Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 245 Reviews
              9/10 from 245 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  245 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alpiner 1 review from this member

Great campsite in a great area, if you like the beach type of holiday you have miles of beach to choose from.

To get to the beach you have to follow a path over the sand dunes and be reasonably fit, if not there is a pay car park that gets you a lot closer, just 5 mins from the site.

The site is very popular with family's and always seems to be full, so if planning to go there I would book well in advance of at least ring on a regular basis.

Good facilities and a nice pub opposite, this location is close to St Ives and many other coastal seaside towns.

Lidl is just down the road and a new Asda superstore is being built just a few miles away.

Although not a problem try to book a pitch away from the road or you could be within feet of it

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Silou 1 review from this member

Recently returned from a 2 week stay here, booked on previous reviews and 1 recommendation. The pitch was spacious and hook up good with no power cuts which was good considering the amount of units. The site was clean and showers good when not visited at peak times. We had 2 children 7 and a12 year old daughter plus 1 dog. We were quite disappointed with this site purely for the fact that there is nothing for children to do here, except play table tennis (1 table) and look at 7 chickens and a few guinea pigs. Owners describe a playing field for ball games etc but this is surrounded on 3 sides by tents with cars coming and going and is not a place that the families we spoke to said there children liked going to. The walk to the beach is suitable for those who don't mind carrying all their gear down to the beach on a 10-20 min walk over dunes or the single track road. The beach to take dogs on is a good 30-40 minute walk away as the steps have been damaged and are now blocked off, but we and many many others just climbed over and went down them anyway. The council have not left any information on how to access this beach any other way, which I feel is extremely poor, especially as they are charging people for walking dogs on Gwithian beach who are trying to get to the dog beach! We would not return to this site as there are much nicer sites with DIRECT beach access and more child friendly. It appears that the owners have compromised any play facilities for more units which is a shame. We had a good holiday as we met up with friends and family and visited lots of great places too. Bottalack mines is a great place to visit and free as is Heartlands which both my kids and nephews loved ( also free ). This site is a good place to use if you intend to go out and about a lot and don't mind not having somewhere central for kids to meet up and play.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chriscable 38 reviews from this member

Loved this site. Very busy site but in our pitch we did not feel hemmed in. Facilities new and clean (they do get busy). One gripe again no bucket and disinfectant to clean out shower before/after use - all sites should have this as it is hygienic as I don't like to follow people who leave grass and soap all over. Great pub across road ( Red River Inn) super food good selection of beers/cider and lager and VERY dog friendly. Walk to beach is easy however access to dog friendly beach was very difficult as steps have been washed away and dog wardens were patrolling and issuing tickets even if you were just walking on briefly in order to get to the dog friendly part. Site owners were complaining to council on behalf of us doggy folk. Tried wood fired pizza which comes 2 nights a week - top class and the croissants/Danish pastries on offer 2 mornings a week - brilliant. Best site we visited in Cornwall and only knocking 1 point off for lack of bucket and disinfectant in shower block

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Merryways 9 reviews from this member

Spent 4 nights here at end June/beginning July.

The site has easy access and is very well maintained with nice hedges and flowers.

We had a hardstanding pitch with electricity but if you have a large Motorhome you are best to fill with water before arrival as would block access if using a tap. There may have been one by reception but we had parked and levelled before we realised the nearest tap was further away than our hose so we chose to take trips with watering can and bucket. Also, the only place to drop grey water was where the chemical disposal point was, by reception, which was bordered by concrete - no drive over drain available.

The toilet/shower block was great, very clean with plenty of facilities. There was also a laundry room with washers, dryers and an iron & ironing board.

The shop was well stocked and all the staff very helpful and informative. A Fish & Chip van came one day, A Pizza van another and a fish fish van another. They were also advertising a curry night.

The walk to the beach is easy and the beach was amazing. We also walk to Godrevy to see the seals and walk around the coast there.

There is a daily bus to St Ives that allows you around 4 hours to explore, and an Age Concern bus that runs to Hayle.

We would recommend this site and would happily return.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GMD01 6 reviews from this member

Just back from 2 weeks at this site. Campsite grounds are well kept with the grass cut regularly. We had no problems with showers, toilets or washing availability, but I can imagine in the summer period it would be a problem.

Not a lot on site for kids to do but the beach is within walking distance.

My wife had toothache while we were there and the owner was very helpful in getting an appointment with the emergency dentist in Newquay.

All in no complaints at all about this site and are planning on going back next year.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Summer2013 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely lovely site and we will be returning again next year! The only downside is that the WIFI does not really work, so don't go to this site if you really want WIFI.

There is one small entrance in and out of the campsite and nowhere to stay if you arrive early, so do not arrive before midday.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonford 19 reviews from this member

Absolutely love this place. We tour Cornwall every May and this is the only campsite that we come back to year after year. Great value for money(slightly more expensive than other sites, but so worth it)

Pitches are great. Some are uneven, but not really bad (balance blocks do the job). Book early and request a hard standing pitch - level.

Pitches are a v good size. We went out of season so hardly anyone on site so never queue for showers or cleaning area. Cleaning facilities are great - large, loads of them and clean!

Great walk off the campsite onto the beach at Gwithian - which offers superb sunsets! Sunset Surf cafe/bar is on the beach where you can enjoy a cider watching the sunset!

Staff are really helpful, offering advice on the local area/trains/buses. Bus stop straight outside site which takes you to St Ives. But we drive to the train station 3 mins away which is faster than the bus. Campsite is set in a lovely village with a pub across the road if you fancy a meal out. Free wifi is a big bonus too! Small playarea for the kids (sandpit). Site shop is well stocked for basic essentials. They have clearly put money into the site and it shows by the plants and stone walls. Very easy to drive to in a large motorhome. Deff stay next year

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Notlee55 3 reviews from this member

I simply do not know where to start.

We stayed here for 3 nights and then had to move.

There is only one block of amenities containing 9 toilets in the ladies between 147 pitches ( all which run out of loo roll and soap on a regular basis)One toilet was out of order for more than 24 hrs (I believe someone was sick in it) but Id have expected to be cleaned promptly.

The queue for the showers is often a problem especially in the mornings.

The block is situated next to the caravans which generally have their own toilets on board. Unfortunately those in tents who have no choice but to use the facilities have to walk up to a 4 min walk and with kids in the middle of the night is not either convenient or appropriate at all especially as there is NO lighting at all on the site. I quite often found this daunting at night as the paths are uneven and could easily lose your bearings or trip over guy ropes.

The timing of the toilet lights were poor. I asked if they could come on an hour earlier and stay on for an hour later, but nothing was done. Although the sun didnít set till 9 it was really dark in the bathrooms from about 7. 30, there is only skylights we needed to take a torch even though it was light outside. I felt as if the campsite was scrimping on the absolute basics even though they were a premium rate. Lights were turned out before 7Am every morning again if you wanted to have an early start I needed a torch.

I really struggled with the shower block, Although the showers are divided in to male and female units, the dividing wall didn't go to the top of the high roof, you could easily hear the bathroom habits over the wall. Little embarrassing, especially when someone was obviously having digestive problems on a number of occasions. But I understand that this doesn't bother everyone but I wasnít a fan. Could really benefit from playing light music.

I would agree with most of the reviews the walk to the beach is not a 'few minutes' walk, I would estimate it a good 20 mins but still worth doing as it was a lovely location.

The pub at the end of the road was nice, and it was a nice gesture for free WiFi but don't expect a quick download its extremely slow but you can get some sort of connection.

Overall the campsite is ok if you are looking for something with no frills and donít mind paying top price, its cleaned to a degree once a day, but not well maintained throughout the day. Be prepared to take your own loo roll, soup and Lamps. Location is great for surfing and being a little out of towns. There is a lidl and Tesco not far from the site which is really handy.

Staff were welcoming and has an excellent ice pack service with plenty of spare pack free of charge on hand.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BillBeech005 7 reviews from this member

What can you say about this site that hasn't already been said, it is simply the best of the best. I have been going to Gwithian Farm Campsite since the first year that the owners and family, took it over. We started off in tents and then graduated to a caravan, it was just a field in those days with a few taps and basic facilities. We have seen it gradually morph into the superb site it is today, and yet still, year on year they keep improving it. It is refreshing to see owners that don't just rest on their laurels, the owners are wonderfully warm and welcoming, and nothing seems to phase them. The facilities are superb and always clean. There is a good pub with restaurant just opposite the entrance to the camp, and plenty of local shops for food etc. The beach is within easy walking distance through the top of the campsite and used by families, kitesurfers, walkers and all sorts, but it is so big it is rarely crowded, never has been in my experience anyway. I could go on and on, but I will only say, if you are looking for a campsite in Cornwall that will make you want to go back time and time again, then book now, you will not regret it!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PLoDR1 6 reviews from this member

Nice family camp / caravan site but also very friendly to hikers.

We turned up as a group of students hiking the coast path and were made very welcome - quite a contrast to some other parks in the vicinity. Grass was good for pitching and pampas & aloe hedges made good shelter from both the elements and other guests. We were allocated far more space than we needed but for a decent price, and this allowed us to not disturb / be disturbed by other guests. Showers and toilets good although a bit of a way from where we pitched. Shop also very useful and the owner even offered me a spoon from his own kitchen! when unable to sell me one after mine broke. Plenty of water points so was nice not to have to walk miles for that. Washing up area was covered and had warm water. Pub just across the road served us well in the evening.

Previous     245 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a HandiRack and HandiHoldall Combo Pack Win an OLPRO Abberley XL 4 Berth Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans Ė plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5964 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1240