Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Middle Grounds
Slapton
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2QW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 580538

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
              9/10 from 51 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (5)

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 13 to 18                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mirabelle 24 reviews from this member

Slapton Sands is a lovely little area and this site is charming with nice sea views (when it wasn't covered in fog, sadly the weather wasn't great during our stay)it is well kept with pretty grounds and chickens strolling around which we loved!

The site has a small shop and the wardens were friendly when we arrived. The shower/toilet block was very clean but I felt it could do with being modernised as it looked a bit old and dated, one thing that needs to be remedied is the way the shower curtains are positioned as it means they cling to you as you are trying to shower, not nice! We felt a few more showers would have been nice as we had to queue quite often, and it was really quiet during our stay so must be really hard to get one in high season!

There are a couple of pubs a short walk away in the village, although we were ignored for so long whilst waiting to be served at the Tower inn we decided not to book a table there(barman too busy talking to his mate!) In the end we ate at the other pub in the village and the meal was nice. Another night we drove down the road to the Kings Arms which specialised in sea food, very nice if you love fish!

We would love to return to this part of Devon and would stay here again, hopefully next time the sun will shine!

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bella37 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site, we had distant sea views (when it wasn't covered in fog) as the weather wasn't great during our stay.

Shower/toilet block clean but could do with an upgrade, didn't like the way the cold soggy shower curtain clung to me and I heard others say the same. It could do with more showers as had to queue a few times and there were not many units there during our stay!

Well kept and maintained grounds and loved the resident pair of chickens wandering round!

Nice site in a great location, good pubs in walking distance although was ignored for 15 minutes waiting to be served at the Tower inn while the barman chatted to his mate, so decided not to book a table there! we ate at the other pub in the village and that was nice and drove down the road to the Kings Arms for some great fish dishes. Would return here for sure.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katia_114 4 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a week long stay at Slapton Sands and had a great time.

Facilities are well maintained, however they most definitely need to build another shower block - three showers each for men/women is not enough! They were in constant use from 6. 30 am and then up until 10pm and often you had a short wait. However, this was in peak summer so perhaps isn't always the case.

We were lucky enough to be pitched quite close to the shower block however if you were on the other side of the site it would be a bit of a walk. The existing block could also do with a bit of an upgrade - a lick of paint, more bins etc.

Was also quite noisy most of the time due to the amount of children on site, however again it was peak school holiday time.

All pitches appeared to be flat however a lot of them are sloping. Nice views of the coast and Start Bay lighthouse can be seen (and heard!) of a night.

Small shop on site stocked the basics, however we would have preferred it to open earlier than 9am as we like to have breakfast earlier than this. Only a short walk into Slapton (don't drive it if you value your wing mirrors!), would highly recommend the Queens Arms for excellent good value food - we ate there most nights.

The Tower Inn also had a good atmosphere, we didn't eat here however as they were fully booked and the menu was a bit fancy for us anyway.

The site is in a great location with Slapton Ley and Torcross only a short walk away, and Kingsbridge and Dartmouth a short drive. Beware if you are towing or in a large vehicle however as most of the 'A' roads are very narrow!

All in all an excellent base ad would recommend the site to all.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ian Flatable 1 review from this member

Just spent four nights at this site and wish I'd booked longer as we were very lucky with the weather and had a great time. Stunning location and a short walk to the beach. Everything I would say has already been covered, except.

If you walk to the very end of the beach at Torcross there's a set of steps going up, beside a WWII pill-box, to some cottages. Beside them to the left is a narrow alley that leads to more steps heading down onto a secret beach. There's another pill-box that my 8-year old lad managed to get inside, and crystal clear waters.

Also, if looking for supplies, carry on past the post office and butchers at Torcross, up the hill, and there's a poorly signposted lane on the right that leads to a wonderful (if pricey) farm shop selling fruit, veg, fresh bread, fantastic meat, and pizzas.

Only downside was getting cold wine or beer. Impossible unless you want to pay through the nose at the farm shop. Had to drive to Kingsbridge (20mins each way) Morrisons and buy along with bags of ice.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Folding Camper Rating:
Reviewer: Gazzagadget 1 review from this member

Booked 4 nights by phone just 1 week before visit (not members of C&CC). Friendly reception on arrival (after 6pm), given a choice of pitches. We chose a pitch with sea views, fairly level, we didn't need EHU.

Very quiet site, facilities kept very clean, the small number of available showers didn't affect us as we chose to go out of the rush hour. Plenty of hot water.

Grass is kept mowed and cuttings collected so you didn't get grass trodden into your unit.

A great base to explore south Devon. Interesting local history, nearby huge unspoilt beach is small shingle, sea water is lovely and clear (but cold!).

Nearby Blackpool Sands isn't sand, it's small shingle. The facilities there are very good, beachside cafe and shop. Toilets had Classic FM playing. You can park there next to the beach, all day cost £5 (reduced to £4 in the afternoon).

Nice walk along the seafront to Torcross, about 1. 5 miles from the site.

We liked it here so decided to book an extra two nights. We were offered membership of C&CC so we could have the non-member surcharge refunded for our first 4 nights and the additional nights at the member rates, effectively getting 12 months membership at no extra cost. We took them up on the offer.

Will go back again when we next return to the area.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ghart386 11 reviews from this member

Stayed here for four nights recently and left wishing we could stay for four years! We have been members of the C & C Club now for three years and though all of their sites are excellent, this one stands out in a class of its own.

Only criticism that could be levelled is that it could really do with a second toilet / shower block & more washing up facilities. That said, we never really found it a problem if you are prepared to avoid the busy times.

Toilet and Showerblock kept spotlessly clean and loads of free hot water. The whole site is kept spotlessly clean and tidy, Wardens friendly and very helpful, small shop for essentials.

Our pitch, on a hook up, was dead level with a marvellous sea view. Many pitches have sea views though not all, some pitches seem on a bit of a slope, though not many.

Village of Slapton only a 10 minute walk away, with handy village shop and two excellent pubs. Out of the two we preferred The Queens Arms, excellent food & drink at very reasonable prices. The Tower was fine to pop in for a drink but the menu appeared to be directed more towards the gastronome than the hungry camper, if you get my drift. Reflected in the prices too!

Excellent location, short stroll and you are on the beach, handy for me as I enjoy beach fishing, or the Slapton Leys nature reserve. Slightly longer stroll into Torcross village where there is another excellent pub, Post Office stores and local butcher nearby.

Further afield, its only a short drive to Dartmouth one way and Kingsbridge the other, both ways can afford breathtaking views. Morrisons supermarket in Kingsbridge was handy. Quite a few children on the site and they all appeared to be having a good time, they seemed well catered for with a safe playing area.

Also quite a few well behaved dogs on site with their own dog walking area. For us this site seems to tick all the boxes. I don't work for the Camping & Caravanning Club honest! All in all had a wonderful time here and will most certainly be returning.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 13 to 18      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4047 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1094