Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 300 Reviews
              10/10 from 300 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  300 in total, now showing 221 to 230                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Taz58 13 reviews from this member

This is a very good site! The layout is really good with generous pitches all hook up's being on hardstandings. There are trees and shrubs planted all around and the grounds are kept in top condition.

There is an onsite fishing lake which is nice to sit by or to have a stroll in the evening. The staff are all helpful and friendly and you are taken to your pitch and shown where everything is on the way.

The laundry/wash up facilities are beautifully clean as are the showers and toilets. The shop is very comprehensive and has a bit of everything, bread and papers can be ordered for the next day. Good tourist information room with loads of leaflets and even a pool table!

The site is about a mile from the main road and it is so quiet and the surrounding views are great.

In Glastonbury if you head for the coach/car park there is no height restrictions and plenty of room and you just cut through the alley to the shops and the Abbey. Wells, again, we had no problem with parking and both are within very short distances to visit.

Lovely place to stay, would go back again without hesitation!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Justpassing 9 reviews from this member

Not going to waffle on about this Adult Only site.

It is perfect in every way! From private washroom if wanted, to landscaped pitches. Laundry. Hairdryers in toilets, free of charge. Free use of freezer for icepacks.
If you get chilly or bored in your tent in the evening there is a converted barn area made into a games room / tourist info room. Very comfortable with sofas. Well stocked shop. Fresh cakes made daily.
The area has lots to do and lots of walks. Will return again soon.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Minigirl 12 reviews from this member

I have to agree with everyone else. This site was fantastic. We stayed here for 4 nights, Sat-Wed. Wish this site was close to home as we would use more frequently. Beautifully maintained trees, shrubs, grassed areas, fences etc.
All pitches are very large. Toilets / showers are fantastic! The site is really good for walking to the Tor. There is a pub about a 40min walk away, but you need to ask at reception for a printed write up of how to get there, otherwise you'll never find it.

The shop is excellent as is the the laundry room.

In the information centre there was a pool table.

We will definitely be returning! We had a dog and there was plenty of scope for walking without using the car. Also there are lovely views from most of the pitches. Fantastic staff also - very friendly.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rickit 8 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a lovely ten night stay at this wonderful site. The facilities are fantastic, the staff are very lovely and caring
What else can be said about this site that has not been already said, other that it has simply got to be one of the best campsites in the country if not the best.

We would highly recommend a visit.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Microjo 2 reviews from this member

We are quite new to camping, and this is the first trip of the year, and what a treat this site was. Beautifully set out excellent pitches. The toilet and shower block was impeccable, and a pleasure to use. The staff were lovely, very helpful and welcoming, I can't fault this place at all, for us novice campers it was a great way to start our year. For peace quiet and tranquillity with superb facilities, and No Children. Bliss. We will be back!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kevinsheldon 30 reviews from this member

We received an efficient and friendly welcome from the reception staff and shown personally to our pitch. All the toilet / washing facilities were very clean which makes everyone using them want to keep them that way. The shrubs and flowers around the site are beautifully kept and the views from the top of Walnut Terrace are spectacular in sunny weather!

The walk to Glastonbury along the lanes the fields were too muddy proved a stern test of stamina. As mentioned in earlier reviews, signs to the town petered out and we had to ask other walkers which way to go. Whilst there we had our Sunday lunch at the Abbey Tea Rooms. Two courses + drinks around 25.

No problems finding the Tor with great views from the top.

We only use sites where we can walk or take public transport into the nearby town or city. We shall be back here again.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vivienjh 1 review from this member

Just returned home from a fantastic 10 days at the Old Oaks. Warm and friendly reception, very helpful. The site is the best we have stayed on, with the pitches being very large which is unusual these days. Again, the personal hygiene facility was second to none, incredibly clean. I can't really comment on the washing up facilities as that is my husbands department, but there didn't seem to be any complaints.

Nicely laid out and maintained.

The area is ideal to use as a base for exploring the local surroundings. My only criticism is when walking to the Tor the signs dried up leaving you wondering which way to go.

Although the internet was offered it was available in the office only. A WIFI facility would be useful even if a charge was made for the privileged.

Looking forward to returning to the site later in the year. Can I have the same pitch please.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 153 reviews from this member

Heaven on Earth! The best run site we've ever stayed on. Everyone was so friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Pitches are all large, all bordered by hedges and all in sections so it feels like a small site even though they have 100 pitches.
The recycling facilities and waste facilities are second to none. The toilet/shower block is the cleanest we've ever used. Under-cover washing up area is great too. There is also a small laundry. The shop is well stocked with loads of local produce (not overpriced either!). I can highly recommend the local cider (Hecks from Street) - I'm sure they do a roaring trade in it! You can pre-order morning papers for collection from reception the next day.
The dog facilities are the best we've ever come across too! They have a dog walk, a dog exercise area where they can be let off the lead and a doggie shower - tried and tested by our boy, Paddy, much to his disgust!
The walk to Glastonbury Tor from the site is steep and is 3/4 of a mile but is well worth it for the views alone. The walk into Glastonbury itself it 1.5 miles, again it's steep but worth the walk. I would give this wonderful site 9.9 out of 10, the only thing it lacks is a pub within a reasonable walking distance for a sunny evening pint!
This is our 2nd visit and it certainly won't be our last. Thanks to all at Old Oaks!

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cathg 4 reviews from this member

Well here I am, back after a lovely restful week at the Old Oaks.

We pitched at an all-serviced pitch on the circle. The plots are very roomy and every caravan had it's privacy, which is nice but sometimes it's nice to sit and talk to the neighbours!

Even though there was a lot of rain around we were lucky only to get caught once - half way walking up the Tor! There is a footpath leading from the site up to the Tower. The total walk from the site took around 90 minutes. Very enjoyable. On a nice sunny day the views would be fantastic, sunrise / sunset times would be beautiful.

It's lovely to be on a site that's situated away from main roads, very peaceful. The lane approaching the site is OK - according to one of the chaps on site, there's only two places where two caravans can't pass each other. If you have concerns about meeting oncoming caravans, avoid getting there early as all caravans should leave the site by 12 noon.

All the staff are very friendly and helpful - know a lot about the local areas. The shop is well stocked, as well as freshly made bread there's a lovely home-made Victoria sandwich cake every day which is sold by the slice.

My husband's a keen fisherman and was really pleased with his efforts at the pool - it's well stocked with carp, tench, perch and roach.

We ate out a few times - The Lion (turn left onto the main road, drive around 3 miles) was excellent - 10/10, couldn't fault it at all. Also another place for recommendation is the Geroge and Pilgrim in Glastonbury itself. Another excellent meal and good atmosphere in a very old building - it has quite a history.

It's well worth a trip to Wells on a Wednesday for their market, it's really good. Surprisingly Glastonbury market (Monday) isn't up to much.

Frome is a lovely town also.

Hopefully we'll go back for a weekend in October, otherwise definitely next spring - can't wait!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chelsea girl 56 reviews from this member

Just returned from August bank holiday at the Old Oaks. We have been to this site many times and it just keeps getting better. As always the shower and toilet block absolutely spotless. Pitches and site area immaculate and even after a wet August the people in tents didn't seem to have much of a problem.
The site was full but at Old Oaks they never seem to pack them in and everyone has plenty of space to relax. What we really love about this place is that everyone staying here seems to chill out and just enjoys nature and peace and quiet - you never hear noisy tv's or radios so if you are after somewhere really to recharge your batteries away from children this really is the place to come. We devoured the freshly baked loaf from the shop in one day and enjoyed walking around the site chatting to the onsite chickens!
Good places to visit with the dog - Stockhill Woods the other side of Wells (off the A39) East Harptree Woods (also north of Wells) and the Willow Walk following the canal near glastonbury. Old Oaks is convenient for everything really - Wells, Street, Mendip Hills and not too far from the M5. Cant wait to go back.

Previous     300 Reviews in total, now showing 221 to 230      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth 225! Win a Coolbox Cool n Store Package worth over 235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7106 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1328