Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 303 Reviews
              10/10 from 303 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  303 in total, now showing 211 to 220                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: YVONNE130 18 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a lovely weekend break at the 'Old Oaks'.

A lovely Adults Only campsite by Glastonbury Tor.

Nice large pitches, immaculate toilets, a lovely shop, and the owners and Wardens are very friendly and helpful.

Chemical disposal point is the nicest we have ever seen - black granite and chrome!

Close to Glastonbury and the Clarks shopping village.

Wells is a lovely place, but I was disappointed with Glastonbury.

The Fleet Air Arm museum is not too far away - an excellent day out.

Morrisons and Sainsburys is close by.

We would definitely return.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mickey.hig 1 review from this member

My husband, myself and our 18 year old son stayed for three nights at this site and wished we had booked longer! The whole site is spotlessly clean and the wardens are very friendly and helpful.

The site is in beautiful countryside and is a haven for birds. How magical to be awoken in the morning by birdsong - I lay listening to woodpeckers too on most mornings.

You can walk from the site to Glastonbury tor and also into Glastonbury town both routes take you along quiet farm tracks or across fields and are not to be missed.

The site also hires out bicycles at very reasonable prices. We did this on one of our days there and followed a cycle route along peaceful country lanes into Wells.

The reception has a list of good places to eat along with menus for most of them.

If you are looking for a clean, friendly, peaceful and relaxing site this is it!

Date of Visit: December 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sumps53 36 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the weekend of 11-13 December. What a find! I hardly dare review it as I want to keep it secret. A beautifully laid out site with amazing views over the fields and within walking distance of the Tor. Pitches are separated by hedges and are very spacious, with no feeling of being hemmed in or lined up. There is a dog walk and a dog cleaning area, so dogs are well catered for.It was very quiet indeed - no road noise, just perfect peace. Bliss. The shower block was very clean and had good showers. A little snug for the more amply proportioned though - my only criticism. We were a little late arriving because of heavy traffic but check in was smooth and friendly. Nearby, in Glastonbury there are all the pubs, cafes and shops you would expect and if you want crystals, you will be spoilt for choice! Also a large Morrisons, which is very handy. We will without doubt be back to what is possibly the nicest site we have ever stayed at.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fudge59 21 reviews from this member

We were there over the August bank holiday, a wonderful peaceful site, you wouldn't know it was full as the pitches are quite large. The wardens were extremely friendly and helpful, the shop well-stocked (excellent local ale and cider), great washing facilities.

The walk directly up to the Tor (signposted from the site) is well worth it.

Will be back again - well worth booking for a quiet break on a bank holiday, when other sites tend to be full to bursting.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jojomad 3 reviews from this member

I've stayed at this wonderful site a number of times over the years, and can only say good things about it. The owners have thought of everything; the facilities are consistently spotless, the shop is well-stocked with food, drinks and camping equipment (not to mention the home-baked cakes, which are divine!).
The site is an ideal place to explore the surrounding area or just to stay and chill out. There are numerous walks and cycle paths direct from the site. The previous reviewer is correct; a lot of the grass pitches are to be converted to hardstanding. I spoke to the owners and they haven't taken this decision to deter tents, but purely from a practical point of view, the grass pitches can get waterlogged - I've stayed there when this has been the case, and it's very unpleasant! I was assured that the hardstanding pitches would be fine for tents - yes, I'll need to buy some rock pegs, but this is a small inconvenience to enable me to stay at what is the best site I've been to.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris.hunt 1 review from this member

Our first time at this site but definitely will not be the last. 5 star in our opinion. Very large pitches. Ours was half grass half hard standing, both about 25 feet wide and 40 long. Fully serviced with water and drainage.
The grass is better than my lawn at home. Beautiful specimen trees. Ornamental shrubs divide the pitches for a degree of extra privacy. Large open areas of lawn in the central areas. Pitches are just around the edges. Showers are very clean but only one main block so I suspect in high season you'd be queuing. I believe that's being rectified over this winter. People delightfully helpful.
Good dog walks and even a purpose built hut with shower to wash them. Very relaxing and peaceful. Can't fault this place really. Will definitely be returning. Thanks Old Oaks for a lovely holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lms0110 32 reviews from this member

This site is easily accessible from the nearby A roads, lefthand turn just pass the Hospital & about a mile or so along a country lane & is a good centre for nearby Glastonbury, Street, Wells & Cheddar. Glastonbury & the Tor are both signposted from the site via public footpaths.

Adult only site that allows dogs, it was a very peaceful site for the most part & the dogs were well behaved

Showers & toilets were spotless & they provided free ice block freezing - whether they'll carry on with this as they informed me that the area where we were was being put to EHU next year, there will only be a few non EHU pitches available - are these sites trying to deter tent campers?

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pauline57 8 reviews from this member

Visited this site for the first time this July.

Site very nicely laid out and good facilities, although they do struggle to keep up with demand, had to queue for a shower most mornings.

Found plenty to do for our week and visited various National Trust properties in the area as we are members.We needed to keep outing costs to a minimum after paying such a high price for the site!

Although we enjoyed our stay don't think we will return as we thought it was very expensive for what was included in pitch fee.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dafne 3 reviews from this member

This was our 2nd visit and it rained almost everyday. But it could not spoil our time at the site. It is absolutely amazing. This is only our second camping trip and can't believe that we found the best site in Britain.

The pitches are so spacious, we requested the same one as last year and couldn't believe our luck getting it.

The site is so clean and the staff could not be anymore helpful.

The facilities are second to none and we never had to wait to use the showers. The walks from the site are amazing and it helps to build up an appetite when walking into Glastonbury.

We will definitely be back next year and hope to get the same pitch again. We only wish that it was a bit closer and we would definitely use it more often.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: S-picky 4 reviews from this member

We visited this site on a perfect sunny weekend in June and can honestly say it has spoilt us for any other campsite. We are not child-haters but the absence of children made such a difference to the peace and feel of the site compared to others, that this aspect was a real bonus.
The Old Oaks is definitely worthy of its 5 stars with excellent facilities, a very well stocked shop and in a lovely peaceful location very handy for Glastonbury. We could not find a fault and will definitely be returning.

Previous     303 Reviews in total, now showing 211 to 220      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack Win your favourite OLPRO Windbreak from 6 Fab Designs

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show 2nd to 3rd September
Season-finale event, taking place at Newark Showground, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4810 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1641