Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 212 Reviews
              8/10 from 212 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  212 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rytoncampers 3 reviews from this member

Spent two nights here in an Outwell Montana 6. Didn't expect to be pitching On gravel so didn't have the right pegs. The on site shop sold them for 1 each!

Nice site in a lovely position with view of the lake. Some great walks from the site. Staff very friendly and helpful. Toilets and showers looked quite new and were clean. The pub is handy, it rained so it was nice to be indoors! Kids loved the games room and the play area. Nice big field too for them to play on. The site was very noisy (considering it's name!) and we were woken through the night and very early in the morning by families with very young children.

Enjoyed our stay but wouldn't rush back.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Switchbird 1 review from this member

Stayed this weekend with my partner, son and dog. Lovely campsite, very well run and very welcoming. Good mix of people and children for my son to play with. Great dog walking facilities too!

What blew me away was the bar! Totally up my street, with ram skulls and bears, absolutely loved it! There was a young lad doing magic tricks too and he was amazing!

The walk from the site to Aira Force Waterfalls and back was in credible too with a spectacular view of Ullswater.

Only thing that spoilt my stay was our blow up bed deflating and the gravel under the tent meant I didn't sleep properly for both nights but that was our fault!

Will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vw kid 4 reviews from this member

Stayed for a long weekend, rang and said it would be late when I would be arriving, I was informed to just call at the bar,

Told to go anywhere I wanted,

Site is very relaxed staff always around if needed, small shop on site, toilets very clean showers are FREE,

This site is around 1 mile up a country lane but don't let that put you off this is a well run site very clean with kids play area and lots of walks direct from site.

There was a good mix of old and young campers tourers and statics with some real nice camper vans

Sum it up quality site well run very clean good atmosphere

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jayt1 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for a week toilets showers and baths are good. Site is three miles from nearest village and ten miles from nearest town. Dog friendly site with dog friendly pub but only opens three hours a night. Had to move my caravan and awning forward three yards after two days so they could dig a channel for new pipes with a digger that woke us up at early doors. They did say they would see us ok at the bar but I'm still waiting. I would go back but I would insist on a pitch on the second or third level or near the toilets. Also there is free wifi on this site but only if you are close to the toilet.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Amoo 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site with great facilities, without being tacky, The shower block is modern and clean although there are only a few showers so get there early! Plenty of hot water and hairdryers in the ladies. The two bathrooms were well appointed- one had a baby bath there for use. The site bar is amazing-really quirky and well worth a visit! Pitches were well spaced and the kids play area kept them all amused. Its a fabulous site in a fabulous area and we will definitely be back. Not a cheap site, but a good site.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Annechuck8 1 review from this member

WE have been on the Quiet site from March 2014 to the end of February 2015. We have enjoyed our stay on the Quiet Site. There are plenty of toilets and showers. They are cleaned everyday. There are three bathrooms to have a bath. There is play area for the children. A dog walking area to take your dogs. The pub is very nice with a real fire on. The people are all very nice and friendly and make you feel welcome. There are plenty of places to visit around the area. Penrith is not far to go for a walk around the shops.

Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracy Coker 9 reviews from this member

Helloooo, we are from New Zealand and just finished travelling around England and Wales (over 2 months). Arrived here and were greeted by a warm welcome. We tented for two nights and stayed in the camping pods for two more nights. Tenting was good. The pitches drained well and there was a great view of the valley below. However, some of the pitches were not very level, although, camping in winter we could tent wherever we wanted to. The majority of the pitches are on top of a hill, so when the wind picked up there was no shelter. The facilities were quite a walk from the pitches, but we didn't mind because its such a lovely site to walk around. The camping pods were great. Had a lamp and two heaters so we could get a bit of luxury, but still with the feel of camping. This site is right in the heart of the lakes district, not far from Lake ullswater, windermere, thirlmere. Also not far from Penrith if you need to pop to the supermarket. Great pub on site warm and a comfortable atmosphere.

Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leeguapo 6 reviews from this member

The not so quiet site. Booked Monday to Thursday and explained to the lady who I booked with that we were so looking forward to relaxing in the old bar by the fire with a few pints. She forgot to tell us that the bar is only open on Fridays and Saturdays? Then on Wednesday night a coach full of 18 year olds turned up and took over the bar/nightclub for a party and blasted the music out til 1am even though this site prides itself on curfew after 10pm. Lovely location but would certainly not return.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gundigirl 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site with great clean facilities, plenty of information available from reception/shop, some lovely walks to be had in the area or drive to other lakes, would definitely return to this site, there is a good laundry area and plenty of sinks for washing up, nice hard standing plots which do really require the heavy duty pegs if putting up an awning.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cc43 17 reviews from this member

The staff on this site were very friendly and helpful and the facilities are modern and clean. The views over Ullswater and the surrounding countryside are lovely.

There is no disabled toilet or shower, but there are two spacious bathrooms.

Once we are settled on a site, we prefer to use public transport or bikes to get around, rather than our motorhome - from this point of view the site's location isn't ideal but is manageable. There are several good walks directly from the site. To get further afield you have to go 1. 5 to 2 miles down (and back up) a fairly steep hill to reach the main road beside Ullswater. Once you are on the main road there is a good bus service and pleasant cycling.

There is one washing machine and one tumble dryer; maybe another one would have been useful as lots of families were staying.

Previous     212 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8169 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1250