Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Barcaldine By Connel
Argyll
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA37 1SG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01631 720348

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
              8/10 from 24 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 13 to 18                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Amanda caldwell 1 review from this member

This was our first caravan holiday having recently ditched the tent due to our lovely Scottish weather! This is one of the best sites we have stayed at. Small and friendly.
The toilet block was always spotless and the showers were fantastic. Excellent dog walk right next to the site. Surrounding area is just beautiful. Amazing views.
Oban is nearby and has tesco, aldi etc and a good variety of shops if you like that type of thing. My thing is walking and enjoying the scenery and this site gets 10 / 10 for this.
Sealife centre nearby is also worth a visit to keep the kids amused on a wet day. Cant think of anything negative about this site and will definitely visit again this year.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Am1907 7 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for 2 nights in August. Was an expensive site as we are not members.

24.80 per night for a tent pitch with electric is quite excessive.

Facilities were good and clean. Walks at the back were brilliant for us and the dog. Oban quite a way but the sealife centre was not far but again 10.95 each to enter to see some fish and seals was also quite excessive.
Only down side to this site were the couple that run it. They do not do the site justice. Firstly having a moan about our tent size that it was too big. But it was a shame they did this as the site was only half full so it seems to just be totally pointless. We were stuck right next to the gas tank for the whole site which we did not complain about.
The bar is also permanently shut. The childrens play area was outside the wall and near the road, you would have to supervise children all the time they were using it.

Small site, could do better .

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cali 3 reviews from this member

Our first long camping holiday with 2 young children and found that this site was a lovely place to stay. The fact that the site is in a walled garden meant that it is sheltered from the the worst of any weather (although we had good weather for most of the time we were there), and there is no road noise to speak of.
The facilities were good inc the on site shop, laundry and washing facilities. The washrooms and showers were always clean. We were allowed to choose our own pitch. Rock pegs are recommended as some of the pitches are on harder ground. The surrounding area is beautiful and we will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whatevertheweather 3 reviews from this member

A sheltered and clean site with a pub on the sites entrance selling reasonable grub. The nearest amenities are a drive away but site shop compensates. The surrounding area is very nice, so a bit of a shame can not see because of wall. Surprisingly not too many bugs for august. Only one major down site is it is a great site for caravans but a bit too hard for tents.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 113 reviews from this member

Flat site. Walled garden means it's sheltered and quiet, but also means there are no views out to the Argyll islands. Some trees for shade in summer. Excellent site for dog owners - lots of walks in the adjacent mature woodlands, with pretty waterfalls etc. Avoid pitch beside the gate to the dog walk and Chemical Disposal Point - lots of passers by. Club site - usual high standards of care. We didn't use the bar, so I can't speak for it.

Midges - not a problem this late in the year (frosty mornings). But a) buy a midge hood, b) spray Avon 'skin so soft' onto exposed skin and hair - it's used by Forestry workers and the SAS, one application lasts about an hour. And c) take an anti-histamine tablet at bedtime. Midges are the small price we pay for such glorious scenery in the West of Scotland, or we'd be just too fortunate! And midges aren't only at this site.

Local town has the essentials including gas, a cycle distance away southwards. Oban merits a half-day, huge car park by the swimming pool on the north side of town. Fantastic golf course at Glencruitten. Good seafood restaurants at the harbour. Plenty of ferries leave from here, some very early; day-trips to Iona. Beautiful scenery to explore in both directions, especially at sunset. Coast north to Fort William includes some of Scotland's most attractive scenery. Arduaine (National Trust for Scotland) is interesting if you like gardens. Coast south to Lochgilphead via Kilmartin Glen, Crinan Canal and Knapdale(to south) is distinctive.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Flyinghaggis 11 reviews from this member

This is the first time we have been on a caravan & camping club site. Toilets & showers were very clean. The road around the sight was very narrow making it alot harder to get the caravan onto the pitch. The bar that was outside the gates was shut and had a notice saying closed until further notice. The playpark is not situated at a very good bit it is outside the gates and at the side of the bar, you couldn't let kids go there themselves.
Oban is about a 15mins drive away. Has a Tesco, Lidl & Aldi also enough shops for a nose around. You can also buy fresh fish ets at the harbour. The Sealife santuary is really worth a visit. Also if you go to the building at the top of the hill (looks like a collaseum) some views from there.

Previous     24 Review in total, now showing 13 to 18      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1079 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469