Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Crow Park Road
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5EP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01768 772392

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 171 Reviews
              8/10 from 171 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (8) and Video

Reviews:  171 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmy1980 29 reviews from this member

Reviewed before but thought I would do an update!

We come to this site every year as it is simply the best! The views are magnificent. On arrival we asked if we could be close to the play area and the friendly assistant showed us to the perfect pitch. The upper toilet block has been renovated to a high standard, personally I never had a problem with the toilet block but I know a lot felt they were outdated - they certainly aren't now! Plenty of warm showers (although you can't adjust the temperature and they're push button - but this is often the case) and nice clean bright facilities. A short walk into town and you're in the centre of keswick. Booths is great to pick up everything. You've got to have fish and chips from the old keswickian. We also enjoy a sandwich from Jan's Lakeland sandwich shop at the top of the street, very tasty.

This really is the perfect site - amazing views, great walks from your pitch, friendly staff and a great play area!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fudge59 21 reviews from this member

First of all, be sure to book! We turned up on spec on a Sunday lunchtime with a tent and only just got in.

It's a beautiful location on Derwentwater, a short walk away from all the facilities in Keswick, very handy for eating out, shops, and buses if you don't feel like driving. There are great walks out from the site, we didn't need the car once we'd pitched our tent. Nice showers and washing up facilities.

The one minus was a noisy group coming back from town at 3 am on two nights. However, when we reported it when leaving (we were out walking and didn't get back until late the first day) the staff said they'd have thrown the group off if it had been reported beforehand, so they are prepared to deal with this.

Fantastic site, would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Suzyjayne 2 reviews from this member

Love this site been several times -always clean, tidy and well maintained. New toilet and shower block this time which was spotless. Campsite is ideally situated and within walking distance to Keswick.

The staff are polite and some of them can't do enough for you. One issue I had is that my husband and I are members of the caravan and camping club and have been for several years and have been to the site. For the last few years I have only had to show a membership card now you have to show each persons card so please remember to take these with you as they are unable to check membership even though it is a club site!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Coastcamper 15 reviews from this member

This is the 4th time we have stayed here. This time selected specifically to accommodate my 82 year old mother and 25 year old daughter's first motorhome trip!

Haven't read any other reviews as know site well but surprised to see it only scores 8/10.

We have nothing but praise and the updated facilities block is an added bonus.

Good sized pitches, helpful staff, stunning location, every facility you could want is on the doorstep.

Some may say pricey as you have to book 3 nights min, and 5 in high season. So for our party £90 approx, but we only stayed 2 nights. What other accommodation could you get for 3 people for £45 a night. As far as I am concerned I was happy to pay for what I wanted - perfect location.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy 2009 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from spending 2 nights at this stunning site. I stayed here several years ago so can also say that the new shower block is a blessing. The views are stunning, overlooking derwent water and the numerous mountains that surround keswick. I would have to say that I find some of the staff a little over zealous. We had a small fire on our barbecue that was at least 10 feet away from our own tent and at least 30 feet away from any other tent. We didn't know that open fires were not permitted but the stroppy nature of the steward that cycled over and ordered us to extinguish it immediately was staggering. There are ways you can go about implementing a no fire policy, but to start saying that we could be responsible for the charred remains of other campers was utterly ridiculous. We actually only had one firelog on the barbecue (to deter mossy's and midges) and we were sat around it, it's not like we had left a roaring open fire with damp logs spitting and crackling and had gone to bed. Other campers mentioned to us in the morning that they thought the steward had been rude as well. It's only a small gripe but one that might make me consider using a different site in the future. Really handy for all the amenities of keswick as well as having numerous walks close at hand. Lighten up stewards, people are there on holiday!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 45 reviews from this member

Another lovely stay at Keswick the staff were as usual very friendly and helpful. The refurbished toilet block, laundry and campers kitchen is great, but must admit I did not use showers I used the lowers block these were fine for me and my family The site is situated on the edge of the lake a ( I believe you can launch your own boats for a fee} and within a short walk into town were there are great shops restaurants cafes and real ale pubs most of which allow dogs in the bars. The half marathon was run when we were there and was interesting to watch the end of the race at the rugby club which is next door ad open to campers to the site. There are plenty of walks for the fit within the area and buses to Windermere, Bowness, etc.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Poacher9599 8 reviews from this member

We have been using Keswick campsite as our getaway for many years and have never had a problem with anything there. We were always amazed that people complained about the toilet/shower facilities as they were always kept clean and tidy. Well they cannot complain anymore they are fabulous.

My only complaint is that we will have to plan breaks even earlier as this wonderful site is going to get even busier !

Its location on the lake, Booths supermarkets and the pubs (Dog and Gun) and lovely bars (Magnolia and Cafe 26) make it my favourite place to relax, walk and chill out with my hubby and dogs

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cjboddy 4 reviews from this member

First visit to the site and very impressed. In fact already booked to go back!

Excellent location with a few minutes walk to shops, pubs and town centre. Fantastic views of Derwentater, catbells etc. Can also launch kayaks, canoe's. From the site. Staff very friendly and helpful. Escorted to pitch and help assistance offered to park up. 2 facilities blocks and one seemed to be brand new. Lots of toilets and showers so no problem with queue's and always spotless during our stay. Mops and squeegee's on hand to clean showers down after use. On site dog walk with no issues of owners not cleaning up. Small shop on site. Picnic benches alongside derwentwater.

We parked the car on our arrival and it never moved until we left the site. Plenty to do locally.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 407 reviews from this member

This site is in a brilliant location, right on the shores of Derwentwater and a short stroll into the town centre. It makes an excellent base for exploring the Lake Dustrict - Borrowdale and the Northern Fells are on the doorstep and it is an easy drive to other places worth visiting, such as Ullswater, Grasmere and Ambleside.

In 2014, the site is undergoing a major revamp with a brand new facilities block under construction, meaning the older, dated facilities block will be no more.

Excellent site. Book early to avoid disappointment!

Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wakker1 15 reviews from this member

Visited here for the period over Christmas, the site had quite a few units on but the bottom end of the park was under water. The facilities are fine with plenty hot water.

The site is a few minutes walk from the town centre which is very nice an also very dog friendly.

Unfortunately our stay was cut short, due to the rain continuing on our second day, which caused the management of the site to evacuate everyone off due to the imminent danger of the site flooding.

We will return when it will possibly be a bit kinder on the weather front.

Previous     171 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack 5 pairs of Weekend Camping Tickets for the UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 18 - 21 August 2017
East Yorkshire - the world’s biggest tribute band music festival, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3663 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938