Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 303 Reviews
              10/10 from 303 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  303 in total, now showing 231 to 240                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 156 reviews from this member

Heaven on Earth! The best run site we've ever stayed on. Everyone was so friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Pitches are all large, all bordered by hedges and all in sections so it feels like a small site even though they have 100 pitches.
The recycling facilities and waste facilities are second to none. The toilet/shower block is the cleanest we've ever used. Under-cover washing up area is great too. There is also a small laundry. The shop is well stocked with loads of local produce (not overpriced either!). I can highly recommend the local cider (Hecks from Street) - I'm sure they do a roaring trade in it! You can pre-order morning papers for collection from reception the next day.
The dog facilities are the best we've ever come across too! They have a dog walk, a dog exercise area where they can be let off the lead and a doggie shower - tried and tested by our boy, Paddy, much to his disgust!
The walk to Glastonbury Tor from the site is steep and is 3/4 of a mile but is well worth it for the views alone. The walk into Glastonbury itself it 1.5 miles, again it's steep but worth the walk. I would give this wonderful site 9.9 out of 10, the only thing it lacks is a pub within a reasonable walking distance for a sunny evening pint!
This is our 2nd visit and it certainly won't be our last. Thanks to all at Old Oaks!

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cathg 4 reviews from this member

Well here I am, back after a lovely restful week at the Old Oaks.

We pitched at an all-serviced pitch on the circle. The plots are very roomy and every caravan had it's privacy, which is nice but sometimes it's nice to sit and talk to the neighbours!

Even though there was a lot of rain around we were lucky only to get caught once - half way walking up the Tor! There is a footpath leading from the site up to the Tower. The total walk from the site took around 90 minutes. Very enjoyable. On a nice sunny day the views would be fantastic, sunrise / sunset times would be beautiful.

It's lovely to be on a site that's situated away from main roads, very peaceful. The lane approaching the site is OK - according to one of the chaps on site, there's only two places where two caravans can't pass each other. If you have concerns about meeting oncoming caravans, avoid getting there early as all caravans should leave the site by 12 noon.

All the staff are very friendly and helpful - know a lot about the local areas. The shop is well stocked, as well as freshly made bread there's a lovely home-made Victoria sandwich cake every day which is sold by the slice.

My husband's a keen fisherman and was really pleased with his efforts at the pool - it's well stocked with carp, tench, perch and roach.

We ate out a few times - The Lion (turn left onto the main road, drive around 3 miles) was excellent - 10/10, couldn't fault it at all. Also another place for recommendation is the Geroge and Pilgrim in Glastonbury itself. Another excellent meal and good atmosphere in a very old building - it has quite a history.

It's well worth a trip to Wells on a Wednesday for their market, it's really good. Surprisingly Glastonbury market (Monday) isn't up to much.

Frome is a lovely town also.

Hopefully we'll go back for a weekend in October, otherwise definitely next spring - can't wait!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chelsea girl 56 reviews from this member

Just returned from August bank holiday at the Old Oaks. We have been to this site many times and it just keeps getting better. As always the shower and toilet block absolutely spotless. Pitches and site area immaculate and even after a wet August the people in tents didn't seem to have much of a problem.
The site was full but at Old Oaks they never seem to pack them in and everyone has plenty of space to relax. What we really love about this place is that everyone staying here seems to chill out and just enjoys nature and peace and quiet - you never hear noisy tv's or radios so if you are after somewhere really to recharge your batteries away from children this really is the place to come. We devoured the freshly baked loaf from the shop in one day and enjoyed walking around the site chatting to the onsite chickens!
Good places to visit with the dog - Stockhill Woods the other side of Wells (off the A39) East Harptree Woods (also north of Wells) and the Willow Walk following the canal near glastonbury. Old Oaks is convenient for everything really - Wells, Street, Mendip Hills and not too far from the M5. Cant wait to go back.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Farley 11 reviews from this member

This is the first time weve used an adults only camp site. We were very impressed. Lovely peaceful site with pitches that are level and bordered by trees and shrubs. The gates of the camp are closed during the night so there are not any cars travelling around the park after 11 pm. The staff are friendly and helpful.
The toilet block very clean but could do with a few more toilets when the site is full. Disadvantage to us was that there are no places to visit in the evening within walking distance. Glastonbury is quite a walk away over fields (not to be contemplated when returning after drinks in the dark) . Overall though an excellent site which we will revisit.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rob Johns 12 reviews from this member

I have to concur with many of the previous reviews about this site. There are many areas that deserve the highest praise here. The staff are fantastic, toilets and showers too are top line as are the campsite shop and the pitches themselves. This is most certainly the best kept site that I have seen. The proximity to the town of Glastonbury and its attractions (as well as the close towns of Street and Wells) make it an ideal base for tourism. I also have to praise all the fellow campers at Old Oaks who added to the great atmosphere.

Facilities for dogs are also superb with its great dog run and associated doggie shower, something rarely seen in most sites (considering that you pay a charge for dogs).

Whilst at the site, I was pondering over how I could offer any constructive criticism. The one point that I was going to make (and one that has been mentioned before), and that is, that the distance from both Top and Lower Oaks fields (or paddocks as they called them) to the one toilet and shower block is just a bit too far. Well, it appears that this is going to be addressed and that a new block is planned for construction in the winter of 2009 / 2010. Also the number of water tap facilities that at present are fairly sparse are now being increased, progress is being made in this area presently.

Would I visit this site again? A team of wild dogs cannot stop me going back to this wonderfull beutiful campsite!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Yorkie18 8 reviews from this member

Fantastic Site very quiet in the country but still near to Glastonbury. A nice pub just up the main road that serves good food

Lots of space between pitches, wonderful shower block, friendly staff and well stocked shop, wonderful area to visit. This site has it all. We will be back

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 100acrewood 20 reviews from this member

Well what can we say that hasnt already been said? Our fourth trip here and the site just gets better and better - if thats possible! More hardstanding which is understandable after the floods they encountered last yr which we were in resident at the time, more pitches outlined where as before the top half of lower oaks and the field behind werent. Another freezer added for freezing your ice blocks and fresh cakes available in the shop which were baked by the owners' daughter in law (very good they were too Tara thank you).

What a truly fantastic site in a great location with wonderful owners and fantastic and friendly wardens. Its become apparent that Jim and Sally are taking more of a back seat in the knowledge that their very capable son will be eventually taking over and by the few changes that have already been made - added signs we noticed to the very UN RESPONSIBLE DOG OWNERS to name but one, we can see that they'll do as good a job as the present owners.

Booked already for 2009 and cant wait - the dogs loved it too and know where they're going when taking them for a walk! Think they would take themselves and return once they'd done given the chance. We went to Brean Sands whilst there and still 2 for the whole day although it was a bit breeky. TOP TIP Dont park in the Abbey car park, park behind the high street in Glastonbury - if you go right at the roundabout after the tor the car parking is signposted, bigger car park, cheaper and great loos!

A definite must for people wishing for peace and quiet and plenty of time to sit and watch the world go by!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnnyh1961 2 reviews from this member

This is a site not to be missed-the site is clean and well laid out. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The facilities are second to none with fishing, walking and pool all available. Free ice block feezing and well stocked shop. As prevously mentioned the toilets are a little walk from top oaks ( the owners have identified this as a problem and will address it.) The walk to the tor is a killer but well worth it. I would say this is the best site I have ever been on and will definitely be going back. Don't miss you will regret.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Philip 22 25 reviews from this member

One word describes this site. Excellent. All immenities were on hand and the super pitches were perfect for us. Walks and fishing was on board with great views and the owners made you feel very welcome. We would return to this site without a second thought and know that our holiday would be enjoyable.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: W13 Ann 1 review from this member

WE have just arrived home from a rather wet dreary 3 night stay at The Old Oaks. The site was very peaceful, with large flat pitches for tents. The pitches we had were a fair step from the shower/toilet block, particularly at night. The showers and toilets were spotlessly clean, with cubicles for privacy whilst washing as well as a bathroom for a nice bath. Unfortunately we weren't made aware that we needed a token for hot water in this facility, and on the last morning, one of us went for a wash and to wet our hair, but there was no hot water. This is awkward when you've already taken all your clothes off, and resulted in a cold wash and a cold dousing with the over bath shower on the head! Not ideal when the weather is so cold and wet. The other disappointing feature is the hair dryers which are listed as one of the things there, but these were totally useless, blowing only cold air. And no plugs for your own travel hairdryer either.

Previous     303 Reviews in total, now showing 231 to 240      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack Win your favourite OLPRO Windbreak from 6 Fab Designs

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show 2nd to 3rd September
Season-finale event, taking place at Newark Showground, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4611 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1641