Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 207 Reviews
              8/10 from 207 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rexxie 26 reviews from this member

Fantastic views overlooking Morecambe Bay - the pitches are terraced so guess most units have a great view.

Great location for visiting the RSPB Leighton Moss reserve-just a few minutes drive away.

Silverdale village an easy walk away - appeared to have a popular hotel/bar. Tearoom and art studio/shop just opposite the farm entrance. Also able to walk to the beach at Silverdale across the fields from the site. Wonderful views from the beach and lots of birds - saw a heron, a little egret, lots of oystercatchers and lots more.

Quite a few hardstandings - reached by driving over some grass so a little skiddy if wet.

TV reception erratic - moved just a few yards from 1 pitch with no signal to another with a good signal.

Very nice toilet/showerblock - looks to be fairly new. Felt like it had underfloor heating so the tiled floor easy on the feet!

Nice shower cubicle with a wet room like feel. Water took a while to run warm - not steaming hot but adequate.

Laundry room looks to be a work in progress - sinks but no washing machine or iron as indicated on the sign on the door.

Some leaflets of attractions provided in the dishwashing area - it would have been nice to have a little more local info available eg local walks, nearest shop etc.

Good value rate for off season stay and discount for over 55's.

Would love to return again perhaps nearer summer.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maria Clifton 3 reviews from this member

A great weekend at Gibraltar Farm with glorious late September weather. Our first visit here, very impressed with the campsite. The views are exceptional, the facilities block was spotless and of very high quality. Lots of walks through woodland and to the private beach cove. Picked lots of blackberries along the way. The tent field is not level all over, but there was enough space for us this weekend to find a level spot. There were very few tents, but lots of caravans and mobiles. If you are after a local pub, there is quite a walk which we didn't try in the dark. The surrounding area is quite beautiful and feels off the beaten track although there are dozens of walks signposted in the area. Our only issue was the noise this weekend. There was some sort of a rally of the vans and motorhomes and the noise made from their marquis tent was intrusive and spoilt the peaceful nature of the environment. I felt that the rally people did not consider others who were not involved - their marquis was in the tent field and we heard very loud voices into the night. I would come back again because the site is beautiful, but I will check if there are any rallies first.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bowler49 1 review from this member

Fantastic place fab views.

Great walks around.

Toilets and showers clean and free.

Great for kids to play and be safe. Also have great wardens who have a great tent set up for shopping.

Will be back.

Busy in school holidays if you want peace and quite.

Steep hill to drive down if you have touring caravan.

Path could do with pot holes filling in.

Silverdale short drive away with shops and pub.

ArnSide 20 min drive away with nice pub with good meals 10 pounds for a 2 courses meal before 7 but need to book it gets busy

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BridieandDave 1 review from this member

Just returned from a three week stay at Gibraltar farm, having been a regular visitor for over fifteen year I can only say the site has never been as clean, friendly or organised. The stewards could not do enough to make our stay more pleasurable, nothing was to much for them. The site is located in a fabulous area with great scenery with local walks all around and is a very family orientated campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happy camper 01 11 reviews from this member

After a couple of lovely weekends spent here we decided to book again for a weeks stay. We booked and requested hard standing as personally we feel the grass pitches are to close together and no room if you have a larger caravan. When we got there we booked in with the warden and there was a hard standing pitch available which he said we could have to find once I had come out of the wardens caravan someone had drove in the spot and decided to wait there until their caravan which was being towed by someone else had arrived which then meant we were directed to one of the tightest smallest grass pitches on the field. The weather wasn't great either the day we arrived so the grass was very soft and muddy.

I personally felt abandoned and just squashed in just to fit us in there was no room to get the car on to straighten up or get level but we were promised a hard standing pitch the following morning so we just shut the curtains and got cosy in the caravan. The following day we had a choice of hard standing but the problem was there was no room to get the car in front to hitch the caravan on we manoeuvred the caravan on a angle and my husband tried to reverse it off but the spot was so close to other vans plus the grass was so muddy we now have the added cost of a new clutch. Thankfully a lovely couple came to the rescue who was a HGV driver and managed to get us to the other pitch but it was a tight squeeze and I certainly would not recommend a grass pitch with an awning if you have a 5 or 6 berth caravan as we had no room for the awning.

This did put a dampener on my break here this time. But once we got on the hard standing pitch we had originally asked for it was fine these pitches are level roomy hard to get a tv reception but this doesn't bother us. Great views has its own little beach cove plus a nice stroll across the cliff tops. Some nice little country walks and not far to travel to the lakes.

Our kids love it here having adventures in the woods and by the beach but high season there is a lot of kids many cycling around and playing around your van I had to tell a few to politely move but the wardens are on the ball and keeps things in order. I am sure we will be back though this trip has put me off slightly but I think if we do we will come not so late in the season.

The new wardens do a good job with a lovely little shop in their awning which is very handy. Toilet blocks very clean and lovely warm showers

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RobertoDM 1 review from this member

My family and friends stayed at this wonderful camp site for 8 weeks, we all enjoyed the exceptional views, the very clean shower block and site. There is no playground there is wood land, my grand children explored and made their own fun with friends they made on site. The Campsite personnel were always extremely helpful throughout our stay.

In my opinion best campsite in North West and definitely going back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Roliash 1 review from this member

Fantastic site, great for everyone, we stayed for the weekend and the weather was lovely. Kids (age 6&8) had a fantastic time, plenty of fun on the rocks and even though it was very busy, there was still plenty of room for them to play football and cricket. Beautiful views over morecambe bay. You can walk into Silverdale in approx 10-15mins. There is an little ice cream shed at the top of the farm which I believe is only open at weekends but was delicious. Site is very clean, fabulous toilet shower block, warm showers all though you may have to queue, so time it right. The stewards are very friendly and helpful, They are strict on no music and no fires too, they walk around and make sure everyone is behaving. They allow you to freeze ice blocks too which is a bonus in warm weather. Little shop set up in their awning selling crisps, snacks, sweets, tins etc. Will definitely be returning soon.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lee67 3 reviews from this member

Great family site. Level pitches, amazing views over Morecambe bay. Good toilet facilities, small shop in wardens tent. Friendly, but strict on site warden means no late night noise. Woods for children to play in, access to shore line, but be aware it is Morecambe bay and a lot of people get stuck in sinking sand every year.

Area is stunning, peaceful and unspoilt.

Great value at only £12 for a family tent

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cmaj7th 3 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Gibraltar Farm and again, we were not disappointed. The weather was incredibly hot, this past few weeks have been a touch on the warm side everywhere but we were given a nice shaded pitch that just caught the evening sun.

The new site wardens were very welcoming and even took the trouble to explain where the best places to go for an internet signal, find a cash point and a decent supermarket.

The toilet and shower block was immaculate, as it was last year. Itís so good to find a site that not only gives the showers for no charge but also makes sure that they are warm. The washing up facilities are excellent, again with plenty of hot water. We didnít use the laundry room but from what I saw, it was as spotless as the rest.

Good pitches (although ours did have a bit of a slope) and certainly nothing that couldnít be dealt with by the use of a couple of blocks under the legs if necessary. Our vans legs were long enough. The views from the site across Morecambe Bay are breathtaking and if you can manage the walk across the sheep field to the shore, it is well worth it, that sea air is gorgeous!

The water points were easy to get to and even gated off so that the sheep couldnít access them if they accidentally got out of their field. It was nice to see the hens wandering around the site, we have a few chickens at home and appreciated that!

All in all, Gibraltar Farm is an excellent site, with superb facilities and very, very welcoming. I would recommend this site to anybody who wants to get away for a weekend, a few days or even a week or two, just a pity that our review might make it harder for us to find a pitch!

The low rating for children is simply because other than a bit of clambering over rocks, climbing trees or visiting the shoreline, there's not much on site for them.

Just be aware that the lanes to the site are very narrow and can be a bit hairy if you meet another caravan or truck. The site does ask that you do NOT arrive before 2PM; that way, those who are leaving (By 12PM) don't meet each other in the narrow lanes - we came across a couple though which could have made for some tricky manoeuvres! Please, do as they ask, it make things easier for all of us. Well worth the effort though. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happy camper 01 11 reviews from this member

Just come back from a weekend away. This is our second time we have stayed here and we cannot fault it at all, like someone else has put it just seems to get better. It is situated with breathtaking views and lovely walks on site that take you to a sandy cove and if timed right if tide is in a lovely swim in the sea. Plenty to keep the kids busy with their exploring and fishing nets. We are hoping to go back in a few weeks time hopefully for a week. The new stewards are brilliant so helpful and their shop inside the awning is fantastic has everything you need. And exactly what the site needed. Kids still enjoyed their homemade icecream from the farm at the top pf the site. Can't wait to go back

Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Abberley 2 Lightweight Touring Tent Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough - 22nd to 23rd April
Car crushing Monster Trucks plus much more fun for all the family ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7889 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.5156