Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
              8/10 from 211 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Reviewer: Raindog68 3 reviews from this member

July 2005
Beautiful site-we stayed only for one night and do not know much about the flooding but the people are extremely friendly and the facilities are superb. There has been a lot said about the bar going either way-to my mind this is indisputable: it is the most beautifully ambient campsite bar in England. My lot and almost everybody else in the place threatened to squat when they had to shut up shop at the end of the night. Very friendly staff, a family friendly attitude and beautiful walks and views make this one of the nicest sites that I've stayed at. And to think we nearly went to the sub-Butlins job just past Pooley Bridge.

Reviewer: Julie99 1 review from this member

June 2005
We had a great time but would agree the drainage is still a problem. There was very high winds on the day we arrived, leading to us having to sleep in the car, kids thought it was good fun, few drinks at the cosy bar helped us adults.
Putting the trailler tent up on gravel hard pitch although we booked grass, we found this extremmely difficult and bent many pegs. But after only one night of rain pegs were then lifting easily which gave us alot of concern after winds we had had earlier on in the holiday. Also felt it was a bit pricey (27) a night, with the queues for washing up facilities. Overall though had a good time and is a good position to explore north side of lakes missing the crowds of Windemere etc.

Reviewer: Kkaye 1 review from this member

May 2005
This is a lovely site. We spent 3 days here and enjoyed every minute. The pitches overlooking the play area were great and the play area itself proved very popular with our kids. The bar is a must....very rustic, full of fasinating bits n bobs. The staff were friendly and helpful. Toilets and showers hot and clean.
If you fancy some good pub grub try out the kings arms near Reghed.....the food was to die for and very reasonably priced.

Date of Visit: April 2005
Reviewer: Karen J 26 reviews from this member

Been to this site twice now (as a grown up) and must've forgotten how expensive- 23 quid a night for two adults, tent, car and dog- we thought this was extortionate! Never paid this much before and were inconsolable after paying! The bar on site is handy on those colder evenings later / earlier in the season but I went here as a child (20 years ago) and nothing's changed- could do with a re think perhaps?? The pitch we stayed on was filled with small stones - not comfy. The toliet blaock gets very condensed after showers and the facilities are not adequate- just four showers for quite a big site. Shop is well stocked. Not particularly quiet- loads of families here. Walks are gorgeous from here and it's a good location for sure.
Don't believe the hype though- site is just fine overall but in no way outstanding

Reviewer: CamperPete 5 reviews from this member

March 2005
Well I chose this site on the back of these reviews but can't really agree with them all. Maybe Easter Bank Hols was the wrong time of year?

Quiet Site?, no way, the peace and quiet was only enforced by my wife at 11:30pm when she shouted at people to shut up (or words to that effect!!!).

Even though some of the tent pitches are on a slope they were waterlogged, the car got stuck three times which made a mess of the field and my car.

The level tent piches are covered in small stones (not good for the groundsheets) and twigs from the overhanging trees (take a sweepng brush to brush these out of the way before pitching).

The on-site Bar smelled horribly of a really dank musty odour, not sure if it was the damp or the stuffed animals, the animal skins and the animal heads that littered the walls and alcoves.

Heating in the bar was a single log fire and if you weren't one of the lucky ones to get a seat near the fire the you'd probably freeze in the corners or in the balconies (which incidentely, the lights of which kept going off every few minutes)

To be fair, the site was keep clean, the toilets and showers were ok and the site staff extremely helpful and friendly.

Maybe it's me and I was just expecting more based on the previous reviews.

Reviewer: Mart b 4 reviews from this member

March 2005
Just visited this site for 5 days. Views from the site lovely. Unfortunately we had quite a bit of rain and the drainage is totally inadequate. Like previous reviewers, woke up to find new lakes - INSIDE the tent! Duck boards for the tent are supplied so they must be fully aware of the drainage problem, and also have notices up to ask for a tow out of the mud. Electric hook-up pitches for tents were at the top of the site and involved a hike to the toilets and shower blocks (6 kids in the party yet positioned well away from the toilets and play area). Toilets are kept clean but can become very dirty later in the day due to the amount of mud on site. Not somewhere to go if you like to stay clean as we ended up ruining clothes and towels coping with the muddy floods. Can become very slippy and boggy underfoot after rainfall.
Most of the staff were very pleasant and helpful, but did appear pulled in many directions. Personally would not visit again, unless the drainage could be sorted, which would make it a lovely site to camp at.

Reviewer: Scotchmist1977 1 review from this member

May 2004
Once again, had a wonderful time at this very friendly and accomodating site. Previously visited in September 2003, and was pleased to be remembered and welcomed by the camp wardens on our return. The site is well kept and picturesque, and the small shop provides everything you are likely to have forgotten. Major plus has to be the quaint little bar, which is a great place to meet old and new friends alike.

Reviewer: Andyl 5 reviews from this member

August 2004
Just returned from a great time camping at the Quiet Site but just a few points to make anyone else that stays there just a bit more comfy.
We had torrential rain for two days and the drainage could not cope and I woke up in a puddle (sewn in bedrooms, not good). All the ground sheets we had would not stop the water coming up through, we went to the local B&Q for a damp proof membrane in the end.
Water related problem again, the mud was ankle deep and the site supplied duck boards (really) and spread hardcore in front of the tent when we were out. So walking boots were ok but welly's would have been better.
Anyone considering Gazebo's should strengthen the guy ropes. We saw two destroyed by the extra strong winds that howl around the hills.
On a personal note, it was way too crowded and the four showers and toilets could not cope and neither could the hot water.
I appreciate that the weather was particularly nasty and the people on the site made a lot of effort to help the situation. When we return to the Lakes we will be trying somewhere else.

p.s. some good reviews here.

Reviewer: Kendal123 3 reviews from this member

August 2004
Just come back from a 3 night stay at the quiet site. Staff very friendly and helpful. The shop is small but stocks the basics. The toilets and showers are clean however if you are camping at the top of the field dont leave it until the last minute!!
Some of the pitches are on a slight slope.
The childrens play area looked great. In a field of its own. We didn't get use out of it as the weather was bad and the fields were like a quogmire.

Reviewer: carl smith 1 review from this member

16 july-19july 2004
I have one thing to say fantastic site,
clean toilets and showers very safe for kids. and what a fantastic bar, we will be going back very soon.

Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Abberley 2 Lightweight Touring Tent Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough - 22nd to 23rd April
Car crushing Monster Trucks plus much more fun for all the family ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1675 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.2681