Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oban Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Oban Caravan & Camping Park
Gallanachmore Farm
Gallanach Road
Oban
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA34 4QH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: +44 01631 562425

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  1m  5m   5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: April 1st To October 10th

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 92 Reviews
              7/10 from 92 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (14)

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 13 to 18                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happy Wallidays 4 reviews from this member

Visited this site on September bank holiday weekend. Site was quiet on arrival and we booked in at the farmhouse reception.

The tent pitches are located at the bottom end of the site in a large field. We chose our stop but it is difficult to find a flat-ish pitch as the field does have a slight slope throughout.

You can park your car next to pitches which is helpful, however beware if the ground is particularly soggy as you may get stuck.

The area for tents is spacious but lacks any kind of view. The sound of Kerrera is totally obscured by a bank of trees.

Basic toilet and shower facilities, but well stocked with paper and soap, and most importantly, they were clean. No limit to water usage in showers, pot wash and bins located on outside of toilet blocks.

A lot of people would comment that these blocks need updated - however we found them to be more than adequate for our 3 night stay.

Oban is a short drive along a very narrow, windy road - be careful if you choose to walk it!

Excellent amenities within the town and plenty to see and do in the surrounding area.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Squify 5 reviews from this member

A lovely situated campsite let down by its facilities.

The bottom area of this large campsite is just a car park and suitable for one night. We stayed in the top half with amazing views. Was rather exposed to the elements and the van shook at night due the terrific downpours.

There wasn't much room between pitches but more than made up for by the views over the hills.

It's an hours walk into Oban. There's a school bus that goes in and out on school days which is useful.

The site was just under £20 a night for 2 adults and a motorhome. This felt over priced. The toilet block looked like something from my junior school (1960s). A few scruffy toilets that don't flush properly and full of pale brown water.

The showers were painful to use. A trickle of tepid water in a non heated block (horrible to use in September). These facilities badly need updating.

I wouldn't recommend this site and I'm sure there's better in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shotrock 21 reviews from this member

This site does not take bookings so we just arrived and booked in within minutes. Selected our own pitch, which for touring caravans is separate to the tent area.

Has all the facilities you need within easy reach.

The town of Oban is about 2 miles away along a single track road. There is a Tesco in the town along with Aldi and Lidl.

A great week on a great site.

My only criticism is the shower block could do with updating but it is more than adequate.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Babywhale 18 reviews from this member

The site is in a stunningly beautiful setting about 3 miles south of Oban. The road to the site is quite narrow so take care if you're in a van or towing something.

There are two main fields for camping within the site as well as an overspill field at the site entrance. We camped in the lower field within the main site.

Two visits. One in early July and one in early august 2011. A big contrast between the visits. The first was great. Very few units around and it was easy to pitch anywhere. In fact there is no formal system for pitching, you just take a spot. This proved difficult on the second visit because it was crowded with only a few pitches available. We took one next to an ehu and was told we may have to move unless we paid for the ehu (we were non ehu then).

Everything was great on the first visit. No queues for showers or washing up area. On the second visit the toilet blocks and showers always had queues.

It's a great site to visit out of season but is hard to bear when busy. I imagine Scottish school holiday season and bank holidays are always busy.

I give 6 out if 10 on the basis that the facilities really struggle to cope during the busier periods. Out if season it's 9 out if 10.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campcookie 28 reviews from this member

A lovely site which is well organised and has a layout to it that makes it feel spacious. We had lovely views from our van.

The shower and toilet facilities were good and 20p for hairdryer was fine.

I liked the location and it was handy for the ferry port.

A well stocked shop and helpful staff.

Will definitely use this site again, particularly as a stop over when using the ferries to and from Oban.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cathy Sims 17 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night at the end of our holiday

The situation is lovely and we liked the way we were able to choose our pitch

Facilities were adequate and clean. Block we used was an older building. Looked like some on the camping fields were newer

Took us a while to realise the hookups on our pitch had only one out of four working and that we had not got a major electrics problem. As soon as we reported it the next morning someone came within minutes to sort it out which was very good

Shop well stocked including real ales

We had a super day out on Kerrera. Well worth a visit for the views and visit to Gylen Castle

Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 13 to 18      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


628 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0508