Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Crow Park Road
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5EP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01768 772392

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 19 Feb 2015 - 03 Jan 2016

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 151 Reviews
              8/10 from 151 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (8) and Video

Reviews:  151 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sammie16 16 reviews from this member

We would definitely recommend this site. Even though we were put in the middle with a big muddy puddle next to us. It rained the first two days we were here and our caravan looked like it had its own moat!

But the position couldn't be more fantastic. 5 mins walk and you are at a nice big supermarket. That is also where the buses stop. That is also where the rest of the shops start. So within 10 mins from your caravan you can be in the High Street. But the wonderful thing was being right next to Derwent Lake. 20 steps and we were at the shoreside. Kids, dogs, adults, boating, everything was going on.

We had wonderful walks including Skiddaw Mountain. Give it a try but be prepared to be out of breath most of the way up - it is very steep. But an easy path to navigate - in fact you don't need a map. Over 3, 000 feet high and wonderful views of Derwent Lake and Bassenthwaite Lake when you get to the top. We actually found it harder coming down. The poor knees and toes suffered a bit!

Plenty of cafes and restaurants. The Pencil Museum just round the corner. Try walking around Derwent Lake. Its approximately 10 miles and is a really lovely walk - fairly level. Walking actually next to the Lake was lovely - no cars.

We would definitely return if we are in the area again. We found the other campers really friendly and the staff too. Toilets clean and launderette reasonable.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kathryn J 16 reviews from this member

Just returned from Keswick site, very very disappointed. The site is in a great location and we have visited it several times a year for the last few years. However, this will probably be our last visit.

We were pitched on the front, the pitch was too small for our motorhome and we were told that we could not use our canopy. I tried to explain that we had not booked this type of pitch as we wanted to use our canopy and was told by a rude male warden 'tough it's either that pitch or nothing'. Horrible attitude when this is supposed to be a nice relaxing weekend which we have paid peak season prices for.

I agree with other reviews about the showers, they are disgusting with black mould all over the walls and ceiling, and even the shower curtains have dirty black mould on them.

This site falls far below the standard of the Camping and Caravan Club. We are also members of the Caravan Club and would say that their standards of hygiene are exceptionally better.

Be warned that the showers could well be a health and safety issue and are in desperate need of refurbishment

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Andy+Debs 1 review from this member

We're a bit torn with this site.

On the positive side, the Location is fantastic, a 10 minute stroll or 5 minute cycle in to town, supermarket round the corner and 10 minutes round to the Keswick stop of the Derwent launch so no real need to drive anywhere in the town. The staff, I found very friendly too.

I have to echo some previous reviews regarding the facilities blocks; they are dated and in need of refurbishment, although they are kept as clean as possible by the staff and there's no shortage of hot water. They fall below the standard of a club site by some way.

The site really does need to sort out its drainage issues. We had booked a jumbo pitch with EHU due to the size of our awning, and received a phone call the day before arrival saying we probably wouldn't be able to have it due to soft ground but 'we'll fit you in somewhere'.

On arrival we were told we couldn't go on the jumbo pitches as we had a driveaway awning and would probably get stuck going in and out. We could see that even though there had been little rain there were patches of grass fenced off with logs; clearly where there'd been some large puddles.

We ended up waiting around an hour to find a pitch and were eventually put right at the back of the site backing on to the river, a pleasant pitch but to get the van in and out we had to drive through other pitches, which is hardly ideal.

Much to my dismay, a couple of days after our arrival, several large tents with large cars were put on the jumbo pitches which we weren't allowed on; I've no idea if the cars got bogged down or not but it reeks of double standards somewhat when our small camper weighs about the same as an estate car.

Then the heavens opened and stayed open for a good 36 hours, a fair few grass, and hard standing pitches became more than soggy and half of our awning started to float (thanks for sewn in groundsheets). It wouldn't take a mammoth effort to get some proper drainage channels put in to the site, especially given the rainfall in the area, these could also serve as pitch markers if needed.

In all, we'd be happy to return, more so if the facilities were upgraded

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ENOCH 22 reviews from this member

We have just spent 9 nights on this site and really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere from other people and the wardens.

This is a really nice site in an excellent location and ideally situated to explore the Lake District, by whatever mode of transport you wish. The wardens are very friendly and are constantly working around the site to maintain it to a high standard.

The wash room facilities on site are acceptable and the staff do a great job in keeping them clean. We will definitely be returning to this site on a regular basis.

The site is located near the centre of Keswick and the local bus station is only a 5 minute walk away. The site has a small play area for children.

The sites location on the shores of Derwentwater makes it an ideal location for people who enjoy boating or just watching all the ducks etc.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Whatamess 24 reviews from this member

This site just wasn't for me. I found the wardens very off-hand, we were given no information on where to find anything (toilets, drinking water etc). The main toilet block was closed due to flooding the previous week but the upper block was open for the first couple of days. Once the main block re-opened, it took me a day to find the showers, which were at the back of the block at the far end - foolishly I expected them to be with the toilets!

The showers were OK but had fixed heads which were fixed quite low and very close to the wall which made hair-washing a bit difficult. The blocks are in desperate need of refurbishment and upgrading.

The site had only just opened after being flooded so only hard-standings were in use but it was very regimented and must be awful when all the grass pitches are in use as well.

I dispute the 5 minute walk into town and would say it is more like 15 minutes - from the far end of the site, near the river, it's about 3 minutes just to walk to the toilets.

The town is quite nice but very commercialised. There are some nice easy walks around though. We walked along an old railway into Threkeld where there's a lovely pub which did the best meal we had in the whole week.

I would go back to Keswick but not to this site.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kala Taxidi 6 reviews from this member

So close to the lake we bought a Kayak and used it on the lake. Great for Catbells and Skiddaw!

Only downside which was a bit annoying is people traipsing through our pitch. We were at the front near the water, apparently the first 2 rows you are not allowed awnings, canopies, wind breaks, nothing so our pitch (and all the others in the first 2 rows) was a thoroughfare for everyone and as we only had a small campervan on a rather large pitch.

A motorhome next to us put up a small pup tent and was told to take it down the owner said her chairs were higher than the tent did she have to not use them as well, they were told take the tent down end of! ridiculous, it wasn't spoiling the views at all.

As we were with friends we laid all our chairs, tables, blanket in a line to kind of mark our territory, people still walked through whilst we were sat having a BBQ. If the site could just put paths in so people could use them, it would help this annoyance. I am sure the tenters wouldn't like us to cut across their little area!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BRYANMITCH 2 reviews from this member

Excellent location. Saves you a fortune on parking round Keswick area. Site, facilities and staff up to usual high standard you would expect from camping club.

Only found 1 problem with site and it is a big one. We were pitched on an area called 'the island' as were most of the tenting families(hikig size tents wont have this problem) and were a good 5 to 6 minute walk from the 2 toilet block/dish -washing areas----not really practical especially in darkness. Advise you to take a toilet tent or ask for pitch with elec. Hookup which are very close to the amenities (and surrounded by caravans or motorhomes who don't really need to be so close?).

Great for canoes and dinghies with direct access to lake. Motor-bike friendly and -like most sites in the lakes-dog friendly!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Esther1 9 reviews from this member

This site is most probably the Camping & Caravanning Clubs best located site, it's literally on the shores of Derwentwater with views down into the Borrowdale valley and there are mountains in every direction.

As well as having the views you are only a 5 minute walk from Keswick town centre and numerous walks so you could pitch up and not need to move your car again.

There are 3 sets of wardens and we met all of them throughout our 8 day stay and each one of them were friendly, polite & chatty, they're very visible and are always busy emptying the bins and mowing the grass so the site looks very neat and well kept.

We use our own facilities and so I only went into the facilities blocks for the purpose of my review, the toilet block is fine, a bit dated but most importantly clean, the shower block isn't nice though, again it's old fashioned but it smells musty and damp and there is black mould growing all over the walls, between the tiles and around the little baskets suckered to the wall to place your shower gel etc in.

I spoke to a fellow caravanner there who has been using the site for years and said that each year she's told it will be updated 'next year' but never is.

The main downside for us is how packed it gets, the 6 metre rule was non existent, when we arrived the warden paced out a distance between us and my parents who had arrived earlier which was fine but within a day or two we had tents close behind us and they squeezed a caravan the other side that was so close we had to park about 1 foot from our awning to avoid hitting their water carriers.

This was the same all around the site, vans and tents crammed into every space, it also meant it was a noisy site, there were groups of people up late talking loudly, radios on well after 11pm and from 7am, kids racing around and shouting in the dog walk (with no dogs), football between the vans, bikes across the pitches and several times a day people walking across our pitch even though there is a road around the site, I dread to think what it's like in high season, if you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing site then this one isn't for you.

The aforementioned dog walk is great though when it only has dog walkers in, it's along the shore and into a meadow with a network of paths mowed across it.

One very important thing to be aware of is the fact that due to its location on the shore of the lake with 2 rivers meeting in the back corner of the site it is very prone to flooding and it floods fast.

We had a mainly dry week yet on our last day after just one night of heavy rain the water table rose and the site was evacuated.

If you book please make sure the wardens have an up to date mobile phone number as they had several people whom they had tried to contact but only had home numbers for and had already set out, as we left there was a caravan pulling up who was turned away at the gate.

It's a good site that could be a cracking site with a new facilities block, 20% less pitches and a few rules for the benefit of everybody.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bryoak1958 35 reviews from this member

Stayed here for five nights, were going to go for four but would only allow five

On tow with our little dog, mainly to walk up scafell pike as this is a perfect location for everything in the western lakes.

The site is right on the lakeside with lovely views all round and five minutes walk from Keswick town, that has something for everybody, our little dog could get in most of the pubs (though pretty expensive for a pint) which suits us fine.

The site itself is very nice and flat but can get waterlogged when raining, but it is the lakes

Staff friendly

Nice dog walk

Showers a bit dated, but you cant have brand new all the time

All in all a nice site and I am going back.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dillonsma 6 reviews from this member

Can only say this is the worst campsite I have ever had the misfortune to stay at.

Yes the location is great but that is where it ends.

The facilities blocks are awful, mould, rust and cobwebs in cubicles and when we were there the pump to one block broke twice in three days and the block was closed. It was pumped out at midnight, a hideous noise. One facilities block with four showers is not good for 250 pitches! No apology or comment from the wardens other than it disturbed then too and they are fed up with the state of the showers.

Such a pity as it could be so good.

Previous     151 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Codicote, Hertfordshire 02/05 to 31/05
A massive range of tents, trailer tents and accessories on display to wander around

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8145 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0586