Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 245 Reviews
              9/10 from 245 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  245 in total, now showing 211 to 220                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PRODISC 3 reviews from this member

To be honest I wish we hadnít chosen Gwithian campsite as our first stopover as we ended up staying here the whole duration of our Cornish break! Itís difficult where to start when reviewing such a superb campsite but Iíll start with the owners and staff.

Not only were the owners informative and as approachable as could be, they stock an onsite shop without the hiked up prices you see at most sites. As stated by the owners, theyíre running a campsite and Ďdonít aspire to being shop ownersí, with their commitment to running a quality campsite shining through.

The shop stocked quality local produce as well as the norm. The pitches are generous and very well maintained. In the evening with the campervan curtains closed you canít hear a thing but the ocean. In the morning nothing but wildlife and the odd burp from my girly partner. Bless. Itís been said in a previous review that this site is open to high winds but Iíll disagree. An onshore wind would come from the W/W/North yet the site runs on a gentle slope towards the S/S/East, therefore the campsite runs to the lee of an onshore wind unlike those sloping towards the shore. If a wind gets that much that it bothers you at Gwithian farm camping, you ought to be feeling sorry for those that didnít choose this site rather than feel unlucky yourself! Great position and great location.

Besides all the above being so perfect the shower block was out of this world. Gwithian farm camping shower block is the benchmark for all campsite owners to reach, but IMHO could not better unless someone were to give free Greek massages as one stepped from the shower cubicle! As a plumber, bathroom & kitchen fitter I have never seen such well laid out bathroom facilities in a commercial atmosphere. The building itself is testimony to the owners vision of how shower facilities should be presented, but the finishing including a full bathroom and bang up to date washers/dryers shows they followed the whole project from start to finish with detail and thought. Never again will my cold buttocks be blessed with such workmanship on a cold camper morning or such roomy showers that have three clothes pegs and a seating bench inside each shower cubicle!

The beaches are the best I have come across in the UK by a stretch and a mile. Gwithian beach was miles long and although our stay was during the B/H week it was almost deserted in comparison to more commercial areas. This area has more of a local feel, or even a welcome timeless atmosphere. Saying this thereís an abundance of attractions within easy reach for any camper so donít think Gwithian farm camping is out the back of beyond, itís position is perfect for both the tourer and sun worshipers alike. A great choice as a base for West and even central Cornwall as we ourselves made our annual pilgrimage to Tintagel 1 hour each way. Lots of English Heritage sites to keep you busy and looking around we could spend a whole 14 days here keeping every day busy with something to do (if you can drag yourself away from the campsite!)

Iíve never given a review for a site without having something bad to say but I just canít find anything wrong with Gwithian. Having camped around Western/central Africa for 5 seasons, the western US seaboard and central plains, most of Europe including most of the former eastern block I can hand on heart say this site was superb and the most well equipped. A credit to the owners and more importantly Cornwall. Gwithian farm camping is the benchmark for all UK campsites and is a wake up call for those site owners whoís heart just isnít Ďin ití.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brumex1 1 review from this member

Quality site, we had good weather which helps. The owners were very good & helpful. Quality shower block & toilet. Local pub Red River is good. Easy access to beach. We would certainly return to this site. Free freezing & loan of ice blocks nice touch

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snelld 3 reviews from this member

This site is FANTASTIC! Owners are lovely, shower/toilet/wash up block is excellent. Beach is a pleasant 10 min walk, very pretty and good for surfing. Don't leave any food / rubbish out, a certain black Labrador and the Gulls will enjoy themselves (am still missing that sponge cake!) Weather was poor so site was fairly quiet. Hoping to return, highly recommended.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fleck2 8 reviews from this member

Great campsite. We went at Easter, the site was quite full but the showers were only ever about 3/4 full. The atmosphere is buzzing. There's a Aldi (or something similar)supermarket about 1.5 miles away if you've forgotten anything. We didn't try the village pub food because the place was always packed, it did get better after about 9pm when the food stopped being served. I can recommend the pizza van everything cooked from fresh, the best i've ever had in fact. we left before the curry van arrived so can't comment on that. we will be going back at some time. the only downside to this camp site is that it's a very long way away.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Benoz2000 8 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite, very close to beautiful beach and short walk to seal colony.† The site looked recently updated.† Very clean facilities, with constant hot water and we visited during Easter, so well prepared for peak periods.† The pub across the road does excellent and cheap food, although extremely busy during bank holidays.† The local town (10 min drive) is not the idyllic Cornwall town, but has all you would need and campsite is far enough away not to be affected, but otherwise a great location to visit Cornwall from.††
Due to site†positioning we experienced sea winds that†would†possibly not†get†in other locations, but worth the trade off.††No static caravans and not a holiday park - excellent!† Cream teas served in garden with beautiful thatched cottage.† Large pitches and area in centre of site gives a spacious feel.† Not over run by kids. Loved the site and hope to visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pensioner 3 reviews from this member

The first time camping and I was really pleased with the facilities the camp site was really good and the owners very helpful. The weather was awfull but we still enjoyed the holiday. The curry man that came on a Thursday was really good and cheap. The pizza man that came on a wednesday was also great but ran out of garlic Bread and Pizza guite soon. Would certainly recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Www.plcuk.co.uk 1 review from this member

This is a great site and the owners couldn't be more helpful. The toilets and shower block are superb always clean. We had a great time here and the kids loved the freedom of the site. There is a nice pub opposite with a beer garden where we spent a few evenings. Beach is about a 10 min walk but is worth it golden sands right down to Hayle.

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Philip Beaumont 1 review from this member

This is quite simply the best site i have ever been to. The owners were extremly helpful and welcoming. The beach is very close and the local pub is fantastic. The showers are extremely good and all facilities are clean and very well looked after. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would whole heartedly recommend anyone to stay at Gwithian Farm.

Gwithian Farm proved a perfect location for trips out to places of interest in the area. It is very well positioned for all the many attractions in the area. I really felt welcomed and comfortable at Gwithian bay. It was all I look for in a camp site with the added bonus of its fantastic location and wonderful owners.

Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Neen 12 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 1 night while traveling around Cornwall. Lovely site, the owners were very friendly and helpful, telling us how to get to the beach and where to go to see seals. The pitches are big enough and the new showers and toilets are great.

It is only a ten min walk from a massive and beautiful beach. We went for a walk along the beach and the cliffs further along the coast and saw lots of seals! There is a nice pub opposite the site which is very handy.
However beware wildlife! We left a rubbish bad outside our tent and got woken up firstly buy a hedgehog inverstegating it and later by a flock or seagulls!! reat site would definatly go again.

Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Cathym 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site with obviously recently completed washroom and reception facilities. Great to see a family bathroom with a full size bath along with a good number of showers and loos for the rest of us.

Great site for surfers with direct access to beach, daily surf forcasts and suit and board hire at just £5 per day.

Enjoyed this site although our little corner was not particularly level so a fair bit of cranking involved in setting up caravan! Quiet site despite being fairly busy. Only grumble would be that it is quite a hike to the loos etc if you are not on a pitch with a hook up!

Previous     245 Reviews in total, now showing 211 to 220      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a HandiRack and HandiHoldall Combo Pack Win an OLPRO Abberley XL 4 Berth Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans Ė plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5956 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1504