Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 5m  1m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 200 Reviews
              9/10 from 200 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  200 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M38ark 1 review from this member

This was our first try at camping as a family and we were delighted with the campsite. Very quiet and relaxed campsite with very clean facilities. Very glad the fisherground was packed as we might have not found this place at all. The kids loved it and cant wait to go back.

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsW67 2 reviews from this member

Just returned after a mixture of torrential rain and brilliant sunshine. Peaceful, level site divided into two fields with loads of space for each tent. The owners prefer (or even insist?) on bookings which means that family groups and walkers are encouraged - the site was very quiet at night. The facilities (which aren't far from any part of the site) are kept very clean and have free, hot showers. 50p tokens are needed for hot water for washing dishes at a sink that is housed in a large indoor washing and laundry room that also contains information and leaflets about local shops and attractions. Boot is a few minutes walk away, as is Dalegarth Station for the L'al Ratty Railway which is a must. The kids had a brilliant time at the site playing on the swings tucked under the trees next to the tent and running around the large grassed area. Apparently the wet weather had caused some cancelled bookings but the (friendly) owners don't allow the site to become crowded so I'm sure there would always be plenty of space for the kids to play. We'll definitely go back again.

Reviewer: Chrisfh 5 reviews from this member

July 2004
Loved this campsite. We were looking for somewhere quiet, with level pitches in the Lakes and Hollins Farm was perfect. Beautiful setting. Good free shower/toilet block which was kept very clean. Wash-up area with free hot water too.

Good walking from the site, on a quiet road so we also went out cycling along the valley.

We approached from Hard Knot pass - not advisable with anything bigger than a car! However, once we were into Eskdale we were there for the duration and it was so peaceful.

Rained at least once every day we were there - including heavy rain on arrival until the following morning. So, our first trip in the new tent put it to the test (and my ability to cook in the rain). When we left we drove south through Hawskhead and there was brilliant sunshine. When we commented on this we were told 'it always rains in Eskdale', but it was worth it.

Reviewer: Alex N 1 review from this member

June 2004
Very quiet family site, run by very a friendly and helpful family. I have known and have been going back and forth for nearly 13 years, often several times a year.

The site has changed over the years, all 13 of them, and so have my children. My oldest lad is 21 this year, but would still love to join me and his little brother this year. It is still a favorite with a 15 and a 21 year old, as it has so much to offer for all ages. From the La'al Ratty for the very young, (and those who feel young at heart) to Real Ale beer festivals, for the older people amongst us.

Just along the road (20mins) is Muncaster hall, the headquarters of The World Owl Trust. Owls from all around the world are available to see, but the idea is to breed, and then release the offspring back into the wild in their own countries. A fascinating display and talk is given each day (depending on weather) on the front lawn of the castle. Well worth a visit, and for that special treat to a special person, you could adopt an owl of their choice for them.

If you're going there for the walking then you will just have to pick up your maps and see for yourself just how handy this place is, but you will get a good nights sleep to rest those weary legs by staying here.

The local pubs are fantastic, food is excellent, and all in a few strides from the campsite. Avoid from 9th June for the weekend if you have young children as the local beer festival is on, recommended if you don't have young children and you enjoy real ale.

All in all, this is a wonderful place, with wonderful owners, wonderful scenery, wonderful access,wonderful walks, wonderful holidays, you just have to get off that lazy butt to enjoy it. A car in the day time is of good use.

Reviewer: John Dush 2 reviews from this member

July 2004
Basic facilites mean this site is quiet & include just the washroom block - nice & clean.

Good site, rowdies discouraged, nice scenery.

The pitches are good. We liked it a lot. "Get away from it all" kind of place. Ideal for the considerate walker or family not needing all the usual on-site paraphernalia

Reviewer: writerbloke 2 reviews from this member

28-31 May 2004
To us Hollins seemed a clean, well-managed site, ideally suited to families who like peace and quiet in rugged countryside. Eskdale itself has lovely walks and, if you want to get away from it all, is worth the long haul (study the road map and make sure you get accurate directions for the last part of the journey over Ulpha). The post office in Eskdale Green sells more than just basics (top olives!) and you can get chilled wine from the Esso garage at Holmrook. The local minature railway is quite expensive (20 for 2 adults 2 kids). We thought this money would have been better spent at the nearby Muncaster Castle, which has amazing gardens and an Owl Sanctuary.

Reviewer: Kevo 2 reviews from this member

Regularly
Best camp site in the Lake District. Good pitches on well kept turf. Facilities are basic but good - from this year the showers will be free. Farm dogs are all friendly and just love to be tickled. Camp site is generally very quiet as the site owners discourage anyone of a disruptive nature from staying. They also do not allow the site to get too full, so there's rarely any strain on the facilities.
Plenty to do for the active fell walker, although it's useful to have access to a car if you want to vary the walking. Saying which, the walking is excellent direct from the campsite, with walks to suit all ages, tastes and abilities.
Handy for La'al Ratty and three good pubs within easy staggering distance. Pubs generally do good food if you can't be bothered to cook. (If you want a totally lazy day and not cook breakfast, there is an excellent tea room above the general dealers in Gosforth which does an excellent English breakfast).
And if you stay here, do pay a visit to Muncaster castle and visit Meet the Birds at 2.30 p.m. every day on the South lawn of the castle. You will learn enough about owls to make you very concerned for the future of these beautiful birds.

Reviewer: Fran

July 2003
I stayed there with my family (husband + 5 children) and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's certainly not commercialised: beautifully basic with just the right level of comfort. Would I go there again? Yes I would, most definitely.Children welcome; small unassuming play area; 'wild' patch that my youngsters made a 'den' in; clean showers/toilet block; no shop; no fancy frills; no silly rules about where to pitch, just find a space and pitch there.Friendly; reasonably priced; token-operated hot water things (but free washing water for the hand basins); owners will buy back unused tokens. And right in the shadow of Skafell and Skafell Pike

Reviewer: Steve and Grace 1 review from this member

24 may 2003
Just returned from a 2 night stay over the Bank Holiday weekend. Really enjoyed the site - the site was quiet and clean.The owners were friendly and helpful and the site facilities good.
Excellent location for walking and 2 inns only a stone throws away for meals etc.

Will be returning very soon !

Reviewer: Gordon Taylor

July 2002
An excellent site, idealy placed to explore Scarfell massive, and to get away from the crowds.
very good facilities, and well situated to the village of Boot with three pubs all selling excellent food and real ale.

Previous     200 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200     Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Pop up Utility tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan Camping & Motorhome Show 20 to 25 February 2018
UKs biggest showcase of caravans, motorhomes, tents snf camping equipment. We've got 20 Tickets to Give Away! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2577 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0957