Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map
Tel: 01458 831 437
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 18/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 311 Reviews
                10/10 from 311 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  311 in total, now showing 201 to 210                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RoaminNL 3 reviews from this member

A very well kept site.

We stayed at 6 sites on our tour in September and this was by far the best.

The showers and toilets were very good, heated and always clean.

If I'd have seen them going around the hedges and grass with a pair of scissors I wouldn't have been surprised. They were perfect.

They were very friendly and helpful in the reception.

Internet facilities all over the site, but these could be cheaper.

If I return to the area I wouldn't even look at any alternative site.

All in all a site to recommend.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jojomad 3 reviews from this member

I left a review following my visit to this superb site last September and just wanted to update it following my first experience of camping on hardstanding.

I know a couple of people were concerned and felt that this was no longer a site for tents, but after this holiday, I honestly don't think I'll be camping on grass again! I brought a couple of good groundsheets with me and have a self inflating matress.

It's at least as comfortable as being on grass and in some respects, more so (it's not as cold/damp and it's much, much cleaner) - plus there are the electric hook ups, so I have an fan heater rather than a gas one and feel much safer.

Maybe you think I've sold out, but I don't think so.I still love camping in my Vango 350 and won't be getting a caravan any time soon, but what's wrong with a bit of comfort?! The site, as ever, is wonderful - peaceful, exceptionally clean and Tara's cake are a lovely bonus. Can't recommend it enough.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sharonb623 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site for a week in the middle of August. We think this is one of the best sites we have been to! We were pitched on Lower Oaks field which is all semi hard standing. The size of the pitches is fab. We had never pitched our tent on hard standing before and were a bit nervous but we loved it.

The park is in a great location with easy walking access to the Tor,Glastonbury town and surrounding areas. The wardens were very friendly. The facilities were all fabulously clean. They have a small shop that sells essentials plus lovely burgers from the farm and other local produce.

It's such a joy to find a site where they don't cram as many pitches in as they can, we were amazed at the space. We would highly recommend this site, especially as the prices are very reasonable and we will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ivor5051 2 reviews from this member

We visit this site once or twice a year, and have been doing so for many years. We have seen all the improvements carried out over the years.

The site and the facilities are all first class.

The staff are polite and friendly. As a fisherman I enjoy the piece and quiet down at the lake, and never fail to catch summer or winter. Like most camping sites, fees have increased, but we always see how it is invested back into the site. The shop stocks all basic needs, and newspapers. Plenty of pubs and restaurants in the area, and you must visit knights fish and chip shop in Glastonbury, eat in or take away. The walk to the Tor is a must from the site, we do it on most visits. It is a little steep but worth. The site is quiet and relaxing, which is why we go.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MrsB79 3 reviews from this member

This is an absolute Mary Poppins of a site, practically perfect in every way! I agree with all the positive comments I have read on other reviews. The good experience started with the telephone call to make the booking and continued throughout our 2 week stay.

There are so many positives to say about this site that it's difficult to know where to start. The team who run the site, including the owners and their team of Wardens are exceptional. They obviously take a big pride in their site and it shows.

There are so many special touches. We were escorted to our pitch which took away that little bit of anxiety often felt on arrival at a new site.The feeling of space is amazing. The pitches are huge and beautifully laid out.

Special touches include full recycling facilities (so often missing on other sites) and hand gel dispensers by the Elsan points and by the dog waste bins !

Internet is available on a computer in reception and there is WiFi coverage across the site if you want. The shop had a surprisingly good selection of food including a good veggie choice. We sampled the home made cakes nearly every day.

That's just a snapshot. This site really does tick all the boxes.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Les4967 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here 2nd week in june. I must say that this is one of the best sites we have at. The wardens were great and went out of their way to help us find a pub to eat in locally.

The site is very handy for visiting the tor. Morrisons is only a few miles down the road for your big shop. But you cant leave without trying the handmade cakes which change daily I would recommend the lemon drizzle cake. They have great recycling facility.

Once you get over the narrow lane to the site its great.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pre-dead 3 reviews from this member

This must be one of the best sites in England, certainly the best we have stayed at, although we found it difficult to locate at our first attempt. The pitches are large and well laid out, usually with a hedge or fencing in between. A very quiet, adult’s only site, great if you are looking for a relaxing stay. The site amenities are first rate, never any queues, kept spotlessly clean by a very friendly and helpful staff.

The site shop is well stocked with all the essentials, food, wine or beer, The staff will order fresh bread or newspapers for you, and the homemade cakes are fantastic. For anything slightly more exotic there is a Morrison’s or Sainsbury’s supermarket within a 5 minute drive (Glastonbury). And if you can’t find “exotic” in Glastonbury you’re not really trying!

For the more energetic there are walks from the site to the Tor or into Glastonbury and Street. The walk to the Tor is quite steep in places obviously, but an early morning amble, before the crowds arrive on the top is well worth the ¾ mile effort.

The site has deals and offers available at many local attractions and restaurants, just ask for details or a sample menu at reception, and if like us you enjoy eating out you can save a substantial amount.

For those of us born to shop, there is a large Shopping complex in Street, many bargains were purchased, could have done with another suitcase to bring it all back home.

Overall, first rate site in every aspect, no doubt we will be going back.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WENJULE 3 reviews from this member

What a great find, this site is well worth a visit.

Im not afraid to share it with you all as the site will not over book and the pitches are large so over crowding is a NO NO.

We visited the first week of the factory fortnight and appreciated the adult only rule.

It is the most expensive site we have stopped at but can only say you get what you pay for !

The pitches are hard standing with grass areas to the side. We were staying in a tent so was wondering how this would work as we didn't want our groundsheet damaged. We took our extra ground sheet and the site offered us free of charge another groundsheet and we found this worked really well and by the end of the stay was in favour of this idea of pitching our tent on hardstanding pitches.

The site itself had beautiful views fantastic amenities and lovely staff.We loved the little gesture made by the staff of riding push bikes to show you to your allocated pitch, a nice touch. We will definitely be going back to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Codwales 22 reviews from this member

The site is well laid out with very clean facilities.

The owner and wardens are extremely helpful and do everything to ensure you enjoy your stay.

If you are into fishing there is a small pond on site with many fish to be caught. If not it is a pleasant place to sit and relax. You can order your newspapers at the site shop. They also sell fresh bread and home made fresh creams cakes. Delicious.

The site is very quite at night and very little noise in the morning allowing you to sleep until whatever time you like.

A first class site that I will be returning too.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alandw 3 reviews from this member

This is our favourite camp site. Everything is top notch, perfect position, excellent amenities and the staff are great.Very good welcome when we arrived. Would recommend this site to anyone. Within walking distance of Glastonbury and lots of other places to visit. All toilet blocks very clean and well looked after.Good sized pitches with good level positions.Very good site all round.

Previous     311 Reviews in total, now showing 201 to 210      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Barbecue Package worth £249 Win a Clarke IG2000B 1.8kW Suitcase Generator worth £299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 7th to 7th July, Derbyshire
Brilliant weekend, Book by 23rd June for discounted camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2360 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1484