Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 303 Reviews
              10/10 from 303 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  303 in total, now showing 251 to 260                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mini 4 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to this site and we think it is brilliant. The site itself is spacious and peaceful. The pitches are large and mostly level, not cramped together. No problem taking our Hartford XXL and car on the pitch we were allocated.
The facilities are excellent, spotlessly clean and even in August we did need to wait to use the showers. OH says washing up facilities are very good also. The shop is good, selling all the basics.
The walk into Glastonbury, over the Tor is not to be missed, call in at the Chalice Well a beautiful and uplifting place.
We will certainly be visiting again.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulo73 1 review from this member

One of the nicest sites I have been to, good facilities. Nice staff and friendly vibe around the site from fellow campers.

There's a path going up to Glastonbury Tor straight from the site and a dogwalking area, plus a good sized pond for fishing.

The ground was a little uneven where we pitched our tent, and the land in this part of the country tends to get a little waterlogged, wouldnt put me off though - will definitely be visiting again

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Redwiggi 3 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to an adult only campsite. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The site was spacious (lots of room on your pitch), well laid out and not over crowded.
It is a very quiet site and good if you like walking. The toilet block is fantastic, very clean and modern, likewise the dish-washing area.
I would certainly recommend this site and would go again.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zedhead36 23 reviews from this member

We arrived late after difficulty getting off the Glastonbury festival site ,but wephoned ahead and Sally the Propriator came out and showed us to our pitch (even though it was raining !) I have been going to Old Oaks for many years and have always found it to be one of the most calming ,clean,well set out and maintained sites . Sally, Jim, their son and staff do their utmost to ensure that their customers have the best camping experience possible while at Wick farm. The toilet block is spotless with free showers although you do have to buy a token if you want a bath. The shop is well stocked, the pitches are level with planting, hedges and fencing to make them feel that much more private. Water points are spread around the site so you never have far to trudge, the fishing lake is well stocked and nicely planted.

Even though it rained the entire week we were there we had a great time. If you have never been to The Old Oaks and are planning a trip to somerset then you will not find a better site

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rickit 8 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a two week stay at the site. What can be said about this wonderful site that has not already been mentioned? The site is set in tranquil surroundings in Somerset, nestling between the Mendip Hills and Glastonbury. This affords fantastic views from within most paddocks on the site. The site is set over five paddocks, each unique in there own way.
The amenities on the site are extremely clean, modern and first class. It is also very nice to see a site provide recycling facilities for those staying and you can see why they have been awarded a David Bellamy award. The site shop is very well stocked and we would highly recommend anyone staying to try the home produced beef, which is oh so very tasty. The site also boasts a very well stocked private lake which also is set in a very tranquil setting.
The town of Glastonbury and the Tor is within walking distance for those fit enough or a short drive away and also the city of Wells is close by which both have good shopping. Located within a short drive you also have the town of Street with the Clark's shopping village for those who like a bargain and a shop.
The staff working on the site are very helpful and knowledgeable and the owners Jim and Sally should be very proud of the park they have created which is fantastic. Whilst staying on site the loudest noise is the amazing birdsong which is beautiful and surrounds you. If you are after a very tranquil and relaxing site, this has to be the place. We will be back and would highly recommend, Absolutely fantastic.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: karen+peter 16 reviews from this member

Excellent site!  Will definitely be returning here.  Very spacious pitches.  Very well laid out.  Dog walk is generous with a dog shower at the entrance.  Showers, toilets, bathroom and separate shower rooms all immaculate.  Tourist information room with leather settee and pool table and internet access in reception.
The fishing lake is full of fish and a very tranquil place. The pegs are wheelchair friendly and you can see the Tor from there.
Look out for Gog and Magog, the ancient Oak trees!

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Foxinfrance 22 reviews from this member

Can't fault it.  Well maintained, lovely modern facilities, bathrooms ans showers superb.  Easy walk via field footpaths past the tor into Glastonbury.  Laid out in private terraces or open glades all pitches are superb, flat and spacious.  Fishing lake close by. Very helpful owners.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Damo1176 1 review from this member

Fantastic site! Even though we visited at Easter and the site was pretty full it didn't feel full as the pitches are evenly spaced and generous in size.
Facilities are excellent - very clean toilets, free use of freezers to freeze ice packs, free hot showers, plenty of sinks for washing up. It might be worth them putting up a notice to ask people to clean sinks & showers after use (clean bucket & cloths provided however not sure all visitors worked out what they were for!). We visited with another couple, stayed 4 nights and asked for 2 adjacent pitches which we got. We were in the top field, which was a little bit of a walk to the toilets especially at night, which would be really our only criticism as there was no lighting in the top field. Great little shop and pool room which was handy and full of info on local attractions. Staff only to happy to help. All in all friendly, clean, spacious, tranquil and no kids! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sparry63 19 reviews from this member

We have only just discovered the pleasure of adult only sites and if Old Oaks is anything to go by we have been missing out. Great site, huge pitches, good for dogs. 
The shop is well stocked and I would recommend trying the local Cider and Perry. We will be back without a doubt.
My only grizzle is that the gate at the entrance to the dog walk has a gap underneath it big enough for a large dog to get underneath it. I was aware of the stock in adjacent fields and dreaded my two getting over excited and getting under that gate. Moral - get your dogs back on the lead in good time.
Otherwise just brilliant
 

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevin1786 1 review from this member

This was a really nice campsite and very good value for money. The facilities were very clean, we loved the fact that there was a dog shower next to the doggy avenue in case our dog got mucky on a walk. The whole park was very well kept and even though we went at the end of the season and there was a lot of rain the pitch didn't get boggy. We were made to feel very welcome. Such a close distance to the tor as well, which made a nice walk. Well worth a visit.

Previous     303 Reviews in total, now showing 251 to 260      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack Win your favourite OLPRO Windbreak from 6 Fab Designs

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show 2nd to 3rd September
Season-finale event, taking place at Newark Showground, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4779 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1563