Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Teign Valley Barley Meadow Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Teign Valley Barley Meadow Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Crockernwell
Dartmoor
Exeter
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 6NR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 024 7767 0642

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m 1m  5m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 63
Open: 13 March To 03 November 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 39 Reviews
              8/10 from 39 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 19 to 24                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Muffinthemule 1 review from this member

What a fantastic site this is, Paul the owner is one of the friendliest people I've ever met nothing too much trouble always smiling and the site was in top condition spotless through-out,showers always hot never had to queue. Playground for the kids our son was never bored while we were there. How often can you say that!
They have a small shop on site where you can pre-order tea coffee and hot snacks for the morning which is a nice touch,also fire pits for hire for £5. Although it rained every day we were there we still had a really good time lots to see and do locally
10/10 to Paul for all his hard work it really does make a difference, we will be going back without doubt.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rookiecampers 1 review from this member

What a fantastic site. Owners were really helpful - not at all intrusive. Site was really clean and well kept. Toilet / Showers very good - clean and good shower temperature and pressure. Shop was excellent - limited stock - just the essentials but lots of local produce at reasonable prices. Lovely fresh croissants and pain au raisin / cafetier of coffee / mugs of hot chocolate every morning! Bliss! There is another local shop about a mile along the road which has more choice if you need it.

We were sited next to play area which suited us as we were travelling with our 2 children aged 5 and 3. They had a great time and we were able to watch them whilst sitting outside our tent.

We ate at the Drewe's Arms (about 1 mile away). Lovely food.

All in all a wonderful site. Great setting. Fab facilities and lovely owners. Would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spideygirl 9 reviews from this member

We did enjoy our week, even with the bad weather on this site. I do have good and bad points:-

The site was in a good position for touring around and there was lots to do in the area. The facilities were clean and very good. The owners were friendly and always gave you a wave. The grounds were well maintained and well drained. Lots of electric hook-ups. The owner dealt with rowdy kids and stopped a family messing around and annoying people.

The park was full, but I did feel a bit packed in, you had the allocated space and there was not an awful lot of room for outdoor living. If we wanted to eat outside I would have been looking into someone else caravan (very close). Some pitches were better than others and it would be very important to let them know the size of your unit. If you were a regular then taking note of pitch numbers you like would change the whole feel of it. There was a play park, but again squashed in, no room for ball games. There were kids that played football etc, but the annoyance of the near by tents. I think it would have been better to reduce the number of pitches and leave a bit more open space.

They are very strict on setup and strike times. This can be good if you are arriving, but not so good if you are struggling with bad weather and getting your tent down.

I would return, but would ask for a better pitch. If the weather had been nicer then we would have not been happy sitting outside our tent with so little room.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richron 2 reviews from this member

We used this campsite to break up our journey to cornwall. It was easy to find and not far from the A30. On arrival the reception was well marked and the owners were most welcoming. The site is extremely well maintained and the pitch size adequate.
The toilet blocks although of limited size were compensated by their excellent standard of cleanliness which in our opinion is more important. For the size of the campsite the shop was well stocked and the croissants are highly recommended! T
here is a laundry with a freezer which came in handy. Also there is a games room for the younger ones. A convenience store and pub serving meals are close by (5min drive/ 20min walk.)
Barley Meadow is well located for exploring North Dartmoor, both Fingle Bridge and Drogo Castle are close by. Our favourite day trip was to Dartmoor Prison Museum!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MickD 6 reviews from this member

Used this site as an overnight stay en-route to St Ives.What a fantastic little site this is,kept in immaculate condition,shower block was pristine!

A small play area is on site ,as is a small games room.A small shop is on site selling the basics,milk,bread etc.Otherwise its a trek to the nearest supermarket or garage.

This is a very quiet site and is ideal for walkers who intend to explore Dartmoor.

This site is ok for a short stay if you have kids, otherwise you will have to find entertainment for your little treasures elsewhere.Our kids were ok with it , but we were only there for one night.This is a good site for couples seeking a quiet break that is away from the hustle and bustle of more commercial ones.The site owners were brilliant,very friendly and helpful and saw us to our pitch.

Our verdict, a cracking little site!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: C_hucks 1 review from this member

As we drove down the lane towards the reception/shop we were greeted with a wave and then a huge welcome - this was how the owners of the site are - friendly, approachable and nothing is too much trouble!
The site itself is lovely - well-spaced pitches and all in good positions around the park. The loos and showers are immaculate and very well-maintained. The little touches really make this site exceptional - we thoroughly recommend the coffee and freshly-baked croissants in the morning - don't forget to pre-order! And appreciated the availability of a recycle box which we picked up en route to our pitch.
The shop sells so many goodies and locally produced at that, but also has the bare essentials too. Sadly we were only able to stay at Barley Meadow for 2 nights, if we hadn't needed to get back for work, we could have easily stayed longer, however we did leave feeling relaxed, revived and refreshed and will definitely be back!

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 19 to 24      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3175 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1099