Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Glencoe
Ballachulish
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH49 4LA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01855 811397

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
              8/10 from 35 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 13 to 18                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Smirky 2 reviews from this member

Arrived at the site for a weekend break after driving through some of the most beautiful scenery in Scotland. Welcome from the Wardens was warm and friendly.

I got one of the hard standing pitches which was level and not too far from the toilet block. View from the pitch was spectacular.

Toilet block was clean and the water in the showers was hot. One thing to watch is that the showers are on a timer which is quite short but not a big issue as you can just keep pressing it.

One of the main reasons for going here is the walking. There are spectacular walks in all directions and the Wardens run a useful scheme where you can leave a note of where you are going and when you intend to be back just in case of emergencies.

No playground or any facilities for kids, but there seemed to be mostly couples and very young families that were there.

Overall a lovely site and one that Iíll be back to when I can.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Waterman 18 reviews from this member

Site - All hardstandings in long blocks with no division between. Mainly flat with slight slope on some. Mainly open with trees around edge. Manual lifting barrier. Washroom right at one end of site. Easy to find, just follow Glencoe visitor centre signs and there you are. Wonderful site, stunning drive to get there, and beautiful surroundings. I wasn't sure about this site as everyone says how good it is for walkers, but it is just as good for those who only stroll.

Wifi available in the Ballachullish visitor centre cafe, £1 for 30 mins on their computer or free on yours.

Dog Walk - Excellent, just thro' gate at bottom of site and straight into forest, 2 mile path to Glencoe village, passes site of one of the massacres. Also colour coded paths around visitor centre. April is an excellent time to go lots of wild primroses and no midges.

Wardens very nice and friendly.

Washroom - Coded entry, plenty of showers/loos and wash cubicles. Showers a decent size with drop down seat, push button with a fixed but moveable head, Always spotless.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: FB99 8 reviews from this member

Overall an excellent site and up to the usual CCC standards. The site is well managed with a good presence of site staff who were not afraid to enforce the site rules.

Toilet / shower blocks were immaculately clean and no queueing despite it being high season. Excellent views from all pitches. Well stocked on site shop - fresh rolls for breakfast available.

Two slight issues were the noise from the road (it might be worth requesting a pitch on the far side of the 'mound') and the water in the washing up area was luke warm at best, despite their being hot water in toilet / shower block.

The facilities were away from the main area of the site and most pitches had a fair walk to the facilities.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karenmcmillan 8 reviews from this member

Nice quiet site. Immaculate facilities and owners helpful. Ideal for a stop over as we were on way north. Only draw back is there is no where for the kids to play.

After 3/4 hours in the car, my lot found it difficult as there was no where to let off steam and no ball games. Would go back but definitely for couples.

great location and nice walks round about. The other bug was closing the toilets between 10. 30 and noon --all of them- bar the one disabled toilet. Could they have staggered this? it was quiet when we were there but don't know how that would work in high season. We had to queue as it was.

These 2 things made it a bit too regimented for our liking but a nice site nonetheless, just not for us

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bruno123 1 review from this member

Its a long time since we used a camping and caravan club site. We had been thinking of joining but this experience changed our mind.

We have a campervan - we do not need electric, but we had to pay for it anyway

We really wanted to be on grass to use our awning but vans are only allowed on hard standing.

The gates get closed at 11pm - effectively locking us out if we had been for a meal. As we are in a campervan, its our only transport and our sleeping accommodation

Despite the fact we are not members all of our details are now on their database - we had stayed at another site a few weeks before and they called up our info on their computer.

Nice views from the site - too far from shops and pubs to walk.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sam1503jack 7 reviews from this member

This is a return visit for us and we decided to come back and spend our first wedding anniversary here as we actually honeymooned here. We did initially only plan to stay 5 nights and then move to Bunree further down the road but after viewing the other site we decided to cancel and stay the full two weeks.

Great wardens, fantastic site, plenty of good walks, friendly locals. Cannot fault this site and already planning a return trip next year for our anniversary. It has become 'our place'. If you have the stamina. Have a go at climbing the Glencoe Pap as the views are amazing from the top and well worth the aching legs.

The Glencoe Hotel is now open. Was shut last time we visited, good food and beer and a brilliant spot for watching the sunset over the loch.

However I suppose from a family point of view, there is not much facilities for children.However his site seems to attract more couples for whatever reason. Maybe because geared up for walkers. Great dog walk too around the site as surrounded by woods.

Highly recommended.

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 13 to 18      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the Northís biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2612 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0562