Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 306 Reviews
              10/10 from 306 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  306 in total, now showing 261 to 270                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Damo1176 1 review from this member

Fantastic site! Even though we visited at Easter and the site was pretty full it didn't feel full as the pitches are evenly spaced and generous in size.
Facilities are excellent - very clean toilets, free use of freezers to freeze ice packs, free hot showers, plenty of sinks for washing up. It might be worth them putting up a notice to ask people to clean sinks & showers after use (clean bucket & cloths provided however not sure all visitors worked out what they were for!). We visited with another couple, stayed 4 nights and asked for 2 adjacent pitches which we got. We were in the top field, which was a little bit of a walk to the toilets especially at night, which would be really our only criticism as there was no lighting in the top field. Great little shop and pool room which was handy and full of info on local attractions. Staff only to happy to help. All in all friendly, clean, spacious, tranquil and no kids! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sparry63 19 reviews from this member

We have only just discovered the pleasure of adult only sites and if Old Oaks is anything to go by we have been missing out. Great site, huge pitches, good for dogs. 
The shop is well stocked and I would recommend trying the local Cider and Perry. We will be back without a doubt.
My only grizzle is that the gate at the entrance to the dog walk has a gap underneath it big enough for a large dog to get underneath it. I was aware of the stock in adjacent fields and dreaded my two getting over excited and getting under that gate. Moral - get your dogs back on the lead in good time.
Otherwise just brilliant
 

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevin1786 1 review from this member

This was a really nice campsite and very good value for money. The facilities were very clean, we loved the fact that there was a dog shower next to the doggy avenue in case our dog got mucky on a walk. The whole park was very well kept and even though we went at the end of the season and there was a lot of rain the pitch didn't get boggy. We were made to feel very welcome. Such a close distance to the tor as well, which made a nice walk. Well worth a visit.

Reviewer: Deborah Sainsbury 107 reviews from this member

August 2001
When we went the site was still open for kids but it is now adult only. (Hopefully this had nothing to do with us!!) This is probably a good thing because the site is nice and quiet and I kind of got the impression that it wasn't that child friendly when we were there. Having said that this site had by far the best toilets, showers, bathrooms etc of the sites we have been on so far - proper vanity units etc etc. There is a small shop and tourist info place but not a lot else and there are a variety of pitches you can choose from.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Krakenchops 8 reviews from this member

Before I start this review, I should start by saying I only ever stay at Adults Only sites, so have compared this site with other equivalent sites.

The park itself it well positioned, and is far enough from the main road to be free of traffic rumble. The welcome on arrival was nothing special, but we were shown to our pitch by a member of staff on a bike.

We were camping on electric and were put on the Orchard terraces. We were the only tent in this area. The pitch was large and level, bordered by a low hedge and some thin planting, which didn't really screen the pitch. The pitch had obviously had a long stay with a non breathable groundsheet some time recently as the grass was discoloured and there were some largish bald spots. All pitches in the Orchard terraces back onto a thick hedge, in between which is the footpath that leads to the Tor. People come and go at all hours from around 6am til around midnight. Whilst this wouldn't be a problem in a caravan, the occasional loud conversation whilst passing is enough to be a disturbance in a tent.

That said the general ambience of the area I camped was quietish, unitl 2 days before I was due to leave, which I will come onto later. There was some TV noise from surrounding caravans which went off around 11.30pm some nights.

The general camping field didn't look as plush as the terraces and the tents seemed a lot closer together. It was also the furthest away from the toilet block. My pitch on the terraces was at most 1 minute from them facilities which was convenient. These included wash/dryer around 10 washing up bays, 2 toilet/shower cubilces a bathroom (paid) and a iron and board which was free. The main toilet block(mens) had 3 toilets, 3 washrooms and 3 showers and 2 urinals all of which were clean through the day.

The facilites were nothing amazing though, and were on a par which most other adults only sites, that are obviously not ravaged by unsupervised children running amock.

The site also accepts groups at their discretion which is fairly unsual for adult only sites. 2 days before we were due to leave the site put 4 dutch tourist carvans in a block on the terraces 2 on either sides facing each other. They proceeded to talk loudly across the access roads and generally kills the quiet nature of the site, as groups tend to. The next moring the whole group proceeding to sing loudly on the access road next to our tent at 7am. Wherever I went on the site this group seemed to be there and talking loudly, very annoying. I mentioned the noise to the owners and they said they would try and have a word. However the general level of noise from them didn't go down and the next day I chose to leave the site a day early as it was becoming tedious.

As I said at the start, I only visit adult only sites. This is for the general peace and quiet that these site general allude to. Although this site has good facilites, I personally found it to be not as good as others I have visited this year.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pippy214 3 reviews from this member

This really is a lovely site. Visited for the first time this year and will definitely be returning. Shower blocks are very clean and even though the site was full there were never any queues. The site is spotlessly clean. There is a small shop which does actually sell most things you may need. There is also a fishing pond which is well stocked. If you are looking for peace and quiet I can recommend this site. All in all a very well looked after site. I can recommend 100 percent.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chelsea girl 56 reviews from this member

Our 2nd visit to this site. It is fast becoming our favourite! Once again, immaculate showers etc - and even a couple of "private" rooms with loo's/showers/basin all in a room to yourself. The site was full, but you wouldnt have known it - we stayed in the "orchard" section, it was peaceful and tranquil and they never over cram the site.

We ordered freshly baked bread in the shop for the following morning, took a stroll around the fishing lake, Old Oaks is still very dog friendly with a great dog walk and lots of walks direct from the site.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, this site deserves all its awards!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Faerieface 1 review from this member

We have just returned from our 5th visit to The Old Oaks. This site is outstanding in every way.amazing location, pristine facilities, free showers and hairdryers, immaculate pitches and best of all no screaming kids!

If you are looking for a total retreat then this is the place for you.

Staying at the Old Oaks has really spoilt us as we have not found any other campsite that compares. Already looking forward to next years visit!

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Boo1 16 reviews from this member

I cannot praise this site highly enough. It was the first camping experience we've had in years and we were thoroughly spoilt by choosing this site to start our camping hobby at. All the fields had beautifully manicured lawns with the centres left empty to create a feeling of space. The toilet blocks were spotless and there was never a queue.

Be sure to order the fresh bread from reception if you stay here - it is brought in by the local baker and the French Grain was the perhaps the best bread I've ever had - myself and my husband polished off a whole loaf for breakfast.

We walked into Glastonbury a couple of times although the climb over the Tor seemed to get steeper and steeper! Takes about 40 minutes if you keep a constant pace, but to be honest you may as well sup local scrumpy outside your tent and take in the peace and tranquillity of your surroundings.

We will definitely return - haven't felt so chilled out in years!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: K preece 3 reviews from this member

This park is superb, it's location is perfect, the site is the most spotlessly clean site we have visited and everyone treats it with respect.

The welcome was fine and the pitch size excellent you didn't feel crammed in at any time.

The on-site facilities were great and again well looked after, the real treat was the unisex bathrooms which were huge but were more often than not in use, however, the showers in the main toilet block were fine and clean and you didn't have to wait for long to use them.

Getting into Glastonbury is either a nice walk over the fields or abut £5 in a taxi, which we thought was very reasonable and there are plenty of places to eat.

To summarise, if you want a beautiful peaceful campsite (with no kids) with the opportunity to get into town and experience Glastonbury then I would wholeheartedly recommend this site.

Previous     306 Reviews in total, now showing 261 to 270      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3286 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.6172
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Open Today's Window