Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Barcaldine By Connel
Argyll
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA37 1SG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01631 720348

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
              8/10 from 27 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 13 to 18                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Probbie 1 review from this member

This was my first time camping since I was a child and That was not yesterday. I bought a small four man tent and a few bit and bobs and off I went with my sister and our two seven year olds, I loved it. Discovered this site on the web but missed the sign on the road coming from the north as it is right on the corner but just turned around at the next wee village and found it no bother. The site is nice and quite and surrounded by a high wall with lovely walks in the adjoining woods. The staff were very friendly and the toilets and showers were spotless. Visited Oban and what a pretty place this was, full of shops and we were spoiled for choice as far as eating was concerned. Would highly recommend and I would return.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Almaz 37 reviews from this member

There was a lot of rain during our visit and has been pointed out before, the potholes on the route round the site are pretty big. As a result almost the entire track was flooded and the grass (not a problem for us in the van) was sometimes like a marsh. I talked to several campers who had to bail their tents out.

Toilet facilities were clean if in need of some updating.

Even though I knew the site was some distance from Oban, despite being billed as Oban site, I was still a bit disappointed there wasn't more in the immediate vicinity. The Club info indicates the site is in the village of Barcaldine, but unfortunately there's nothing in the way of shops, pub, etc there itself.

The general area however is beautiful and there are enough walks / climbs round about to keep you occupied in most conditions.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tomtait 10 reviews from this member

Beware it is no where near Oban some 12.5 miles away. A bit like Ryan Air who land miles away from the stated destination city. Poor bus service makes this sight somewhat isolated if you wish to leave your unit on site.

What was really bad was the number of deep potholes on the main route around the site. I witness one motorhome scraping its exhaust due to the large pothole it failed to navigate. Quite frankly, you expect the site to be in a better state of repair considering it is a Camping and Caravan Club site!

The facilities are adequate but it has a good shop on site for basic items. Some lovely walks too and a newly completed cycle trail are easily accessed from the site.

The staff were very helpful. If you plan to visit this site an insect repellent is a must and a sack of hardcore for the potholes would come in helpful!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Amanda caldwell 1 review from this member

This was our first caravan holiday having recently ditched the tent due to our lovely Scottish weather! This is one of the best sites we have stayed at. Small and friendly.
The toilet block was always spotless and the showers were fantastic. Excellent dog walk right next to the site. Surrounding area is just beautiful. Amazing views.
Oban is nearby and has tesco, aldi etc and a good variety of shops if you like that type of thing. My thing is walking and enjoying the scenery and this site gets 10 / 10 for this.
Sealife centre nearby is also worth a visit to keep the kids amused on a wet day. Cant think of anything negative about this site and will definitely visit again this year.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Am1907 7 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for 2 nights in August. Was an expensive site as we are not members.

£24.80 per night for a tent pitch with electric is quite excessive.

Facilities were good and clean. Walks at the back were brilliant for us and the dog. Oban quite a way but the sealife centre was not far but again £10.95 each to enter to see some fish and seals was also quite excessive.
Only down side to this site were the couple that run it. They do not do the site justice. Firstly having a moan about our tent size that it was too big. But it was a shame they did this as the site was only half full so it seems to just be totally pointless. We were stuck right next to the gas tank for the whole site which we did not complain about.
The bar is also permanently shut. The childrens play area was outside the wall and near the road, you would have to supervise children all the time they were using it.

Small site, could do better .

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cali 3 reviews from this member

Our first long camping holiday with 2 young children and found that this site was a lovely place to stay. The fact that the site is in a walled garden meant that it is sheltered from the the worst of any weather (although we had good weather for most of the time we were there), and there is no road noise to speak of.
The facilities were good inc the on site shop, laundry and washing facilities. The washrooms and showers were always clean. We were allowed to choose our own pitch. Rock pegs are recommended as some of the pitches are on harder ground. The surrounding area is beautiful and we will definitely return.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 13 to 18      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5381 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0352