Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 300 Reviews
              10/10 from 300 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  300 in total, now showing 251 to 260                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zedhead36 22 reviews from this member

We arrived late after difficulty getting off the Glastonbury festival site ,but wephoned ahead and Sally the Propriator came out and showed us to our pitch (even though it was raining !) I have been going to Old Oaks for many years and have always found it to be one of the most calming ,clean,well set out and maintained sites . Sally, Jim, their son and staff do their utmost to ensure that their customers have the best camping experience possible while at Wick farm. The toilet block is spotless with free showers although you do have to buy a token if you want a bath. The shop is well stocked, the pitches are level with planting, hedges and fencing to make them feel that much more private. Water points are spread around the site so you never have far to trudge, the fishing lake is well stocked and nicely planted.

Even though it rained the entire week we were there we had a great time. If you have never been to The Old Oaks and are planning a trip to somerset then you will not find a better site

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rickit 8 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a two week stay at the site. What can be said about this wonderful site that has not already been mentioned? The site is set in tranquil surroundings in Somerset, nestling between the Mendip Hills and Glastonbury. This affords fantastic views from within most paddocks on the site. The site is set over five paddocks, each unique in there own way.
The amenities on the site are extremely clean, modern and first class. It is also very nice to see a site provide recycling facilities for those staying and you can see why they have been awarded a David Bellamy award. The site shop is very well stocked and we would highly recommend anyone staying to try the home produced beef, which is oh so very tasty. The site also boasts a very well stocked private lake which also is set in a very tranquil setting.
The town of Glastonbury and the Tor is within walking distance for those fit enough or a short drive away and also the city of Wells is close by which both have good shopping. Located within a short drive you also have the town of Street with the Clark's shopping village for those who like a bargain and a shop.
The staff working on the site are very helpful and knowledgeable and the owners Jim and Sally should be very proud of the park they have created which is fantastic. Whilst staying on site the loudest noise is the amazing birdsong which is beautiful and surrounds you. If you are after a very tranquil and relaxing site, this has to be the place. We will be back and would highly recommend, Absolutely fantastic.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: karen+peter 16 reviews from this member

Excellent site!  Will definitely be returning here.  Very spacious pitches.  Very well laid out.  Dog walk is generous with a dog shower at the entrance.  Showers, toilets, bathroom and separate shower rooms all immaculate.  Tourist information room with leather settee and pool table and internet access in reception.
The fishing lake is full of fish and a very tranquil place. The pegs are wheelchair friendly and you can see the Tor from there.
Look out for Gog and Magog, the ancient Oak trees!

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Foxinfrance 22 reviews from this member

Can't fault it.  Well maintained, lovely modern facilities, bathrooms ans showers superb.  Easy walk via field footpaths past the tor into Glastonbury.  Laid out in private terraces or open glades all pitches are superb, flat and spacious.  Fishing lake close by. Very helpful owners.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Damo1176 1 review from this member

Fantastic site! Even though we visited at Easter and the site was pretty full it didn't feel full as the pitches are evenly spaced and generous in size.
Facilities are excellent - very clean toilets, free use of freezers to freeze ice packs, free hot showers, plenty of sinks for washing up. It might be worth them putting up a notice to ask people to clean sinks & showers after use (clean bucket & cloths provided however not sure all visitors worked out what they were for!). We visited with another couple, stayed 4 nights and asked for 2 adjacent pitches which we got. We were in the top field, which was a little bit of a walk to the toilets especially at night, which would be really our only criticism as there was no lighting in the top field. Great little shop and pool room which was handy and full of info on local attractions. Staff only to happy to help. All in all friendly, clean, spacious, tranquil and no kids! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sparry63 19 reviews from this member

We have only just discovered the pleasure of adult only sites and if Old Oaks is anything to go by we have been missing out. Great site, huge pitches, good for dogs. 
The shop is well stocked and I would recommend trying the local Cider and Perry. We will be back without a doubt.
My only grizzle is that the gate at the entrance to the dog walk has a gap underneath it big enough for a large dog to get underneath it. I was aware of the stock in adjacent fields and dreaded my two getting over excited and getting under that gate. Moral - get your dogs back on the lead in good time.
Otherwise just brilliant
 

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevin1786 1 review from this member

This was a really nice campsite and very good value for money. The facilities were very clean, we loved the fact that there was a dog shower next to the doggy avenue in case our dog got mucky on a walk. The whole park was very well kept and even though we went at the end of the season and there was a lot of rain the pitch didn't get boggy. We were made to feel very welcome. Such a close distance to the tor as well, which made a nice walk. Well worth a visit.

Reviewer: Deborah Sainsbury 107 reviews from this member

August 2001
When we went the site was still open for kids but it is now adult only. (Hopefully this had nothing to do with us!!) This is probably a good thing because the site is nice and quiet and I kind of got the impression that it wasn't that child friendly when we were there. Having said that this site had by far the best toilets, showers, bathrooms etc of the sites we have been on so far - proper vanity units etc etc. There is a small shop and tourist info place but not a lot else and there are a variety of pitches you can choose from.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Krakenchops 8 reviews from this member

Before I start this review, I should start by saying I only ever stay at Adults Only sites, so have compared this site with other equivalent sites.

The park itself it well positioned, and is far enough from the main road to be free of traffic rumble. The welcome on arrival was nothing special, but we were shown to our pitch by a member of staff on a bike.

We were camping on electric and were put on the Orchard terraces. We were the only tent in this area. The pitch was large and level, bordered by a low hedge and some thin planting, which didn't really screen the pitch. The pitch had obviously had a long stay with a non breathable groundsheet some time recently as the grass was discoloured and there were some largish bald spots. All pitches in the Orchard terraces back onto a thick hedge, in between which is the footpath that leads to the Tor. People come and go at all hours from around 6am til around midnight. Whilst this wouldn't be a problem in a caravan, the occasional loud conversation whilst passing is enough to be a disturbance in a tent.

That said the general ambience of the area I camped was quietish, unitl 2 days before I was due to leave, which I will come onto later. There was some TV noise from surrounding caravans which went off around 11.30pm some nights.

The general camping field didn't look as plush as the terraces and the tents seemed a lot closer together. It was also the furthest away from the toilet block. My pitch on the terraces was at most 1 minute from them facilities which was convenient. These included wash/dryer around 10 washing up bays, 2 toilet/shower cubilces a bathroom (paid) and a iron and board which was free. The main toilet block(mens) had 3 toilets, 3 washrooms and 3 showers and 2 urinals all of which were clean through the day.

The facilites were nothing amazing though, and were on a par which most other adults only sites, that are obviously not ravaged by unsupervised children running amock.

The site also accepts groups at their discretion which is fairly unsual for adult only sites. 2 days before we were due to leave the site put 4 dutch tourist carvans in a block on the terraces 2 on either sides facing each other. They proceeded to talk loudly across the access roads and generally kills the quiet nature of the site, as groups tend to. The next moring the whole group proceeding to sing loudly on the access road next to our tent at 7am. Wherever I went on the site this group seemed to be there and talking loudly, very annoying. I mentioned the noise to the owners and they said they would try and have a word. However the general level of noise from them didn't go down and the next day I chose to leave the site a day early as it was becoming tedious.

As I said at the start, I only visit adult only sites. This is for the general peace and quiet that these site general allude to. Although this site has good facilites, I personally found it to be not as good as others I have visited this year.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pippy214 3 reviews from this member

This really is a lovely site. Visited for the first time this year and will definitely be returning. Shower blocks are very clean and even though the site was full there were never any queues. The site is spotlessly clean. There is a small shop which does actually sell most things you may need. There is also a fishing pond which is well stocked. If you are looking for peace and quiet I can recommend this site. All in all a very well looked after site. I can recommend 100 percent.

Previous     300 Reviews in total, now showing 251 to 260      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth £225! Win a Coolbox Cool ‘n’ Store Package worth over £235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7065 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977