Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 240 Reviews
              9/10 from 240 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  240 in total, now showing 221 to 230                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Suzi57 6 reviews from this member

Just got back from Gwithian Farm last week. Weather was fantastic, just a couple of showers otherwise sunshine and beautiful blue skys. Small shop with all the essentials i.e. milk, newspapers etc. Shower block clean and o.k but water pressure in Hayle itself was not good while we were there and showers were not very powerful. At the end of our holiday they had had something done to them and they worked much better. Beach was beautiful and never crowded although journey through the dunes was interesting. (To avoid the stile try walking just a little detour through the overspill car park - much easier route). Free use of ice pack freezers and launderette facilities were easy to use.

Red River Inn across the road from the site very welcoming with an entertaining land lord! This pub does get very busy and one night we could not wait for a table to eat and found a pub down the road called the Turnpike. Very nice meal and then went back to the Red River for a drink.

Claire and Mike very helpful and the cream tea's in their garden were lovely. Will probably return in the future even though there is a 7-8 hour drive from Derbyshire.

Reviewer: Lucyha1 1 review from this member

June 2005
Really nice owners who are very helpful with all their local knowledge. The showers were excellent, the best we've ever had - better than home!
The beach is a short walk away.There's a good pub literally opposite.
Generally the campsite is in a nice spot, its not too big to be impersonal and there's plenty of nature to watch from your tent door!
Could not fault our stay!

Reviewer: John campa dl 4 reviews from this member

August 2005
Wow what a site!. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome Nothing is to much trouble for Mike or Clair the owners. The shower block is new and as such is clean and plenty big enough for the site, I hope it's still as good next year?. Only gripe would be that washing up water could be hotter suspect all run off one bolier.

The Red River Inn across the road is small but friendly (get in early if eating). Pizza & Currys both popular order early.The centre of the site is kept clear for ball games and a strict speed limit is enforced at all times. The beach is fantastic and never crowded.My son had a surfing lesson with GAS (opposite steps to beach)well worth it was standing up after 1 hour.

If you go to St Ives USE the park & ride view from train is stunning. Co-op in Hayle open to 10.00pm, local bargin shop next to garage has cheap beach stuff. How good is Gwithian, well we stayed an extra week and are planning to go back next year.

If you want easy going laid back camping and easy access to the beach with good local shops and a pub within staggering distance (stay off the Doom Bar Bitter)and want to travel round West Cornwall and don't want to pay the earth you would be hard pushed to better Gwithain Farm, indeed it's taken me 6 years to find my ideal site, well worth the near 7 hour drive home.

Reviewer: Hilge 3 reviews from this member

August 2005
More Gwithian Farm first-timers here who would echo many of the positive comments in the previous reviews.

Top Marks:
~ Great location, literally one field back behind the Towans dunes.
~ Decent sized pitches: Whole site gently sloping inland - good news in wet - as won't waterlog.
~ Showers/Toilets: Very new & clean with 6M + 6F free hot showers plus a family 2x shower room & childrens full-size bath room - although see comments re peak use below.
~ Fair pricing: Pitches charged by 'heads not structures' - so no extra charges for pup tents, etc. Gazebo-tastic! :-)
~ Good menu & ale at Red River Inn just over road from site.
~ New, large Lidl within 2 miles (dir Hayle).
~ Internet access in Sunset Surf Cafe behind beach: 2.50/hr (5 mins).
~ General competence and 'can-do attitude' of owners (Mike & Clair Hancock) very evident :-)

Be Aware:
~ Best described (peak season) as a 'sociable/lively' site: eg. was a 'No Ball Games after 21:30' rule posted - but didn't appear to be enforced - so large, boisterous Rounders matches took place until well after 22:00 on several occasions (Appeared to be several larger multi-family groups on site). Not a problem, but for those with v.young kids?
~ Need to avoid peak times to ensure a decent shower: they looked nice - but slowed to a fairly ridiculous trickle at peak times (although, in fairness, there was a note posted shortly before we departed which mentioned a new 'local pump' being installed - so maybe this will improve the water pressure/flow?)

Would Benefit from:
~ Separate Games field / kiddies play-area.
~ Higher water pressure ;-)

Overall:
~ Clearly a well run, clean and friendly site - with excellent local beach and pub. Esp. suitable for surfers, backpackers, families with slightly older kids and essentially anyone who likes Cornish Beach Life & Cream Teas :-)
~ Once the bedding-in issues with the (brand new) Amenities Block have been sorted, it must be a top pick in this area. 8/10.

Reviewer: Shagrat 1 review from this member

July 2005
Here we are again fresh from another camping trip and what a find this place was!

Gwithian Farm, Gwithian nr Hayle, Cornwall. Run by the ever friendly Mike and his wife, the Extreme Campers would rate this a 5 star site. Free ice pack service, brand new toilets and showers. Pizzas, curries and bacon butties served on site if you can't be arsed! You can't go wrong!

Another major benefit to staying at Gwithian Farm is the Red River Inn just across the road. Aaron, Sally and Mike offer a very warm welcome and good food to boot.

These guys really made us feel like regulars and we can't praise them and their lovely victorian pub enough. The scoff was good quality and reasonably priced. They cope brilliantly with the constant barrage of campers seeking refuge. This is a very popular little place as there is little in the area, but the atmosphere is warm and you won't want to leave!

Thanks to all you guys down in Gwithian that we met either on site or in the boozer for making our trip memorable despite the bad weather.

Reviewer: Nicky.G 2 reviews from this member

July 2005
I've just spent 9 days at this lovely site during the recent heatwave. The site and facilities are all very clean, the owners extremely helpful. The pitches are very generous though on a slight slope but nothing to cause a problem.

The shop has basic items with a delivery van calling each morning with essentials such as bread, milk etc. Saturday and Wednesday a pizza van arrive on site and Thursday is Curry night! The ice cream van calls most nights too.

In addition to that, the pub across the road serves decent food and a selection of real ales.

The site is excellent for dog owners with a 'dogs allowed' beach about 10 mins walk away, though it involves climbing down a very steep set of steps. It's certainly not for anyone with mobility problems! The non dog beach is a bit nearer and easier to access.

The views from the dunes is amazing and worth visiting this site just for that. Each evening people were wandering from the site to watch or photograph the amazing sunsets from the dunes.

The weather was fantastic so I can't comment on what it would be like if the weather was, well, it's usual mixed bag but this place is very, very good and a credit to the owners who work very hard to keep the site in A1 condition.

I've been camping, caravanning and now motorhoming for about 20 years and this has to be one of the best sites i've been to for the friendliness of the owners, the facilities, cleanliness, location and amenities close by. Almost forgot the lovely cream teas available in the farmhouse!!!Excellent!!

Reviewer: Caradan_uk 16 reviews from this member

August 2003
We found the owners very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The site itself was very relaxing and the pitches were around the perimiter of the field, so there is plenty of room for the kids to play. There is a pub near the entrance which had a beer garden, and the village which is very small was picturesque. I would recommend this site to anyone.

Mark and Daniel.

Reviewer: Jjgmurphy 1 review from this member

May 2005
Spent a lovely week down at Gwithian Farm. My wife, our 2 year old boy and I enjoyed it lots. The new shop, freezer room, toliets and showers are great. The free hot showers are excellent. The owners cannot do enough for you. Not a great deal of shelter when windy so keep that in mind when looking at the weather. Aldi, a large Co-op and Petrol station all only a few miles away. I can highly recommend it as a relaxing, friendly, coastal campsite.

Reviewer: Tacas2 1 review from this member

June 2005
We have just returned from an excellent weekend at this camp site. The facilities are very good, especially the new Shower Block which was very clean and had some good features such as a family shower room.

The owners were very helpful and were happy answer any questions or qeureis on local amenities and facilities.

We shall be visiting this site again, we hope sooner rather than later - holidays permitting!!!!

Reviewer: Lydiaholden 1 review from this member

May 2005
What a really lovely place to stay! It's just a 5 min walk from the beauitful golden sandy beach and a 5 min drive from Hayle village center. Very helpful and pleasent owners with a really clean and new shower and toilet blocks. Would recommend this place to any one esp people with dogs and children. My boyfriend and I are all ready planning our next visit and we have only just got back. A very big thank you to the owners who made it a really fab holiday.

Previous     240 Reviews in total, now showing 221 to 230      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Abberley 2 Lightweight Touring Tent Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough - 22nd to 23rd April
Car crushing Monster Trucks plus much more fun for all the family ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2638 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.2891