Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Visitor Reviews - Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Middle Grounds
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2QW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 580538

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 26 Mar 2015 - 02 Nov 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
              9/10 from 54 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (12)

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 13 to 18                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Travellerrr 2 reviews from this member

Slapton Sands is by far the best campground we have stayed at within the UK this year.

It has great clean facilities, free showers (there's even a separate room with a baby bath for little ones), a wonderful atmosphere - our 4 year old got together with other similarly aged kids in the late afternoon to whizz around on their scooters and bikes on the ring road - going past our tent every lap with a huge grin on his face!

Despite the rain we had on two of our four days we found lots to do locally - walking down to the beach (5min) or up to the village (3min) - no shops in the village but two pubs open for lunch and dinner (but not in between, ie closed from 3 - 5. 30pm), biking along the beach road, walking and running around the nature reserve trails of Slapton Ley, playing in the pebbles and rockpools of Torcross (icecream shop here too).

Then there's Dartmouth, with it's well presented castle (English Heritage) and the little ferry into Dartmouth centre. And a day at Blackpool Beach (7pounds entry) would be well spent - we dropped in for an hour on our way home. We didn't have time to get to the nearby lighthouse, but it was on our list of things to do. Highly Recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ashworth55 6 reviews from this member

Have just got back from our holiday and had good weather.

The toilet and shower block was always clean only had to wait once for a short time for the shower given that this was high season didn't think this was bad.

The play park area seemed to be very popular with the younger children.

Great fish and chips at the Brill Plaice, Stoke Flemming, went there twice!

We also went to Blackpool sands beach for the day great beach.

The site is a bit of a hidden gem for caravanners don't be put off by the narrow roads through the villages take your time in getting there its worth it.

I should say that this is our second year here and find it a wonderful location. The sea is a 20 minute stroll away or 3 mins with a car load of essentials e. G. Kids, picnic, body boards, fishing gear etc.

We will visit again perhaps for a long weekend as that is the bonus of living not that far away from the site.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pansy Potter 13 reviews from this member

We had a very pleasing stay here over half term for two nights. Although we were not members we were welcomed and every effort was made to accommodate our late booking. The weather was dreadful, but the site was always clean and cheerful.

The showers were modern and roomy, with plenty of hot water. The location of the site is great, within walking distance of Slapton and its two super pubs and within 5 mins of the beach.

There is also a good bus service along the coast if you don't want to drive everywhere.

Only annoying thing was the man on the sit on lawnmower!

Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mirabelle 25 reviews from this member

Slapton Sands is a lovely little area and this site is charming with nice sea views (when it wasn't covered in fog, sadly the weather wasn't great during our stay)it is well kept with pretty grounds and chickens strolling around which we loved!

The site has a small shop and the wardens were friendly when we arrived. The shower/toilet block was very clean but I felt it could do with being modernised as it looked a bit old and dated, one thing that needs to be remedied is the way the shower curtains are positioned as it means they cling to you as you are trying to shower, not nice! We felt a few more showers would have been nice as we had to queue quite often, and it was really quiet during our stay so must be really hard to get one in high season!

There are a couple of pubs a short walk away in the village, although we were ignored for so long whilst waiting to be served at the Tower inn we decided not to book a table there(barman too busy talking to his mate!) In the end we ate at the other pub in the village and the meal was nice. Another night we drove down the road to the Kings Arms which specialised in sea food, very nice if you love fish!

We would love to return to this part of Devon and would stay here again, hopefully next time the sun will shine!

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bella37 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site, we had distant sea views (when it wasn't covered in fog) as the weather wasn't great during our stay.

Shower/toilet block clean but could do with an upgrade, didn't like the way the cold soggy shower curtain clung to me and I heard others say the same. It could do with more showers as had to queue a few times and there were not many units there during our stay!

Well kept and maintained grounds and loved the resident pair of chickens wandering round!

Nice site in a great location, good pubs in walking distance although was ignored for 15 minutes waiting to be served at the Tower inn while the barman chatted to his mate, so decided not to book a table there! we ate at the other pub in the village and that was nice and drove down the road to the Kings Arms for some great fish dishes. Would return here for sure.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katia_114 4 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a week long stay at Slapton Sands and had a great time.

Facilities are well maintained, however they most definitely need to build another shower block - three showers each for men/women is not enough! They were in constant use from 6. 30 am and then up until 10pm and often you had a short wait. However, this was in peak summer so perhaps isn't always the case.

We were lucky enough to be pitched quite close to the shower block however if you were on the other side of the site it would be a bit of a walk. The existing block could also do with a bit of an upgrade - a lick of paint, more bins etc.

Was also quite noisy most of the time due to the amount of children on site, however again it was peak school holiday time.

All pitches appeared to be flat however a lot of them are sloping. Nice views of the coast and Start Bay lighthouse can be seen (and heard!) of a night.

Small shop on site stocked the basics, however we would have preferred it to open earlier than 9am as we like to have breakfast earlier than this. Only a short walk into Slapton (don't drive it if you value your wing mirrors!), would highly recommend the Queens Arms for excellent good value food - we ate there most nights.

The Tower Inn also had a good atmosphere, we didn't eat here however as they were fully booked and the menu was a bit fancy for us anyway.

The site is in a great location with Slapton Ley and Torcross only a short walk away, and Kingsbridge and Dartmouth a short drive. Beware if you are towing or in a large vehicle however as most of the 'A' roads are very narrow!

All in all an excellent base ad would recommend the site to all.

Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 13 to 18      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to Camperex 2016 (Liverpool) in January Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

5031 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Open Today's Window!