Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - River Dart Country Park ( River Dart Adventures)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

River Dart Country Park ( River Dart Adventures)
Holne Park
Ashburton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ13 7NP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01364 652511

Facilities:  (Key)
                       

Nearby:
10m  10m   10m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 295
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 89 Reviews
              9/10 from 89 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (20) and Video

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 13 to 18                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MORJ4 2 reviews from this member

Wow! What an absolutely lovely campsite!

Showers were individual cubicles hot, plenty of dishwashing facilities, individual sink cubicles with hairdryers, cost 20p for about 18 minutes.

We went on 23rd of July 2012 which was the only hot week all summer it was perfect,

Tent pitches were clean and flat, with plenty of room no crowding,

Plenty to do there for kids what with all the obstacle courses, zip wires, pirate ship and slides,

Can't wait to go back, loved it!

This is how all campsites should be.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Got the tshirt 11 reviews from this member

Had a good week here just before the school holidays. It was our second visit. The weather was challenging and we weren't able to go on the pitch we had booked due to it being waterlogged.

The site warden took us to another area and gave us a choice of pitches. We were happy with the pitch we chose although by the end of a very wet week it was very muddy and wet.

We felt a bit sorry for the staff as they were frantically replacing turf to repair pitches.

The children still enjoyed the play lake and all the play areas. The one at the top of the site by the snake slide proving very popular.

The adventurous activities are good but I felt that the high ropes wasn't well supervised and when my daughter was frightened I had to go and get the attention of a member of staff who was not really watching what was going on.

We love this site and will try to return in the future but we will not be paying for the high ropes next time.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kakadu3369 6 reviews from this member

This was our first camping visit to the River Dart Country Park and it did not fail to please. It was perfect for us as a family offering big open spaces, beautiful scenery, lots of wildlife, 2 big clean amenity blocks and best of all lots of play areas for all ages.

The free play areas were well thought out, making the best of the environment already there as the assault course, low ropes, slides etc were all placed using the lovely trees in the park.

Even though we didn't have the best of weather the children still used the lake and had a great time.

It's a site that has been well thought out and for once it is great to go to a place where you don't have to spend a lot of money whilst there. We will be visiting again soon.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: IzzieB 6 reviews from this member

Holidayed with 3 other families and able to pitch together no problem. Booking was easy and staff extremely helpful and friendly.

All the grass pitches are generously sized and despite the large amount of rain prior to our arrival the site was not overly muddy.

The main play parks are great and our children ages 5 and 7 loved them, as did the Dad's. The Pirate Ship was excellent for those with a wetsuit.

The zorbing was £5.00 each and given the professionalism of the staff was well run and you had plenty of time in them so worth the money I believe.

Few criticisms:

1. More play equipment near the washing up facilities.

2. Shower curtains needed to stop clothes getting soaked on seat provided. Replace push button with taps.

3. Takeaway expensive - same cost as eating in Restaurant so drove to Ashburton for fish & chips.

Dog owners will love this site as plenty of space for them to exercise and play ball with.

Bottom line yes I would definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Savanne1 23 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 3 nights at River Dart over the bank holiday weekend. Despite being told they were full when we rang a few days before arrival to ask if any hardstandings had become available the site wasn't full the whole weekend.

We booked with my Camping Cheques gold card, no deposit needed. Camping Cheques are accepted for most of the season except Whitsun Week and the summer holidays.

We thought £13.95 for 2 adults, the pitch and EHU was excellent value. Our daughter was an extra £7 a night.

The site is easy to find being sign posted off the A38. The access road is fairly busy and narrow in places so caution is needed for those of us towing.

On arrival the reception staff were friendly and showed us on a map where we to go (pitch 66). A warden showed us to the pitch, I got the impression he was new as he didn't know where the pitches were and when I asked him the next day if there was any TV reception he shrugged his shoulders and said he didn't know.

Pitch 66 is a hardstanding pitch but we think much more suited to motorhomes as the layout made access difficult if the adjacent pitches were in use.

Throughout our stay we were surrounded by motorhomes and unbelievably tents were allocated hardstanding pitches with the tent on the grassy area and the car parked on the hardstanding. I havn't been to a site where some of the units were so tightly packed in as River Dart. Guylines were crossing and tents pitched approx 2-3 metres from each other. The perimeter pitches on the whole looked a lot more spacious.

I read the reviews on here before we went and the majority are from tent campers. The site appears to be much more popular with tents than caravans as it was during our stay.

Lots of people were in groups however the site was quiet after 11pm. Most of the pitches are sloping so chocks are needed. We also couldn't get any TV reception at all, the weather on the whole was wet and miserable so TV would have been nice at times.

The wash facilities were very good, not immaculate but the mud and grass prevented this! The shower cubicles were plentiful and a really good size with shelving for your shampoo etc, two hanging hooks and a folding seat. They are the push button type like on a lot of french sites. This doesn't bother me, it saves water and that can only be a good thing.

The showers were always nice and hot. I never had to queue in fact I found the facilities very quiet. My husband did the dishes and reported lukewarm washing up water only.

The grounds are really lovely and the wooded areas were full of bluebells. Our daughter loved the adventure playground and assault course. The play areas had all had fresh bark put down and the equipment was well maintained.

There are a couple of play areas around the camping areas which were also of a good standard and a table tennis table next to the one nearest to us. Our daughter did the high ropes course which has gone up to £14. You pay for this at the CRS hut near reception who give you tokens you then take to your chosen activity. Its first come first served and weekends only out of high season. The course is for those over 8 but we saw younger children attempting to do it and it caused delays as they struggled and had to be brought down. I would recommend wearing gloves to do the course as our daughter has a few blisters today.

The other activities looked great (water zorbs, canoeing etc) but the weather wasn't good enough. We didn't use the cafe or shop but they looked nice when we explored the site.

To sum up, lovely site in lovely surroundings. Pitching can be difficult for caravan/ motorhomes so remember your chocks. With a bit more thought about the pitch layout (avoiding the cramming in that we saw in certain areas) and this site could be brilliant.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Judi S 15 reviews from this member

What a delight especially if you have children with you, saw ours at meal times and that was it! Lots of free stuff for them to do as well as some to pay for which I felt were a bit pricey.

So much space for playing, walking and biking. Site is about 1/2 mile off the road so very safe. Ideally placed for Dartmoor too. Reception staff were a delight and the little shop provides the basics.

Campsite is placed over 4 areas some hardstandings but mainly grass. All areas are open with out hedges but pitches well marked out. Facilities clean and warm however floors became muddy/grassy with use and no facilities to clean shower floors(ie bucket and mop). Wash up area is outside under a shelter and water not as hot as it could have been for washing up.

Restaurant on site serving good value meals and a great carvery on Sunday. Exceptional value for money too, as they accepted Camping Cheques over Easter !

Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 13 to 18      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3906 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0430