Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Crow Park Road
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5EP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01768 772392

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 20 Feb 2014 - 04 Jan 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 133 Reviews
              8/10 from 133 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 19 to 24                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BRYANMITCH 2 reviews from this member

Excellent location. Saves you a fortune on parking round Keswick area. Site, facilities and staff up to usual high standard you would expect from camping club.

Only found 1 problem with site and it is a big one. We were pitched on an area called 'the island' as were most of the tenting families(hikig size tents wont have this problem) and were a good 5 to 6 minute walk from the 2 toilet block/dish -washing areas----not really practical especially in darkness. Advise you to take a toilet tent or ask for pitch with elec. Hookup which are very close to the amenities (and surrounded by caravans or motorhomes who don't really need to be so close?).

Great for canoes and dinghies with direct access to lake. Motor-bike friendly and -like most sites in the lakes-dog friendly!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Esther1 9 reviews from this member

This site is most probably the Camping & Caravanning Clubs best located site, it's literally on the shores of Derwentwater with views down into the Borrowdale valley and there are mountains in every direction.

As well as having the views you are only a 5 minute walk from Keswick town centre and numerous walks so you could pitch up and not need to move your car again.

There are 3 sets of wardens and we met all of them throughout our 8 day stay and each one of them were friendly, polite & chatty, they're very visible and are always busy emptying the bins and mowing the grass so the site looks very neat and well kept.

We use our own facilities and so I only went into the facilities blocks for the purpose of my review, the toilet block is fine, a bit dated but most importantly clean, the shower block isn't nice though, again it's old fashioned but it smells musty and damp and there is black mould growing all over the walls, between the tiles and around the little baskets suckered to the wall to place your shower gel etc in.

I spoke to a fellow caravanner there who has been using the site for years and said that each year she's told it will be updated 'next year' but never is.

The main downside for us is how packed it gets, the 6 metre rule was non existent, when we arrived the warden paced out a distance between us and my parents who had arrived earlier which was fine but within a day or two we had tents close behind us and they squeezed a caravan the other side that was so close we had to park about 1 foot from our awning to avoid hitting their water carriers.

This was the same all around the site, vans and tents crammed into every space, it also meant it was a noisy site, there were groups of people up late talking loudly, radios on well after 11pm and from 7am, kids racing around and shouting in the dog walk (with no dogs), football between the vans, bikes across the pitches and several times a day people walking across our pitch even though there is a road around the site, I dread to think what it's like in high season, if you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing site then this one isn't for you.

The aforementioned dog walk is great though when it only has dog walkers in, it's along the shore and into a meadow with a network of paths mowed across it.

One very important thing to be aware of is the fact that due to its location on the shore of the lake with 2 rivers meeting in the back corner of the site it is very prone to flooding and it floods fast.

We had a mainly dry week yet on our last day after just one night of heavy rain the water table rose and the site was evacuated.

If you book please make sure the wardens have an up to date mobile phone number as they had several people whom they had tried to contact but only had home numbers for and had already set out, as we left there was a caravan pulling up who was turned away at the gate.

It's a good site that could be a cracking site with a new facilities block, 20% less pitches and a few rules for the benefit of everybody.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bryoak1958 35 reviews from this member

Stayed here for five nights, were going to go for four but would only allow five

On tow with our little dog, mainly to walk up scafell pike as this is a perfect location for everything in the western lakes.

The site is right on the lakeside with lovely views all round and five minutes walk from Keswick town, that has something for everybody, our little dog could get in most of the pubs (though pretty expensive for a pint) which suits us fine.

The site itself is very nice and flat but can get waterlogged when raining, but it is the lakes

Staff friendly

Nice dog walk

Showers a bit dated, but you cant have brand new all the time

All in all a nice site and I am going back.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dillonsma 6 reviews from this member

Can only say this is the worst campsite I have ever had the misfortune to stay at.

Yes the location is great but that is where it ends.

The facilities blocks are awful, mould, rust and cobwebs in cubicles and when we were there the pump to one block broke twice in three days and the block was closed. It was pumped out at midnight, a hideous noise. One facilities block with four showers is not good for 250 pitches! No apology or comment from the wardens other than it disturbed then too and they are fed up with the state of the showers.

Such a pity as it could be so good.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 259 reviews from this member

This is a brilliantly located site on the shores of Derwentwater, possibly one of the best views from a campsite you will see!

It's very popular so book early. It's a 5 minute walk to Keswick Town Centre, and excellent place for eating, drinking and shopping for essentials.

There's a good bus service in the summer too so you can get around without the usual hassles of parking in this area!

Facilities on site are OK, although they could do with an update. The vast majority of staff are great, but we were given a frosty reception by one lady.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Purplebonnie 8 reviews from this member

This site is in an excellent location. There is some mention on here about the condition of the toilets and showers, during our stay (over the very busy Easter period) they were always found to be clean, they are dated and the showers are in need of upgrading but they are perfectly fit for purpose. We had a lovely pitch (although it did flood) which backed on to Derwent Water.

During our stay we had a great deal of trouble with the electricity supply. In general staff on the site were not particularly helpful and at times were very abrupt with the visitors. However, once I arrived back home and called Head Office to make a note of this I was treated in a much more positive manner and can not fault the way I was treated.

The site is run by a number of people, some friendly but unfortunately some not.

There is a small shop on site which sells the basics, however Booths supermarket is within walking distance of the site.

All in all a great site in an excellent location where you could park up and not use the car for the duration of your stay.

Previous     133 Review in total, now showing 19 to 24      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


10468 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469