Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map
Tel: 01458 831 437
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 18/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 311 Reviews
                10/10 from 311 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  311 in total, now showing 211 to 220                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonali 1 review from this member

We've just returned from our first weekend at Old Oaks and booked our next stay before we left, this morning! We were recommended this site by three separate couples that we had met whilst away over the last few weeks in sites across the south of England. The site certainly lived up to those recommendations and to it's reputation.

The facilities on site were impeccably clean. Lots of toilets, showers, washing-up sinks and laundry facilities so that we never had to wait for anything.

Our pitch was lovely although smaller than some of the others on site - we've chosen our pitch for our next visit to ensure maximum evening sun and space.

The staff on-site were great - really friendly and helpful. We can recommend the home-baked cakes and the bread which is delivered daily from 'Burns the Bread' in Glastonbury.

One tiny niggle, was that the taps for drinking water and waste water disposal nearest to our pitch were a bit flakey (either sprayed loads of water or resorted to a dribble) but we reported this and have been promised that it will be fixed for the next time we're there.

My husband has a serious heart condition and this was the perfect site for him - flat enough to be able to get around, easy access to the facilities and peace & quiet when he needed to rest in the afternoon.

10 out of 10 for a brilliant weekend.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: EmmaK 3 reviews from this member

We've been tenting for many years, this was our first time taking a caravan, I'm afraid this site has set a standard that may be hard to find elsewhere.

We went to the Glastonbury festival and wanted to stay far enough away to enjoy peace and quiet and we certainly found the right place.

The owners and all the staff are friendly and can't do enough for you. Really helpful with lots of useful local information and knowledge. The site itself is wonderful and I have no downsides, complaints or negative comments.

We walked to the tor down the back lanes from site and it took about 30 minutes to get to the top and a further 10-15 minutes we were in the town centre, which is beautiful with some lovely pubs, take a headtorch with you if walking back.

We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hp1701 5 reviews from this member

A real five star campsite!

Brilliant facilities, lots of washing up spots, showers etc. Even had a washing machine, spinner, freezer and microwave for our use! Plus a FREE internet pc in the office/shop to look up places to go or anything you like. Adults only so quiet at night once the winos (a very giggly couple after a bottle or two of red!) had gone to bed.

Walks from the site to Glastonbury Tor and town for the fit - close but steep!

Horses in the field behind our tent (the Orchard) for company. A duck from the nearby pond visited every afternoon for nibbles!

Lots of recycling facilities. Staff very friendly and loved being shown pitch by a man on a push bike - brilliant idea!

Would happily recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful welcoming place to stay.

If only all campsites were this good!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kaza48 2 reviews from this member

We Visited this adults only campsite in July, absolutely fantastic site cannot find any faults at all. We pitched our tent on hardstanding which we were a bit worried about, but we borrowed an extra groundsheet for a small deposit from the office, so with our own groundsheet and the borrowed one the tent was well protected and to be honest I would prefer this to grass,no mess to be carried in.

The campsite is situated in a quiet peaceful setting with very nice views.

The toilet block was kept spotless with the added bonus of 4 large private rooms to the back of the block which each housed a toilet, sink, large walk in shower and even a bath in the end one.Dogs are well catered for, dog poo bins with antibacterial gel everywhere also at the end of the dog walk a small brick building with a large sink and shower to wash the dogs down after a muddy walk.

The small shop had most essentials and homemade cakes to die for. Loads of walks to the Tor and into glastonbury itself via fields, we will most definitely be back to this 5* campsite.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eclectus 27 reviews from this member

What a wonderful week we had. This excellent site really does meet a 5 star accreditation. It is located in a beautiful part of the country, with spectacular views and a central location for exploring other locations nearby.

Toilets and facilities are next to none. Spotlessly clean toilets, even private showers/toilets if you prefer. Not much room to manoeuvre though once inside the toilet cubicle, but usually a problem.

A nice shop on site selling basic food and camping items with a daily selection of fresh cakes.Yum yum

Pitches are huge and spacious, we opted for electric waste and water hook-up, which was definitely worth the extra and would definitely do again. Plenty of room for parking and spreading out a bit to relax.

Lovely walks lead of from the site, and a designated dog walking area made it so easy to look after our four legged friends which were more than at home on this wonderful site. Dogs are very well catered for and dog wash areas were an excellent idea to keep these little friends clean and tidy, especially if the weather was not so good.

Overall, a little gem of a site. Nothing negative to say about it. Well run, friendly and helpful staff. Very tranquil and peaceful. Highly recommended. Stunning. Well done everyone that works there, you certainly made the week we stayed an extremely enjoyable one.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nrhems 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this beautiful spacious site. The staff and wardens are very friendly and helpful, and the facilities on site were always very clean and tidy.

There is a small shop on site, which stocks the main essentials, with fresh cakes available on a daily basis. The site is very quiet and peaceful and in a rural location yet is only 1 mile from the main road, which provides easy access (although the lane is narrow in a couple of places - but do not let this deter you from visiting).

Also close by is a large Morrisons supermarket and petrol station, with Sainsburys a little further afield (10 minutes by car). You can also visit the Glastonbury Tor from a walkway on site, well worth a visit.

We would not hesitate to recommend this site, and will definitely return in the future.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brettsy 10 reviews from this member

Camped here 3 nights Bank Holiday weekend. Beautiful site, spacious enclosed pitches, spotlessly clean, top class showers, toilets etc and friendly staff. Site is a little remote and very quiet with no children. Also quite pricey, but you do get what you pay for, and whilst the nightly charge was higher than I am used to paying for camping, in no way did I feel this was a rip-off.

Took a day trip to Weston and passed 2 other sites where campers were packed in like sardines, probably would have got 3 tents and cars on the size of pitch that Old Oaks gave me all to myself. I was so glad I had paid the extra.

Ensure that breathable groundsheet is used if camping on grass, and rock pegs (and thick groundsheet / carpet) are needed if you have electric hookup on the all weather pitches

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jaunty 8 reviews from this member

What a find! First time at this site, not the last!

Excellent site, beautifully laid out and maintained, wouldn't know that there were 100 pitches. Facilities were always clean. All wardens friendly and helpful. Homemade cakes were heavenly. Shop well stocked, bread and papers can be ordered.

Lovely dog walks, including dog shower! Plenty of walking around the area too.

Excellent location for access of things to do, or simply chill out with a capital CHILL !

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: YVONNE130 18 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a lovely weekend break at the 'Old Oaks'.

A lovely Adults Only campsite by Glastonbury Tor.

Nice large pitches, immaculate toilets, a lovely shop, and the owners and Wardens are very friendly and helpful.

Chemical disposal point is the nicest we have ever seen - black granite and chrome!

Close to Glastonbury and the Clarks shopping village.

Wells is a lovely place, but I was disappointed with Glastonbury.

The Fleet Air Arm museum is not too far away - an excellent day out.

Morrisons and Sainsburys is close by.

We would definitely return.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mickey.hig 1 review from this member

My husband, myself and our 18 year old son stayed for three nights at this site and wished we had booked longer! The whole site is spotlessly clean and the wardens are very friendly and helpful.

The site is in beautiful countryside and is a haven for birds. How magical to be awoken in the morning by birdsong - I lay listening to woodpeckers too on most mornings.

You can walk from the site to Glastonbury tor and also into Glastonbury town both routes take you along quiet farm tracks or across fields and are not to be missed.

The site also hires out bicycles at very reasonable prices. We did this on one of our days there and followed a cycle route along peaceful country lanes into Wells.

The reception has a list of good places to eat along with menus for most of them.

If you are looking for a clean, friendly, peaceful and relaxing site this is it!

Previous     311 Reviews in total, now showing 211 to 220      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Barbecue Package worth 249 Win a Clarke IG2000B 1.8kW Suitcase Generator worth 299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 7th to 7th July, Derbyshire
Brilliant weekend, Book by 23rd June for discounted camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2230 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1484