Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park
Bolberry
Malborough
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 3EN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 561230

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
1m   1m  5m  5m  5m  5m   10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
              8/10 from 63 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 13 to 18                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Owalmsley 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 10 nights during July/Aug 2012. The campsite is lovely, with great views, facilities and really friendly owners.

The levels are quite flat, although the campsite itself is generally on a slope, we had plenty of flat room to pitch our tent though.

The bathrooms were new this year and are really nice, the family bathrooms made things so much easier with our 2 year old.

Owners are very friendly and approachable and ocme round each day to check on everyone.

Hope Cove is about a 20 min walk away and my husband and son were there at 6. 30 one morning when he woke up early, it was beautiful.

The only thing that would make it better would maybe be a small children's play area, a few swings and a slide, however there is lots of room for kids to play without getting in anyone's way.

Overall a great site, we will definitely be making a return visit in the next few years.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alexmummy 11 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful campsite close to Hope Cove and South Milton Sands.

We visited over half term with friends and pitched in Divers Terrace, a secluded pair of pitches bounded by hedges, which was great.

Plus points:

- Level pitches with lots of hedges for shelter

- New shower block (showers 20p/min) with four showers and six wcs in each, plus one family and one disabled room.

- New washing up room / laundry room with three washers a dryer and an iron!

- Hot meals available from the main house each evening which was great for our first night.

Minus points

- Single track road with passing places leading up to it, which must be a nightmare with a caravan.

- For some reason the electric hook ups kept going off, which is a problem if you've got children watching a dvd at the time!

There's a lot to do in the immediate area come rain or shine. Kingsbridge has a small old-fashioned cinema and an Art cafe for rainy days, plus several lovely cafes and restaurants.

Despite being literally blown away I'd happily recommend this site. You can't blame the site for the weather!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Montanas 4 reviews from this member

NIce location and friendly welcome from owners. Pitches are terraced and reasonably flat, it seemed to drain well and believe me it needed to. Toilets we were close but a long walk if your in the bottom field, in fact people drove! they are newly updated and were clean and showers were hot. Agree with other feedback wash room hot water run out at peak times. Shop is well stocked and take away menu was excellent. Only negative was the weather and 70mph winds that caused us to leave early but that's camping in Britain.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Booketta 12 reviews from this member

Nice site and the owner is very friendly and helpful. The downside for us with our small caravan were the narrow lanes, reversing is not an option. We had a very nice pitch, level and reasonably private along a row of other vans and tents.

New washroom facilities and the washing up no longer has coin operation for hot water. Showers do! Downside, showers and wash up occasionally ran out of hot water. Various rumours of the tank run out or thermostat problems.

Also the electric was very unreliable in the evenings. Site owner said campers were running heaters but returning campers said it was always the same each year. Due to these issues we will not be returning to this site.

Value for money - not good when having to pay for showers which were unreliable on hot water or for an electric pitch where it cut out every evening at least 3 or 4 times.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Njones 17 reviews from this member

Just returned from a very soggy Jubilee weekend at Karrageen. We'll definitely return as it would be stunning in good weather.

Owners worked very hard to keep the facilities clean in the wet weather. Campsite was draining well so still serviceable despite the days of heavy rain. We were still able to tow our folding camper out of the lower hollow with our front wheel drive car, but the owner had already offered to help with his 4X4 if needed.

Great campsite in a beautiful location. Full all weekend but still felt very spacious.

Brand new (or fully refurbished) toilet block inc. Family room with baby bath, washing machines etc.

Shop and take away on site.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Malcyd 3 reviews from this member

My wife and I spent Easter week at Karrageen after seeing what a lovely location it enjoys.

The site was undergoing a toilet/shower block refurbishment at the time we were there but best part finished so not a problem. Only niggle was having to pay for the showers, something we have never entertained when choosing a site to stay at. The reason is because the water is spring fed, however I don't know how that warrants charging for showers.

The pitches are fairly level with good drainage, a good job as we had some heavy rain during our stay.

The shop/reception has a few basic items to get you by if needs be and also offers hot meals in the evening.

As has been mentioned by other reviews the sites electrics are really not up to scratch and resulted in the owner often coming round to see what appliances everyone was using. This became very annoying especially when the gentleman asked to see our kettle!

We lost power regularly in the evenings and the site was not even full.

For this reason we would not return here unless the electrics are upgraded.

Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 13 to 18      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3560 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469