Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 209 Reviews
              8/10 from 209 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  209 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Reviewer: Little*star 1 review from this member

May 2004
We have come here for years, since 1997!
The facilities are good, but could do with a good old tidy up. There are showers, but (in the ladies at any rate) you have to pay. Anyway, you go, flush the loo, business done. It's got lovely access to Morcambe Bay which does involve a short muddy walk- I ruined a pair of beige combats there!
This used to be one of the best kept secrets in the UK camping world (when it was a working farm), but, in our eyes, it is now a lot noisier than before. On our last visit, there was even a disco, which proved a shock to us! Anyhow, they weren't hugely noisy after 1AM.
If you're a drinker, the Silverdale Hotel may be of interest to you. We meet friends there and always spend a few hours there. There is very little car parking but I wouldn't recommend driving while under the influence!
Make sure you bring torches as there are no street lights - just adds to the feel of the countryside! Speaking of countrysides, there is a very prominent smell of cow dung around the entrance. Nervous stomachs beware!
It is a few miles to the town centre of Silverdale and only a couple to the beach.
This is a favourite site, which we'll be visiting for years to come!

Reviewer: Pg111 4 reviews from this member

August 2004
Visited this site on yet another social night organised. Loads dressed up in 70's gear, it had been advertised on site but I hadn't seen it as we would of done fancy dress. Brill night sat round fire. Following weekend they were doing Olympics for the adults and kids. but we couldnt make it as bank hol. What a fabulous place overlooking a bay with added extras of organised events by on site wardens. Well worth a visit, you will be hooked - I am.

Reviewer: Strong Arms 2 reviews from this member

July 2004
We have been camping for 20 years plus!and this is an absolutely brilliant campsite. It is the most relaxing holiday we have had in a very long time. The ideal place to unwind. (We did not want to leave!) There is plenty of open space for the children, safe and secure, and fabulous views over the bay.

100% credit to the wardens. They are very well organised and make everyone feel welcome.

Everyone on the campsite was very friendly. We were also there for the line dancing night, which was great fun. We also joined in the games night and won the Strong Arm competition!! much to our son's delight.

A campsite right in the heart of a working farm.

The only problem is that we live too far away from this site to visit more often. BUT, we promise we will be back.

Reviewer: Martin13 1 review from this member

August 2004
went here with 5 blokes and 8 children (aged from 4 - 10.
The friday night was terrible with noise until 3-30 in the morning, but 1st thing the next morning the steward sent those responsible packing!
The saturday night was '70's disco night and was fantastic, all the kids loved it!
The steward is great and sorts out anything, I can't speak highly enough of him.
Kids have lots to do all day and night, rocks, trees, walks and bats swooping down on you at night.
The cost for 6 in a tent and 2 cars - 7 pounds per night!!
Highly recommended!

Reviewer: hinto 1 review from this member

July 2004
I have been using this site for six years and it gets more popular every time i visit. Ladies toilets have now been improved and I believe the Gents will be next. It`s a great place to get away from everthing and unwind. The kids love it with plenty of space to run around and rope swings hanging from many of the trees. The warden is very helpful and has improved the site from how it used to be. The local village is a short stroll and has two pubs, but on our last visit one was boarded up. Just try the site once and sit and take in the view across the bay. And on a clear night I suggest a couple of bottles of wine and some good friends and sit under the stars.

Reviewer: pg111 4 reviews from this member

July 29 2004
Have just returned from this site again and what an unexpected treat. Stewards had organised a Barn dance on the field for campers, complete with bales of hay. Brilliant night - my kids are still talking about it. Site full, yet toilets and showers remain very clean. Cannot recommend this site enough. Well worth a visit, even more so if stewards havea social night planned.

Reviewer: barry71 1 review from this member

July 2004
We( my wife 3 kids and I) go to this site at least 9 times a year. Nothing there to spend money on which is great. How often is it you can go away for a few days and never hear the kids say i want or i need. Toilet blocks are not Hilton standard but they are clean. There is a friendly steward who where possible will help. Breath taking views over Morecambe bay. Where better to have a bbq and a few pints. Well worth a visit.

Reviewer: kendal123 3 reviews from this member

30/08/2004
Just come back from a 2 night stay at Gibraltar Farm at 7 per night for family of 5 it was cheap. The ladies washroom was very clean.(only 2 showers). The mens were not as well loooked after, even my 6 year old son would not use them. The site is lovely for the kids. They can run around and explore the woods. They have Bingo on a friday night and a line dance on saturday (which was a little noisy).
After the hoe down the noise did not stop.The warden did try to quiet things down.However it did not stop until 3am!!! not funny when you have kids. All in all a cheap site and loads of exploring for the kids.

Reviewer: AmandaB 1 review from this member

23 - 25 July 2004
We visted this site due to reading the reviews on here and had not plan to go anywhere for weekend so as it was close to home we thought we would give it a try. We found it brilliant (and it rained most of the time). We have a two boys, one 3 & one 13. Like everybody else has said Steward was a genuine helpful person and site was just what we were looking for, having only just begun camping last year and having been to some stuffy sites. The atmosphere was totally relaxed not pompus you did not feel that you had to go to bed at 10 o'clock to get up for the serious walks like the lakes but it still offered great walks and fantastic views. For anybody who likes a laugh and enjoys camping like it used to be I would definately recomend here. Something for everybody but nothing but rope swings.

Reviewer: ring_leader_uk 1 review from this member

July 2004
This is a brilliant campsite, five minutes walk from the seafront, and right next to the wolfhouse gallery. I stayed with some friends for three nights and thoroughtly enjoyed every minute of it. The camping field is relatively flat and the ground is firm but not too hard to peg tents down. There are extensive areas of woodland on the site which make the site a very beautiful place. The toilets, showers and sinks are quite close to the camping fied, howeve this may have been a problem for people camped at the far side of the field as the toilets would have been quite a walk, for getting water etc... I was camped fairly near to the facilities so it didn't bother me. The only thing I would say is that when we were there, the mens shower wasn't working. There are 3 womens showers but only one mens, which means that at busy times, there can be queues for the facilities...

Previous     209 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2572 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1050
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window