Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Reraig Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Reraig Caravan Site
Balmacara
Kyle Of Lochalsh
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV40 8DH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01599 566215

Facilities:  (Key)
        

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  

Pitches: Please note NO tents
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
              9/10 from 26 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 13 to 18                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sophiedog1 16 reviews from this member

Decided to stay here for 2 nights as a convenient location to explore the surrounding area. The site is well laid out with spacious pitches, arrive on site, select your pitch and pay at wardens house later. Showers use 10p coins and 20p was enough for us to get washed. Pitch fee was only 15. 40/night, so coupled with a couple of showers each only equates to 16. 20 including hook up, terrific value for money.

We visited Eilean Donan castle which was interesting and beautiful and worth entry fee.

Went to Plockton which was disappointing, does not match the pictures that are used for postcards, however we did go on a boat trip to see seals from there which was good (Calums).

Well stocked Coop at Kyle.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BabsF 35 reviews from this member

Been here before. Great site. Well set out. Toilets and showers are very clean and very well maintained. (showers 10p meter).

Very quiet and peaceful. Handy for the Skye Bridge. Unfortunately nowhere that is dog-friendly to go in the evening for a meal or drink.

Some lovely walks in the immediate area and the views over to Skye are stunning. Very reasonably priced and good value for money.

There is a really helpful information hut on site. Like the fact that the owners are so discrete.

Will probably return here many times.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karenmcmillan 8 reviews from this member

Great wee site. Nice level pitches, which were a good size. Nice clean toilets. Great location, a hotel and a shop at the foot of the drive. A stonesthrow from the water looking down towards the skye bridge.

7 miles from the Kyles of Lochalsh and about 4 miles from the famous Elan Donan castle. Nice walks to do from the site. No tv picture, you really need a satellite but we did, t miss the telly.

For some reason, this site seemed to empty and fill with motorhomes with very few caravans. We extended our stay because we liked it so much. Although no children's' play areas, the site was quite quiet through the day and the kids could play on the grass. We discovered later that the site operates a

No awning policy through July and August so that maybe expains why there were so few caravans. We had a small porch awning which fitted on the gravel site but this might be a problem for others.

We only put that awning up because we thought we were only staying for a few nights and could'nt be bothered putting up our larger awning !Still nice people and immaculate site. No laundry which was a bit of a problem( there are 6 of us)but a spin dryer available free of charge

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pcandk 2 reviews from this member

We've just got back from a couple of nights stay at this lovely camp site. Very clean and well cared for, with a warm friendly welcome. Even the signs in the toilets were friendly and there was lots of useful info pinned up in the washing up area.

Beautifully decorated toilets and although you need 10p's for the showers, I comfortably showered with just two and my husband did it with one! (Tip: have everything ready before you turn the shower on, and turn the tap off while you soap).

The site has level gravel standings for caravans and campers with grass beside for leisure and awnings. Due to past problems, the owners currently only accept awnings in July and August, but they don't have an 'attitude' about it like some places we have stayed. Lots of hook-ups, waste disposal and full recycling facilities on site.

This site is well located for exploring the surrounding area, there is a well stocked Spar shop just outside the site and a hotel which serves meals (we didn't eat there but it looked tempting).

The only downside was the midges, but I guess they are pretty much everywhere on the West Coast at this time of year.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Queencurlywurly 5 reviews from this member

This is a very beautiful little campsite surrounded by trees close to the water. After we arrived with our camper we just looked out for a pitch and then went to the house to pay for the night.

The owner gave us a warm welcome. This site is a very dog friendly site. We only left the site through a side gate and there was a lovely walk up the hill with a nice view to the waters.

The toilet/shower block was very clean and tidy. I personally loved the lowered down sink for children.

Also the campsite has wi-fi connection, which is reasonably priced and will also work on other campsites on the Isle of Skye.

All together this is a really good campsite and I definitely would come back for another stay.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MHfamily4 7 reviews from this member

Very tidy & well kept campsite. The toilets were some of the cleanest we seen but I do dislike places that charge for showers (even though 60p covers it). All facilities are ideal like fresh water, waste water, chemical disposal & dish washing.

The town is 5miles one way & the castle 4miles the other & the water is across the road. A shop is 5 mins away as is a nice hotel if you like evening meals or drinks. No booking which suited us touring around. Turn up pick your spot & pay at the house on-site between 17.30-22.00.

We stayed a couple of days but would consider staying longer if there was a kids play area. We paid 14.30 per night which was fine for what was there.

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 13 to 18      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7412 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0859
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec