Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 240 Reviews
              9/10 from 240 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  240 in total, now showing 211 to 220                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pensioner 3 reviews from this member

The first time camping and I was really pleased with the facilities the camp site was really good and the owners very helpful. The weather was awfull but we still enjoyed the holiday. The curry man that came on a Thursday was really good and cheap. The pizza man that came on a wednesday was also great but ran out of garlic Bread and Pizza guite soon. Would certainly recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Www.plcuk.co.uk 1 review from this member

This is a great site and the owners couldn't be more helpful. The toilets and shower block are superb always clean. We had a great time here and the kids loved the freedom of the site. There is a nice pub opposite with a beer garden where we spent a few evenings. Beach is about a 10 min walk but is worth it golden sands right down to Hayle.

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Philip Beaumont 1 review from this member

This is quite simply the best site i have ever been to. The owners were extremly helpful and welcoming. The beach is very close and the local pub is fantastic. The showers are extremely good and all facilities are clean and very well looked after. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would whole heartedly recommend anyone to stay at Gwithian Farm.

Gwithian Farm proved a perfect location for trips out to places of interest in the area. It is very well positioned for all the many attractions in the area. I really felt welcomed and comfortable at Gwithian bay. It was all I look for in a camp site with the added bonus of its fantastic location and wonderful owners.

Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Neen 12 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 1 night while traveling around Cornwall. Lovely site, the owners were very friendly and helpful, telling us how to get to the beach and where to go to see seals. The pitches are big enough and the new showers and toilets are great.

It is only a ten min walk from a massive and beautiful beach. We went for a walk along the beach and the cliffs further along the coast and saw lots of seals! There is a nice pub opposite the site which is very handy.
However beware wildlife! We left a rubbish bad outside our tent and got woken up firstly buy a hedgehog inverstegating it and later by a flock or seagulls!! reat site would definatly go again.

Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Cathym 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site with obviously recently completed washroom and reception facilities. Great to see a family bathroom with a full size bath along with a good number of showers and loos for the rest of us.

Great site for surfers with direct access to beach, daily surf forcasts and suit and board hire at just 5 per day.

Enjoyed this site although our little corner was not particularly level so a fair bit of cranking involved in setting up caravan! Quiet site despite being fairly busy. Only grumble would be that it is quite a hike to the loos etc if you are not on a pitch with a hook up!

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Clivedavison 1 review from this member

We have just completed a ten day stay at Gwithian and I must say that I was most impressed with the site, the location and the owners. We were extremely lucky with the weather having only one day of rain (had we had more this would probably have been a different report).

My wife and I, our two teenage daughters and our dog really enjoyed the relaxation that this site can offer. The beach being only 10 mins away accross the dunes was brilliant and being lulled to sleep at night by the sounds of the breakers on the shore was great.

One recommendation to the owners, get another washing machine and tumble dryer, one machine for 137 pitches was pushing it a bit. Hayle was only 10 minutes away by car and they have got a launderette if required though. The new toilet block was kept clean and the hot showers (free) were most appreciated.

Whilst I never used the Electric hook-ups they were there if you needed them but only a limited supply. The site shop is open at perculiar times 0830-1030 and 1830-2030 although you could always get what you needed by knocking at the owners house. The shop contained most essestials but was limited so we had to go to the CO-OP in Hayle most days. This proved quite useful as one of the only ATM cash machines was here. The shop site doesn't accept plastic, be warned.

However, we weren't pressured to pay for the pitch before entry to the site. The pitches are really generous, 10m x 10m and were individually numbered. I assume that if you liked the site you could ask for a specific pitch with enough notice. Getting to the site was really easy from the A30. If I were going again I would go in toward Hayle and turn right at the LIDL store(about 300m from the A30). That road then leads directly to the site after about 7 minutes drive. I have already recommended this site to my collegues and friends and would willingly go back.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Duffnut 28 reviews from this member

We stayed at Gwithian Farm for the last week of July and the first week of August. The site is all we could need. It is one large field with hook-ups around the outside and two inner rings of pitches. The centre of the Field is left free for a games area.


The Toilets are fantastic, clean and big enough. there was also a
family shower room and a bathroom for children who are not keen on showers, they suffered a bit from local water pressure while we were there but a new pump was being installed as we left.

The site shop was only small but had the basics including milk and daily papers. There was a couple from the local beach cafe who were on site every morning except Thursday who sold fresh cooked bacon and egg rolls, (fantastic for packing up day ). The ice cream van visits each evening and 2 nights a week a Pizza and Indian mobile unit also visit the site ( get in there early ).

Mike and Clare really try to look after you and are willing to help if you ask for it. The only problem we had while we were there was
with the ice packs, you can use the free freezers to keep them in and then go and collect them when frozen, that is the problem. We found that once we put our packs in for freezing we only ever found then defrosted. people obviously just used the first frozen pack they came to even when tied up in a bag with your name plastered all over them. It is a difficult thing to police, and Mike and Clare were perfectly aware of and were trying to rectify the situation.

Locally the best beach in the country ( that's what I think ) is a
15 minute walk away. there is a car park but get there early on hot days, as if you end up in the overflow you may as well walk from the site. There is a co-op, lidl and plenty of other shops in Hayle for everything you need. There is a brewers fayre type place and a McDonalds on the main roundabout into Hayle on the A30. There is a great fish & chip shop near to lidls go straight over the double roundabout and it is on the left.

Another thing that is great about this site is that you don't have to
do Saturday to Saturday at peak times so arriving on a Sunday and leaving on a Friday means you miss most of the dreadful Cornwall holiday traffic.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Lindaq 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from our first ever camping trip! We decided on Gwithian after reading the reviews on this website. It was an excellent choice, the facilities were second to none. The toilet and showers were kept as clean as possible, sinks for washing your dishes, brilliant. Of course we will now expect the same of every campsite we stay at now! We will be back next year!!

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Tparkin 1 review from this member

Just returned from 8 nights at Gwithian, where the five of us (me, wife and 3 girls aged 12, 10 and 3) had a great time. The site was very clean and tidy and, contrary to comments made by another reviewer, was noticeably quiet after 9.00pm, even though there were families with older children and a large single sex party on site.

The showers/toilets are some of the best we have experienced, although I would echo the comment made regarding lack of water pressure at peak times. The visits by the pizza man and the curry van and welcome, especially the latter who provides indian or thai curries at 3/portion or 10 for a family size.

I have seen differing estimates for the time it takes to walk to the beach, between 5-15 minutes. Having a 3 year old, I would say that 15 minutes is closer to the mark. Furthermore, both routes to the beach (one directly from the site across the dunes and one via the village then across the dunes) are not really pushchair friendly, so be prepared to carry little ones, along with your cool bag, body board, etc, etc.

The main improvement this site would benefit from would be the addition of a play area, and the owners are hoping to provide one in the near future, aimed more at youngsters than older children. The shop would also benefit from opening slightly longer hours, and stocking a wider range of goods, although the essentials (bread, milk, newspapers, etc) are available.

The site is very well located for exploring the west of Cornwall, and attractions such as Land's End, Flambards and St Ives (a train ride on the St Ives branch line from St Erth is a must) are only a short drive away.

All in all, this has been one of the best camping holidays we have had, and we will certainly consider returning the next time we come to Cornwall.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Fingerprints 2 reviews from this member

All the previous reviews are correct. 2nd trip out with our new tent, read all the reviews how helpful the site owners were so we set off to Gwithian. The site had apparently changed hands over the winter and had new toilet and shower block fitted. From talking to other visitors I am glad we went this year and not last as the new work has enhanced a good thing. The site is ideally sited a short walk from the beach. The pub just over the road is excellent, with the steak and ale pie highly recommended.

The owners are extemely helpful, and even when we were caught out by the no cards yet the 'pay me when you get to the cahspoint' was very helpful after a 6 hour drive. We were in a central pitch which was a bit noisy, however after a visit to Boots and the purchase of ear plugs sleep improved. The water pressure in the shower block dropped off in the 'rush hour' however the tides were with us and a lazy rising in the morning allowed us to use the showers after the rush and meant we were still on the beach during the late afternoon rush.
The visit of the pizza and curry vans was a tasty treat and meant very little cooking was actually needed as morning egg and bacon baps were also cooked on site. Can't wait to go again.

Previous     240 Reviews in total, now showing 211 to 220      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three Car Seat Protectors / Hammocks to be won Win an Outwell Flagstaff 5a Inflatable Tent Package worth over 1000

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Volksworld Show, Sandown Park, Surrey - 25th to 26th March
Europe`s largest VW Show with 100s of cars inside and out, traders, live music and more ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6207 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1367