Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map
Tel: 01458 831 437
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 18/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 311 Reviews
                10/10 from 311 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  311 in total, now showing 221 to 230                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: December 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sumps53 37 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the weekend of 11-13 December. What a find! I hardly dare review it as I want to keep it secret. A beautifully laid out site with amazing views over the fields and within walking distance of the Tor. Pitches are separated by hedges and are very spacious, with no feeling of being hemmed in or lined up. There is a dog walk and a dog cleaning area, so dogs are well catered for.It was very quiet indeed - no road noise, just perfect peace. Bliss. The shower block was very clean and had good showers. A little snug for the more amply proportioned though - my only criticism. We were a little late arriving because of heavy traffic but check in was smooth and friendly. Nearby, in Glastonbury there are all the pubs, cafes and shops you would expect and if you want crystals, you will be spoilt for choice! Also a large Morrisons, which is very handy. We will without doubt be back to what is possibly the nicest site we have ever stayed at.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fudge59 21 reviews from this member

We were there over the August bank holiday, a wonderful peaceful site, you wouldn't know it was full as the pitches are quite large. The wardens were extremely friendly and helpful, the shop well-stocked (excellent local ale and cider), great washing facilities.

The walk directly up to the Tor (signposted from the site) is well worth it.

Will be back again - well worth booking for a quiet break on a bank holiday, when other sites tend to be full to bursting.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jojomad 3 reviews from this member

I've stayed at this wonderful site a number of times over the years, and can only say good things about it. The owners have thought of everything; the facilities are consistently spotless, the shop is well-stocked with food, drinks and camping equipment (not to mention the home-baked cakes, which are divine!).
The site is an ideal place to explore the surrounding area or just to stay and chill out. There are numerous walks and cycle paths direct from the site. The previous reviewer is correct; a lot of the grass pitches are to be converted to hardstanding. I spoke to the owners and they haven't taken this decision to deter tents, but purely from a practical point of view, the grass pitches can get waterlogged - I've stayed there when this has been the case, and it's very unpleasant! I was assured that the hardstanding pitches would be fine for tents - yes, I'll need to buy some rock pegs, but this is a small inconvenience to enable me to stay at what is the best site I've been to.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris.hunt 1 review from this member

Our first time at this site but definitely will not be the last. 5 star in our opinion. Very large pitches. Ours was half grass half hard standing, both about 25 feet wide and 40 long. Fully serviced with water and drainage.
The grass is better than my lawn at home. Beautiful specimen trees. Ornamental shrubs divide the pitches for a degree of extra privacy. Large open areas of lawn in the central areas. Pitches are just around the edges. Showers are very clean but only one main block so I suspect in high season you'd be queuing. I believe that's being rectified over this winter. People delightfully helpful.
Good dog walks and even a purpose built hut with shower to wash them. Very relaxing and peaceful. Can't fault this place really. Will definitely be returning. Thanks Old Oaks for a lovely holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lms0110 38 reviews from this member

This site is easily accessible from the nearby A roads, lefthand turn just pass the Hospital & about a mile or so along a country lane & is a good centre for nearby Glastonbury, Street, Wells & Cheddar. Glastonbury & the Tor are both signposted from the site via public footpaths.

Adult only site that allows dogs, it was a very peaceful site for the most part & the dogs were well behaved

Showers & toilets were spotless & they provided free ice block freezing - whether they'll carry on with this as they informed me that the area where we were was being put to EHU next year, there will only be a few non EHU pitches available - are these sites trying to deter tent campers?

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pauline57 8 reviews from this member

Visited this site for the first time this July.

Site very nicely laid out and good facilities, although they do struggle to keep up with demand, had to queue for a shower most mornings.

Found plenty to do for our week and visited various National Trust properties in the area as we are members.We needed to keep outing costs to a minimum after paying such a high price for the site!

Although we enjoyed our stay don't think we will return as we thought it was very expensive for what was included in pitch fee.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dafne 3 reviews from this member

This was our 2nd visit and it rained almost everyday. But it could not spoil our time at the site. It is absolutely amazing. This is only our second camping trip and can't believe that we found the best site in Britain.

The pitches are so spacious, we requested the same one as last year and couldn't believe our luck getting it.

The site is so clean and the staff could not be anymore helpful.

The facilities are second to none and we never had to wait to use the showers. The walks from the site are amazing and it helps to build up an appetite when walking into Glastonbury.

We will definitely be back next year and hope to get the same pitch again. We only wish that it was a bit closer and we would definitely use it more often.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: S-picky 4 reviews from this member

We visited this site on a perfect sunny weekend in June and can honestly say it has spoilt us for any other campsite. We are not child-haters but the absence of children made such a difference to the peace and feel of the site compared to others, that this aspect was a real bonus.
The Old Oaks is definitely worthy of its 5 stars with excellent facilities, a very well stocked shop and in a lovely peaceful location very handy for Glastonbury. We could not find a fault and will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Millhouse90 2 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have visited this site and it certainly five star in every sense. We had a fully serviced pitch and the pitch was very large compared to some of the sites we have visited. The toilet facilities are excellent and they have a bath for a token amount of 1 which is well worth it.
They also have a small fishing lake on site which my husband enjoyed as he is a keen fisherman and they also had matches on for free night stays.
The owners and staff are very friendly and bend over backwards to help you in any way. They also have a dog walk which is very nice and somewhere to wash the dog off if they get dirty. I would certainly recommend this site and we will of course be going back for another visit next year.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sha/tel 11 reviews from this member

Just back from a 9 day stay at this great site cant say much that has not already been said about this site. Fantastic, one of the best sites we have stayed on, wish more sites took pride in the care of grounds and toilet / shower blocks as this on does.
We stayed at this site when the Glastonbury festival was on did not spoil the peace and quite of this site. Must add good fishing which kept hubby busy for hours, and also yummy home made cakes.

Previous     311 Reviews in total, now showing 221 to 230      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Barbecue Package worth 249 Win a Clarke IG2000B 1.8kW Suitcase Generator worth 299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 7th to 7th July, Derbyshire
Brilliant weekend, Book by 23rd June for discounted camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2156 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1563