Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Glencoe
Ballachulish
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH49 4LA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01855 811397

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
              9/10 from 30 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 13 to 18                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sam1503jack 7 reviews from this member

This is a return visit for us and we decided to come back and spend our first wedding anniversary here as we actually honeymooned here. We did initially only plan to stay 5 nights and then move to Bunree further down the road but after viewing the other site we decided to cancel and stay the full two weeks.

Great wardens, fantastic site, plenty of good walks, friendly locals. Cannot fault this site and already planning a return trip next year for our anniversary. It has become 'our place'. If you have the stamina. Have a go at climbing the Glencoe Pap as the views are amazing from the top and well worth the aching legs.

The Glencoe Hotel is now open. Was shut last time we visited, good food and beer and a brilliant spot for watching the sunset over the loch.

However I suppose from a family point of view, there is not much facilities for children.However his site seems to attract more couples for whatever reason. Maybe because geared up for walkers. Great dog walk too around the site as surrounded by woods.

Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lrr77 14 reviews from this member

This campsite has a lovely location a few miles from Glen Coe. We are members of the Club and did not book in advance and managed to get a pitch. We chose a night spot and the camp site was very quiet all the time we were there.

The shower block was great and the showers were very good. I was disappointed that having paid 20 to camp there they charged to use the hair-drier and iron - surely should be part of your pitch price?

We wanted to use the tumble dryer to dry our towels before moving onto another site but there was only one and it was in constant use!

The location of the camp site is nice and its right near a visitor centre with a few small walks nearby. The site shop held some basic items but there was a larger shop in Glen Coe if required.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Almaz 34 reviews from this member

I'd have loved to have been on this site when the rain wasn't pouring down. I know Glencoe area from previous visits and know this setting is great - but we couldn't see it for the rain! Not their fault of course.

Plus points - friendly staff, large pitches, clean facilities and despite all the rain the site did seem to be coping well with the water.

Glencoe village is a mile away and has a decent little supermarket but the the nearest bar not being renovated is probably nearer 2 miles at the moment.

If you're into walking mountains, this is the 'peak' of British surroundings.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Evie34 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site with granchildren while we toured round Scotland and found it most enjoyable. The toilets were spotless and scenery gorgeous.

There was of course the midges but they did not spoil a fantastic couple of days.

We enjoyed walking with the dogs and reminiscing (met my husband many years ago quite near here)

We had all our food with us so I'm not sure what the local area is like for shopping, We would return if we were in this area again.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sam1503jack 7 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful site with great scenery. Only word of warning is the pitches on the same side as reception were noisy due to the road traffic and the midgies are also a nightmare. Plenty of great walks around the campsite and extremely dog friendly. There is a local spar, post office and takeaway in Glencoe Village and a pub approx 2 miles in each direction that serve great food and also dog friendly. It appears the only pub in Glencoe is shut at the moment for renovation. The camp owners are friendly and there is a small (I mean small) stock of groceries available. There are washing and drying facilities but due to the size of the campsite it was often very busy as only one of each machine. We would definitely go back as thoroughly enjoyed the holiday.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Neil and lena 50 reviews from this member

We stayed on this gem of a site over the Easter weekend and were very impressed by the location and the breathtaking views from the site.

The toilet block and dish washing facilities were kept exceptionally clean at all times and the pitches which are hard standing were nice and level. The site wardens were very helpful and friendly and we would have no hesitation on recommending this site

Previous     30 Review in total, now showing 13 to 18      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8228 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0859