Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 189 Reviews
              9/10 from 189 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DevonDeb 3 reviews from this member

We have stayed at Cofton on numerous occasions. It is the best site we have ever visited, and we will continue to stay there when we can.

The reception is friendly, efficient and very helpful.

The shop is large and very well stocked.

The outdoor pool is great and lifeguard in attendance. The indoor pool and fitness suite are a massive hit with our teenagers and grandchildren too.

The pitches are well serviced, level and have electric hook up and water.

The shower and toilet blocks are scrupulously clean and well thought out. There is a shelf area above the toilet so you can put your towels and clothing there rather than on the floor.

They pipe music into the block which is a lovely touch.

The showers have plenty of room, are thermostatically controlled and do not keep turning off during showering. There is a dressing area as part of your cubicle and your clothes are protected from getting wet.

There is a lovely play oark for the little ones, and donkeys in the top of the field.

There are lovely fishing lakes to walk around on site and ducks love to be fed.

The laundry and the Games room are excellent too.

We love to walk through the woods from the site to Dawlish Warren and around the area.

There is a very large Sainsbury's nearby including fuel station and carwash.

I rate this site as a 5 star. It is our number 1 site so far.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tiredworking 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a full week. It was absolutely lovely the best site we have ever been too. The campsite is very well kept no matter where you pitch your tent. We arrived and was offered a number of areas to choose from just pick where you want. Ideal no pressure we walked around and found the perfect pitch not far from the fishing lakes. It was lovely sun all day.

We tried the restaurant twice very nice no complaints for dinner and for breakfast on the morning we left. Used the outdoor pool to cool down in the amazingly hot temperatures it was great it looked really busy but once in there was plenty of room to cool down.

The on site shop hires you out cool cubes for your cool box which we really needed. The shop was reasonably priced and well stocked. We also found that there was a Sainsbury's just down the road.

The toilets and showers were always clean I even met the very quite cleaners at 5. 04am who whispered good morning! There were a number of workers on the site all very friendly and well turned out. My only gripe and I am being petty is on one of the evenings in the restaurant two of the female staff were not as friendly as their fellow staff which left me feeling I bit uncomfortable about going back. So used a different restaurant the next night.

I have said it already but this really is the best site we have ever been to.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dinx 6 reviews from this member

Just come back from 10 days stay at this site with group of friends four caravans in total. This is a large site I was shown to pitch by staff but friends on pitch next to me were not and had to find own pitch. The pitch was large and flat but very hard to hammer pegs in for awning gravel with concrete underneath. Other two vans were at the other end of park even though we booked in January and requested to be close if possible couldn't be further away if they tried. This site has very good facilities and all looked very new pub/club restaurant/ kids play area excellent only gripe outdoor pool freezing I would not go in and you have to pay to use indoor pool. We all had meals in restaurant and food good service quick. The toilets shower facilities were very clean and there were lots of them could do with few more water points about the site. Overall this is nice clean large site with friendly staff.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tim Smith 8 reviews from this member

Just spent the half term holiday here with the wife and two teenage kids. This site has a lot going for it - the tent pitches are fairly flat and quite large, although we did notice that the modern tent is getting quite big nowadays, and we did have one night when we got back to the tent to find that a new neighbour had parked their car in our pitch area and we had to park elsewhere. But they were only there for a couple of nights and subsequently parked in the vacant pitch on their other side.

The toilet and shower blocks were clean and tidy and were kept in good order, with soap dispensers at the wash hand basins.

The showers were excellent with lashings of lovely hot water.

The entertainment facilities were just about the best I have come across in the UK, with something for the kids during the day and something for us big kids in the evening.

The outside pool looks very continental, but our teenage crash test dummies said that it wasn't heated - maybe not to their standards, but they chose to pay £1. 95 per day to splash about in the indoor pool. We didn't begrudge paying that amount - we were glad to be rid of them for a couple of hours whilst we relaxed in the comfortable lounge, sipping our latte and digging into a slice of cake.

If I had to make a criticism, it is that the site has virtually no TV coverage, which is not the fault of the site, but we also found that we couldn't pick up the site's Wi-Fi, which had my teenage son almost at the point of tears.

Would we go back to Cofton? You bet we will!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 124 reviews from this member

Second time here on a 5 day discounted break-just over £73- which included ehu on a hardstanding pitch by the lake and TV point. As other comments a nice site, good toilets, free powerful showers, friendly staff. Two GBG listed pubs are within 10min walking distance, cycle path also nearby which can take you to Exeter or the other way to Dawlish. Bus stop not far from reception that also goes to Exeter or Newton Abbot, runs every 20mins until quite late. Didn't use the on-site facilities but looks good for familys though not many familys here during our stay as was out of season and very quiet.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pepe la Pew 4 reviews from this member

Just got home from a couple of nights at Cofton to blow away the winter cobwebs. What a lovely site. The reception staff are very friendly and all the staff we came across seemed to like their jobs. Shower/toilet blocks are spotless (I liked the piped music, as I don't like deathly quiet ones, where all you can hear is someone else doing their 'ablutions'!)

There is large variety of pitches, the site is very clean with no litter. The new pool/spa complex is lovely and the new cafe/restaurant food is gorgeous and good value for money. Although we didn't have children with us, the play facilities seemed good. The only thing that concerned us was that it sounded like someone was murdering their donkey this morning.

Would definitely recommend a trip despite the noisy donkey!

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireMike21 36 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a weekend without the kids. Our pitch was right next to the lakes with was lovely but the birds woke me up at 5am each morning coming in to land.

The site looked really good but we used or looked at none of the facilities but would go back again to try them out.

We went to try out our electric bikes, fab cycle paths and we went to Dawlish Warren then on to Dawlish.

The pub down the road at the harbour was superb, ate their twice, have the surf and turf hanger, something different.

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: 1_man_+_his_dob(lo) 33 reviews from this member

Stayed for 5 nights on grass + EHU - I was able to pick my pitch which was a challenge because there was only one field available and even though it was almost empty it was pretty muddy, particularly on the semi-hardstanding areas. I eventually found a good spot on thick grass near the top gate and static home, alongside the entrance road which was quiet during the night.

There was a discount of 25% for bookings of 5+ nights. Most of the site was closed in February, with the indoor swimming pool, health spa and cafeteria open to the public.

The one facility block below the field had a toilet/washbasin room and a toilet/shower room, with piped commercial radio during the day (aaaarghhh!). Dishwashing facilities were under cover outside. The block next door contained a large laundrette, bar (closed) and CDP. Plenty of facility blocks (closed) were scattered across the site.

TV (digital), mobile (O2) and 3G ('3') reception was good; analogue radio was OK. Fresh and grey water points were a short walk away.

Staff were very friendly when I arrived; I did not see much of them after that other than the first afternoon I arrived, when the field was mowed/strimmed for several hours.

Cockwood is about a 15 minute walk away as you head to Starcross (about 15 minutes further on) and has a couple of pubs. Starcross has a convenience store and pharmacy on the main road, along with the railway station. Dawlish Warren can be reached by foot from the back of the site, though the woods, in less than an hour. In the other direction Exeter is about a 15 minute drive - I visited Topsham across the estuary for the RSPB reserve at Bowling Green and nearby viewing platform, but parked and stocked up at Dart's Farm shopping centre just outside the town and walked in, due to the limited parking.

The main reason for visiting the area was the RSPB avocet cruise from Starcross, a 3+ hour guided boat tour of the estuary during the winter. Very good, but wrapping up in several layers is recommended!

I would not use the site other than during the winter season because, being a leisure park, it'll be a completely different place during the normal camping season and expensive for solo campers. But for an extended winter visit to the area I would probably stay again.

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Natashaeo02 4 reviews from this member

This site is one of the most immaculate we have visited. We took our daughter and friends for her birthday and they loved it. Great play parks, one in the woods which were all new. The pool was really nice and a new clubhouse meant everything was spotless. The pitches are all well spaced out and clearly marked. They had a great treasure hunt as well for kids. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend.

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tony B52 9 reviews from this member

The site is easily accessible with a caravan though there is a pinch point on the short access road from the main road which is plenty wide enough for one vehicle and van.

The site is about ten minutes off of the Exeter junction on the motor way unless you are travelling in rush hours etc. The four pinch points through Star Cross at this time can cause delays.

There is a mixture of hard standing and grass pitches, mostly grass. When we visited in Feb the grass pitches were for the best part very wet, though you can say this for most sites in the UK at the moment. The hard standing pitches were in good nick though. As usual the roads in between the pitches were too narrow to make manoeuvring onto your pitch with a twin axle possible without having to run over opposite pitches, not a problem for us as there was no one opposite.

The loos and showers were kept very clean and warm and even had piped music. Really refreshing to have a big bench to put your shoes and socks on away from the wet area.

The new indoor pool was lovely. We didn't see a life guard in attendance at the pool side during our visit though the excellent staff in the cafe area were keeping an eye on the area to the best of their ability whilst running services there. The site has a Children must be escorted by an adult policy for the pool, this is commendable. However I question the lack of a poolside lifeguard as a wise policy especially as the pool is an optional extra at £40 for a family of four.

The shop facilities etc looked great but unfortunately were closed during our stay. This was due to Somerset's strange holiday dates this year. That being said it was great to enjoy the area whilst it was quiet.

The dog walk field was steep but one of the nicest I've used with a small wood next to it. There were plenty of doggy bins around the site which were being emptied at least daily. However the dog was an additional £4 ish during peak times per night so at £32 additional for an eight night stay you would expect your pets to be catered for. The site did not disappoint for this. Free for us in Febuary though so great.

For walkers our favourite walk from the site was the roadway walk down to the village of Crofton, about ten minutes either way with two pubs in the village. Our favourite local drive to walk was Dawlish Warren, good for bird spotters too.

Lots of parks for the little ones and a treasure trail with a free Lolly at the end of it.

Five well stocked fishing ponds on site, a fee normally for this but free in the winter months.

I didn't see any advertised free Wi Fi, but to my delight I could link up all holiday and no password was required.

The reception staff were lovely, really helpful, and nothing too much trouble.

Near by attractions and places to eat are way too many to list.

Their is a new Sainsbury's with petrol station less than five minutes from the site.

We were happy with our stay here and will certainly return. Our recommendations to the owner would be for better drainage on the grass pitches, and more fully hard standing pitches. But for this we would have returned in Easter.

Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3935 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0547