Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 192 Reviews
              9/10 from 192 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  192 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: 1_man_+_his_dob(lo) 33 reviews from this member

Stayed for 5 nights on grass + EHU - I was able to pick my pitch which was a challenge because there was only one field available and even though it was almost empty it was pretty muddy, particularly on the semi-hardstanding areas. I eventually found a good spot on thick grass near the top gate and static home, alongside the entrance road which was quiet during the night.

There was a discount of 25% for bookings of 5+ nights. Most of the site was closed in February, with the indoor swimming pool, health spa and cafeteria open to the public.

The one facility block below the field had a toilet/washbasin room and a toilet/shower room, with piped commercial radio during the day (aaaarghhh!). Dishwashing facilities were under cover outside. The block next door contained a large laundrette, bar (closed) and CDP. Plenty of facility blocks (closed) were scattered across the site.

TV (digital), mobile (O2) and 3G ('3') reception was good; analogue radio was OK. Fresh and grey water points were a short walk away.

Staff were very friendly when I arrived; I did not see much of them after that other than the first afternoon I arrived, when the field was mowed/strimmed for several hours.

Cockwood is about a 15 minute walk away as you head to Starcross (about 15 minutes further on) and has a couple of pubs. Starcross has a convenience store and pharmacy on the main road, along with the railway station. Dawlish Warren can be reached by foot from the back of the site, though the woods, in less than an hour. In the other direction Exeter is about a 15 minute drive - I visited Topsham across the estuary for the RSPB reserve at Bowling Green and nearby viewing platform, but parked and stocked up at Dart's Farm shopping centre just outside the town and walked in, due to the limited parking.

The main reason for visiting the area was the RSPB avocet cruise from Starcross, a 3+ hour guided boat tour of the estuary during the winter. Very good, but wrapping up in several layers is recommended!

I would not use the site other than during the winter season because, being a leisure park, it'll be a completely different place during the normal camping season and expensive for solo campers. But for an extended winter visit to the area I would probably stay again.

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Natashaeo02 4 reviews from this member

This site is one of the most immaculate we have visited. We took our daughter and friends for her birthday and they loved it. Great play parks, one in the woods which were all new. The pool was really nice and a new clubhouse meant everything was spotless. The pitches are all well spaced out and clearly marked. They had a great treasure hunt as well for kids. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend.

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tony B52 9 reviews from this member

The site is easily accessible with a caravan though there is a pinch point on the short access road from the main road which is plenty wide enough for one vehicle and van.

The site is about ten minutes off of the Exeter junction on the motor way unless you are travelling in rush hours etc. The four pinch points through Star Cross at this time can cause delays.

There is a mixture of hard standing and grass pitches, mostly grass. When we visited in Feb the grass pitches were for the best part very wet, though you can say this for most sites in the UK at the moment. The hard standing pitches were in good nick though. As usual the roads in between the pitches were too narrow to make manoeuvring onto your pitch with a twin axle possible without having to run over opposite pitches, not a problem for us as there was no one opposite.

The loos and showers were kept very clean and warm and even had piped music. Really refreshing to have a big bench to put your shoes and socks on away from the wet area.

The new indoor pool was lovely. We didn't see a life guard in attendance at the pool side during our visit though the excellent staff in the cafe area were keeping an eye on the area to the best of their ability whilst running services there. The site has a Children must be escorted by an adult policy for the pool, this is commendable. However I question the lack of a poolside lifeguard as a wise policy especially as the pool is an optional extra at £40 for a family of four.

The shop facilities etc looked great but unfortunately were closed during our stay. This was due to Somerset's strange holiday dates this year. That being said it was great to enjoy the area whilst it was quiet.

The dog walk field was steep but one of the nicest I've used with a small wood next to it. There were plenty of doggy bins around the site which were being emptied at least daily. However the dog was an additional £4 ish during peak times per night so at £32 additional for an eight night stay you would expect your pets to be catered for. The site did not disappoint for this. Free for us in Febuary though so great.

For walkers our favourite walk from the site was the roadway walk down to the village of Crofton, about ten minutes either way with two pubs in the village. Our favourite local drive to walk was Dawlish Warren, good for bird spotters too.

Lots of parks for the little ones and a treasure trail with a free Lolly at the end of it.

Five well stocked fishing ponds on site, a fee normally for this but free in the winter months.

I didn't see any advertised free Wi Fi, but to my delight I could link up all holiday and no password was required.

The reception staff were lovely, really helpful, and nothing too much trouble.

Near by attractions and places to eat are way too many to list.

Their is a new Sainsbury's with petrol station less than five minutes from the site.

We were happy with our stay here and will certainly return. Our recommendations to the owner would be for better drainage on the grass pitches, and more fully hard standing pitches. But for this we would have returned in Easter.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Penguin73 11 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely weeks holiday with the family. Brilliant campsite. Outdoor pool was closed with it being the end of October but used the indoor pool, sauna and steamroom which were fantastic, only cost us just under £8 for a family pass.

Shop was good and prices very reasonable. Plenty of washers and dryers with washing liquid etc included in the price of a wash.

Toilets were clean and lots of, never had to queue same with the showers. Had problems with cold showers on one day and the men had 2 days with cold showers.

We were on a hardstanding pitch down by the fishing lakes, these were quite small and could do with upgrading as it was barely hardstanding (few stones) with a muddy grass area at the side (which smelt awful and got everywhere).

Teenage kids loved the adventure area with the zip line and the donkeys were soooooo cute.

Would go back if they address the problem with the state of the pitches.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rogermalaya 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this Site in our touring caravan for nearly 4 weeks as part of an extended holiday! We found all the facilities to be very clean and modern with plenty of free hot water. The camp shop was well stocked with food and an extensive range of camping and Caravan requisites. The camp bar and restaurant is modern and sell a range of ales and wines. The food is well priced and very well presented. The indoor and outdoor swimming pools are clean and spacious.

The pitches are well marked out on assorted fields on terraces with Tarmac roads leading to each terrace. We found that being Devon clay, the pitches became pretty slippery when wet and numerous camper vans had to be assisted other road byte camp site 4 x 4! As I write this, I am wondering if I will need help to get off on Wednesday as my car has poor traction on slippery grass :~) Special offers at this time of year ensured we did not have to pay over the odds on pitch prices!

The staff are all pleasant and will help you whatever your problem. I recommend this camp site.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Feughsider 10 reviews from this member

Of the very many sites I stay at throughout the UK this must surely be the best. For a start every member of staff I had contact with, whether on reception, in the bar, in the cafe or on the poolside could not have been more helpful and obliging. I cannot imagine this was coincidental but rather it reflects great credit to the family running this delightful operation.

The facilities on site are extensive and must surely be the envy of the big chain holiday companies yet the price per night was less than I pay at smaller sites with inferior facilities. Coming and going is easy with late arrivals being handled by the bar staff and no faffing around with barrier cards and codes.

The new leisure complex is luxury itself, the toilet blocks clean and modern and the food in the new cafe is just delicious and very reasonably priced. The shop is very well stocked and there is evening entertainment. One reviewer questioned security - I noticed security men patrolling the site at night on more than one occasion.

As a base for the surrounding area as far north as Exeter and as far south as Torquay or Brixham it is in my view unsurpassed with gorgeous harbours nearby and a regular No 2 bus service (every 20mins) stopping just a few hundred yards from reception. This will be my site of choice from now on on my regular visits to the Torbay area and as a stop-off point en route to Cornwall. Well done!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Laydee70 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for one week in my tent but have previously stayed in the converted barn nearer the beach which was lovely.

All of the staff are very helpful and friendly

Allocation on arrival so you book in and wait to follow a park buggy to a pitch. I asked to be near a play area and wi-fi so you can ask for your preferences once there.

There is a good on-site shop with most basic foods, ice pack service, spare camping parts etc. Fish and chip shop also.

The park is well organised and kept clean, toilet and shower area is good with plenty of hot water and a good dry area in the shower. There are also separate sinks for teeth cleaning and cubicles for hair/make-up with hair dryers. The play areas are large and also includes a zip wire area in the wood.

The new facilities are good with large screens in the relaxed upstairs bar, has small kids area and 2 pool tables in here. The food in here is the same menu as the old pub.

I didn't use the new restaurant but everyone I spoke to said the food was good.

There is also a large games room which they appeared to be adding to as we left, this was where my son enjoyed going on his own. The outdoor pool is a good size although obviously busy when hot, I didn't use the indoor pool as didn't really want to pay extra. The only criticism I have is the lack of security at night time, there were a couple of noisy people every night and nobody came, you were asked to phone security when it happened. Most other large sites have night wardens checking late at night.

I only used this as a base mainly, plenty of days out nearby. Dawlish Warren is the nearest, small kids rides area and more stuff nearer the beach, you can walk down to Dawlish when tide is out I think. Sheldon Ness is dog friendly and long tunnel through the cliff so kids love it. Teignmouth is good, old style pier/games value for money. Babbacombe has model village and Old museum around the corner plus a Cliff Railway down to Ollicombe beach which is underneath, lots of water stuff to do here. Kents Caverns nearby which we visited when raining. Ansteys Cove is also near here (steep walk down and back up!). Starcross to Exmouth ferry is good, plenty of kids stuff along sea front.

If you want to go further Torquay is good for shopping and Brixham has a pirate ship in the bay with a sea water pool in the next bay.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lunar challenger 1 review from this member

The all new cofton is quite the place, we normally go to the cheaper ladys mile, but that got full and managed a week at cofton unsure of it. It was more expensive but all facilities were up to the mark and the staff were pleasant to deal with. More hardstanding would be better in the prone to being water logged area. We were flooded and muddy. All in all well recommended but in bad weather its muddy. 9 out of 10

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eufone 1 review from this member

We booked this site as it was near to Torquay (so that we could visit relatives there) and near to a good beach (Dawlish Warren which we've visited several times in the past). The site is ideally located and very easy to get to from the M5.

On checking in at reception you are guided to a pitch by a member of staff. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and offered advice as to suitability of pitch options for our requirements and unit.

The site itself is a collection of tiered fields connected by good quality single carriageway roads. My only problem with the site was that their was no one way system in operation so we regularly met another vehicle coming at us head on and the only dedicated footpaths were around the main site complex and play area (very good with all new equipment).

The pitches all looked relatively flat, ours sloped very slightly from to back, but were a bit on the small side. Our trailer tent extended about 1m across the line when pitched and even a medium sized caravan barely squeezed onto the pitch next to us.

The sanitary facilities on site were excellent with modern toilet and shower blocks with plenty of hot water, available 24/7. Everything was very clean, despite the poor weather and lots of mud, and well maintained.

Other facilities were very good, particularly now that the new complex has opened, but you have to pay extra to use the indoor pool - a 3 day family pass was £20. The shop was well stocked with most of the essentials, and there is a new Sainsburys supermarket 5 mins down the road where we did most of our shopping just getting bread and milk on site.

It was very wet for the first half of our stay, and the site did get very muddy. Many of the pitches were very very muddy and the nature of the site meant that there were some quite steep slopes to be negotiated which got very badly churned up - but the drainage was good and everything seemed to dry out quickly once the rain stopped.

All in all a very good site - good location, excellent facilities and reasonable price. Would consider using again if we wanted to stay in that area of South Devon.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wayne5985 3 reviews from this member

Had 5 nights here with first class weather, the facilities are A1 you will struggle to get better although it was quite noticeable from the ground that the site does not drain to well with lots o bold mud patches and filled in areas where it had been wet.

The shower block and toilets are 5 star as is the on site chip shop a real one not just a take away.

The brand new facilities are unbelievable the indoor pool, gym, sauna and steam run are a great addition as is the new informal eating area with tv on the walls, indoor play area and pool tables.

If you want a meal in the downstairs restaurant with entertainment this also available or why no enjoy coffee and a cake on the terrace overlooking the outdoor pool area.

The fishing lakes are well stocked and add an extra dimension to the park.

The two pubs down the lane are excellent for food and drink the ship inn and the anchor.

Excellent shop with everything you could possibly want.

Not cheap but worth every penny

Previous     192 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


596 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1211