Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map
Tel: 01458 831 437
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 18/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 311 Reviews
                10/10 from 311 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  311 in total, now showing 301 to 310                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Reviewer: Tonkatyler 3 reviews from this member

July 2004
I would hazard a guess that I was the youngest person staying on the site the weekend I was there - but I am 30! It was blissful to stay at my first ever kids free site. The most peaceful, tranquil site I have ever stayed at. Toilet facilites were immaculate and modern, site was well laid out, shop well stocked, pitches nice and big, didn't see one item of litter the whole stay and the re-cycling facilities were excellent. If you want pools, loud bars, kids play areas, noise and all the other things the main stream sites suffer don't visit Old Oaks, if you want a beautiful place to realx it's perfect.

My one tiny little critisism was that even though the freezers were virtually empty you were only allowed to put ice packs in them. It stated anything else found would be destroyed. It was a VERY hot weekend when I satyed and keeping things cool was hard. Maybe re-stricting each plot user to one small bag allowed in the freezer would make sense. This may seem a little picky but it was the only thing that I could fault!!! Sorry!

Reviewer: Chatten 3 reviews from this member

September 2004
A really good campsite with excellent shower facilities. We had a really good stay, the site was peaceful and relaxing. The shop had all of the things that you need at reasonable prices. A bit of a walk to the nearest pub but we would still come back and stay here again as it is one of the best sites we have stayed on.

Reviewer: Gavsuze1206 2 reviews from this member

August 2004
This was our second trip away which was without the kids (an adult only site). The site is excellent with various different fields for tents, campers, caravans, etc. The toilet and shower block was immaculate as was the washing up area, also included was free ice pack freezing, reception and a small shop. Beautiful views together with a lovely quiet site but quite a walk through fields and footpaths if you don't want to take the car into town. A GREAT SITE AND WILL BE BACK NEXT YEAR.

Reviewer: Merry Terrier 16 reviews from this member

August 2004
Really, all I can do is endorse what the others have said! A very well planned and maintained site with large pitches, outstanding views out over the countryside and a well organised central facilities area for the toilets, showers, washing up etc. Very dog friendly. Good shop with long opening hours. One mile walk over well marked footpaths and quiet lanes to the Tor and a further mile into Glastonbury itself. Very peaceful.

The only possible quibble I can come up with, if I am being very picky indeed, is that although I like quiet sites The Old Oaks is so very (ssh!) very (sssh!) quiet that I did find it a bit unnerving when I arrived as I had never stayed on an adults only site before but soon got used to!

Reviewer: carpyone 3 reviews from this member

May 2004
We visited the site in May 2004 for the first time, we returned in June and July and are booked on for 12 nights in August and another ten in September.As you can guess this site meets all our requirments. My wife is disabled but the facilities they provide for her are better than any other site we have visited, including a double size wetfloor shower big enough to get a chair in and still be able to get in and shower her. There is also a second disabled wc. Both are accessed using a Radar key. The main toilet block is immaculate, cleaned to the highest standard.

The site has various camping areas including Walnut Paddock Cicle which are hardstanding super-pitched fully serviced. The owners, Jim and Sally White, are always on hand to help. They are a rare couple as they don't charge the super-pitch supplement if a member of your party is disabled. The whole site is well cared for, all grass cuttings, even on the large top field are collected so none of them are carried into the van. The dog exercise area is first class and the fishing lake is very good with easy access even for the disabled.

To sum up The Old Oaks is a quiet peaceful site,beautifully maintained and a haven in a mad world.

Reviewer: TheWrinklies 3 reviews from this member

June 2004
Probably one of the best sites in the UK - depending on what you want from a camp site.
If you want noise, rides, swimming pools, hundreds of people - go somewhere else. You'll hate it here. But if you want peace and quiet, cleanliness second to none, fabulous pitches (certainly the largest we've used) and breathtaking views - look no further. You've found it.
Beautiful countryside, within walking distance of historic Glastonbury and its mysterious Tor, and a short drive from Wells and the fantastic Cheddar Gorge. This has got to go onto your 'must do' list. We'll be back - soon!

Reviewer: JEFF PARKES 2 reviews from this member

June 2004
What a GEM, I can only echo the other reviews on this site. I whole heartedly recommend this site, facilities are spotless, best we’ve encountered. Well stocked licensed site shop with discounted tickets for all local attractions and really friendly owners. We will definitely be returning. If you enjoy peace and quiet in a superb location this is the site for you.

Reviewer: russty 5 reviews from this member

Sept 2003
A quiet, relaxing site with friendly owners. Adequate lighting at night, some of the best toilet facilities on any site we have stayed at. Well away from the main road but easy to access and within striking distance of the North Somerset Coast. We will be returning.

Reviewer: Mark and Lisa 2 reviews from this member

August 2003
This was our first time camping, and we chose the site because it was within a few hours drive from our house, in addition to it being Adult Only, and it accepted dogs.

We cannot compare with other sites, but we found our visit to be immensely enjoyable, for two main reasons:
(1) The specified and fenced off Dog Exercise Area was perfect for our greyhound. Due to his breed, we can't let him run around at home, and so he loved this strip of field where he spent a lot of the break and was able to stretch his legs, reminiscing about his days at the racetrack. We suspected that the area might have been littered with doggy mess, but it wasn't, which perhaps is a testament to the sort of people who use this site. There is a Doggy Wash Room in a shed at the top of the Exercise Area, with a standpipe and a shower, which would be ideal for muddier times.
(2) The site was very peaceful and quiet, even though we visited in the middle of August, and at a weekend. We didn't think the site was full, but there were enough people around to be sociable with (aren't campers friendly!!?), and the site was displaying signs that it was full - so maybe this site doesn't try to cram too many people in. The pitches are marked, but we had plenty of space on ours for our car, tent and table and chairs - and were under an apple tree which made for tasty snacks (the apples were probably better in the form of cider - which we bought in the site shop for £2.20 and was very pleasant.) The ruling is that noise should be kept to a minimum between 9pm and 8am, which we felt was fine. An interesting addition to the "noise rule" was that drum playing was not acceptable at any time - so don't take your bongos. We left ours at home!! Noises at night mainly came from a local owl, and some strange noises which we think came from cows, but the site is on a working farm, so this was to be expected, and added to the pastoral atmosphere.

The views were lovely, of surrounding countryside.

The toilets and showers were very clean, although in the main ladies block there were only 3 showers, but there never seemed to be a queue. The water was always hot, and there were 2 basin cubicles as well, which I liked. There are two additional showers in a unisex area, and a bathroom, which is payable by token. Having never camped before, I was worried about toilet facilities, but they are set in the centre of the three areas, so you were never far away, and they were of an excellent quality - in fact, I've had worse in some hotels I've stayed in.

The site itself was mainly level pitches, and there was no problem with pegging as the ground was soft, and there were some super pitches for caravans with hardstanding, electrics and water, etc etc.

So the site doesn't have all the bells and whistles of heated pools, play areas, bars and restaurants - but that's not what we wanted. We had somewhere nice to put our tent, we had clean and warm toilets and showers, and a well stocked shop - so what more did we need? Had we wanted a lively weekend, we would have gone to Butlins - but we feel that we were better off with the relaxing and peaceful break that we had.

The cost of camping is a little misleading on the camp website, we thought it was £3.50 per person per night - so were expecting a bill of £14 - but it's actually £3.50 pppn, plus £4.50 per night for the pitch. It's £0.75 per night for the dog - which we didn't mind paying given the facilities for him. All in all, it was £24.50 for two people, one tent and a dog for two nights. Having never been camping before, we can't compare this, and don't know if it's good value or not - but we did compare it to £25 pppn in a B&B down the road, so didn't feel that we were ripped off, and anyway, the relaxation was well worth it!!

Glastonbury itself is an interesting little town, made up of "New Age" shops selling healing and crystals in the main. The number of "hippies", young and old, around the town seemed a little disconcerting at first, but once we had been there a little while, added to the charm. There was a sense of freedom and individuality about, and it was nice to have a town without the usual high street names which are the same wherever you go - though we did spot a Woolworths. Lots of the shops had dog water bowls outside, and some permitted dogs inside, so this was the perfect place for our Boy.

To sum up, a great campsite, a great weekend, would we go back again - YES! Would we camp again - we're currently researching where to go next weekend right now!!!

Reviewer: Caroline

June 2003
Fantastic, Adult only very dog friendly. Huge hard-standing area with additional grass area, hedged off for extra privacy. Showers were only beaten by Southlands on the Isle of Wight but they take some beating! Not much to do in the area, ideal for a good relaxing break.

Previous     311 Reviews in total, now showing 301 to 310      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Barbecue Package worth £249 Win a Clarke IG2000B 1.8kW Suitcase Generator worth £299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 7th to 7th July, Derbyshire
Brilliant weekend, Book by 23rd June for discounted camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2402 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1250