Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 99 Reviews
              8/10 from 99 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 13 to 18                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barry_432 16 reviews from this member

I spent 5 nights here - mainly hill walking the local Munros. The site is directly on the loch and it is possible to walk along the shore. The village is lovely with a store, nice pub and lovely church.

I did not notice the road noise but I do come from London! The grass areas did get a bit boggy after a few hours of rain.

The wardens were welcoming and pleasant and the shop had all the basics. The pitches were well proportioned. Facilities were well maintained, well heated and always clean. It was a very relaxing and pleasant stay. There are cheaper sites nearby and it probably is not good value for money for non members.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Profjackpot 7 reviews from this member

Nice site in a fantastic location with great views and direct access on to Loch Lomond. It was popular with canoeists while we were there but is also good for less active visitors (such as us!).

The facilities are modern with two decent sized toilet blocks and indoor washing up facilities. The showers were advertised as power showers and they were when they worked but this was intermittent with most of our showers being under what resembled a slow running tap. Unfortunately the wardens closed the blocks outside of the advertised closing times on most days which did cause some issues.

The grass is quite uneven so did get boggy in the day's rain that we had. This is something that the Camping and Caravanning Club should address as it probably causes quite a mess in longer rainy spells.

The site is within walking distance of the small village of Luss which has a pub/hotel, a couple of coffee shops and a village shop. For decent shopping facilities you would need to go out in the car, the best locally being in Dunbarton which is about a 30 minutes drive. Loch Lomond Shores is a 15 minute drive where there is an indoor sea life centre - perfect for a rainy day with great loch views but get your tickets from Tourist Information in Balloch as it is a big saving.

The site is close to the busy A82 which is great as it makes it perfect for a stopover and easy to find but obviously has the drawback of road noise although this didn't really cause us an issue as it was fairly quiet at night.

This site offers what you would expect from a Camping and Caravanning Club site (except for ad-hoc facility closing) but really benefits from a great location. Ideal as a stopover or for longer stays.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Frog 5 reviews from this member

Had a quick overnight stop here on the way further north and so glad we did. Yes it was nice to break up the journey but to do it in such a lovely place was such a bonus.

We were welcomed and as we only had a small tent, camped on the grass area at the front of the site about 4m from the Loch! Beautiful views, facilities where as to be expected from a CCC site (very nice) and the village of Luss is well worth the short walk as there are a couple of places to eat and drink.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bonnie + Clyde* 11 reviews from this member

I arrived here and the people that run the site were initially concerned that the grass areas were too wet for me to camp. They really did bend over backwards to find me a spot suitable enough. I had a fantastic time. Really needed this overnight to practice my new tent. Great site, well run and very friendly.

Toilet blocks good. Showers warm. Used electric hook up. Luss is beautiful, small village with excellent walks. My wee Westie had a brilliant time and there is a very good dog walking area in the site

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clickerjac 7 reviews from this member

This was the last stop on our Highlands & Islands tour and it was a good one. The staff were very friendly & helpful. The site is all level, but rather soggy from lots of rain and a bit stony for getting tent pegs in. The facilities block is clean & well maintained, with private cubicles for washing as well as loos & showers (push button showers but good and hot).

There is no shop but eggs and ice creams are available from the office. Not sure if there is an electric hook up for tents, we didn't need one that night. It is a beautiful spot on the shores of Loch Lomond, but unfortunately the A82 runs alongside and the traffic noise spoils a tranquil setting, especially as tents are not soundproofed!

The village of Luss is a short walk down the road, it is very picturesque and offers various places to eat.

I expect we would stop here again, I don't think we would stay more than a couple of nights though. It is a good halfway point on a journey further north or south.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Shakeymc 3 reviews from this member

Facilities at this CCC site are clean but dated, it has two toilet blocks with only one chemical disposal point in the first toilet block. If you are pitched near or past the second toilet block its quite a drag back to the first toilet block to empty the toilet cassette.

It has been a very wet summer and this site was showing evidence of this with areas of sodden grass, we had a hard standing pitch, the grass area surrounding the pitch had very deep tyre tracks created by previous occupiers, the warden apologised about the state of the grass, blaming it on careless drivers; no attempt was made while we were there to repair the tyre damage.

The site is described as 'one of the most beautiful in the network', our view of the loch, from our pitch, was blocked by overgrown scrub making our pitch dark and dank, if the scrub was managed and the trees trimmed this would improve the ambiance of the site and might even reduce the effects of the midges!

The warden we spoke to was very pleasant and chatty, we had to phone the reception at one point when a campers dog was always off the lead, with the last straw being when the owner let the dog follow her into the ladies toilet, the same warden came straight away and spoke to the dog owner.

The village of Luss next to the site is well worth a visit and the cycle way which runs along the edge of the site (Balloch too Tarbet) was great, we cycled to Tarbet on the cycle path with wonderful views of Loch Lomand and the surrounding mountains, about one mile outside of Tarbet the cycle way is quite close to the A82, extra care at this point is needed.

The whole site had a well worn look about it and it could do with a makeover, in the meantime, perhaps the CCC would consider reducing the site fees.

Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 13 to 18      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5525 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0508