Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 306 Reviews
              10/10 from 306 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  306 in total, now showing 251 to 260                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beena535 1 review from this member

This was our first experience of an adult only site - boy have we been missing out!  Where do I start??  The site was just so peaceful.  No kids, just birdsong and cow moos - absolute bliss.  The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.  There was plenty of tourist information available.  The shop was well stocked with a wide range of essentials, and was open from morning to night.  The pitches were large in comparison to most sites, and the majority were level.  The camping areas were made up of a few terraced areas (that were nicely landscaped and divided by low plants/shrubs and trees for privacy), and a few open field areas with freshly mowed grass (backed by hedges and trees, and shrubs).  Pitches on these fields are clearly marked out by small trees.  We loved the fact that the pitches only ran around the edges of the fields, none crammed in the middle.  Loads of open space.  

The rubbish/recycling bins, drinking and waste water, chemical waste disposal points are all well placed for each camping area. The rest of the site facilities were just as excellent. The cleanliness of the toilets and showers were a credit to the site, no matter what time of day or night we used them, they were spotless!  There was endless hot water in the showers too!  Free use of a freezers for freezing your ice blocks, which was great, as the weather was scorching.  There were also plenty of undercover washing up sinks/drainers - and again, we never found any left in a mess.  The dog walk was bigger than any we've used before, with a dog wash/shower block at the entrance.  The walk itself is fenced in and you are allowed to exercise your dog off the lead in this area.  There was a poop bin at the entrance to the walk, and one on the gate leading up to the Tor/Glastonbury.  There is a small fishing lake, and there are several walks from the site for walkers and dog owners alike, all shown on the site map we were given when we arrived.  The short, but steep walk from the site to the Tor is well worth the effort - breathtaking views and an almost spiritual experience.  We were very impressed with the site and will definitely be coming back soon.     

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Timmiss 5 reviews from this member

Very pleasant site indeed - facilities in terms of shower/toilet cleanliness are the best I have ever seen in many years of camping. We only stopped three nights. Recycling of rubbish is also to be recommended. On arrival the chap showed us to our pitch by bicycle, excellent! They were very helpful and friendly at all times and the range of goods within the shop was better than I have seen elsewhere. Our pitch was in the Orchard and was smaller than some I have been on at other camps.

Walking to Glastonbury from the site was exhilarating to say the least, avoiding the road way and using the path from the camp you are signposted to have to walk up a very steep field its good fun and the views at the top are superb, you look out over the somerset marshes, but you need to be reasonably fit and its defintely too far to walk at night 'to the pub' unfortunately.

We visited the Tor via the special 'Tor' bus from the Abbey Car Park, this drives you as close as possible and you can return on a later bus whilst you climb the Tor and take in its essence and views.

Glastonbury has a few restaurants - we tried an Italian and a curry house, but we weren't particularly impressed with the food in any, we didn't sample the fish and chips unfortunately, but we heard that they were supposedly good - for a drink there is a backpackers pub, which is very popular with the locals - one night we sat outside in the sun and listened to the karaoke - not everyone's cup of tea, but amazingly funny and taken very seriously by some.

One of the best trips out is to the nearby town of 'Street' (15 mins) where you will find the Clarkes village (the shoe people), we didn't know what to expect and were a little surprised to have to pay for parking but to be fair its worth it as there are around 70 shops selling cut-price items of clothing and shoes in a shopping village environment.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anything 1 review from this member

My wife and I have been to this site 4 times in the last 2 years, we never set out on camping holidays to re visit a place but we keep coming back to this one, Its just the best we found for adult only camp sites we do try others but end up comparing them to this one. We hope to be there on august bank holiday 2007 stuff the rain we will still enjoy our stay and the local produce is the best.
One criticism is please anyone using the showers toilets etc kindly clean up behind you because you wouldn't like it if I didn't clean the toilet after would you the staff are brilliant but can't check after every one uses them, mops, buckets and brushes are provided that's up to us to sort it. And if you go to the lake look out for the aggressive chicken feed it first and the rest might get a look in.
Take a walk into Glastonbury via the fields ask at reception for the public footpaths and find the pub that does a great pint of 6x the landlady is friendly and ask about the birds they feed I think its called the prince Albert takeaway food is great in all the places we visited I could go on but I wont until after august just enjoy and relax

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mini 4 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to this site and we think it is brilliant. The site itself is spacious and peaceful. The pitches are large and mostly level, not cramped together. No problem taking our Hartford XXL and car on the pitch we were allocated.
The facilities are excellent, spotlessly clean and even in August we did need to wait to use the showers. OH says washing up facilities are very good also. The shop is good, selling all the basics.
The walk into Glastonbury, over the Tor is not to be missed, call in at the Chalice Well a beautiful and uplifting place.
We will certainly be visiting again.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulo73 1 review from this member

One of the nicest sites I have been to, good facilities. Nice staff and friendly vibe around the site from fellow campers.

There's a path going up to Glastonbury Tor straight from the site and a dogwalking area, plus a good sized pond for fishing.

The ground was a little uneven where we pitched our tent, and the land in this part of the country tends to get a little waterlogged, wouldnt put me off though - will definitely be visiting again

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Redwiggi 3 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to an adult only campsite. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The site was spacious (lots of room on your pitch), well laid out and not over crowded.
It is a very quiet site and good if you like walking. The toilet block is fantastic, very clean and modern, likewise the dish-washing area.
I would certainly recommend this site and would go again.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zedhead36 24 reviews from this member

We arrived late after difficulty getting off the Glastonbury festival site ,but wephoned ahead and Sally the Propriator came out and showed us to our pitch (even though it was raining !) I have been going to Old Oaks for many years and have always found it to be one of the most calming ,clean,well set out and maintained sites . Sally, Jim, their son and staff do their utmost to ensure that their customers have the best camping experience possible while at Wick farm. The toilet block is spotless with free showers although you do have to buy a token if you want a bath. The shop is well stocked, the pitches are level with planting, hedges and fencing to make them feel that much more private. Water points are spread around the site so you never have far to trudge, the fishing lake is well stocked and nicely planted.

Even though it rained the entire week we were there we had a great time. If you have never been to The Old Oaks and are planning a trip to somerset then you will not find a better site

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rickit 8 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a two week stay at the site. What can be said about this wonderful site that has not already been mentioned? The site is set in tranquil surroundings in Somerset, nestling between the Mendip Hills and Glastonbury. This affords fantastic views from within most paddocks on the site. The site is set over five paddocks, each unique in there own way.
The amenities on the site are extremely clean, modern and first class. It is also very nice to see a site provide recycling facilities for those staying and you can see why they have been awarded a David Bellamy award. The site shop is very well stocked and we would highly recommend anyone staying to try the home produced beef, which is oh so very tasty. The site also boasts a very well stocked private lake which also is set in a very tranquil setting.
The town of Glastonbury and the Tor is within walking distance for those fit enough or a short drive away and also the city of Wells is close by which both have good shopping. Located within a short drive you also have the town of Street with the Clark's shopping village for those who like a bargain and a shop.
The staff working on the site are very helpful and knowledgeable and the owners Jim and Sally should be very proud of the park they have created which is fantastic. Whilst staying on site the loudest noise is the amazing birdsong which is beautiful and surrounds you. If you are after a very tranquil and relaxing site, this has to be the place. We will be back and would highly recommend, Absolutely fantastic.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: karen+peter 16 reviews from this member

Excellent site!  Will definitely be returning here.  Very spacious pitches.  Very well laid out.  Dog walk is generous with a dog shower at the entrance.  Showers, toilets, bathroom and separate shower rooms all immaculate.  Tourist information room with leather settee and pool table and internet access in reception.
The fishing lake is full of fish and a very tranquil place. The pegs are wheelchair friendly and you can see the Tor from there.
Look out for Gog and Magog, the ancient Oak trees!

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Foxinfrance 22 reviews from this member

Can't fault it.  Well maintained, lovely modern facilities, bathrooms ans showers superb.  Easy walk via field footpaths past the tor into Glastonbury.  Laid out in private terraces or open glades all pitches are superb, flat and spacious.  Fishing lake close by. Very helpful owners.

Previous     306 Reviews in total, now showing 251 to 260      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6221 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1484