Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Runt In Tun Public House

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Runt In Tun Public House
Maynards Green
Heathfield
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN21 0DJ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01435 864284

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m   10m  10m  1m  1m  1m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 9
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 31 Reviews
              9/10 from 31 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (9)

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents, space permitting. It is a member only site - you may be able to join on arrival - please check direct with the site.

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 13 to 18                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow girl 9 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights, were made to feel so welcome by the bar maid and shown to our pitch.

Unisex toilet and shower ( 1 of each) were spotless.

There are plenty of walks to keep you and your dogs happy down the old railway line which was great.

The pub is dog friendly, we had Sunday roast and I can honestly say its one of the best roast dinners I've ever had. Beautiful. As for the locals. They were so friendly, they made us feel at home.

Well done guys you tick all the boxes for me!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Whibs 1 review from this member

We have just returned from The Runt in Tun after a four night stay. 4 adults, 2 children plus our 2 dogs.

We can't speak highly enough of this beautiful site - our hosts were very welcoming. The pub offers extremely good freshly cooked food and very reasonably priced. The pub is also dog friendly.

Despite my initial reservation about the loos and shower - we were very impressed by the high standard of cleanliness, and despite all the pitches being in use - we never had to queue for either. Three minutes is adequate time to shower and we made a game of 'countdown' with the children, which made it fun for them.

The added bonus of a playground in the pub, was a highlight for the two children aged 6 and 8. The vast fields adjacent to the site are a dog walkers dream !

We will definitely return

Management response: To all readers, please note, that as of September 2013 the site is adult only.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MandB 3 reviews from this member

A little Gem!

Very quiet site, only 5 pitches, level and loads of space. Only one loo, very clean, which could be a problem if all pitches were taken and they don't have their own facilities

It was only our second trip with a puppy and she was welcome in the pub by Andy and Martin the owners and fused by the locals.

Stayed 2 nights and ate in the pub on Saturday. We weren't expecting a lot - normal pub grub but they surprised us all. All food is home made and of excellent standard - can't recommend it highly enough.

If you like walking/cycling then the Cookoo Trail is only metres away. Large field at the back of the pub where we took our dog for a real run around.

Local shopping area is only 1. 5 miles away or transport fairly good into Eastbourne and all towns on route.

We were visiting family in the area so it was an ideal site for us. Thanks lads, we'll be back! again.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Captgeoff 22 reviews from this member

This little site is a real gem. Mostly level pitches with plenty of room on each, electric hook up if desired. It is at the rear of the pub which is a truly friendly local. Everybody chats to you and asks where your from and been etc. Nice beers for the real ale drinkers ans the food is excellent and inexpensive.

The owners couldn't be more helpful. An easy walk up the 'Cuckoo Trail' to Heathfield, and the same trail gives nice traffic free cycling to Eastbourne. Be aware if you do the latter it is a gentle uphill climb all the way back. There are places on route to break it up.

The site has one toilet and one shower in portaloos with main drainage, very clean and practical, the shower is 20p for two and a half minutes you can put more in at the beginning and time is shown on the meter so no need to feed more money mid shower. My wife has long hair and 40p was more than enough. Be advised to get yourself ready in the shower and your partner feed the meter as the water starts on the money being put in.

No play area on site but plenty in the pub garden. We will return.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hugo bean 1 review from this member

Fantastic site small and clean and very friendly,

Perfect if you have a dog as lots of walks just behind the camp site including two big fields and a wood, where you can get lost for hours and dog friendly pub,

Close to local town with good facilities including supermarkets and chinese take away, however you don't need to go anywhere as the food in the pub is very good,

I can highly recommend the home made burgers.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bigalw35 9 reviews from this member

We arrived at the pub and was very warmly greeted by Andy, who showed us the rear camping field and suggested where we should pitch the tent. A fairly wise choice, very level ground and at the top of the slightly sloping area.

Our visit there was hampered by the very wet weather we had during our 3 day visit, obviously not Andy or Martins fault, it seemed the wet weather covered the bulk of the country.

We pitched the tent, (just about in time to avoid the downpour) We then went down to the pub to get some lunch (excellent food & fairly priced !) There we met some of the locals and their dogs, also very friendly (the locals and the dogs).

I'm a biker (motor bike) and even dressed in my leather waistcoat (adorned with various meeting badges etc) we were still made very welcome by Andy, Martin and ALL the locals. We ended up chatting with the locals about some of the bikes that they had owned over the years.

We arrived on the Monday (2nd July 2012), it was suggested by one of the locals that on the Tuesday we should visit the 'Bentley Motor Museum' and its wildfowl park, a splendid day out, definitely worth a visit (albeit the rain).

It was also suggested that we visit 'Herstmonceux Castle', the grounds and associated observatory, are also a fantastic day out. We were lucky enough to be able to have a guided tour of the castle and was informed of it's history (by a very friendly, informative and jovial guide) The guided tour, in our case, started at 1:00pm. The observatory is also well worth the visit.

We had our meals in the pub on the Tuesday and Wednesday. All of our our meals were absolutely delicious, served fairly quickly (not fast food as in McDonalds!) and very well priced.

The toilet/shower facilities are exceptionally clean and well maintained and are only about 50 yards (max) in any direction back to your pitch (quite handy considering the rainy weather)

We did not use any local shops or the like, as in our case, there was no need.

I do not drink 'real ale' I'm a lager and brandy man, and they stock a superb German lager, well worth a try !.

We are retired now so that leaves us more time to visit various parts of the country, but we definitely will be back to the 'Runt in Tun' site.

We have no young children now so I cannot comment on that aspect of the site.

I've given the whole site facility 10/10, it deserves it !

Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 13 to 18      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in East Sussex   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7987 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938