Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 306 Reviews
              10/10 from 306 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  306 in total, now showing 241 to 250                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnnyh1961 2 reviews from this member

This is a site not to be missed-the site is clean and well laid out. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The facilities are second to none with fishing, walking and pool all available. Free ice block feezing and well stocked shop. As prevously mentioned the toilets are a little walk from top oaks ( the owners have identified this as a problem and will address it.) The walk to the tor is a killer but well worth it. I would say this is the best site I have ever been on and will definitely be going back. Don't miss you will regret.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Philip 22 25 reviews from this member

One word describes this site. Excellent. All immenities were on hand and the super pitches were perfect for us. Walks and fishing was on board with great views and the owners made you feel very welcome. We would return to this site without a second thought and know that our holiday would be enjoyable.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: W13 Ann 1 review from this member

WE have just arrived home from a rather wet dreary 3 night stay at The Old Oaks. The site was very peaceful, with large flat pitches for tents. The pitches we had were a fair step from the shower/toilet block, particularly at night. The showers and toilets were spotlessly clean, with cubicles for privacy whilst washing as well as a bathroom for a nice bath. Unfortunately we weren't made aware that we needed a token for hot water in this facility, and on the last morning, one of us went for a wash and to wet our hair, but there was no hot water. This is awkward when you've already taken all your clothes off, and resulted in a cold wash and a cold dousing with the over bath shower on the head! Not ideal when the weather is so cold and wet. The other disappointing feature is the hair dryers which are listed as one of the things there, but these were totally useless, blowing only cold air. And no plugs for your own travel hairdryer either.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poppysox 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site for 6 nights at the beginning of June.

On arrival, we received a friendly welcome and were shown to our pitch which was in The Birches section. This section is mainly for tents and motor homes - the pitch was very spacious and flat, with electrical hookup. As we don't have any children, we fully appreciated the quiet atmosphere of an adults only site - the only sounds were birds and cows, what a delight.

The facilities at the site were second to none, the toilets and showers were immaculate. There is a laundry room with one washer, one dryer and also a spin dryer. There were plenty of sinks available for dishwashing. There is a large freezer available for free freezing of ice blocks. The shop is extremely well stocked and we were able to order newspapers and fresh bread every day.

We have 2 cocker spaniels who couldn't wait to get into the dog walk. This is a fully enclosed area, except for the entrance gate, which a dog might get under.

The walk up to Glastonbury Tor has spectacular views and is well worth the effort.

We found a splendid beach at Brean Down, where you can take your car directly onto the beach, it only cost us £2 at the time we were there. The beach seems to stretch for about 2 miles.

Last but not least, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

You will not be disappointed with this site, it is the best we have experienced and will be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daisydoo 22 reviews from this member

This is my second review for this site (previous review in 2006 with a tent). We have now stayed here 4 times and over the two years have visited lots of different sites all over and this is one of the very few we have returned to. I have not yet found a better one!

Everyone is so welcoming and friendly but without being over friendly (if that makes sense!)

The apple juice sold in the shop is to die for - highly recommended!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Achilles 3 reviews from this member

I arrived as a solo cyclist during a very wet half term. The site, given the weather was relatively quiet. Initial impressions were very good – the staff were very welcoming and the site is very well maintained with level hard standing, level, almost manicured grass terraces, and apparently well drained. The toilets/showers etc were all immaculate – new and very clean. The shop is well stocked. Nice to have no children running round for once it was very peaceful apart from my neighbours who returned at 2am(!) but they soon turned the music off ( at 2 in the morning why??) so generally a good nights kip despite the rain.

A bit pricey for 1 but you do use up a pitch and you get what you pay for.

About a 10 min ride to Glastonbury – I avoided the cycle route track on my tourer – it looked mountain bike territory to me, but the main road was fine (certainly as you will not have children with you!). Nice site, I would certainly use it again.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claire61 9 reviews from this member

Well what can I say, excellent peaceful site, a real retreat, we have children so we decided to get away from it all without them, this was bliss. We had a lovely greeting from some ducks which waddled over to see us! Lovely views of the Mendip hills, lovely walks into Glastonbury, and up to the tor (which was tiresome, but well worth it) We stayed in the top oaks field non electric. Lovely big level pitches plenty of room, we took a 5 berth tent, a utility tent and plenty of room for the car, all pitches separated with shrubs. What we liked most about this field was that the pitches ran around the field (none in the middle) so you really get a sense of openness here.

The toilet and shower blocks were spotless, never had to wait long, even though the site was full. They have separate showers with wc and sink. Chest freezers were allocated nearby for your ice packs which was a plus, but take your own packs and then its free. Lovely lake if your a fishing fan, we wondered round and was lovely and peaceful. Shop was well stocked and sold free range eggs from there own chickens which were lovely.

This site is the best I have stayed at and would highly recommend it, excellent base for exploring legends and the caves.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grumpyhippy 6 reviews from this member

This site is a great getaway to the land of legends ( and caves ). Situated at the base of Glastonbury tor away from the town in gentle rolling country it has easy access, and quite a grand drive when you turn off the road, leading to a well kept, organised, picturesque site as good as any you're likely to see! The facilities were modern and spotless, catering for every need,( including disabled )and water/waste/chemical waste/bins etc plentifull around the site with an applaudable emphasis on recycling. Lovely signposted walks, dog exercise area and (very) quiet area by the pool, along with a well stocked shop and friendly staff make this site one of the best-no question.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BigMona 96 reviews from this member

This campsite is a slight trek from the M5 and thought it may take for ever on a Friday afternoon, but we arrived at the Old Oaks around 4pm! We were shown to our pitch by a Welsh man on his bike, which was heaven to watch. We were pitched in the Orchard amongst the apple trees, we had a hard standing pitch and it was very level. The TV Reception was good. On-site there is a cracking shop; I don’t think I have seen such a well stocked shop on a campsite. We bought sausages and burgers; OK they were not cheap compared to supermarket prices, buy they were also heaven. We actually bought some to take away! We did the trek into Glastonbury via the public footpath, and you just have to follow your instincts really as the signs stop suddenly. We got there and yes it is a good walk, but we enjoyed it! The town in great and some good little quirky shops, just as I imagined it wood be. Back on site, the facilities are top class and extremely clean. It was also very peaceful, no kids! We left on Sunday to continue south into the West Country. I can’t wait to return again one day.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SueSax 1 review from this member

A fantastic site - large pitches and very helpful owners of the site. The toilets were very clean and steam cleaned once a week.
The pitch was fantastic and so near Glastonbury with exceptional views across the hills and lovely walks. If you are a Fishing fan you will like the lake as large Carp are available as well as little tiddlers. Well stocked shop and a free freezer block facility which is fantastic. I would recommend this site to anyone wanting a great holiday.

Previous     306 Reviews in total, now showing 241 to 250      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5859 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1289
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Open Today's Window