Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodovis Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Woodovis Park
Gulworthy
Tavistock
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL19 8NY   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01822 832968

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
1m  1m 10m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 21.03.14 - 31.10.14

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 78 Reviews
              9/10 from 78 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  78 in total, now showing 19 to 24                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nelly_stone 1 review from this member

I don't think that I can add anything to the previous review except to say that I totally agree! The site was just how I like it; clean, good facilities, friendly, helpful staff (and no bar!).

The showers were clean and powerful, the children were impressed with the hand dryers and as we are so conditioned to recycle at home it was good to have the facility to do it when away.

The indoor swimming pool and spa was a real bonus. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and as there is so much to do in the area we will definitely return!

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Johnboy1973 1 review from this member

To sum up Woodovis Park in one word, it would be 'Welcoming!'

From the moment we arrived, all staff, and guests were so friendly.

The site is clean and well arranged. Greta facilities, with the pool and spa.

The toilets and shower block were very clean, and showers were hot and power full.

There were even posh soap, and body lotion on hand.

We stayed in the camping pop, but the caravan and tent pitches looked great too.

We will be going back with some friends asap next year ;0) 5 Stars! Well done to them.

PS - Tom Tom gets you there, but follow you nose to local Tavistock, as the Tom Tom has you going down little single lane roads. Excellent. !

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daviesfamily 21 reviews from this member

Just returned from a peaceful and relaxing week at Woodovis Park. An excellent week all in all from start to finish!.

A very warm welcome and we were shown to our pitch and facilities explained. The pitch was level and spacious with some privacy bordering on one side. We overlooked a grassy area which was pleasant and meant the pitches were not cramped. We were pitched on the upper Tamar field, which was a little further to the shower block, but a quieter area so much preferred by ourselves.

Location was good for visiting Dartmoor area and mid/south Devon.

Shower/toilet facilities were excellent and always clean. Three showers in both ladies and mens, which was fine for us as we are relatively early risers - I did see ladies queing around 10ish. Nice touches were the hand/shower gel dispensers and hand cream, plus the cloths to clean up for the next user. Showers were plenty hot and powerful too, together with good cubicles - lovely!

Two wash-up sinks in Tamar field and one in other field was fine for us. Always plenty of hot water and useful shelving area.

The swimming pool was fabulous, together with spa and sauna area. Our boys made use of the zorbing ball activity (Sundays- main season) and had a fantastic time! Pool area always clean, water warm and well maintained.

Interactive info board and tourist info area was excellent and well stocked. Games room good. Cannot comment on launderette, putting green, playground as we didn't use. Shop was limited but adequate.

Overall, the whole ambience of this site is ideal - its friendly, peaceful, picturesque and well-maintained - everything we love in a site. We would not hesitate in recommending and definitely plan to revisit when in the area, its a shame its just a little too far away from home for us for a last minute weekend break.

Well done all at Woodovis Park and keep up the good work, we're sure you will as its obvious that all who work there love what they do!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Markhams 2 reviews from this member

We are just back from a 10 day stay at Woodovis and to be honest we are already looking forward to our next visit! The children loved every minute of our stay there. There's lots of open space for them to run around in. We stayed on the Tamar View Field and there was a wooded area (for dog walks) right behind our caravan. You can imagine the fun 3 little boys and all their friends had in there.

The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much to ask of them. There's a constant presence, always there to answer a question or help you out in anyway they can, but they were in no way intrusive. We were always greeted with a smile.

The freshly baked bread and croissants from the shop are delicious. We didn't even have to warm them up cos if you get to there early enough they are just out of the oven and still lovely and warm. All toilets and showers were spotless. The swimming pool was fantastic and exceptionally clean. If you time it right you can have it to yourself for an hour or so! All the grounds were kept clean and the grass short.

I can't speak highly enough about this park. We loved it.

A trip to Looe is a must while you're there. It's a beautiful seaside town and a must for anyone who wants to go crabbing!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahkeith 2 reviews from this member

My husband and I have just returned from our first trip to Woodovis Park and we were so impressed with the site that I wanted to take a few minutes to write a review.

We stayed at Woodovis for 3 nights, we had a tent pitch on the Tamar View Field; the pitch was a good size and backed onto a field with some very young cows in it, who were most intrigued at watching us erect our tent!

The Tamar View field is quite a bit further from the shop/reception and toilet/shower facilities than the top field (probably a 3 or 4 minute walk), in fact, it was far enough to mean that some people staying on this field got in their cars to drive to the shop and showers etc! My husband and I used our legs though!

We didn’t use the pool but it looked like a really nice addition to the site and when the weather was a total washout on the Sunday of our stay, it was an indoor facility that people could have used to escape the sound of heavy rain and gusty wind on their caravans and tents! We, somewhat foolishly, drove to Polzeath for a blustery coastal walk with the dog instead!

The staff at Woodovis were all extremely friendly, never ‘in your face’ but always visible on site should you have a query or just to say ‘hello’. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them (I witnessed Chris very discreetly returning a pair of boxer shorts to the chap in the next tent along from us, who had just left them in the shower cubicle a short time before!).

The site is extremely well kept, the ½ mile long driveway to and from the site is beautifully maintained and perfect for a leg stretch with the dog at the start and end of the day!

The toilets and showers were always immaculately clean. They are closed for 90 minutes a day between 11am to 12. 30pm for cleaning but to be honest, they always looked so spotless at whatever time I used them, you’d think someone went in with a mop and cloth every few minutes!

One tiny little downside was that the shower cubicles are quite tight in size (and I’m pretty slim!) so I wouldn’t have thought it was overly spacious for someone of bigger proportions or even a parent with a child.

The water was always hot and the lovely thing was not having to keep pressing a timer switch to activate a few seconds of hot water, like on other sites! The hot and cold water was not centrally controlled so you could adapt the water temperature and flow to suit your own preference, again, a plus compared to other sites where ‘one button does all’!

You have to make sure you cover your belongings over with a towel when in the shower, as there is no shower curtain or screen between the shower itself and the little area for changing but this was a minor thing and as long as you were aware of it, it wasn’t a problem! The showers were never busy, on no occasion did I have to wait for a cubicle.

Woodovis are clearly very forward thinking and proactive in terms of care of the environment and conservation issues. The Dyson super speedy hand-dryers in the washrooms were incredibly efficient!

There are lots of little ‘information points’ around the site, telling you about different birds or plant species you might be able to view from that particular point, including all the way along the driveway.

The thing that really struck me about Woodovis was the discreet and low-key way they maintain their very high standards – in every sense – ethical, environmental, not to mention standards of hygiene and cleanliness! What I mean by this is that there are not signs everywhere saying ‘Do not do this’, ‘Do not do that’! You were not bombarded by ‘caution’ notices or given the feeling that you were being watched and scrutinised at every move!

At Woodovis, the site ran impeccably well but without the need for notices everywhere telling you how to behave! The notices they have up were all useful, to the point and informative, without being too heavy-handed or over the top!

I think because of this, people seemed to totally respect the site and all the facilities all the more, as you didn’t feel it was being rammed down your throat but you were just left to behave like decent grown-ups and treat the site in a respectful way, which everyone seemed to be doing!

The quiet policy on site is for peace and quiet from 10pm onwards and the only place this is mentioned was on the introduction sheet given upon arrival. Eppie pointed this out to my husband when he checked in but she made light of it by saying that the only exception to noise after 10pm was if she got an invite to the party! Of course, this was said totally in jest but because it was made a light-hearted issue, instead of hugely and overly enforced notices everywhere, it was respected 100% and you could hear a pin drop on the site after about 9pm!

This is what I mean about the rules and site etiquette at Woodovis being addressed in a really low key but effective way.

I cannot speak highly enough of Woodovis, it deserves all its accolades and praise! I can’t wait to return later in the year!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adman 4 reviews from this member

Our first visit to Woodovis, but it definitely won't be our last. The site is very well looked after, and takes tents as well as offering mobile home accommodation.

On site is a small shop which offered all the essentials, and a fantastic indoor pool, jacuzzi and sauna. The camping area was right in the centre of the park, and well looked after with good sized pitches.

To be critical these were on a very slight slope but not enough so you spilt your soup!

The toilet block was one of the best we have seen, hot water, lots of cubicles (bearing in mind there were only about 15 pitches for tents) and very clean and modern.

The only downside was that at £40 per night, it isn't cheap, but the facility of the pool and the shop means we will be back for sure. Highly recommended.

Previous     78 Reviews in total, now showing 19 to 24      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4629 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1172