Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Waterclose Meadows Campsite National Trust

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Site Reviews

Waterclose Meadows Campsite National Trust
Houghton Mill
Mill St
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE28 2AZ   See Map
Tel: 01480 466716
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Pitches: 54
Open: 23/03 To 28/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Full Facilities List

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 19 to 24                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Richard19540 24 reviews from this member

Brilliant site. Toilets & shower block spotless Site well kept and in a lovely village. Don't miss the mill next door - it's fascinating. The village is only a few minutes walk away where there is a well stocked shop and two pubs. The closest pub was the three horseshoes and if it was run correctly could be a good pub. Unfortunately it was full of loud 'hooray Henries' who seemed to be having a swearing competition egged on by the apparently not too bright landlord. The beer was in top condition but the price was outrageous - 3. 95 per pint. I have paid less in the West End. I would avoid at all costs, as there is another pub a further 3-4 minutes walk away called the 3 jolly butchers. This is a much more civilised and reasonably priced pub with excellent food. Make sure to book this site well in advance as this was my third time of trying to get in.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Peejay12 16 reviews from this member

This is an exception camp site but difficult to Find a vacancy.

The shower block was lovely, and warm even at 06:00. Hrs

Very easy access into St Ives for walkers, cyclist, all traffic free and well worth a visit, IF you can drag yourself. Away from the camp it being so peaceful with lots of space to do your own thing.

The river is a must for families, the children can paddle, fish, canoe, all in a very safe environment, it being more like a lake.

This goes down as one of my favourites, but not easy to get a vacant pitch.

No WI FI but he local pub, just a very short walk has.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andrew132 2 reviews from this member

All I can Say is WOW.

This site is situated right next to the river and makes this perfect for canoe and kayak.

Local pub is just a stones throw away (5 mins walk) and serves good food and real ale, all at a good price for such a premium location.

Although the site was fully booked it never seemed busy and the near perfect toilet block was always clean and empty.

This is a club site and even though I'm not a member I was always made to feel welcome.

Only drawback is it only has about 5 tent pitches and none are electric.

A lovely site and have already tried to return but alas they were fully booked (so please book well ahead).

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ThomoSki 18 reviews from this member

We stayed for two nights at the end of July 2013.

We used to live in the village so know the area well. It's a great spot with easy access to lovely walks. The two pubs in Houghton/Wyton are good and you can walk across the river and fields to Hemmingford Grey and Hemmingford Abbots. St Ives is also walking distance along the pretty 'thicket' path.

The site and facilities were all in good order. We didn't see much of the wardens but didn't really need to. Will make a point of returning. Although it is a bit odd having a holiday somewhere you used to live!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Buksang 2 reviews from this member

Excellent facilities in a quiet area as one would expect when owned by the National Trust. The working mill is a must visit which includes a guided tour on how it all works. And of course a visit to the tea room is required to experience the home made scones using the flour milled next door!

Houghton is a 5 minute walk away but do queue opposite the bus shelter to go into Cambridge otherwise the driver my drive off before you can cross the road. Otherwise remain at bus shelter if one wants to visit Huntingdon.

The local pub nearby sells excellent beers and a pleasant evening was enjoyed there by us all! Tescos with petrol is nearby as is a very good garden centre called Huntingdon with discounts on Wednesdays.

I think the 2 wardens do a super job given their office and jobs without other help. Hopefully that will be overcome once the main holidays start. We will be back as we did not do Cambridge justice.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pullup 15 reviews from this member

This is another clean Caravan club site with the usual standard of facilities that you expect from them (some pitches are very uneven).

The site is in a nice village with a Post Office/general store and 2 pubs. There is a tea room at the NT mill which is only a few paces from the site.

The site has lovely walks directly from it and is on a cycle route. However if you like a nice view from your pitch this isn't the site for you.

There is a strict no ball games policy on site which is expected, however if you pitch on pitches 2 to 6 you back onto the national trust car park which is grass and only separated from the site by a low one bar fence, leaving caravans vulnerable from locals who choose to play cricket there.

Wardens where very helpful and friendly.

Would visit again but hopefully pitch further into the site than pitch 5 and take our bikes next time.

Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 19 to 24      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cambridgeshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Holidaymaker 500 Inflatable Tent Package worth over 1,000 Win an Win an OLPRO Cubo Campervan Awning

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Spring Motorhome & Caravan Show Newark 17 to 18 March 2018
First major outdoor show of the season for day visitors, weekend campers, club rallies and trade stands ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

6084 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017