenty of space around it - although some of the inner plots did look rather on top of each other. Although busy the site was laid back. It was extremely clean and well laid out. The toilet facilities were great. The family bathroom and shower room where amazing. One go and the lot of us where showered - well thought out by the owners. I think that there is one thing missing at this site and that is a proper children's play area. A few climbing frames and a swing would make all the difference. The beach at Hayle is spot on. About 10 minutes walk from the site through the farmers fields and your there. A must if you visit this site is to have a cream tea at the owners cottage. They are fab. Don't think much of the pub that previous people have been on about - it is very small and the menu is not exactly varied. Would recommend this site to families and we will definitely be back again one day.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campasarow 4 reviews from this member

Stayed the middle two weeks of August.

Weather was generally OK but like a lot of the UK, August turned out to be a bit of disappointment given the July we had.

We arrived on Monday 14th to lovely sunshine but quite a bit of breeze which as ever made putting the Frame Tent up a little bit tricky.

Difficult to say if it is generally a well sheltered site but due to the very windy August we had this year our feeling was that it was a wee bit susceptible to the elements.

Whilst the pitches were fairly generous the field was slightly sloping which meant positioning the tent some way from the rear boundary of our pitch to make sure that the living area at least was as level as we could get it.

I'm not sure about the overall layout of the main part of the site with the play area in the middle. I think the overall effect is one of giving the site a slightly overcrowded feel. Unless you have a perimeter pitch (reserved for EHU) you feel surrounded by other tents.

When you look at the photos of how the site was in as recent as 2004 (posted in the freezer room), you realise that Mike and Claire have spent a lot of dosh upgrading the site.

The reception area was good with an adequate shop for all your basics plus very reasonable wet suit and body board hire (5 a day). Within the reception block is the room with freezers for your ice packs plus the usual tourist leaflets.

I have to say that the freezer system DOES NOT WORK! Two freezers to split ice packs alphabetically on surname, and a third freezer with Gwithian ice packs you can borrow whilst yours are freezing; except they hardly do! At worst we had two ice packs that after 2 days still hadn't frozen proerly. The problem is the constant opening of the freezers and people chucking ice packs about in an attempt to find their own. I belive a controlled system where you hand over ice packs in the morning and collect the following day would probably work better.

Super new toilet block. Much has been said about this in other reviews but needless to say it is good and kept pretty clean. Only had to queue once for a shower and then for only 2 or 3 minutes tops.

Ample washing up sinks but no designated clothes washing/rinsing sink which is a definite negative.

Two washing machines and 2 tumble driers and an iron!

A family shower room, a family bathroom plus a disabled shower room with baby bath and baby changing shelf.

Pretty good recycling facilites (card, paper, cans and bottles) but no plastic recycling yet.

The weekly Pizza van visit (Wednesdays 7.00 to 9.00 p.m.) is most welcome (the pizza base is obviously home made and very good). Alas no curry van anymore. Turned out to be so successful that they have now opened a restaurant instead. The alternative is a fish and chip van that comes on Sundays. However we didn't use this so can't comment on quality.

They have a curfew regarding noise but it is not strictly enforced. The 9.30 p.m. Limit on games in the play area was more like 10.30 p.m. The 10.30 p.m. Guide on noise that could disturb other campers was also not strictly enforced; however people were generally considerate with total quiet from no later than midnight (on one occasion my wife had to get up at 11.45 and go the family group - all adults- next to us and ask them to pipe down as they were talking and laughing at the tops of their voices.

You have to drive at 5 mph around the site, not least because you have so many young children riding around on their bikes (some of them very dangerously) and Mike and Claire enforce this with, at times, curt messages written up on the whiteboard outside reception ("if you can't drive at 5 mph then pack your bags and leave").

The local beaches were excellent and the short drive to Godrevy Point was well worth it. Two evenings we took our BBQ there and watched the sun set.

We are seasoned visitors to Cornwall so have visited many of the attractions (near and far) many times before. For those who are newbies this is a well paced site to do the whole Penwith area (Penzance, Marazion, St Ives St Agnes) and slightly further afield (Newquay, Falmouth and Truro).

So, would we return? Possibly. This the sixth site we have used in Cornwall since 2000 (Beacon Farm; Mother Iveys Bay; Trelowarren; Kelynack and Treago being the others). It's up there but not the best. If they could sort out the ice pack system, instal a discrete clothes washing sink/s and possibly consider relocating the play area then it would definitely be a highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: John campa dl 4 reviews from this member

2nd year we have camped here and just as good as the first time. Yes there were a lot of bikes and two accidents resulted in strict controls being put in place, also dog owners were warned about mess and this may result in a ban on both dogs and bikes. Still a busy site and I noticed that there are now 139 pitches not the 130 as on the website and they can be a bit small, noise levels were good and there is a ban on cars after 11.00 which was ignored a few times. Mike will remove anyone who causes trouble and is only to happy to help anyone.
i would recommend this site to anyone. Simply the best I have stayed on.
Red River Inn not as good as last year so we only went in once, try the Bucket of Blood look for signs in Hayle limited menu but good beer. Avoid the Curry leaf indian in Hayle small portions and very expensive (90.00 for 4).

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Surfandcamp 1 review from this member

Had a fantastic time at Mike and Claires campsite. The campsite was well taken care of and very clean. In the grounds there is an outdoor cafe that does an awesome cream tea The beach is a short walk away and is out of this world - 3 miles of golden sand to stretch out on. Also had some excellent surfing lessons at the Gwithian Academy of Surfing. We've already booked for next year!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheHarrisFamily 1 review from this member

Fantastic camp site! Plot was perfect. Shower and toilet block was the cleanest we have ever experienced. Clair and Mike made us feel very welcome.

The shop is very reasonably priced. Newspapers, milk, food, everything all at normal shop prices. Wetsuit hire is cheaper than anywhere you'll find and Mike threw in body-boards for free!

Best beach in Cornwall for surfing, rock pools, sunbathing etc.

Great family feel to the place. Lovely village with traditional pub over the road.

We can't recommend it highly enough. We're going back next year.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tony scott 2 reviews from this member

First time we had been camping for more than a few days. Many would say we weren't proper campers as we are a family of four with a 16 berth tent with every accessory you can think of. However, we decided to visit Gwithian Farm for three weeks following reading reviews on this site the previous year.

We weren't disappointed. This site is very well run by the owners Mike and Clair. Our tent is obviously very large however it fitted on the 10m sq pitch comfortably. I have read the previous reviews on this site from visitors this year and there is nothing to disagree with. Almost all have positive reviews.

If I had to make a criticism it would be the amount of young kids on bikes hurtling along as you head towards the toilet block. It is a family site and I have no problems with kids on bikes but the message needs to get across to the parents to be vigilant with their own.

This campsite is highly recommended. Finally, I was disappointed there were no Mr. Gwithian Farm beauty contests as I am sure I would have won!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JudyS 4 reviews from this member

This campsite is well placed to enjoy the best of southwest Cornwall. However, it was spoilt for us (Mum, Dad, 8 year old daughter)due to the presence of very large groups of young, single and mixed sex groups. Not at all what we were expecting. The new toilet block could be fantastic but as it not divided by solid walls all the way up the noise nuisance from the "boys" room was quite bad and some language extremely choice. Not enough sanitary bins in the "girls", really needs one per toilet cubicle then no unpleasant surprises will be left for us to find! The family shower room is a nice idea but would benefit from some kind of dry area to stand and dress and some kind of key system that only allows families with children to use it (couples seemed to frequent it and on one occasion some dim couple thought it would make an ideal dog wash). The showers also slowed to a trickle and seemed inadequate to cope at busy periods. The noise nuisance and state of the toilet blocks (despite the best efforts of overworked owners who could perhaps do to hire some help at peak season) and the fact that it was not strictly a family orientated site means that we will be unlikely to stay there again. I would like to add that the majority of bad language and noise nuisance came from English youths whilst the foreign visitors whilst a little noisy at times certainly had more respect for the rules. Perhaps if this site was patrolled at key times and rules enforced we might have enjoyed it more. I would further like to point out that we stayed on site for 3 weeks and therefore did not form our opinion on a whim.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clbewi 10 reviews from this member

Arrived at lunchtime and was welcomed by Mike and Claire (we have a large twin axle van and the entrance was a bit narrow, and caused a bit of chaos as there was nowhere to pullover while we went and booked in)who then gave us a plan of the site with our plot number marked, and showed us how to get to beach and said to ask if we wanted to know anything.

The plots I felt were a bit small, as next door was right on the border of their plot and felt we were right on top of them. The site itself seemed to be to capacity, and they only had one chemical point which was quite a trek.

There were plenty of toilets/showers which were kept very clean.
Someone before said the site was sheltered but I disagree, we arrived and the wind was howling and struggled with us and 3 kids trying to get the awning up (well I bet we gave some people a laugh!). The plot was on quite a slope too.

The beach is absolutey glorious and only a short walk from site, but is quite a hike back to site as it's all uphill.

Unfortunately we left after only 3 days as the weather was horrendous, wind rain and quite cold, and sons bedding got soaked after a night of torrential rain and gales, and they reckoned it was in for the rest of the week.

We enjoyed a day out at Flambards (used Tesco clubcard vouchers), St Ives, but I would recommend Lands End to be avoided like the plague, as it has been over commercialised and sadly spoilt.

I would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dizzy068 4 reviews from this member

This is THE BEST campsite that we have ever stayed on. The site is well laid out with very generous pitches, the facilities are absolutely second to none. The shower block was always clean and well stocked not to mention well designed so all your clothes stay dry while showering. The hot water for showering and washing up is plentiful and there is a usefull wetsuit wash. The location is great and the owners are really friendly. The site was full when we stayed but never felt crowded it had a lovely laid back feel and the sensible campsite rules were well enforced ensuring everyone stayed chilled!

Its a great setting too, walking distance from the fabulous beaches and close enough to good local shops not to have to bulk buy. The site also hires wetsuits and bodyboards. I don't think that there is much more they could do to improve it - except perhaps gag the local crows!

Without doubt we will be back, probably for years to come.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dudkat72 1 review from this member

Just come back from a 1 weeks stay at Gwithian Farm and its quite simply the best campsite we have stayed on in 10 years. We have 2 young children and found the family bathroom and shower room excellent. All of the facilities were clean all of the time and you can tell the owners take alot of pride in the site.

Pub across the road was also very good but like everyone else has said you need to book in advance. Lidl just down the road came in very useful for the drinks and tin food etc. The chip shop came onto site on Sunday and the pizza guy came on Wednesday but you need to get to the front of the the pizza cue otherwise you'll have a long wait.

The owners were both very helpful and even opened up the shop when I forgot to get milk the night before, its all of the above and the little touches that make this site the best we've ever stayed on and will make us want to book again, ideal site for families and couples alike.

One very small criticism was the amount of pushbikes on site , we were there peak season and there were loads and it makes going to the toilet in the evening a bit hazardous due to none of them had lights on

Previous     245 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a HandiRack and HandiHoldall Combo Pack Win an OLPRO Abberley XL 4 Berth Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6824 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1445