Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 94 Reviews
              8/10 from 94 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  94 in total, now showing 13 to 18                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Shakeymc 2 reviews from this member

Facilities at this CCC site are clean but dated, it has two toilet blocks with only one chemical disposal point in the first toilet block. If you are pitched near or past the second toilet block its quite a drag back to the first toilet block to empty the toilet cassette.

It has been a very wet summer and this site was showing evidence of this with areas of sodden grass, we had a hard standing pitch, the grass area surrounding the pitch had very deep tyre tracks created by previous occupiers, the warden apologised about the state of the grass, blaming it on careless drivers; no attempt was made while we were there to repair the tyre damage.

The site is described as 'one of the most beautiful in the network', our view of the loch, from our pitch, was blocked by overgrown scrub making our pitch dark and dank, if the scrub was managed and the trees trimmed this would improve the ambiance of the site and might even reduce the effects of the midges!

The warden we spoke to was very pleasant and chatty, we had to phone the reception at one point when a campers dog was always off the lead, with the last straw being when the owner let the dog follow her into the ladies toilet, the same warden came straight away and spoke to the dog owner.

The village of Luss next to the site is well worth a visit and the cycle way which runs along the edge of the site (Balloch too Tarbet) was great, we cycled to Tarbet on the cycle path with wonderful views of Loch Lomand and the surrounding mountains, about one mile outside of Tarbet the cycle way is quite close to the A82, extra care at this point is needed.

The whole site had a well worn look about it and it could do with a makeover, in the meantime, perhaps the CCC would consider reducing the site fees.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grajacq 1 review from this member

This was our first ever stay on a caravan park having only just bought the van 2 weeks prior. Upon arrival we found the staff to be extremely helpful and patient, helping us with a few teething problems being the first time. The site was very well maintained, clean and tidy including the toilets and shower block, beautiful scenery being right next to the Loch, I would highly recommend this site to anyone, and would certainly visit it again.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Steve-R 1 review from this member

I stayed here for quite a long stay, and firstly I must praise the wardens for switching bookings around to accommodate my large Motorhome.

The site is deceptively large, and although quite dated it's well kept and clean. The wardens are very friendly, helpful, and cheerful.

It's location is nicely set by Loch Lomond, and I had a Lochside pitch. But as mentioned, because I was under a tree the view was obstructed by branches. But that was a minor gripe. The site is also only a short walk from the pretty village of Luss, and a short drive to Balloch.

I think this site is used mainly as a stop-over as you travel further into the Highlands, or for a few days discovering the local area, and for that it is perfect. For a longer stay there are better in the area.

On the subject of the stated gripes.

I was there a few weeks, and although there are a lot of midges, I found the midge bites minimal. It was only on the last few days when I washed my car under a load of trees (like an idiot!) that I really got attacked. But that was my own stupidity.

There is a bit of road noise, but it's mostly acceptable, and you soon get used to it.

The toilet blocks are dated. But always clean, well kept, and certainly acceptable.

Overall a very pleasant site with very friendly wardens.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Busymale 3 reviews from this member

A good campsite on the banks of the picturesque Loch Lomond.

Toilets were clean and the welcome was very friendly. They don't cram people in and the gates are closed to avoid the potential for pirate campers.

Right next to the shore it does suffer badly from midges but otherwise child friendly, scenic and worth a return visit.

There is also Luss Village within easy walking distance and a cycle track running parallel with the campsite. Although right on the A82 the traffic didn't seem too bad and I got a good nights sleep.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lucysmum 10 reviews from this member

Good things:

Luss and the people there were great. Nice walking with a good leaflet provided at the site. The loch was lovely. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Ducks and swans with youngsters on the site -sweet!

Bad things:

Showers tatty with stupid press button control and no temperature control. Ladies showers (all 4 of them) dirty when we arrived - asst warden cleaned them immediately but when I'd showered I went to mop round and the water in the bucket was much dirtier than I'd made the shower - ugh. Tried to fill our water tank up but failed as only a little trickle of water coming out of the tap! Also trees over the tap made it v. Difficult to get the van close enough. Road noise a problem.

OK the weather and road noise couldn't be helped but the CCC could have done something about the other problems.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gordon55 3 reviews from this member

We stayed 2 nights at Luss in early June. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a lochside pitch and had nice views across the loch; the whole site seemed to be quite level and well kept.

Our pitch looked as if it had been used quite a lot, there was a patch in the middle with very sparse grass, where tents etc have been sited. We were not troubled by any traffic noise, although we were probably about 70 to 100 yards from the roadside edge of the site.

Our EHU cable is about 15m long and was not long enough to reach the service pillar - the staff offered us the loan of an extension cable, which solved the problem. Site was almost full when we stayed (half term holiday and we were there over the diamond jubilee weekend) and there seemed to be a higher proportion of tents on the site compared to other club sites we have stayed on - tent campers rely on 'the facilities' more than people in wheeled units; we felt that there were not enough toilets/showers to cope with the numbers. I would expect that at other times the faculties are more than adequate.

Luss is very close and well worth a visit. We took a very nice boat trip to the village of Balmaha, where there are some nice walks and a nice (and very busy) pub. The scenery is fantastic. There were a lot of biting midges around, and despite using DEET and Avon's skin so soft we got quite a lot of bites.

The site is in a great spot and the friendliness and cleanliness are both really good. So in spite of the midges we will be sure to be returning to Luss in the future

Previous     94 Reviews in total, now showing 13 to 18      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7980 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0977