Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 300 Reviews
              10/10 from 300 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  300 in total, now showing 231 to 240                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Farley 11 reviews from this member

This is the first time weve used an adults only camp site. We were very impressed. Lovely peaceful site with pitches that are level and bordered by trees and shrubs. The gates of the camp are closed during the night so there are not any cars travelling around the park after 11 pm. The staff are friendly and helpful.
The toilet block very clean but could do with a few more toilets when the site is full. Disadvantage to us was that there are no places to visit in the evening within walking distance. Glastonbury is quite a walk away over fields (not to be contemplated when returning after drinks in the dark) . Overall though an excellent site which we will revisit.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rob Johns 12 reviews from this member

I have to concur with many of the previous reviews about this site. There are many areas that deserve the highest praise here. The staff are fantastic, toilets and showers too are top line as are the campsite shop and the pitches themselves. This is most certainly the best kept site that I have seen. The proximity to the town of Glastonbury and its attractions (as well as the close towns of Street and Wells) make it an ideal base for tourism. I also have to praise all the fellow campers at Old Oaks who added to the great atmosphere.

Facilities for dogs are also superb with its great dog run and associated doggie shower, something rarely seen in most sites (considering that you pay a charge for dogs).

Whilst at the site, I was pondering over how I could offer any constructive criticism. The one point that I was going to make (and one that has been mentioned before), and that is, that the distance from both Top and Lower Oaks fields (or paddocks as they called them) to the one toilet and shower block is just a bit too far. Well, it appears that this is going to be addressed and that a new block is planned for construction in the winter of 2009 / 2010. Also the number of water tap facilities that at present are fairly sparse are now being increased, progress is being made in this area presently.

Would I visit this site again? A team of wild dogs cannot stop me going back to this wonderfull beutiful campsite!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Yorkie18 8 reviews from this member

Fantastic Site very quiet in the country but still near to Glastonbury. A nice pub just up the main road that serves good food

Lots of space between pitches, wonderful shower block, friendly staff and well stocked shop, wonderful area to visit. This site has it all. We will be back

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 100acrewood 20 reviews from this member

Well what can we say that hasnt already been said? Our fourth trip here and the site just gets better and better - if thats possible! More hardstanding which is understandable after the floods they encountered last yr which we were in resident at the time, more pitches outlined where as before the top half of lower oaks and the field behind werent. Another freezer added for freezing your ice blocks and fresh cakes available in the shop which were baked by the owners' daughter in law (very good they were too Tara thank you).

What a truly fantastic site in a great location with wonderful owners and fantastic and friendly wardens. Its become apparent that Jim and Sally are taking more of a back seat in the knowledge that their very capable son will be eventually taking over and by the few changes that have already been made - added signs we noticed to the very UN RESPONSIBLE DOG OWNERS to name but one, we can see that they'll do as good a job as the present owners.

Booked already for 2009 and cant wait - the dogs loved it too and know where they're going when taking them for a walk! Think they would take themselves and return once they'd done given the chance. We went to Brean Sands whilst there and still 2 for the whole day although it was a bit breeky. TOP TIP Dont park in the Abbey car park, park behind the high street in Glastonbury - if you go right at the roundabout after the tor the car parking is signposted, bigger car park, cheaper and great loos!

A definite must for people wishing for peace and quiet and plenty of time to sit and watch the world go by!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnnyh1961 2 reviews from this member

This is a site not to be missed-the site is clean and well laid out. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The facilities are second to none with fishing, walking and pool all available. Free ice block feezing and well stocked shop. As prevously mentioned the toilets are a little walk from top oaks ( the owners have identified this as a problem and will address it.) The walk to the tor is a killer but well worth it. I would say this is the best site I have ever been on and will definitely be going back. Don't miss you will regret.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Philip 22 25 reviews from this member

One word describes this site. Excellent. All immenities were on hand and the super pitches were perfect for us. Walks and fishing was on board with great views and the owners made you feel very welcome. We would return to this site without a second thought and know that our holiday would be enjoyable.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: W13 Ann 1 review from this member

WE have just arrived home from a rather wet dreary 3 night stay at The Old Oaks. The site was very peaceful, with large flat pitches for tents. The pitches we had were a fair step from the shower/toilet block, particularly at night. The showers and toilets were spotlessly clean, with cubicles for privacy whilst washing as well as a bathroom for a nice bath. Unfortunately we weren't made aware that we needed a token for hot water in this facility, and on the last morning, one of us went for a wash and to wet our hair, but there was no hot water. This is awkward when you've already taken all your clothes off, and resulted in a cold wash and a cold dousing with the over bath shower on the head! Not ideal when the weather is so cold and wet. The other disappointing feature is the hair dryers which are listed as one of the things there, but these were totally useless, blowing only cold air. And no plugs for your own travel hairdryer either.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poppysox 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site for 6 nights at the beginning of June.

On arrival, we received a friendly welcome and were shown to our pitch which was in The Birches section. This section is mainly for tents and motor homes - the pitch was very spacious and flat, with electrical hookup. As we don't have any children, we fully appreciated the quiet atmosphere of an adults only site - the only sounds were birds and cows, what a delight.

The facilities at the site were second to none, the toilets and showers were immaculate. There is a laundry room with one washer, one dryer and also a spin dryer. There were plenty of sinks available for dishwashing. There is a large freezer available for free freezing of ice blocks. The shop is extremely well stocked and we were able to order newspapers and fresh bread every day.

We have 2 cocker spaniels who couldn't wait to get into the dog walk. This is a fully enclosed area, except for the entrance gate, which a dog might get under.

The walk up to Glastonbury Tor has spectacular views and is well worth the effort.

We found a splendid beach at Brean Down, where you can take your car directly onto the beach, it only cost us 2 at the time we were there. The beach seems to stretch for about 2 miles.

Last but not least, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

You will not be disappointed with this site, it is the best we have experienced and will be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daisydoo 22 reviews from this member

This is my second review for this site (previous review in 2006 with a tent). We have now stayed here 4 times and over the two years have visited lots of different sites all over and this is one of the very few we have returned to. I have not yet found a better one!

Everyone is so welcoming and friendly but without being over friendly (if that makes sense!)

The apple juice sold in the shop is to die for - highly recommended!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Achilles 3 reviews from this member

I arrived as a solo cyclist during a very wet half term. The site, given the weather was relatively quiet. Initial impressions were very good the staff were very welcoming and the site is very well maintained with level hard standing, level, almost manicured grass terraces, and apparently well drained. The toilets/showers etc were all immaculate new and very clean. The shop is well stocked. Nice to have no children running round for once it was very peaceful apart from my neighbours who returned at 2am(!) but they soon turned the music off ( at 2 in the morning why??) so generally a good nights kip despite the rain.

A bit pricey for 1 but you do use up a pitch and you get what you pay for.

About a 10 min ride to Glastonbury I avoided the cycle route track on my tourer it looked mountain bike territory to me, but the main road was fine (certainly as you will not have children with you!). Nice site, I would certainly use it again.

Previous     300 Reviews in total, now showing 231 to 240      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth 225! Win a Coolbox Cool n Store Package worth over 235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7125 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1094