Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Crow Park Road
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5EP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01768 772392

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 175 Reviews
              8/10 from 175 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (8) and Video

Reviews:  175 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: WOBBLE 18 reviews from this member

AS last review said toilet block is great, and the good news is the other toilet block is now been refurbished. If its like the other it to will be great, it also looks like they have put some ground drainage on the grass pitches near to the lake, all the roads have been resurfaced into and around the site, wardens as usual great service.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andypye 12 reviews from this member

I cannot say enough about this site.

Great reception from site upon arrival, despite the rain. Efficiently checked in and shown to pitch. Location is right on the lake but also only five minutes walk from marvellous Keswick.

Toilet and shower block are immaculate with plenty of space and plenty of hot water!

Small shop on site but supermarket very close by also.

Scenery from site is amazing, every time you look out over the lake or mountains, the view has changed. A photographers paradise.

Can't wait to go back.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 407 reviews from this member

Location

Possibly one of the best sites in the Lakes for location. It's right on the shore of Derwentwater with stunning views but only 5-10 minute walk into Keswick.

Facilities

The toilets and showers have been totally refurbished in 2014, which was the only drawback during previous visits to the site. They've done a brilliant job and facilities are now spotless.

Cost

You pay for the location here. In high season, expect high fees. Well worth it though.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thesmiths44 8 reviews from this member

Arrived late on after a phone call.

Plenty of space mid week on the backpacker field in front of Derwent Water, beautiful setting.

Check in smooth and as non members, cost was plus 6 odd per tent.

Pitching no issue, the odd stone only.

Shower block was clean and great.

Sleep no issue, early up with the noisy geese.

You can swim in the lake and charges are 2 something to launch a kayak.

All in all, loved the site and will return.

Quick walk into town.

Don't go booths for breakfast as it was pants!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmy1980 29 reviews from this member

Reviewed before but thought I would do an update!

We come to this site every year as it is simply the best! The views are magnificent. On arrival we asked if we could be close to the play area and the friendly assistant showed us to the perfect pitch. The upper toilet block has been renovated to a high standard, personally I never had a problem with the toilet block but I know a lot felt they were outdated - they certainly aren't now! Plenty of warm showers (although you can't adjust the temperature and they're push button - but this is often the case) and nice clean bright facilities. A short walk into town and you're in the centre of keswick. Booths is great to pick up everything. You've got to have fish and chips from the old keswickian. We also enjoy a sandwich from Jan's Lakeland sandwich shop at the top of the street, very tasty.

This really is the perfect site - amazing views, great walks from your pitch, friendly staff and a great play area!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fudge59 21 reviews from this member

First of all, be sure to book! We turned up on spec on a Sunday lunchtime with a tent and only just got in.

It's a beautiful location on Derwentwater, a short walk away from all the facilities in Keswick, very handy for eating out, shops, and buses if you don't feel like driving. There are great walks out from the site, we didn't need the car once we'd pitched our tent. Nice showers and washing up facilities.

The one minus was a noisy group coming back from town at 3 am on two nights. However, when we reported it when leaving (we were out walking and didn't get back until late the first day) the staff said they'd have thrown the group off if it had been reported beforehand, so they are prepared to deal with this.

Fantastic site, would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Suzyjayne 2 reviews from this member

Love this site been several times -always clean, tidy and well maintained. New toilet and shower block this time which was spotless. Campsite is ideally situated and within walking distance to Keswick.

The staff are polite and some of them can't do enough for you. One issue I had is that my husband and I are members of the caravan and camping club and have been for several years and have been to the site. For the last few years I have only had to show a membership card now you have to show each persons card so please remember to take these with you as they are unable to check membership even though it is a club site!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Coastcamper 16 reviews from this member

This is the 4th time we have stayed here. This time selected specifically to accommodate my 82 year old mother and 25 year old daughter's first motorhome trip!

Haven't read any other reviews as know site well but surprised to see it only scores 8/10.

We have nothing but praise and the updated facilities block is an added bonus.

Good sized pitches, helpful staff, stunning location, every facility you could want is on the doorstep.

Some may say pricey as you have to book 3 nights min, and 5 in high season. So for our party 90 approx, but we only stayed 2 nights. What other accommodation could you get for 3 people for 45 a night. As far as I am concerned I was happy to pay for what I wanted - perfect location.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy 2009 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from spending 2 nights at this stunning site. I stayed here several years ago so can also say that the new shower block is a blessing. The views are stunning, overlooking derwent water and the numerous mountains that surround keswick. I would have to say that I find some of the staff a little over zealous. We had a small fire on our barbecue that was at least 10 feet away from our own tent and at least 30 feet away from any other tent. We didn't know that open fires were not permitted but the stroppy nature of the steward that cycled over and ordered us to extinguish it immediately was staggering. There are ways you can go about implementing a no fire policy, but to start saying that we could be responsible for the charred remains of other campers was utterly ridiculous. We actually only had one firelog on the barbecue (to deter mossy's and midges) and we were sat around it, it's not like we had left a roaring open fire with damp logs spitting and crackling and had gone to bed. Other campers mentioned to us in the morning that they thought the steward had been rude as well. It's only a small gripe but one that might make me consider using a different site in the future. Really handy for all the amenities of keswick as well as having numerous walks close at hand. Lighten up stewards, people are there on holiday!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 45 reviews from this member

Another lovely stay at Keswick the staff were as usual very friendly and helpful. The refurbished toilet block, laundry and campers kitchen is great, but must admit I did not use showers I used the lowers block these were fine for me and my family The site is situated on the edge of the lake a ( I believe you can launch your own boats for a fee} and within a short walk into town were there are great shops restaurants cafes and real ale pubs most of which allow dogs in the bars. The half marathon was run when we were there and was interesting to watch the end of the race at the rugby club which is next door ad open to campers to the site. There are plenty of walks for the fit within the area and buses to Windermere, Bowness, etc.

Previous     175 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4854 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1270