Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 306 Reviews
              10/10 from 306 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  306 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bubble1 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at Old Oaks. For 9 nights. The welcome was excellent. Shown to our pitch(L5). Then found I had left my waste water pipe at home. No problem. Was loaned one for the duration. Thank you. All the staff were most helpful and obliging. Being an adult site it was lovely. Quiet and peaceful. Day and night security very good. Cleanliness, general site up-keep. Deserves 10*. If possible. Could go on. But go try it you will not be disappointed. Would recommend. Without hesitation. 'will be back'. Thank You. All at Old Oaks.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cheeky-spaniel 1 review from this member

This was our second visit to Old Oaks after being recommended by family. There is absolutely no more they could do to make your experience any better. The site itself is beautiful and kept in pristine condition as are the facilities. The well stocked shop sells local produce and always has a home made 'cake of the day' which, after much testing, I can confirm are amazing! There is a games/information room with not just the usual generic tourist leaflets but details of local restaurants, walks and cycle routes too. The staff are super helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The site is within easy driving distance of many a place to visit too. I can't recommend highly enough and can't wait to go back for a longer stay next year.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Luckyladies 1 review from this member

Just spent an incredibly restful and relaxing long weekend at Adults only Old Oaks. The facilities are incredible. The new shower and toilet block are the best I have ever seen. The takeaway evenings, Fish and Chips, Chinese and Indian are a very welcome part of the whole experience. Don't know of any other site that offers this. Staff are incredibly friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. There is a mini bus to take campers into Glastonbury to save driving. Dog enclosure is excellent and very well used.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karenn1 1 review from this member

We have visited many campsites but this one certainly comes out on top! Although the old toilet block is somewhat old fashioned it was always clean and warm and I believe it is to be upgraded this year. The new block which was just a little further away from us was fantastic! The separate shower rooms, dish washing facilities and laundry area were like a 5 star hotel! Underfloor heating means no soggy floors and mops available in all rooms if you want them. All staff were so helpful, even leading us to our pitch when we arrived. We were in a tent on the gravel pitch and as long as you have an extra groundsheet it was good, draining well! Pitch was also a good size. TV/information room with pool table is also a great facility. Site is about an hours walking distance from glastonbury via the Tor but is a good uphill walk. Taxi from the town did cost 8. Glastonbury itself is an interesting town with lots of history and great old pubs and some local characters. Although it is a 200 mile drive each way we will definitely go back!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bahhumbugessexgirl 4 reviews from this member

This is a FANTASTIC campsite. We booked following the excellent reviews on here and weren't disappointed.

The staff are all ready friendly and happy to answer any queries. The site is spotlessly clean. One of the toilet/shower blocks looks more like a 5* spa than a campsite loo!

I can't fault this place and am looking forward to going back.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scissorbox 3 reviews from this member

Another year, same old. There is nothing to complain about this site at all. Everything is just perfect. Great pitches, great showers and toilets and above all such excellent and friendly staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Another plus is the views and exceptional quiet of the whole site. Looking forward to another same old next year.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hamecj99 1 review from this member

We spent 5 nights at what must be the best site in the UK. The atmosphere is tranquil and friendly. The facilities are 5*, especially the new block which has been designed and built to the highest Environmental standards (eg corridor lighting uses only 34W of power).

We very much liked the dog exercise area, its associated shower facility; the help yourself herb garden (must be unique - unless anyone knows otherwise?); the home made cakes; the recycling facilities incl batteries and food waste (again must be unique); the friendly staff and owners (some interesting and helpful conversations about hedges and their maintenance); the use of electric strimmer to reduce nuisance noise (this was a problem at our previous Site); the animal friendly area for the farm foul - again our previous Site had a terrible such area (so much so we almost reported it); the fishing lake was a pleasure to walk around, albeit we do not fish; the local service areas for waste, water, etc were well designed, clean (spotless) and well positioned.

We shall definitely be going again, making sure we book well in advance.

The owners and staff can be justifiably proud of what they have created, especially the care and attention given to the design and Environmental impact of the Site. The standard by which other Sites can be judged.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chaymondo 1 review from this member

At first site we could see Old Oaks was a well tended touring park. We received a warm welcome and were personally escorted to our pitch.

The facilities are modern and spotless.

We taught ourself how to fish for carp.

We will most definitely be returning and telling all our friends how great it was

What a wonderful 20th wedding anniversary break

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DandT 25 reviews from this member

We visit this site fairly regularly whenever we want to get away for a break - we live reasonably close in south Devon but our reason for visiting is that it is quite simply the best site we have so far visited anywhere in Britain.

The staff are very friendly and helpful (with the shop being open up to 7. 30pm when we were there), the grounds are immaculate and the pitches spacious with a feeling of privacy as there are hedges between all of them.

The grounds are immaculate with large, open grassed areas thus avoiding any feelings of crowding. There is a newly installed security barrier which works on number plate recognition and so there is no need for a card or punching in a number.

The old toilet and shower block is of the highest quality and is better than the vast majority of others we have encountered. We were staggered to find, however, that a site in Dorset was boasting an award of loo of the year; while it is good ( we visited there recently ) it is no better than the old block here. The new block is even better and by a very long way the best we have ever seen. There are seven unisex toilet/shower/wash basin rooms with slate floors, solid tiled walls and even mirrors with touch pad illumination. The male or female general shower and toilet areas are immaculate.

It is adults only and so very tranquil, being set in farmland on the edge of Glastonbury beneath the Tor.

They have a regular minibus service to nearby towns for market days and the like and also now have Indian, Chinese and fish and chip nights where takeaway meals can be ordered in from local restaurants.

The dog walk is relatively small, an enclosed grassed area about 300 by 15 yards, but it even has a warm dog shower at the exit if needed although we have never known it to get muddy. There is a gate from the site on to public footpaths under the Tor and into Glastonbury for longer walks.

In short, the owners have tried to think of everything to meet the needs of their customers. They have even created a small, help yourself herb garden to add flavour to your cooking!

All in all, an excellent site.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Piffy57 37 reviews from this member

Second visit and it is quite simply the best site we have ever visited. From the warm welcome to leaving its a great experience. Head Warden Tony and his wife are outstanding ambassadors for the site and nothing is too much trouble. The site is kept in an immaculate condition.

The only thing that could be improved is the wifi. Personally I would be prepared to pay for a better signal but in no way did it affect the holiday.

We will be back in 2016

Previous     306 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3232 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1387
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window