Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lydford Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Lydford Caravan And Camping Park
Lydford
Okehampton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX20 4BE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01822 820497

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  10m  10m  10m  5m   10m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 15/03/13 To 04/11/13

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
              8/10 from 46 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 13 to 18                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gaenor 8 reviews from this member

This is a nice site if you get the right pitch, we booked late so got the 2nd field, which has 4 good spots up the top but the rest look cramped & we felt cramped.

Wifi across the site which is free but it isn't strong enough for much & lots of pitches won't get it as it is so weak.

The camping field has the best views by far. The dog walk has great views as its around the camping field.

The showers were hot & ok but nothing special & not many of them. We probably won't go again, but if we did we would pick our pitch & book in advance !

Lydford gorge was worth a visit. The castle is a nice surprise so was the church which sold fab cake !

Management response: Thank you for taking the time to add a review to our site.

The area in which you were pitched is not only very popular from which we get a lot of repeat
bookings mainly due to it being in a quieter area of the site but also because of the views many pitches provide.

There are a mixture of hard standing pitch sizes as dictated by the national parks authority. Some are designed to accommodate larger caravans or motorhomes that are also erecting an awning and there are a number of no awning narrower hard stands specifically intended for touring camper vans, although small caravans without an awning can use them as well.

Every pitch on our site whatever size has a minimum of 6 metres of grass space separating it from the neighbouring pitch which is actually more than the industry minimum of 3 metres employed on many sites.

We are regularly complemented upon the space
and quality of our showers. Once again we actually have more than the required industry minimum but of course at peak times there can be a short wait to use one but generally speaking there are always several available throughout most of the day and night.

Our WiFi is free. We do not advertise or suggest that it covers the site, we do however provide a hot spot desk with chairs and electricity in part of our facilities building. Until we get fast internet in Lydford it is the best we can do and 99% of the time is satisfactory for those that use it. While free we do invite donations to the
Devon Air Ambulance if you so wish.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baldrick2 8 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 2 nights, which were very enjoyable. The site is on the edge of the lovely village of Lydford. The wardens were hard working and very friendly. We were taken around the site to choose a pitch and shown all the facilities.

The toilet/showers were clean, the showers were very good. We spent a day at Lydford Gorge, which was beautiful and well worth the admittance price.

Would definitely revisit this site, it is a gem.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bouncing Bob 6 reviews from this member

We spent 2 weeks camping here and have to say it is the best campsite we have found so far in the Dartmoor area.

The views of Dartmoor from the tent field are amazing, and if you are a birdwatcher you would be quite happy not moving from your tent for the whole stay!

The site staff are helpful and friendly, and the site was always spotless. As others have said there are a number of signs, but we felt that they were informative to help ensure the smooth running of the site.

The showers were always gushing hot water and clean, and the covered washing up area was a good area to catch up with the other holidaymakers whilst doing the chores!

There are many walks from the site - giving the dog the chance to be let off the lead before reaching the moors, and in 2 weeks we only used the car for a couple of shopping trips to Tavistock and Okehampton, though they do stock basics at reasonable prices in the site shop.

The village cricket pitch is close by, and on a sunny weekend afternoon you can hear the sound of leather on willow - and if you look carefully through the trees you can see the men in whites, and Tuesday night is bellringing practice. These little extras all add to the relaxing atmosphere!

Our only words of advice is that if strong winds are forecast and you are in a tent, take extra pegs or camp at the bottom of the tent field - we survived but others weren't so lucky, (though we are talking strong enough to bring a tree down in the village).

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mike Jackson 8 reviews from this member

We spent a weekend at this site while our son was taking part in the 'Ten Tours' event on Dartmoor; this site is well placed for dropping him off and picking him up at the end of the event.

There had been a lot of rain in the preceding weeks so it was not surprising that the camping field was a bit soggy but we found a good dry pitch.

The toilet and washing/shower facilities were well presented and very clean. In fact the whole site well very clean and tidy. The staff were helpful and friendly.

The views over the moor were extensive and the site benefited from plenty of wild flowers and bird life, which contributed to making it a very peaceful situation.

Nearby are Okehampton and Tavistock (both less than 10 miles), Lydford Gorge - beautiful but pricey, Dartmoor is adjacent, and then there were plenty of pubs, inns and cream teas.

Two pubs were in walking distance but we did not try them, only due to lack of time to do so. We liked it here and would not hesitate to stay again.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JANET KINSEY 2 reviews from this member

Everything spotlessly clean and well appointed with heated bathroom blocks. There is no playground but a large open field behind the two level fields with their hard standing pitches which of course are mainly taken by caravans. Wonderful views of the moor from their higher ground. Staff were very obliging and helpful throughout.

For dog lovers, this site has a well-thought-out perimeter dog walk around their largest field. Small shop on site offering basic provisions, plus postcards. They are now a Dartmoor Information Point and have very informative free leaflets on camping or walking on the Dartmoor. Also on local trails - Two Castles Trail and West Devon Trail.

Great pubs we loved:

1. The Castle Inn, Lydford (walkable)

2. The White Hart Bridestowe (walkable 3 miles)

3. The Peter Tavy Inn, Peter Tavy.

4. The Royal Oak, Meavy, Tavistock.

The site office has menus and info on local pubs too.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Robert20 1 review from this member

Having stayed for five nights we feel inclined to keep quiet about this site because it is an absolute 'Gem'.

A charming location with magnificent views, very quiet and tranquil, well run with extremely friendly and helpful managers and staff.

Toilet, shower and facility block is not new but more than adequate, spacious and very clean. The office shop was well stocked with essentials, and Free WiFi is available.

Lydford village is a five minute walk and boasts a castle, pretty church and the Castle Inn which is open all day and serves excellent food at reasonable prices with cheerfully efficient service.

There is plenty to do in the area, for cyclists and walkers in particular, and a bus service to Tavistock and Okehampton stops close to the site.

We have added this site to our 'most favourite list' and will definitely be going back again and again.

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 13 to 18      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4705 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0479