Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 180 Reviews
              9/10 from 180 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  180 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aquabliss 7 reviews from this member

We were very pleasantly surprised at this tranquil and idealic campsite. This was our first visit, and it won't be our last. There are pitches to suit everyone, and their allocation is very relaxed. We had a pitch by the river bank which was delightful. The pitches at this site are very generous and spacious too. Although some reviews don't rate the toilets and showers very well, we thought they were quite adequate. The water was of a good pressure and hot, and everywhere was very clean. If anything, they might be a little overstretched at peak times as the facilities were of a limited nature. This is only a very minor concern when you take into account everything else that is offered. Free wifi, Orange mobile network, microwave oven, washing machines and other domestic necessities - all kept very clean and tidy. There is also a small shop which stocks most food and drink items that you may need. There are lovely walks to enjoy from the campsite, and there is a very picturesque spot by an attractive weir within the campsite itself. Within a 2 minute walk from the main gate there is the Badgers Holt - a lovely country pub. As well as a selection of real ales they also offer a very extensive and reasonably priced choice of lunches and dinners. All campsites have a mixture of good and bad points, but the good ones certainly out weigh the bad ones here. Kath and Pete (the site wardens) were very friendly and helpful. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble, and we were even offered a cup of tea upon our arrival - we've not had the pleasure of that at other campsites before. Pete was always out mowing the grass or attending to minor repairs, and Kath was always on hand in the office for advice. Overall there was a very nice relaxed feel to the site which must be credited to the wardens. We'll hopefully return later this year.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Elsbycs 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week at this site and so lovely stayed for an extra 2 nights. Beautiful adults only site, a river running down one side and a small leat the other so wherever you pitch you can hear the relaxing sound of trickling water. Immaculately clean showers and new toilet block. Powerful very hot free showers with no push buttons. Wardens very friendly and helpful and small but very well stocked little shop at reception, nothing was too much trouble. Dog walk is just outstandingly beautiful down to a weir, the whole area well maintained and just lovely and peaceful, as is the whole of Exmoor. Will definitely be returning to this gem of a site. I have no negatives to say about this campsiste at all, thank you for a very memorable holiday.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ljamfam 26 reviews from this member

This is a little gem of a site. Everything is lovely and clean and tidy. Immaculate toilets and lovely hot water in the showers. Both the Wardens and Owners take great pride in making everyone's stay as welcoming as possible.

Excellent tourist info, free wifi, books with local walks, menus for all of the pubs and restaurants. Bus stops right outside the door which is very handy.

One of the best sites we have used and we can't wait to go back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Indimeg 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely couple of days at this superb camp site. It was my first time camping on my own since becoming single again and I was slightly nervous but thanks to Paul and Kath the most friendliest of wardens and some other really friendly helpful campers, it was a total success.

I pitched riverside on a nice level pitch. Really dog friendly with a lovely area for them to run free.

The loos and showers were always spotless.

This really is a gem of a site, in a beautiful area and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Just lovely.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Guider 7 reviews from this member

Just spent 6 nights at exe valley. We followed their directions and had no problem getting there. On arrival we were greeted with a cuppa made by the very friendly wardens. Where you pitch was left to you and there is no formality on which way round you prefer. We used the walking guides they kindly print and although we have a good map, we didn't need it. Just follow their directions on the sheet.

The toilet and showers were spotless although if it had been a full site they would be inadequate due to the wait that would arise i. E not enough showers. We used the local pub which was fine; nothing special but reasonable value, and the landlord was very chatty and helpful.

We did a number of walks to Tarr steps, weddon cross, Dunkery beacon and visited Dunster castle which was superb.

A good site and well positioned. I would use again

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LOOPYLUNAR 7 reviews from this member

This is a great site with friendly, helpful wardens. The approach road from the A361 is a little bit narrow in places and you have to be aware of large vehicles such as tractors approaching. It is a really good base from which to explore Minehead, Porlock, Porlock Weir, and Lynton and Lynmouth. Tarr steps, Dulverton and of course, Exmoor are very close. Unfortunately there are only 2 male and 2 female toilets on site ( which are kept spotlessly clean) and it would be much better if there were more toilets at the opposite end of the site. This is an adults only site because of the river. What a beautiful place it is where the river and millstream separate at the weir, so peaceful. All in all a really nice site.

Management response: We are sorry that you did not find the other toilets. There are 4 toilets for ladies, and for the gentlemen there are 3 toilets and 2 urinals. These are in addition to the disabled toilet which is unisex. Because we are inside the National Park, we are restricted in the buildings we can have on the campsite and therefore unable to build further amenities.

Thank you for your review and for your kind comments: we hope to see you again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: St.bernard 6 reviews from this member

What a fabulous site. The wardens Paul and Kathie were very helpful in every sense of the word. The site is immaculately kept. The toilet and shower blocks were very good. Washinf up room with washing machine and tumble drier extremely well priced, compared with some sites we have visited. The site is set in some stunning scenery, as is the surrounding area. The owners ( who are in the backround) were also helpful especially on the guided tours of their home, which is the mill house, really worth seeing for yourselves on Sundays. We shall certainly be visiting again, complete with carrier bags Paul! So mnow you know who` s writing this.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Salwayne1 1 review from this member

Wonderful. Quiet, and friendly site, would go back again. Staff made you feel very welcome. We've never been to a site where you are offered a drink when you first arrive. Plenty of water points and although there is only analogue TV, they will lone you an aerial lead to connect the TV. Wi-fi available, but the only mobile signal was for Orange and 3. For us it was a nice break from the outside world. Washing facilities were clean, although the shower block was looking a bit tired - we have come across much worse. New toilet block was lovely. Well stocked shop and information place.

If you are there on a Sunday, the owner has the water wheel running for an hour. Him and his wife will give you a tour for free, it's worth a look. He also puts up national flags of the people staying, it's a nice touch.

Surrounding area was beautiful. Amazing scenery and not too far to travel. If you enjoy walking its a good base. Lots of places to go.

Tried local pub out. It's a must. Pity more of the campers don't use it. Good choice of drinks - real ale especially. Great food, well presented and reasonably priced. We ate there a few time over our 2 week stay and had no complaints at all, have to say the steak we tried on our last night was one of the best we've ever had. Landlord and Landlady very friendly, great for a laugh and good choice of music. Locals lovely too. We even went to watch the local cricket match. Wow, what a place. Beautiful club house and entertaining watching the team fishing the ball out of the river. Take a look, even if there isn't a match on. Thanks for helping to make our holiday special.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SCAWI 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from our two night stay at Exe Valley. What a well kept site. Quiet, peaceful, next to the River Exe. We pitched next to the river and slept to the sound of the river flow. Bliss. Facilities are clean and pleasant. Shower block is older but had lots of hot water and is spotless. Toilet block is newer and also spotless. Laundry, dryer and dishwashing facilities and shop (9-6) all supplied. Rule to keep noise to a minimum after 11pm was abided by and slept well to the sound of owls. Staff are very friendly too. Couldn`t fault it and will return. Pub (Badger`s Holt) opposite - also friendly. 15 min drive to Mindhead. We enjoyed it so much, our one night stay became two.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lucasdog 2 reviews from this member

Had a great stay here in July. We love this site and the wardens are fantastic. The shop is a great asset for essentials and super local meats. The pitches are spacious and the dog walk is brilliant. There are some lovely places round about including pubs that do fabulous meals.

The only downside at all are the very tired and outdated showers. They do let the site down badly. The blocks themselves and the showers need upgrading as they do not do the job. Because of this your star rating comes down I am afraid.

Previous     180 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4085 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977