Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Point Sands Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Point Sands Holiday Park
Tayinloan
Kintyre
Tarbert
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA29 6XG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01583 441263

Facilities:  (Key)
                    

Nearby:
5m  1m  5m   5m  1m  5m 

Pitches: 50
Open: April 1st To October 31

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 45 Reviews
              8/10 from 45 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 19 to 24                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BrandNewDay 6 reviews from this member

Just spent two nights, just me and my oldest son.

The location is good - I adore Kintyre, and when the weather is good, it's stunning. The beach is nice and sandy, the views are beautiful.

Our pitch was large and level - they have a lot of space to spread campers out on. Unfortunately, they don't really have enough toilets and showers for all the campers. The ladies' ran out of loo roll on our first night, and on our second night, one of the toilets was out of order, so there were only three available. Two showers isn't very many, either. They cost £1, but I can't comment on them further as I just went without since we were really only there one full day.

The on site shop is OK. Plenty of water and beach toys available. They'd told me when I dropped by over a year ago that they were planning to get an off license, but they don't have it, yet.

It's a very child-friendly place, with a playground in the centre of the camping field, and the kids run about and have a lot of fun.

The takeaway catering van ('Cara's Cafe') does very nice food at breakfast, lunch, and dinner time.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sammy A 2 reviews from this member

Our family had a wonderful and eventful stay at this beautiful site over the last May bank holiday. We arrive with our tent and after a battle with the wind pitched for our four night stay.

The next day however some really bad wind forced us to have to take down our tent.

The owners and managers were wonderfully helpful sorting out a move to a beautiful static caravan. I really cannot sing the owners and managers praises highly enough. They helped so much to sort us out of a tricky situation and then were fantastic with advice and local knowledge of the area.

The site itself was lovely. The woods amazing to explore and a beach to die for ! Our bbq on the beach will long be remembered!

We would recommend this wonderful, peaceful family campsite to anyone.

Finally a trip to beautiful Gigha is a must. We hired bikes and had a great day exploring this beautiful island.

Thankyou to all at Point Sands ! Rachel, your site, staff, location and genuine caring customer service is wonderful!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Estweyn 3 reviews from this member

This site is situated in the most beautiful part of the country, a good mix of countryside and sea. Wildlife and birdwatchers will be in paradise.

The beach is clean and you can walk for miles either side, we pitched one row back from the sea as there were strong winds when we arrived, however the weather settled and we were in paradise.

Its easy to get over to Gigha via the ferry, we took the car and toured the island, the water is so clear, the views were stunning. The site itself was litter free, no hard standings but the ground seemed to drain pretty well.

We did not use the shower block but they did seem clean even if the building was a little dated, a small price to pay for such a wonderful spot.

The owners were great, telling us of when best to spot local wildlife and suggesting walks that we would never have even thought of. There was a kiddies play area, loads of room for kids to have a kick about without bothering anyone.

We will certainly be returning to this little paradise.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cathy54 1 review from this member

Superb site. Easy to find. Down a long single track lane to the site. Very welcoming. Large grass pitches. Fantastic views and lots of wildlife - saw 2 Otters on the beach.

Rachel does a Takeaway on Friday & Saturday evening. Kintyre scallops and chips to die for. Shop well stocked and you can order newspapers.

Springbank distillery in Campeltown is a must to visit. Will definitely return - preferably when it isn't stormy! Thought the van was going to blown over one night.

Even after all the rain we had an amazing sunset over Gigha. Ferry to Gigha is about 1 1/2 miles away but awkward to walk to.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: S Sandeman 1 review from this member

We arrived the day after a storm and the site was immaculate. We are a large touring caravan and were given a lovely pitch near to a water tap and views to Gigha & Jura that were stunning.

We were lucky to benefit from a heat wave. The site was clean and quiet with a well stocked basic shop. Whilst the facilities are not new this is made up for by the welcome and help one receives from the Camp site owners and staff.

We loved watching the bird life including a pair of goldfinches feeding off the wild grass seed on the edge of the dunes.

This site is a must if you enjoy beach activities and the quiet of the countryside in wonderful scenery. We will be returning.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ozzie2305 1 review from this member

Campsite is in a beautiful location with fantastic views to Gigha and Jura. Beaches and campsite spotless and camping area mostly flat and grassy / mossy underfoot.

Very welcoming management and staff, who couldn't have been more helpful. Shop on site well stocked with day-to-day supplies. Small swing park near the tents, so kids (2 and 6)were kept entertained while we got set up.

Toilet block small, but clean and tidy, and a mop and bucket provided so you could clean the shower area before use, if required.

Only two shower cubicles, but they were spacious with a decent amount of 'dry' room to get kids towelled and clothed without dropping stuff in a wet shower floor. Showers £1 for a decent amount of time, and nice and hot.

Only word of advice is that the site fairly exposed to wind (name gives it away!), and as the ground underfoot is sandy, we had some trouble pitching and keeping the tent pegged down in the fairly high winds - would recommend heavy duty pegs if in any doubt about weather conditions.

Saying that, the owner offered to allow us to relocate our tent after a particularly blustery night, and I believe had assisted a number of other campers.

Nice family campsite, would recommend.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 19 to 24      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4633 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1328