Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 180 Reviews
              9/10 from 180 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  180 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Finnruss1 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic campsite. Only drawback we thought was lack of lighting up top end of site and maybe extra shower block top end of site. But other than that beautifully kept site. Welcomed with hot drink on arrival. Very friendly wardens. Choice of pitches, we went on hardstanding but were able to face whichever way you wished, so pithed with awning on grass at side of river. The site was quiet even though road ran along side. More noise from pheasants than road. Would recommend this site to anyone

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hairywol 29 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to this lovely campsite and we stayed for six nights.

We first encountered this site almost ten years ago and were blown away. Since then if we are in the area, we make a point of staying here.

It's a long narrow site, a single access track with very spacious grass pitches indeed to either side. One side backs onto a small river, the other a mill stream, which is why no children are allowed.

At the entrance to the site is the reception, which also stocks a selection of food and equipment. The wardens are lovely, pleasant and helpful.

Toilet blocks are scrupulously clean, and one small block has recently been renovated to a very high standard. Showers are electric and free.

Being a very elongated triangle the site narrows towards the far end. There we find small non-electric pitches and some hard-standing which I have to say looked very tight - happy we stayed on grass (which is our preference anyway).

This is also the entrance to the dog walk, and I think it's fair to say that it must be the loveliest and most picturesque dog walk in the UK. It's grassy and overhung with trees, with the aforesaid river and stream either side. At the end there is a weir, with benches provided to make the most of the view. If your dog likes water, as ours does, they will be in 7th heaven.

By car the site is close to numerous small towns and villages and excellent pubs. This was fortunate because the local, the Badgers Holt, has taken a turn for the worse since our last visit - we couldn't drink the stale ale and the landlord couldn't have cared less. That's a shame.

It's also, of course, in the Exmoor National Park with great touring and great walking.

I cannot speak too highly of this site.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: St.bernard 6 reviews from this member

Just come back from a lovely break, having spent two weeks at Exe Valley. Thank you Kath and Paul.

Toilets and showers were, as always, immaculate. The grass was also kept low and cut at every opportunity. Fabulous walks around the area.

Such a very friendly site, the wardens are very accommodating, nothing is too much trouble for them. Will be back again next year.

Thank you,

Bagman

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eriba Ric 2 reviews from this member

Exe Valley is a long narrow site with a track down the middle and units on either side. On one side you are next to the river on the other you are next to a mill stream but also the A 396 which is only a matter of feet away. There is a reasonable distance from your unit to the track but neighbours on either side were too close for our liking. The site is surrounded by trees or hedges so there is no view outside the site and all you can look at are the other units. There is a dog walk but this is used by a great number of dogs whose owners don't always clean up. It is limited in size especially when the site is full. Other walks outside the site are either impassable due to muddyness or have the same dog mess problem. The facilities are clean however when the site is full there are queues and the shower I used was dated and small.

Management response: We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit: the poor weather and rain on the night you stayed did not help.

The layout of the campsite is pictured on every page of our website and also on our brochure, so you would have been aware that you would be able to see other caravans.

The campsite is spread over an area of 4 acres, whilst our riverside dog walk measures a further 300 yards by 20 yards with well maintained turf and trees, and we are surprised that you found either of these areas too small for the number of units on site.

We do not own the 'other dog walks outside the site'.

Our showers are popular because they are free and provide a strong flow of adjustable hot water, so occasionally there may be a wait in the early morning at high season.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Oldesmithy 3 reviews from this member

What a pleasure to have had a week at Exe Valley, Bridgetown.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel very welcome in idyllic surroundings.

The free showers & loos were spotless - and there was a minimum of fuss, bother or unnecessary rules to restrict you - something that isn't always the case on adult only sites. The pitch? Very generous & flat.

Some super walks for the dogs with perhaps one of the most pretty dog walking areas available with the sparkling River Exe babbling alongside.

Badger's Holt pub a very short walk away (two local ales on hand-pump) and Bridgetown Cricket Ground was stunning.

If you want a club, a pool & razzmatazz perhaps this isn't the one for you - but peace and quiet in a fabulous and unspoilt location - then seek this one out! Exmoor a short drive away - Dulverton not too far + the towns of Minehead & Tiverton only 1/2 hour distant.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stanly 2 reviews from this member

A wonderful warm welcome on arrival by Paul and Kath with a most welcoming cup of tea after a very early start. Then given the choice of spacious flat pitches. The site was spotless, quiet and ideally positioned for exploring the beauty of Exmoor.

The showers and toilets were spotless. We will definitely return. We would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Luckyskip 17 reviews from this member

Spent the last couple of nights here. Loved it to bits!

The wardens are all very friendly and helpful. No issues with being ' off centre ' to the pitch marker unlike some clubs I could mention! The weather was excellent and the conditions superb.

The showers and toilets were a little. Bijoux, but clean and tidy.

There were walks that the wardens had put together which worked well. Only one issue was the public footpath had been left to grow a little wild for our liking, but it turned out ok. Grounds are well cared for and the shop provides a fair amount of bits and pieces.

If it's peace and quiet, then this is it! All in all. Well worth coming again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Howlerdog 1 review from this member

This is the first time we have have visited Ex Valley campsite but it certainly won't be the last! the site is is so tranquil and relaxing and the facilities are great, someone asked to have the showers updated (please don't) they are great you get a lovely hot shower and they are kept spotless all the time.

Kath & Paul are lovely people and could not have been more helpful Kath is always off around the site checking on pitch availability and Paul is out cutting the grass as soon as someone moves off of their pitch, I said to Kath that it would be nice to have a mirror on the main road as you can't see back down past the house but she said no need as Paul will see you out onto the main road (which he did) thanks Paul(Mr Mirror Man)there is also a lot to see and do around the area which we did every day look forward to our next visit SOON thank you Kath & Paul

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dreamer36 8 reviews from this member

There is very little I can add to the recent reviews. We had such a welcome from the owners at the Mill (warden's day off!) with a welcome cup of tea or coffee. We chose our pitch by the river and enjoyed 5 nights at one of the best campsites I've been to. The site was almost full but there were no problems with the showers. Indeed I rarely met another person using them at the same time. Yes, they may be slightly dated but please don't change them! They were hot, fully adjustable, not on timers or fixed to the ceiling. There were plenty of hooks for clothes etc. Paper towels and soap were freely available in the shower and toilet blocks. Dog walks on site, on the opposite bank of the river and further afield (all on sheets in the information shed)were lovely. We will definitely come back regularly and look forward to the mill wheel in operation on a Sunday morning which we missed on this visit. I could quibble in a tiny way that the wifi hubs 2 and 3 weren't working so connection was only available close to the shop, but had I not needed to be in contact with various family members that wouldn't have mattered.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wilkins 18 reviews from this member

Exe Valley Caravan & Camping Site – Well the site certainly lives up to & deserves the wonderful reviews on UK Campsites, (that’s how I find the good sites).

We have a large tunnel tent & the pitches were very spacious all with EHU, we pitched on the Mill stream side of the site, this enjoys the sun later in the evening & the weather was wonderful.

The owners, Christine & Paul, along with there wardens Kath & Paul, were very warm & welcoming, nothing was to much trouble, the site is keep immaculate, toilets, showers, washing up areas always spotlessly clean. The site was so quite & peaceful in such beautiful surroundings.

Some reviews suggests that there is not enough showers, the site was full as it was Bank holiday week & I never had to wait for a shower once.

On Sunday’s Christine & Paul invites everyone into the Mill House (their home) & Paul runs the Mill, underneath the house, giving all the history, supported by Christine who explains all the working of the Mill on the upper floor with all history of the four milling that took place until 1947.

There is little too no phone signal on site, but the sites free Wi-Fi system really works well, I was, during my stay, overseeing a charitable container into Malawi, so good internet connection was important.

There is much to see in Exmoor, the many beautiful villages, Dunster, Dulverton, Porlock, Lynmouth & Winsford, where we had a wonderful meal at The Royal Oak. The highlight of our visit was the Tarr Steps, a must for any visitor.

The only downside for me was that the week went far too quick, there was so much to see & do. I would rank Exe Valley in my top ten sites, Kath & Paul, keep up the good work, we will return in the future.

Previous     180 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4787 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0969
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Open Today's Window