Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 204 Reviews
              9/10 from 204 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  204 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Benstuart 3 reviews from this member

Following a 4 night stay at Cofton in 2010 we were always keen to go back. Having visited many of Devons' many lovely tourist attractions we decided to have a more relaxing holiday and stay more on site. This time we stayed for 6 nights.

We already knew that Coftons facilities are excellent so no need to worry about the basics such as showering and washing up. They were kept as clean as ever and there was often good friendly banter at the washing up area.

We were given a generous pitch on the 10 acre field which is built on a terrace. I, like many others had not planned for the ground being so hard. About an inch under the ground it almost felt like rock, so would advise any camper to learn from my mistake and bring good quality steel rock pegs (these were available in the site shop and also in the good nearby camping shop).

We had excellent weather so were all able to make the most of the facilities on site; the outdoor pool, the numerous playgrounds and trails. We were also able to give our daughters a little independence.

There were lots of things organised throughout the week and many were free and these are the type of thing that set places like Cofton apart from others. These included a reptile display, small animals from Pennywell Farm, inflatables on the sports field and an excellent pond dipping session which was very informative and well organised by the enthusiastic staff.

We only left the site by car once and the new local Sainsburys was only about 3 minutes away. For everything else the site shop was as good as ever and included some excellent local produce - the sausages being particularly nice.

We enjoyed walks to Dawlish Warren Beach and also to Cockwood Harbour, both within a 30 minute walk. I would have loved to have taken my bike and done some of the rides in the excellent leaflets in reception. It was nice to discover the immediate local area more.

We made sure that we visited the new complex and whilst the bingo, arcades and cabaret aren't our cup of tea, we did visit briefly. At night the main complex does get busy but the old Swan pub sells the same things and serves up a good pint of Doom Bar!

The new indoor pool is excellent, especially when one of your aims is to help the children learn to swim again. It was a good temperature, not too deep, had a lovely soft floor and an area for children to splash about in. We bought a 3 day pass which happily saw us through a day of bad weather.

The food is not the cheapest but it is very good. We had a nice meal in the pantry.

We were a little unlucky to be near a group of inconsiderate people for a couple of nights and this did take a small amount of shine off an otherwise fantastic holiday. The people who camped next to us for the last couple of nights were lovely.

Overall, I would rate it very highly again and I think we will go again at some point.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Youlbury 16 reviews from this member

We liked Cofton overall, this took a few days adjusting after arriving from a quiet site Golden Cap on a tour of Dorset and Devon.

We arrived on a Friday and site was very busy as expected at the beginning of the school holidays, we had to find our own pitch and after some time we found quite a large wide pitch with some good fortune.

Once pitched you really did notice how busy the site was particularly the field nearest to the shower block, it did look more like a refugee camp than a campsite.

On site the swimming pool was extremely popular and was packed over the weekend, the entertainment was pretty poor and we avoided it, the restaurant upstairs served decent food and the outside decked area was pleasant.

For a short stroll from the site you can find two pubs The Ship Inn and Anchor Inn, both decent and worth visiting. The surrounding area was nice and there is plenty to do.

Some of the clientèle were poorly mannered and some to appear to have skipped evolution, the fact my wife and my friends wife’s handbags had to be checked by security every time we went to the restaurant was not only intrusive but may summarise the customer base Cofton get.

This site was a bridge too far for own personal camping tastes and needs, it is popular because everything is done well, but for us it was a little too much and too busy.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Taylor56 1 review from this member

Stayed at Cofton many times and loved our stay again this year. The new pool and bar area is fantastic and a credit to the owners, would be nice if dog owners could use the balcony though as we had to stay down in the pub patio when our girls were eating and swimming upstairs.

We also feel that the season pitches are looking very tatty compared to the rest of the site which is kept immaculate.

Toilets very clean and tidy with hot showers every time, some of the children may want to learn to respect them though as I caught some trying to break a door.

We always do the walk through the forest to Dawlish Warren but I am sure the hill coming back gets higher, the clothes shop on the sea front has gone more up market and relieved us of £90 while we were there, only supposed to be taking the dog for a swim in the sea!

Overall a lovely site though on the expensive side especially if you have a dog, nice staff and good facilities, they have even made our favourite pitch bigger which confused me a little when I arrived.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandy167 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here in May 2014. It really is an excellent site. The facilities are first class. The toilets were spotless, the bar area really nice and the pool area superb. It is a great location - we did the river Exe cycle way from the site all the way up to Exeter and then down to Exmouth and then the ferry across back to Dawlish. Would recommend and will go back again one day!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bradtourer 27 reviews from this member

This is the 2nd visit to dawlish within 7 years and 1st time at this caravan park, I must agree with the majority of reviews, this site is fabulous, facilities where spot on, coarse fishing with a great choice of lakes with different specimen of fish, my wife had the 3 day gym pass for 9.95 which seems reasonable, also up to date equipment, outdoor pool which was closed at early may but could imagine it being very busy through peak times, playground, adventure park in the forest on site, entertainment in clubhouse, restaurant, shop etc, toilet and shower blocks were immaculate, off site there is dawlish warren with 1 mile and dawlish town with 2 miles and teignmouth 5 miles, all worth the visit, also if you like your golf there is a great 9 holes course within 2 miles, very reasonable priced. Would definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscmb 33 reviews from this member

We spent a week at Cofton just before the onslaught of the Easter holidays. Firstly the location of this holiday park is very good unless you want to be on top of a beach. There are some lovely walks you can make from the site and if you want to keep off the roads walk through the woodlands or make the 20 minute walk to Dawlish Warren. The site itself has lovely views and you can choose to pitch on a hillside or down by the lakes. There are numerous small villages and towns (plus Exeter) you can easily visit from Cofton.

The on site facilities are excellent and the quality of the finishes and furnishings in the new leisure complex are far above what I would expect to find in a holiday park. I won’t list all the facilities as they are so many.

The on site meals are not cheap but are not overpriced and are of good quality, we especially enjoyed the Sunday carvery. The take-away fish & chips were good too – a very useful facility, especially if you have children as they also sell burgers, sausages etc. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful – I would especially like to mention the gentleman behind the bar at the Sunday carvery – I think his name was Tony – who was very polite and attentive.

The touring pitches are generously sized and you can choose between super pitches, hard standing and grass. There are also a lot of holiday homes to rent plus a handful of cottages. We were impressed by the well stocked shop and the amount of toilet and shower blocks. However, the first shower block I frequented wasn’t very warm in the mornings (the terrazzo tiles although very sumptuous were cold on bare feet), so I preferred to walk the extra distance to a more modern block which was definitely warmer and also a bit cleaner.

The only thing that niggled me was the price of the wifi. Most sites we stay on offer wifi for free, and if not free then a modest charge. I felt that the wifi charges at Cofton were on the high side.

That said, it would not put me of going to Cofton again it would just put me off buying wifi.

A great site and if you have children there is a lot for them to do.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: No Regrets 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fabulous holiday at Cofton, this was our first visit here but it won't be our last! we were worried before we went with news coverage of the devastation from flooding in the local area but we didn't need to worry as Cofton is secluded in a dip and so missed the majority of the bad weather. The site is easy to find but if approaching from M5 take it steady through some of the small villages on the way in as they can be a tight squeeze if towing. Also as you arrive on site people park on the main access road making it a tight squeeze but you will get through but take your time, I promise the wait is worth it. We went for a short 6 night break just to get away from it all in february. I can't tell you how relaxed I am coming home this evening. The facilities on site are excellent and well cared for, the owners and team on site must be very proud. We went swimming/ steam room / sauna everyday and although this is an extra charge it is well worth the money ( they do passes for the week or 3 days at a time which make it cheaper) The meals in the restaurant are equally not cheap but excellent food quality and they aren't shy with the portions! We used the laundry facilities, £1 for 20 mins drying ( use the machine on high as low didn't do much ) £4 for a wash but this included all washing powder/ softener etc.

We used the toilets which were spotless and cleaned regularly, but didn't use the shower blocks as we either used are own facilities or the showers in the leisure complex following a swim.

Play parks on site for the kids, outdoor pool ( not in feb. Lol ) and also a zip wire in the forest above the park to play on. Overall great value for money considering what you get but early booking essential as this park will be busy in the height of the season, perfect place for all year round fun and can't wait to go back. One of the best parks I have ever had the pleasure to visit.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LesleyandPeter 24 reviews from this member

Had a lovely weeks holiday at Cofton. Just the two of us and our two dogs. Larger site than we would normally choose, as having the dogs means we don't use all the extra facilities that sites like Cofton offer.

This site is ideal for families, Dawlish Warren is just a short walk through Coftons own woodland walk. Dawlish Warren has a nice beach, crazy golf and a few amusements by the beach. Lovely walk along the sea front into Dawlish which is a small pretty town with some individual shops, but is getting invaded by the BIG chain stores.

Cofton offers fantastic facilities for families. The amenities blocks are spotlessly clean, and there are plenty of them on this large site. The indoor and outdoor pools are beautifully maintained. The pitches are of a good size, larger than most.

We were pitched near the Donkeys, and pony field. Overlooking the children's play area, with direct access to the woodland play area and the dog field.

The dog field at Cofton is great, along with the woodland walk.

Waking up to the donkeys braying made me smile. There are plenty of rabbits about. The dogs enjoyed the chase and thankfully never caught one.

We walked to Starcross and got the ferry to Exmouth, (wouldn't bother going again) also caught the train to Torquay which still has a few individual shops selling local produce, a lovely harbour and nice cafe's, then took the train to Paignton which is looking very tired and sad, cheap shops, old B&Bs turned into cheap rentals. I holidayed here when younger and remember all the floral displays along the front. It was sad to see it has changed so much.

I don't think we shall return to Cofton as we weren't impressed with the area. Cofton itself is a great family site with plenty to entertain families day and night. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful. Dogs very welcome, great walks from the site, this is what made our stay enjoyable.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sue@home 10 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely relaxing week at Cofton. Our first time on this site but most definitely not our last!

The staff were friendly and helpful at all times.

The site is clean and beautifully kept. On arrival we were asked if we knew where we'd like to pitch, being our first time we gave our requirements - flat, not too far from toilets or dog exercise field. We were shown to 'Seeds' at the top of 'Oakfield'. Our pitch did have a few potholes and we would have asked to swap if we hadn't already pitched the tent without checking it out first!(our fault there). There were a few pitches we noticed that weren't overly flat so it is good that they allow you to choose.

The Toilets/showers were always spotless, no paper strewn everywhere despite there still being a lot of children about. Water always hot, the showers are the sort you can set the temperature and just relax - no constant button pushing, bliss!

The shop was well stocked and not overly priced. However there is a new Sainsbury's superstore approx 1. 5 miles away towards Dawlish.

We didn't use the leisure facilities as we had our dog with us but the outdoor pool looked lovely. We don't hold with having to pay for a swimming pool (the indoor one)or WiFi, we would rather pay an extra 50p/£1 per night so it could be free for all. So that's a small black mark from us. Hence I've only given 8/10 for that.

The Swan, which is dog friendly, served good reasonably priced drinks and the food was excellent! Beautifully presented and tasty. So to those who think it's a little expensive we say try before you criticise - worth every penny and not unreasonably priced in our opinion.

Well worth a visit and we are already planning next year's.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Canvas Crew 9 reviews from this member

Our first visit to Cofton, we went with other families and were pitched in the Front Field - pitched right next to the A379 so that was noisy, flat pitch and plenty of space and we may have complained if we had realised how noisy the road was before we had pitched! Facilities were very clean, modern block, cleaned regular. Site was clean and no litter, for a big site it was quiet.

The take-away done Gluten Free chips - excellent service! The breakfast baps where a cracking idea! The restaurant was reasonable, and the cake in the pantry upstairs was OMG to die for!

I don't think the charge for the indoor facilities were unreasonable, it was a good way to monitor numbers. All very clean, staff were all friendly.

We done the walk through the woods to Dawlish Warren a number of times, the walk back is a bit steep! The walk took us about 45 minutes and it was about a 30 minute walk to StarCross train station - nice not to use the car. Although use the car to go to Sainsbury - only half a mile away but a fairly busy road although their shop on site was well stocked.

We enjoyed our week camping - and although don't normally pick such a big site, we would return as all the facilities make the camping holiday - well, a real holiday!

Previous     204 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a BUZZ RACK Buffalo 4 Bike Tilting Carrier Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Benington Chilli Festival, Hertfordshire 29 – 31st August
Celebrate all things chilli in the hidden gem of a garden at historic Benington Lordship.

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2182 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0625