Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 245 Reviews
              9/10 from 245 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  245 in total, now showing 221 to 230                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Clivedavison 1 review from this member

We have just completed a ten day stay at Gwithian and I must say that I was most impressed with the site, the location and the owners. We were extremely lucky with the weather having only one day of rain (had we had more this would probably have been a different report).

My wife and I, our two teenage daughters and our dog really enjoyed the relaxation that this site can offer. The beach being only 10 mins away accross the dunes was brilliant and being lulled to sleep at night by the sounds of the breakers on the shore was great.

One recommendation to the owners, get another washing machine and tumble dryer, one machine for 137 pitches was pushing it a bit. Hayle was only 10 minutes away by car and they have got a launderette if required though. The new toilet block was kept clean and the hot showers (free) were most appreciated.

Whilst I never used the Electric hook-ups they were there if you needed them but only a limited supply. The site shop is open at perculiar times 0830-1030 and 1830-2030 although you could always get what you needed by knocking at the owners house. The shop contained most essestials but was limited so we had to go to the CO-OP in Hayle most days. This proved quite useful as one of the only ATM cash machines was here. The shop site doesn't accept plastic, be warned.

However, we weren't pressured to pay for the pitch before entry to the site. The pitches are really generous, 10m x 10m and were individually numbered. I assume that if you liked the site you could ask for a specific pitch with enough notice. Getting to the site was really easy from the A30. If I were going again I would go in toward Hayle and turn right at the LIDL store(about 300m from the A30). That road then leads directly to the site after about 7 minutes drive. I have already recommended this site to my collegues and friends and would willingly go back.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Duffnut 28 reviews from this member

We stayed at Gwithian Farm for the last week of July and the first week of August. The site is all we could need. It is one large field with hook-ups around the outside and two inner rings of pitches. The centre of the Field is left free for a games area.


The Toilets are fantastic, clean and big enough. there was also a
family shower room and a bathroom for children who are not keen on showers, they suffered a bit from local water pressure while we were there but a new pump was being installed as we left.

The site shop was only small but had the basics including milk and daily papers. There was a couple from the local beach cafe who were on site every morning except Thursday who sold fresh cooked bacon and egg rolls, (fantastic for packing up day ). The ice cream van visits each evening and 2 nights a week a Pizza and Indian mobile unit also visit the site ( get in there early ).

Mike and Clare really try to look after you and are willing to help if you ask for it. The only problem we had while we were there was
with the ice packs, you can use the free freezers to keep them in and then go and collect them when frozen, that is the problem. We found that once we put our packs in for freezing we only ever found then defrosted. people obviously just used the first frozen pack they came to even when tied up in a bag with your name plastered all over them. It is a difficult thing to police, and Mike and Clare were perfectly aware of and were trying to rectify the situation.

Locally the best beach in the country ( that's what I think ) is a
15 minute walk away. there is a car park but get there early on hot days, as if you end up in the overflow you may as well walk from the site. There is a co-op, lidl and plenty of other shops in Hayle for everything you need. There is a brewers fayre type place and a McDonalds on the main roundabout into Hayle on the A30. There is a great fish & chip shop near to lidls go straight over the double roundabout and it is on the left.

Another thing that is great about this site is that you don't have to
do Saturday to Saturday at peak times so arriving on a Sunday and leaving on a Friday means you miss most of the dreadful Cornwall holiday traffic.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Lindaq 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from our first ever camping trip! We decided on Gwithian after reading the reviews on this website. It was an excellent choice, the facilities were second to none. The toilet and showers were kept as clean as possible, sinks for washing your dishes, brilliant. Of course we will now expect the same of every campsite we stay at now! We will be back next year!!

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Tparkin 1 review from this member

Just returned from 8 nights at Gwithian, where the five of us (me, wife and 3 girls aged 12, 10 and 3) had a great time. The site was very clean and tidy and, contrary to comments made by another reviewer, was noticeably quiet after 9.00pm, even though there were families with older children and a large single sex party on site.

The showers/toilets are some of the best we have experienced, although I would echo the comment made regarding lack of water pressure at peak times. The visits by the pizza man and the curry van and welcome, especially the latter who provides indian or thai curries at 3/portion or 10 for a family size.

I have seen differing estimates for the time it takes to walk to the beach, between 5-15 minutes. Having a 3 year old, I would say that 15 minutes is closer to the mark. Furthermore, both routes to the beach (one directly from the site across the dunes and one via the village then across the dunes) are not really pushchair friendly, so be prepared to carry little ones, along with your cool bag, body board, etc, etc.

The main improvement this site would benefit from would be the addition of a play area, and the owners are hoping to provide one in the near future, aimed more at youngsters than older children. The shop would also benefit from opening slightly longer hours, and stocking a wider range of goods, although the essentials (bread, milk, newspapers, etc) are available.

The site is very well located for exploring the west of Cornwall, and attractions such as Land's End, Flambards and St Ives (a train ride on the St Ives branch line from St Erth is a must) are only a short drive away.

All in all, this has been one of the best camping holidays we have had, and we will certainly consider returning the next time we come to Cornwall.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Fingerprints 2 reviews from this member

All the previous reviews are correct. 2nd trip out with our new tent, read all the reviews how helpful the site owners were so we set off to Gwithian. The site had apparently changed hands over the winter and had new toilet and shower block fitted. From talking to other visitors I am glad we went this year and not last as the new work has enhanced a good thing. The site is ideally sited a short walk from the beach. The pub just over the road is excellent, with the steak and ale pie highly recommended.

The owners are extemely helpful, and even when we were caught out by the no cards yet the 'pay me when you get to the cahspoint' was very helpful after a 6 hour drive. We were in a central pitch which was a bit noisy, however after a visit to Boots and the purchase of ear plugs sleep improved. The water pressure in the shower block dropped off in the 'rush hour' however the tides were with us and a lazy rising in the morning allowed us to use the showers after the rush and meant we were still on the beach during the late afternoon rush.
The visit of the pizza and curry vans was a tasty treat and meant very little cooking was actually needed as morning egg and bacon baps were also cooked on site. Can't wait to go again.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Suzi57 6 reviews from this member

Just got back from Gwithian Farm last week. Weather was fantastic, just a couple of showers otherwise sunshine and beautiful blue skys. Small shop with all the essentials i.e. milk, newspapers etc. Shower block clean and o.k but water pressure in Hayle itself was not good while we were there and showers were not very powerful. At the end of our holiday they had had something done to them and they worked much better. Beach was beautiful and never crowded although journey through the dunes was interesting. (To avoid the stile try walking just a little detour through the overspill car park - much easier route). Free use of ice pack freezers and launderette facilities were easy to use.

Red River Inn across the road from the site very welcoming with an entertaining land lord! This pub does get very busy and one night we could not wait for a table to eat and found a pub down the road called the Turnpike. Very nice meal and then went back to the Red River for a drink.

Claire and Mike very helpful and the cream tea's in their garden were lovely. Will probably return in the future even though there is a 7-8 hour drive from Derbyshire.

Reviewer: Lucyha1 1 review from this member

June 2005
Really nice owners who are very helpful with all their local knowledge. The showers were excellent, the best we've ever had - better than home!
The beach is a short walk away.There's a good pub literally opposite.
Generally the campsite is in a nice spot, its not too big to be impersonal and there's plenty of nature to watch from your tent door!
Could not fault our stay!

Reviewer: John campa dl 4 reviews from this member

August 2005
Wow what a site!. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome Nothing is to much trouble for Mike or Clair the owners. The shower block is new and as such is clean and plenty big enough for the site, I hope it's still as good next year?. Only gripe would be that washing up water could be hotter suspect all run off one bolier.

The Red River Inn across the road is small but friendly (get in early if eating). Pizza & Currys both popular order early.The centre of the site is kept clear for ball games and a strict speed limit is enforced at all times. The beach is fantastic and never crowded.My son had a surfing lesson with GAS (opposite steps to beach)well worth it was standing up after 1 hour.

If you go to St Ives USE the park & ride view from train is stunning. Co-op in Hayle open to 10.00pm, local bargin shop next to garage has cheap beach stuff. How good is Gwithian, well we stayed an extra week and are planning to go back next year.

If you want easy going laid back camping and easy access to the beach with good local shops and a pub within staggering distance (stay off the Doom Bar Bitter)and want to travel round West Cornwall and don't want to pay the earth you would be hard pushed to better Gwithain Farm, indeed it's taken me 6 years to find my ideal site, well worth the near 7 hour drive home.

Reviewer: Hilge 3 reviews from this member

August 2005
More Gwithian Farm first-timers here who would echo many of the positive comments in the previous reviews.

Top Marks:
~ Great location, literally one field back behind the Towans dunes.
~ Decent sized pitches: Whole site gently sloping inland - good news in wet - as won't waterlog.
~ Showers/Toilets: Very new & clean with 6M + 6F free hot showers plus a family 2x shower room & childrens full-size bath room - although see comments re peak use below.
~ Fair pricing: Pitches charged by 'heads not structures' - so no extra charges for pup tents, etc. Gazebo-tastic! :-)
~ Good menu & ale at Red River Inn just over road from site.
~ New, large Lidl within 2 miles (dir Hayle).
~ Internet access in Sunset Surf Cafe behind beach: 2.50/hr (5 mins).
~ General competence and 'can-do attitude' of owners (Mike & Clair Hancock) very evident :-)

Be Aware:
~ Best described (peak season) as a 'sociable/lively' site: eg. was a 'No Ball Games after 21:30' rule posted - but didn't appear to be enforced - so large, boisterous Rounders matches took place until well after 22:00 on several occasions (Appeared to be several larger multi-family groups on site). Not a problem, but for those with v.young kids?
~ Need to avoid peak times to ensure a decent shower: they looked nice - but slowed to a fairly ridiculous trickle at peak times (although, in fairness, there was a note posted shortly before we departed which mentioned a new 'local pump' being installed - so maybe this will improve the water pressure/flow?)

Would Benefit from:
~ Separate Games field / kiddies play-area.
~ Higher water pressure ;-)

Overall:
~ Clearly a well run, clean and friendly site - with excellent local beach and pub. Esp. suitable for surfers, backpackers, families with slightly older kids and essentially anyone who likes Cornish Beach Life & Cream Teas :-)
~ Once the bedding-in issues with the (brand new) Amenities Block have been sorted, it must be a top pick in this area. 8/10.

Reviewer: Shagrat 1 review from this member

July 2005
Here we are again fresh from another camping trip and what a find this place was!

Gwithian Farm, Gwithian nr Hayle, Cornwall. Run by the ever friendly Mike and his wife, the Extreme Campers would rate this a 5 star site. Free ice pack service, brand new toilets and showers. Pizzas, curries and bacon butties served on site if you can't be arsed! You can't go wrong!

Another major benefit to staying at Gwithian Farm is the Red River Inn just across the road. Aaron, Sally and Mike offer a very warm welcome and good food to boot.

These guys really made us feel like regulars and we can't praise them and their lovely victorian pub enough. The scoff was good quality and reasonably priced. They cope brilliantly with the constant barrage of campers seeking refuge. This is a very popular little place as there is little in the area, but the atmosphere is warm and you won't want to leave!

Thanks to all you guys down in Gwithian that we met either on site or in the boozer for making our trip memorable despite the bad weather.

Previous     245 Reviews in total, now showing 221 to 230      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a HandiRack and HandiHoldall Combo Pack Win an OLPRO Abberley XL 4 Berth Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6003 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1406