Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Crow Park Road
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5EP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01768 772392

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 19 Feb - 03 Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 167 Reviews
              8/10 from 167 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (8) and Video

Reviews:  167 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy 2009 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from spending 2 nights at this stunning site. I stayed here several years ago so can also say that the new shower block is a blessing. The views are stunning, overlooking derwent water and the numerous mountains that surround keswick. I would have to say that I find some of the staff a little over zealous. We had a small fire on our barbecue that was at least 10 feet away from our own tent and at least 30 feet away from any other tent. We didn't know that open fires were not permitted but the stroppy nature of the steward that cycled over and ordered us to extinguish it immediately was staggering. There are ways you can go about implementing a no fire policy, but to start saying that we could be responsible for the charred remains of other campers was utterly ridiculous. We actually only had one firelog on the barbecue (to deter mossy's and midges) and we were sat around it, it's not like we had left a roaring open fire with damp logs spitting and crackling and had gone to bed. Other campers mentioned to us in the morning that they thought the steward had been rude as well. It's only a small gripe but one that might make me consider using a different site in the future. Really handy for all the amenities of keswick as well as having numerous walks close at hand. Lighten up stewards, people are there on holiday!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 45 reviews from this member

Another lovely stay at Keswick the staff were as usual very friendly and helpful. The refurbished toilet block, laundry and campers kitchen is great, but must admit I did not use showers I used the lowers block these were fine for me and my family The site is situated on the edge of the lake a ( I believe you can launch your own boats for a fee} and within a short walk into town were there are great shops restaurants cafes and real ale pubs most of which allow dogs in the bars. The half marathon was run when we were there and was interesting to watch the end of the race at the rugby club which is next door ad open to campers to the site. There are plenty of walks for the fit within the area and buses to Windermere, Bowness, etc.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Poacher9599 8 reviews from this member

We have been using Keswick campsite as our getaway for many years and have never had a problem with anything there. We were always amazed that people complained about the toilet/shower facilities as they were always kept clean and tidy. Well they cannot complain anymore they are fabulous.

My only complaint is that we will have to plan breaks even earlier as this wonderful site is going to get even busier !

Its location on the lake, Booths supermarkets and the pubs (Dog and Gun) and lovely bars (Magnolia and Cafe 26) make it my favourite place to relax, walk and chill out with my hubby and dogs

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cjboddy 4 reviews from this member

First visit to the site and very impressed. In fact already booked to go back!

Excellent location with a few minutes walk to shops, pubs and town centre. Fantastic views of Derwentater, catbells etc. Can also launch kayaks, canoe's. From the site. Staff very friendly and helpful. Escorted to pitch and help assistance offered to park up. 2 facilities blocks and one seemed to be brand new. Lots of toilets and showers so no problem with queue's and always spotless during our stay. Mops and squeegee's on hand to clean showers down after use. On site dog walk with no issues of owners not cleaning up. Small shop on site. Picnic benches alongside derwentwater.

We parked the car on our arrival and it never moved until we left the site. Plenty to do locally.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 402 reviews from this member

This site is in a brilliant location, right on the shores of Derwentwater and a short stroll into the town centre. It makes an excellent base for exploring the Lake Dustrict - Borrowdale and the Northern Fells are on the doorstep and it is an easy drive to other places worth visiting, such as Ullswater, Grasmere and Ambleside.

In 2014, the site is undergoing a major revamp with a brand new facilities block under construction, meaning the older, dated facilities block will be no more.

Excellent site. Book early to avoid disappointment!

Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wakker1 15 reviews from this member

Visited here for the period over Christmas, the site had quite a few units on but the bottom end of the park was under water. The facilities are fine with plenty hot water.

The site is a few minutes walk from the town centre which is very nice an also very dog friendly.

Unfortunately our stay was cut short, due to the rain continuing on our second day, which caused the management of the site to evacuate everyone off due to the imminent danger of the site flooding.

We will return when it will possibly be a bit kinder on the weather front.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pooh and Gruffalo 23 reviews from this member

This was a lovely site on the edge of Derwentwater and just 10 minutes walk from Keswick centre with its shops and restaurants. The site has spectacular views over Derwentwater and is very popular. I would advise booking as we saw several people turned away when we arrived in October. Everywhere on site is very clean and well maintained. There are security gates to enter via a code and these are locked to vehicles at night. The pitches are level, well spaced out and mostly gravel areas set into the grassy surround. Electricity points are plentiful. There are two toilet blocks on the site, both a bit old but clean and with good facilities inside including showers with seating provided in the dry area, washing up & clothes washing facilities. The reception has limited shopping but does offer discount tickets for the Derwentwater launch. There is a lovely dog walking area along the lake and into the field next to the site. Doggy poop bags are provided at reception as well as bins at the dog walk. We are already planning a return to this site.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baldrick2 16 reviews from this member

This site is a gem! It is in a beautiful spot by Derwentwater. If you are lucky enough to get a front spot facing the water - what a view. We were further back but still had views of the hills and cannot complain about that. It was our first time for visiting the site and won`t be the last. It takes only 5 minutes to walk into Keswick and also the main terminal for the buses. There are so many walks from the site, and we also cycled to Threlkeld down the old railway line which was very scenic following the river. The only negative about this site is the facilities blocks - they are so old and need updating. But the positives outweigh the negative. A mention for the wardens also - they are very friendly and helpful.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kathryn J 16 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay. The location is fab and there has been a lot of money spent on adding more hardstanding pitches. However, the toilet block facilities are still very poor and are in desperate need of refurbishment. The lower block is full of cobwebs and mould on all the tiles and ceiling. The site was full, obviously the new hardstanding pitches are bringing the money in, c. Mon Keswick upgrade your toilet blocks.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coansha 2 reviews from this member

Stayed 2 nights and overall site was OK but would look for another when next visiting Keswick.

Positives.

Good position

Clean amenities (agree they are old but were functional and clean)

Negatives

Wet ground with lying water in many places

Lower field far too far from amenities (much better would be pitches close to entrance)

Overall feels much more set up for caravans. Camping feels like poor relations. Poor field, far from amenities.

Previous     167 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth 225! Win a Coolbox Cool n Store Package worth over 235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4873 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977