Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Holly Bush Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Holly Bush Park
Culmhead
Taunton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA3 7EA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01823 421515

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
              8/10 from 41 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Glamping 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 19 to 24                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tracy_Ashton 8 reviews from this member

Nice site and so peaceful, easy to find just 20 minutes off the m5. Showers and toilets spotless, laundry and small shop on site, milk bread etc.

We had a very nice 3 nights here, lots of walks for the dogs and a pub just a few minutes walk out of the gate, with set meals at a good price.

Chard and Taunton within easy commute would recommend and will be returning to this site again.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barkley 7 reviews from this member

This is a great little site, small, well laid out and well-kept. We stayed over the late May bank holiday (four of us plus dog, in two tents). Friendly but unobtrusive owners were ready with offers of hot drinks on our arrival (a nice touch!).

Lots of mature trees on the site and lush grass. As two units, with cars, the owners told us we were free to arrange our tents and cars however it suited us in the available space (unlike some other sites we've stayed on, where we've been told to park the cars on the most level and dry part of the pitch!).

Very clean toilets and shower block with no charge for showers (bring your own soap dish as we couldn't find one!) and use of a large fridge (almost exclusive use, as we were in a tent and nearly all the other campers were in caravans or campers with their own fridges).

The shop is small but it stocks most basic essentials and we thought the goods were very reasonably priced. There's a pub a short walk away, but we didn't use it this time. There were lot of dogs on the site when we were there, but all were tethered except for the older ones who didn't stray or bother anybody. The free wi-fi was down when we arrived but was working again the following day (and there's a good signal on the Orange network).

A fantastic walk goes through many acres of forest almost directly opposite the site. The traffic past the site is fast and there's no footpath but it takes literally a minute to walk to the forest, which is well worth walking - we took the left hand path down and there were acres and acres of wild garlic in flower throughout the lower part of the wood (it looks beautiful and the scent is wonderful), with little brooks here and there - and when we took the right hand path, bluebells were still in abundance in the higher part of the wood. The views of the Blackdown hills are lovely.

We did a whistle-stop tour of Wellington (which has lots of little shops, a Co-Op supermarket and an intriguing Steptoe's yard-type junk shop hidden down an alleyway) and Hemyock, a pretty Devon village. But if you enjoy walking you could stay on this site for a few days, leave the car behind and just roam around the nearby woods and hills without really having to go anywhere else - however, take waterproof footwear, as it's deeply boggy in places - and take a map or a compass, as we should have done, as after a few hours' wandering one tree looks very much like another. There's also a sort of art exhibition along some of the trails, with funny little objects popping up randomly (though other than providing a talking point, we couldn't quite see its purpose!).

We had a great time and will definitely visit this site again.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Philliph 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here in October 2009 also, what a lovely peaceful site. Clean and well run with basic showers & toilets but with the little touches that make it a wonderful site. Don't go if you want bars and noise but do go for the lovely views and very nice lady owner.

Also free to walk the farm where it is situated (around the edges of the fields as a working farm).

The shops, pubs and restaurants of Wellington are only a few miles away. Where again you will feel most welcome by truly hospitable locals.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Drnh 7 reviews from this member

The site is so well placed for getting out and about in the Taunton area. It's always clean and well kept.

It's mainly aimed at touring vans with lots of hard standing pitches but between all these is room for tents to pitch.

Its a lovely blend as you get a peace and quiet that you don't normally get when you're in a field full of tents, sounds travels etc.

Because there are limited tents and more tourers you don't tend to here voices and other noise associated with a campsite which suits us down to the ground, literally

The road next to the site is pretty quiet and only really starts to get traffic on it at around 7am and even that is light.

We've visited loads of campsites but Holly Bush remains our favourite one.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bobinbenidorm 1 review from this member

This was our first camping experience, if all camp sites are like Holly Bush Park we are really going to enjoy camping. We were met on arrival and the first thing we were asked was if we wanted a cup of tea

The toilets & shower were spotless. There is a great wood across the road from the camp site, we could walk the dog and there's a pub next door that serve the best cider and chips we had in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Drnh 7 reviews from this member

Loved it! What can I say.

It was a 3 hour journey from Manchester to get to Taunton and Hollybush. We arrived a little early at about 8:20am Saturday morning but we made very welcome, shown to pour pitch and we given a very welcome brew :o) Thanks for that.

The campsite is mainly aimed at caravan owners with not that many tent pitches. That said the tent pitches we excellent and covered in grass (not bald like some campsites) which made them pretty comfy to sleep on.

The site was fantastically relaxing and quiet to stay at.

The showers and toilets are basic but they are clean and work well.

You're only about 2 miles outside one of the most gorgeous places I've been too. Corfe. Very friendly people and a great pub.

About 4 miles from Taunton town centre which is awesome for shopping, including a large Sainsburys. The atmosphere here is lovely, the people are probably the most friendly of anywhere I've ever been.

All in all I'd give the site a good 8/10 only let down a little by the showers BUT like I said its mainly aimed at caravan owners.

Totally recommend Somerset as a place to visit and Hollybush site is a perfect base for you to stay at.

Will definitely stay again.Many times.

Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 19 to 24      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Pop up Utility tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7135 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938