Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oakdown Country Holiday Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Oakdown Country Holiday Caravan Park
Gatedown Lane
Weston
Sidmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX10 0PT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01297 680387

Facilities:  (Key)
                      

Nearby:
5m   5m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 21st March To 4th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 72 Reviews
              9/10 from 72 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (9) and Video

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 13 to 18                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bellybum 7 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site in September 2012. This site is immaculate in every respect. Very easy to find and very easy to access. Staff very friendly and always stopping for a chat in-between keeping the site maintained. Facilities fantastic. Near to exmouth etc. The dog walk is the best I have seen, it takes you right up to the donkey sanctuary. Local pubs are dog friendly. This site is a very peaceful site. On site shop and small cafe sells all the basics, prices are a little above other sites but well worth every penny. Lots of flowers and shrubs make this site very attractive. Will visit again in 2013

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mr + Mrs G 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from our second visit to Oakdown and again, what an amazing site! Staff again very friendly and helpful, even accommodating our request to extend our stay with them. Lovely site with a dedicated dog walk. Exceptionally well situated to explore the many assets the south west has to offer. Wonderful facilities, nicely spaced pitches so you don't feel on top of each other, certainly hard pushed to believe that there are 150 pitches at this site plus storage. We can not recommend this site enough, when we returned here, it felt like returning home. This site is superb with excellent facilities and welcoming staff. Looking forward to returning next year.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wmx20121314 2 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site. We spent 10 days here last summer in our tourer. The kids playground was fantastic and catered for every age and ability. Which makes a refreshing change. As my youngest has gdd. My eldest particularly loved the games room, fantastic idea. Shower block were lovely and clean, showers weren't too hot for the kids either. We had a super pitch and it really big and private. Nothing was too much trouble, the people who worked there would go out of their way to help you. A really lovely site and fantastic for people with families.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cyclemum 2 reviews from this member

A really lovely site.

The amenities block was excellent, warm and with gents, ladies and unisex areas. Always near- immaculate with flowers on occasion and radio 2 playing.

Yes the showers are push button but it's a very light press and I found I could lean on it every now and then to maintain the flow, whilst washing our girls hair too. Not a problem.

Playgrounds were lovely, perfect for our children aged 5 and 7 and I think would be suitable for a few years yet.

Wardens were friendly and attentive.

Shop was well enough stocked and had all the little extras we needed.

There was some road noise but it was fine.

You could sometimes hear the donkeys but that was quite sweet.

I understand the cycle ban. As avid cyclists our kids would find the temptation of the flat roads around the park too tempting and would potentially injure themselves or someone else!

The Donkey Sanctuary is a short walk away but everywhere else would be quite a hike on foot. Lovely restaurants nearby. The Bowd was nice with a good play area but portions a little small.

Sidmouth a super little town, lots of shops and cafes etc. Lots of other sweet villages close by too.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stasaph 2 reviews from this member

Oakdown is a wonderful site. We only had one week there and it was excellent. The reception staff were very helpful. The lads that worked on the site were also helpful.

Everyone we dealt with were very professional and looked genuinely happy to help us with any problems. The toilet and shower block were second to none.

The play area for the kids looked fantastic. Loads of space for the children to enjoy themselves. Very tranquil.

I recommend The Masons Arms in Branscombe for a relaxing evening and great food and ales. Also The Hare and Hounds was lovely. Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jackiec28 15 reviews from this member

Well what a lovely site. Very friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to make sure everything was ok

There are a number of nice small touches that make such a difference to a camping/caravan site.

Firstly the wooden picnic tables that are in the tenting area, what a difference these make, a place to eat or put stuff on. Every camper while we were there was making use of this facility.

Secondly there is a rotary dryer outside to dry clothes. How many sites have we been on that don't allow laundry outside and while away for 2 weeks this is so handy.

Thirdly small hedges between pitches and many having trees near giving some shade. Much needed on our second week.

Now on to the site itself.

The toilets and showers are spotless as has been said on numerous occasions and there are 3 toilets and 3 showers and a baby change cubicle which as previously stated is not sufficient if the site was full. But further down the corridor are unisex shower and toilet cubicles with three more showers and loos. There are also 2 baths which cost £1 to use. We were there for 2 weeks and it was vey busy over the weekends and never waited for a shower.

There are excellent laundry and dish washing facilities.

There is also a games room with a large tv, Internet room and children's park.

There is a well stocked shop and small cafe

There is a walk (off the main road) to the donkey sanctuary where you can wander round. We found this very pleasant in the evenings.

With regards to traffic noise. As someone who hates the sound of passing traffic I admit this could be an issue we were on Evergreen and the passing traffic was obvious but bearable. If I had been closer to the road I would have found it an issue but when booking you could always request a site away from the road. At night it was the donkeys braying I could here and not the road noise.

I would definitely recommend the site and use it again.

Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 13 to 18      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3196 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0488