Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 299 Reviews
              10/10 from 299 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  299 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chaymondo 1 review from this member

At first site we could see Old Oaks was a well tended touring park. We received a warm welcome and were personally escorted to our pitch.

The facilities are modern and spotless.

We taught ourself how to fish for carp.

We will most definitely be returning and telling all our friends how great it was

What a wonderful 20th wedding anniversary break

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DandT 25 reviews from this member

We visit this site fairly regularly whenever we want to get away for a break - we live reasonably close in south Devon but our reason for visiting is that it is quite simply the best site we have so far visited anywhere in Britain.

The staff are very friendly and helpful (with the shop being open up to 7. 30pm when we were there), the grounds are immaculate and the pitches spacious with a feeling of privacy as there are hedges between all of them.

The grounds are immaculate with large, open grassed areas thus avoiding any feelings of crowding. There is a newly installed security barrier which works on number plate recognition and so there is no need for a card or punching in a number.

The old toilet and shower block is of the highest quality and is better than the vast majority of others we have encountered. We were staggered to find, however, that a site in Dorset was boasting an award of loo of the year; while it is good ( we visited there recently ) it is no better than the old block here. The new block is even better and by a very long way the best we have ever seen. There are seven unisex toilet/shower/wash basin rooms with slate floors, solid tiled walls and even mirrors with touch pad illumination. The male or female general shower and toilet areas are immaculate.

It is adults only and so very tranquil, being set in farmland on the edge of Glastonbury beneath the Tor.

They have a regular minibus service to nearby towns for market days and the like and also now have Indian, Chinese and fish and chip nights where takeaway meals can be ordered in from local restaurants.

The dog walk is relatively small, an enclosed grassed area about 300 by 15 yards, but it even has a warm dog shower at the exit if needed although we have never known it to get muddy. There is a gate from the site on to public footpaths under the Tor and into Glastonbury for longer walks.

In short, the owners have tried to think of everything to meet the needs of their customers. They have even created a small, help yourself herb garden to add flavour to your cooking!

All in all, an excellent site.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Piffy57 34 reviews from this member

Second visit and it is quite simply the best site we have ever visited. From the warm welcome to leaving its a great experience. Head Warden Tony and his wife are outstanding ambassadors for the site and nothing is too much trouble. The site is kept in an immaculate condition.

The only thing that could be improved is the wifi. Personally I would be prepared to pay for a better signal but in no way did it affect the holiday.

We will be back in 2016

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ruggerman 20 reviews from this member

2nd visit this year and will be back next year. We can understand why so many people we've met come back year after year (and why you have to book early!) The site has everything you want for a relaxing stay and they try to add to it such as the start of a woodland walk just right for a gentle stroll after dinner, the weather was a lot better making the walks more enjoyable and our dog Poppy met many more friends in the exercise area. As always the facilities are immaculate with plenty of hot water whether for dishes or yourself and the daily choice of homemade cakes seemed even better. Only downside is Glastonbury once you've been there you don't need to return!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Minster 1 review from this member

Our party of four stayed at The Old Oaks touring park during July. We could not fault any aspect of the park or members of staff at all. The pitch was large and neat providing a fully serviced facility. The new toilet and shower block is a 5* facility, the best we have ever used. The laundry even has a washing machine designated to washing dog blankets and also a drier. Also a shower for your dog, how much better can it get. There is a mini bus service providing some trips locally. The park is very well laid out and feels very spacious, even the dog walk is well manicured. You can place orders at reception for hot food to be delivered on the days

When this service is offered, Chinese night, Curry night and of course Friday night fish and chips etc. We cant wait to return. Many thanks Old Oaks for a great time.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dandylyon 9 reviews from this member

Just returned home from a 2 week stay at Old Oaks. Yet again we had an absolutely fantastic stay, from the minute we arrived the wardens greeted us with a cheery smile and lots of useful information. We have visited this site before and as ever we had a fantastic stay, helped by some glorious weather! Everything about this site, facilities, location, wardens etc are of the highest standard that you could ever want. We had to travel 5 1/2 hours to get there, but it was worth every minute and we cant wait to go back! Thanks everyone for a wonderful holiday.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kevin Fear 11 reviews from this member

Excellent site and deserved top rating. Would have liked to leave the dog at home occasionally would be a minor gripe. Take-a-way evenings are very good. Wash rooms are top quality. Dog exercise field superb. Short but very steep walk to the Tor. Tight-ish lane to the entrance but we are wide at 2. 55 metres. No space or turning problems on site

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscmb 40 reviews from this member

Spurred on by good reviews we booked a two night stay at the Old Oaks on our way to a holiday in Cornwall with our son and family.

Everything I want to say about this touring site has already been said, time and time again. It is the best site we have stayed at in England and unfortunately we were only there for two nights. I could make a list of all the services provided but it has been done so many times by previous reviewers I donít want to be repetitive.

I was going to summarise with my favourite bits but there are so many I would just end up listing everything but if pushed I would say:

The overall tranquility and beauty of the site, coupled with the slightly private generous sized pitches with open aspect (no overlooking rows of caravans here) and the opulent new facility block. Couple this with a family and staff that make you feel you matter and are helpful and friendly at all times.

Needless to say we are already wondering when we can fit in another visit which will be longer than two nights!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bodiddly 7 reviews from this member

Ten stars are not enough for this amazing site.

Booking in was friendly & fast and we were shown to our pitch by the cycling warden. Pitches are large & beautifully landscaped, set around large open lawns, so you never feel overlooked or crowded. The toilet block was fantastic, as well as the usual male & female toilets & showers, there were 6 unisex shower rooms complete with toilets and sinks, everything was immaculate.

The shop has the most yummy home made cake for sale every day, as well as their own meat, sausages, burgers etc. The organic fruit wines just have to be tried! They even arrange for curry or fish & chips to be delivered to site on certain nights.

If you have a dog they will love it here, a huge fenced in paddock where they can run off lead, there are not only poo bins, but also poo bags and hand gel! There is also a hot shower just for dogs and a washing machine for their bedding.

There are lovely walks direct from site, the Tor is well worth the climb for the amazing views, and Glastonbury is quite an experience!

The mini bus trips are excellent, can really recommend Wells, a lovely day out.

This is an excellent site with really friendly helpful staff and we can't recommend it enough.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LOOPYLUNAR 6 reviews from this member

My wife and I are lucky enough to holiday in our caravan every month from March through' to October. We have stayed on many sites and mostly they were very good with the occasional blip here and there. The Old Oaks caravan park goes way, way beyond being good. What the owners and wardens offer is 5 star plus. We stayed whilst the Glasto Festival was on although we didn't go to it. If you have never been to Glastonbury, try it. If you can't chill out there then you won't chill out anywhere. This is the 2nd time we've been to Old Oaks and we are planning another for November for the carnival. We have tried other sites near to Glastonbury but, when you've tasted the cream you don't want the skimmed. Wishing our lives away but can't wait for our next stay.

Previous     299 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three Car Seat Protectors / Hammocks to be won Win an Outwell Flagstaff 5a Inflatable Tent Package worth over £1000

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Volksworld Show, Sandown Park, Surrey - 25th to 26th March
Europe`s largest VW Show with 100s of cars inside and out, traders, live music and more ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4537 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1758