Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 303 Reviews
              10/10 from 303 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  303 in total, now showing 241 to 250                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poppysox 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site for 6 nights at the beginning of June.

On arrival, we received a friendly welcome and were shown to our pitch which was in The Birches section. This section is mainly for tents and motor homes - the pitch was very spacious and flat, with electrical hookup. As we don't have any children, we fully appreciated the quiet atmosphere of an adults only site - the only sounds were birds and cows, what a delight.

The facilities at the site were second to none, the toilets and showers were immaculate. There is a laundry room with one washer, one dryer and also a spin dryer. There were plenty of sinks available for dishwashing. There is a large freezer available for free freezing of ice blocks. The shop is extremely well stocked and we were able to order newspapers and fresh bread every day.

We have 2 cocker spaniels who couldn't wait to get into the dog walk. This is a fully enclosed area, except for the entrance gate, which a dog might get under.

The walk up to Glastonbury Tor has spectacular views and is well worth the effort.

We found a splendid beach at Brean Down, where you can take your car directly onto the beach, it only cost us £2 at the time we were there. The beach seems to stretch for about 2 miles.

Last but not least, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

You will not be disappointed with this site, it is the best we have experienced and will be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daisydoo 22 reviews from this member

This is my second review for this site (previous review in 2006 with a tent). We have now stayed here 4 times and over the two years have visited lots of different sites all over and this is one of the very few we have returned to. I have not yet found a better one!

Everyone is so welcoming and friendly but without being over friendly (if that makes sense!)

The apple juice sold in the shop is to die for - highly recommended!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Achilles 3 reviews from this member

I arrived as a solo cyclist during a very wet half term. The site, given the weather was relatively quiet. Initial impressions were very good – the staff were very welcoming and the site is very well maintained with level hard standing, level, almost manicured grass terraces, and apparently well drained. The toilets/showers etc were all immaculate – new and very clean. The shop is well stocked. Nice to have no children running round for once it was very peaceful apart from my neighbours who returned at 2am(!) but they soon turned the music off ( at 2 in the morning why??) so generally a good nights kip despite the rain.

A bit pricey for 1 but you do use up a pitch and you get what you pay for.

About a 10 min ride to Glastonbury – I avoided the cycle route track on my tourer – it looked mountain bike territory to me, but the main road was fine (certainly as you will not have children with you!). Nice site, I would certainly use it again.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claire61 9 reviews from this member

Well what can I say, excellent peaceful site, a real retreat, we have children so we decided to get away from it all without them, this was bliss. We had a lovely greeting from some ducks which waddled over to see us! Lovely views of the Mendip hills, lovely walks into Glastonbury, and up to the tor (which was tiresome, but well worth it) We stayed in the top oaks field non electric. Lovely big level pitches plenty of room, we took a 5 berth tent, a utility tent and plenty of room for the car, all pitches separated with shrubs. What we liked most about this field was that the pitches ran around the field (none in the middle) so you really get a sense of openness here.

The toilet and shower blocks were spotless, never had to wait long, even though the site was full. They have separate showers with wc and sink. Chest freezers were allocated nearby for your ice packs which was a plus, but take your own packs and then its free. Lovely lake if your a fishing fan, we wondered round and was lovely and peaceful. Shop was well stocked and sold free range eggs from there own chickens which were lovely.

This site is the best I have stayed at and would highly recommend it, excellent base for exploring legends and the caves.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grumpyhippy 6 reviews from this member

This site is a great getaway to the land of legends ( and caves ). Situated at the base of Glastonbury tor away from the town in gentle rolling country it has easy access, and quite a grand drive when you turn off the road, leading to a well kept, organised, picturesque site as good as any you're likely to see! The facilities were modern and spotless, catering for every need,( including disabled )and water/waste/chemical waste/bins etc plentifull around the site with an applaudable emphasis on recycling. Lovely signposted walks, dog exercise area and (very) quiet area by the pool, along with a well stocked shop and friendly staff make this site one of the best-no question.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BigMona 96 reviews from this member

This campsite is a slight trek from the M5 and thought it may take for ever on a Friday afternoon, but we arrived at the Old Oaks around 4pm! We were shown to our pitch by a Welsh man on his bike, which was heaven to watch. We were pitched in the Orchard amongst the apple trees, we had a hard standing pitch and it was very level. The TV Reception was good. On-site there is a cracking shop; I don’t think I have seen such a well stocked shop on a campsite. We bought sausages and burgers; OK they were not cheap compared to supermarket prices, buy they were also heaven. We actually bought some to take away! We did the trek into Glastonbury via the public footpath, and you just have to follow your instincts really as the signs stop suddenly. We got there and yes it is a good walk, but we enjoyed it! The town in great and some good little quirky shops, just as I imagined it wood be. Back on site, the facilities are top class and extremely clean. It was also very peaceful, no kids! We left on Sunday to continue south into the West Country. I can’t wait to return again one day.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SueSax 1 review from this member

A fantastic site - large pitches and very helpful owners of the site. The toilets were very clean and steam cleaned once a week.
The pitch was fantastic and so near Glastonbury with exceptional views across the hills and lovely walks. If you are a Fishing fan you will like the lake as large Carp are available as well as little tiddlers. Well stocked shop and a free freezer block facility which is fantastic. I would recommend this site to anyone wanting a great holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beena535 1 review from this member

This was our first experience of an adult only site - boy have we been missing out!  Where do I start??  The site was just so peaceful.  No kids, just birdsong and cow moos - absolute bliss.  The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.  There was plenty of tourist information available.  The shop was well stocked with a wide range of essentials, and was open from morning to night.  The pitches were large in comparison to most sites, and the majority were level.  The camping areas were made up of a few terraced areas (that were nicely landscaped and divided by low plants/shrubs and trees for privacy), and a few open field areas with freshly mowed grass (backed by hedges and trees, and shrubs).  Pitches on these fields are clearly marked out by small trees.  We loved the fact that the pitches only ran around the edges of the fields, none crammed in the middle.  Loads of open space.  

The rubbish/recycling bins, drinking and waste water, chemical waste disposal points are all well placed for each camping area. The rest of the site facilities were just as excellent. The cleanliness of the toilets and showers were a credit to the site, no matter what time of day or night we used them, they were spotless!  There was endless hot water in the showers too!  Free use of a freezers for freezing your ice blocks, which was great, as the weather was scorching.  There were also plenty of undercover washing up sinks/drainers - and again, we never found any left in a mess.  The dog walk was bigger than any we've used before, with a dog wash/shower block at the entrance.  The walk itself is fenced in and you are allowed to exercise your dog off the lead in this area.  There was a poop bin at the entrance to the walk, and one on the gate leading up to the Tor/Glastonbury.  There is a small fishing lake, and there are several walks from the site for walkers and dog owners alike, all shown on the site map we were given when we arrived.  The short, but steep walk from the site to the Tor is well worth the effort - breathtaking views and an almost spiritual experience.  We were very impressed with the site and will definitely be coming back soon.     

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Timmiss 5 reviews from this member

Very pleasant site indeed - facilities in terms of shower/toilet cleanliness are the best I have ever seen in many years of camping. We only stopped three nights. Recycling of rubbish is also to be recommended. On arrival the chap showed us to our pitch by bicycle, excellent! They were very helpful and friendly at all times and the range of goods within the shop was better than I have seen elsewhere. Our pitch was in the Orchard and was smaller than some I have been on at other camps.

Walking to Glastonbury from the site was exhilarating to say the least, avoiding the road way and using the path from the camp you are signposted to have to walk up a very steep field its good fun and the views at the top are superb, you look out over the somerset marshes, but you need to be reasonably fit and its defintely too far to walk at night 'to the pub' unfortunately.

We visited the Tor via the special 'Tor' bus from the Abbey Car Park, this drives you as close as possible and you can return on a later bus whilst you climb the Tor and take in its essence and views.

Glastonbury has a few restaurants - we tried an Italian and a curry house, but we weren't particularly impressed with the food in any, we didn't sample the fish and chips unfortunately, but we heard that they were supposedly good - for a drink there is a backpackers pub, which is very popular with the locals - one night we sat outside in the sun and listened to the karaoke - not everyone's cup of tea, but amazingly funny and taken very seriously by some.

One of the best trips out is to the nearby town of 'Street' (15 mins) where you will find the Clarkes village (the shoe people), we didn't know what to expect and were a little surprised to have to pay for parking but to be fair its worth it as there are around 70 shops selling cut-price items of clothing and shoes in a shopping village environment.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anything 1 review from this member

My wife and I have been to this site 4 times in the last 2 years, we never set out on camping holidays to re visit a place but we keep coming back to this one, Its just the best we found for adult only camp sites we do try others but end up comparing them to this one. We hope to be there on august bank holiday 2007 stuff the rain we will still enjoy our stay and the local produce is the best.
One criticism is please anyone using the showers toilets etc kindly clean up behind you because you wouldn't like it if I didn't clean the toilet after would you the staff are brilliant but can't check after every one uses them, mops, buckets and brushes are provided that's up to us to sort it. And if you go to the lake look out for the aggressive chicken feed it first and the rest might get a look in.
Take a walk into Glastonbury via the fields ask at reception for the public footpaths and find the pub that does a great pint of 6x the landlady is friendly and ask about the birds they feed I think its called the prince Albert takeaway food is great in all the places we visited I could go on but I wont until after august just enjoy and relax

Previous     303 Reviews in total, now showing 241 to 250      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack Win your favourite OLPRO Windbreak from 6 Fab Designs

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show 2nd to 3rd September
Season-finale event, taking place at Newark Showground, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5703 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1484