Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Runt In Tun Public House

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Runt In Tun Public House
Maynards Green
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN21 0DJ   See Map
Tel: 01435 864284
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure
 Featured Site

Pitches: 9
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Full Facilities List

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents, space permitting. It is a member only site - you may be able to join on arrival - please check direct with the site.

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 19 to 24                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bigalw35 13 reviews from this member

We arrived at the pub and was very warmly greeted by Andy, who showed us the rear camping field and suggested where we should pitch the tent. A fairly wise choice, very level ground and at the top of the slightly sloping area.

Our visit there was hampered by the very wet weather we had during our 3 day visit, obviously not Andy or Martins fault, it seemed the wet weather covered the bulk of the country.

We pitched the tent, (just about in time to avoid the downpour) We then went down to the pub to get some lunch (excellent food & fairly priced !) There we met some of the locals and their dogs, also very friendly (the locals and the dogs).

I'm a biker (motor bike) and even dressed in my leather waistcoat (adorned with various meeting badges etc) we were still made very welcome by Andy, Martin and ALL the locals. We ended up chatting with the locals about some of the bikes that they had owned over the years.

We arrived on the Monday (2nd July 2012), it was suggested by one of the locals that on the Tuesday we should visit the 'Bentley Motor Museum' and its wildfowl park, a splendid day out, definitely worth a visit (albeit the rain).

It was also suggested that we visit 'Herstmonceux Castle', the grounds and associated observatory, are also a fantastic day out. We were lucky enough to be able to have a guided tour of the castle and was informed of it's history (by a very friendly, informative and jovial guide) The guided tour, in our case, started at 1:00pm. The observatory is also well worth the visit.

We had our meals in the pub on the Tuesday and Wednesday. All of our our meals were absolutely delicious, served fairly quickly (not fast food as in McDonalds!) and very well priced.

The toilet/shower facilities are exceptionally clean and well maintained and are only about 50 yards (max) in any direction back to your pitch (quite handy considering the rainy weather)

We did not use any local shops or the like, as in our case, there was no need.

I do not drink 'real ale' I'm a lager and brandy man, and they stock a superb German lager, well worth a try !.

We are retired now so that leaves us more time to visit various parts of the country, but we definitely will be back to the 'Runt in Tun' site.

We have no young children now so I cannot comment on that aspect of the site.

I've given the whole site facility 10/10, it deserves it !

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dianejeffery 7 reviews from this member

A lovely site, only 5 pitches in plenty of space, owners are extremely friendly and helpful and the pub food was great.

At 16 a night for 4 of us excellent value too

Shower and toilet fine, shower takes 20p and meter is outside the shower so best to buddy up and put money in for each other.

Only downside no ball games or cycling allowed play area in pub too 'young' for my children, although there is a field nearby, for this reason wouldn't go back as they normally love cycling around the camp site. My daughter was also asked, very nicely, not to climb the trees. It seemed more suitable for younger children/no children

Management response: To all readers, please note, that as of September 2013 the site is adult only.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Maggybabe 1 review from this member

Stayed for 2 nights on this charming little site at the rear of the pub. Wonderful location for walking/cycling The Cuckoo Trail, less than 300yds away. Excellent quality, reasonably priced food prepared by amiable hosts Martin and Andy, who run this lovely country pub. Friendly locals, well kept local real ales make this place a little gem of a site.

We will be back for sure. (but shush don't tell everyone).

Portable loo type toilet and showers, (plumbed in) are adequate and kept scrupulously clean.

A typical English village pub where friendliness, conversation, characters, good real ales, quality fayre and dogs all happily co-exist, and you don't get ripped off in the process. Keep it up. Recommended.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cheeky Wipes Helen 1 review from this member

We stayed here last night for our first pitching of our new trailer tent - we had the opportunity to have a 'test' without kids, so wanted somewhere close to home that had food available.

The Runt in tun was perfect. We had a spacious flat pitch and there were only 2 other campervans sharing the campsite. The loo was nicer than I was expecting from previous reviews - when I heard portaloo, I was thinking of Glastonbury style pump action toilets, but there was flushing water, sink etc.

We didn't try the shower but there was one available.

We were warmly welcomed by the landlord who squeezed us in for dinner, although they had a function on. This turned out to be a bargain at 14. 95 for three courses and was really tasty.

At 10 for the night, we would definitely return and bring the children, I'm sure they would love the play area behind the pub.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@julie 52 reviews from this member

Just returned from 3 days at this lovely little site, would have stayed longer but the owners were having a break. We had a warm welcome from the owners who could not have been more helpful, we could choose where we pitched, which way we pitched etc and we had loads of room, we used our own facilities but the campers on site all said the shower was good for 20p. We were there specifically to cycle the Cuckoo trail which is across the road and down a path, we cycled to eastbourne about 15 miles although the last 3 miles are all on the road side with some busy main roads and roundabouts to negotiate which would be a bit daunting if you have small kids.

The site itself feels like you are in an orchard as there were fruit trees at one end and chickens too. Lots of fields around and the main raod is fairly quiet. All in all a lovely stay and we would definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Djr62 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site, at the back of the Runt in Tun pub. Very well kept by friendly publican and staff. Made us very welcome. Pub serves good reasnably price fayre, the locals are also very friendly, was a pleasure meeting Ruby a very well behaved rottweiller. The site entrance is on a slope but the pitches all looked level. Toilet and shower clean and acceptable, all in all a very acceptable experience albeit a short one night stay but we will go back and soon. Recently played golf at both Horam (1 mile) and Wellshurst (3 miles) both good value for a 22 handicapper like me.

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 19 to 24      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in East Sussex   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Holidaymaker 500 Inflatable Tent Package worth over 1,000 Win an Win an OLPRO Cubo Campervan Awning

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Spring Motorhome & Caravan Show Newark 17 to 18 March 2018
First major outdoor show of the season for day visitors, weekend campers, club rallies and trade stands ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

6695 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017