Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 5m  1m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 200 Reviews
              9/10 from 200 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  200 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sceptical Camper 38 reviews from this member

Formerly known as 'Hollins Farm', Eskdale is a small campsite which is maintained and operated to the Camping And Caravanning Club's very high standards.

For non-members, this is not a cheap campsite but for your money you get the reliable standards and peace of mind that come with C&CC sites. For members, the rate per person per night is very reasonable.

The campsite is situated on the narrow road that runs through the Esk valley. It is close to the hamlet of Boot and is set in breathtaking Lake District scenery. There are two pubs within a few minutes walk and another, the famous Woolpack Inn, about twenty minutes walk. All three pubs serve evening meals. The Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway (a narrow-gauge steam-hauled heritage line) is nearby.

The campsite entrance is clearly signposted and is an easy turn-in for eastbound traffic (coming from the coast) but a tight turn for westbound vehicles. Vehicles approaching from the east will have negotiated the notoriously steep and twisting road over Hardknott Pass (and, probably, the equally tortuous Wrynose Pass) so this is not a destination for towed caravans.

Like all C&CC sites there are staff living on site. I found the owner/warden and his team to be friendly and helpful. The noise curfew at night was enforced and there was a nice relaxed atmosphere.

There are stands of tall trees to provide shelter from the wind - the site is not on high ground but westerly winds run up the valley. A stone wall on one side and a beck (stream) on the other subdivide the site into three areas: the one over the beck has no road access and is for backpackers while the other two areas allow you park next to your tent. Most pitches are within reach of EHU (electric hook-up) points.

Very little of the site is on sloping ground so most pitches are level and all have adequate separation between them. During my stay, the grass was in fairly good condition (although there were some bare patches) and the soil took tent pegs easily.

The facilities block was well-equipped and spotless. There appeared to be adequate cubicles, showers and washing basins for the size of the site. The showers have large cubicles with stools and plenty of clothes hooks - very convenient. Everything was very clean and there was plenty of hot water during my visit. There is a small laundry room with washing machine and tumble drier. Rubbish bins and water standpipes are nearby.

Reception is staffed at arrival and departure times (morning and evening) and the shop sells local produce as well as camping accessories.

For active campers, Boot is a great base for walking with numerous upland and mountain routes within a day's hiking distance. The most challenging routes lead up through the remote and spectacular Upper Eskdale valley with the Scafell group to the west and Bowfell and Crinkle Crags to the east. There are, of course, plenty of easier walks nearby.

In summary, this is a well-situated campsite maintained to the club's customary high standard. I recommended Eskdale C&CC site and will definitely stay there again.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dollyrolac 1 review from this member

Absolutely beautiful area to stay with spotless facilities on site. Welcoming and relaxed greeting on arrival and nothing was too much trouble. It rained on the day of arrival but the site drained quickly so no muddy soggy mess next day at all!

There are a few lovely walks nearby with easy access from the site, whilst shops and a dog-friendly welcoming pub were just a short drive away.

Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shinealite 3 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site (sadly maybe our last as we are moving to a caravan and it is a tent only site) the reason it is a tent only site is to get to it you have to navigate some serious winding country roads or come over the hard knott pass (not for the faint hearted)

The site is fantastic, the facilities are spotless and the family that run it are very helpful. There are 2 little play areas for the kids one with a trampoline. There is no phone signal/Wi-Fi on the site which for me is a huge plus, but there are 3 pubs all in walking distance which offer free Wi-Fi, wonderful food and real ales galore! the views and scenery around the campsite are stunning and the ones from the top of the hard knott pass are the best views I have ever seen. The site is situated in a walkers paradise with scafell only minutes away. Within a 10 minute walk of the site there are 3 pubs, a very quaint little village, a museum, a waterfall and a steam railway! and the afore mentioned hard knott pass, which boasts been the steepest road in England. It is basically a winding path up the side of a mountain. And I mean winding!. You also have to contend with sheep running everywhere, however, the effort to get to the top is worth it, the views are totally and utterly amazing.

I have give this site 10 out of 10 for everything a fantastic site in a stunning location.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brendyblair 1 review from this member

We stayed on this site after reading reviews from the camping and caravan site.

I would thoroughly recommend this site. We are still new to the camping lark, and I'm a fussy person when it comes to expecting sites to be found as they are described.

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC !

We only stayed for two nights but we are definitely booking for a week next year. The children 12 and 7 enjoyed the site, the showers were hot and there was a hairdryer for free.

The shop is well stocked and even opened for my husband to buy a bottle of wine. How's that for service. The staff were friendly and very very helpful.

I'm not a fan of large sites and this was perfect. We did a lovely walk, visited a couple of pubs and still didn't do all the stuff we wanted to, hence the intention to go for longer next year.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mirkiov 7 reviews from this member

Spent one night in a tent. Very scenic. A brook runs through the site with rocky hills as a backdrop. The showers and washing up facilities are well maintained and of a high standard. The shop is well stocked. There are 2 pubs within a short walk. The site is close to Scarfell pike and other hills. We enjoyed our brief stay.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MankySteve 2 reviews from this member

We did three nights here just before the school broke up. Great site clean and tidy beautifully site and location.

Only complaint is that I'd like a freezer with 24 hour access to freeze our Own ice blocks in, rather than paying a charge and a few more shower and toilets wouldn't go amiss. We would go. Back to The site quite happily.

Staff were great shop was well stocked and great value expected for the ice block charge.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BBeast1 1 review from this member

This was our 4th visit to the campsite. We have always loved staying here.

It is a great location for walking and visiting the Lakes.

The site is clean and well organised and it is quiet and relaxing.

The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The shop is well stocked and not over priced.

There are separate areas for tents and you are given a large plot for your stay.

We are a couple with dogs so can't comment on the facilities for children.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahsop 8 reviews from this member

Immaculately maintained by helpful and friendly wardens, Martin and Sarah who along with their team ensured we all had a great weekends break!

Our boys were so excited to see a sign advertising a water fight, campers V the Team! I have to say Martin looked hilarious in his master blaster hard hat and fluorescent safety gear! Superbly organised ensuring the children had a great hours worth of watery fun whist keeping all the other campers happy was a credit to Martin & Co's organisational skills!

As ever the site has amazing views from all pitches. Clean washing up areas, washing machine and tumble dryer taking 1 coins. There is a drying room but thankfully we didn't need it this year! Showers were nice and hot and spotlessly clean at all times! The shop is well stocked and offers campers a facility to make a slice of toast or a cup of tea!

The children's play area offered our two some quality time away from mum and dad and a safe place to meet new friends.

Plenty to do in the surrounding area. Miles of beautiful lake land fells to walk, Maps available in the shop to suit walkers of all ages and abilities. There is the Ravenglass and Eskdale railway close by and a number of good Public Houses! We particularly enjoyed the Boot Inn this year although The Brook house Inn and The Woolpack were equally good.

We'll be back again in a few weeks, this time for a week!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donkers 14 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights from Tues-sat in mid July and really loved this site. It exceeded the hype!

The site enjoys a very picturesque setting and seems quite remote, yet the village of Boot with a couple of lovely pubs is only a 5 min walk. Loads of walks for all levels direct from the site and the Eskdale railway 10 mins away - perfect location.

The site is immaculately maintained - it's evident that a lot of work goes into keeping it absolutely pristine! Lovely flat, spacious pitches(they are 'unmarked' as such, but you are advised where to position your unit and car on the area you choose), nice short green grass which is mowed pretty much as soon as a unit leaves. Immaculately clean and luxurious facilities (the best shower/ toilet facilities I've seen on any site!), plenty of hot water, powerful showers and all housed in a lovely warm block. 2 slightly negative points; firstly the ground is a bit rocky (not unexpected in the lakes) and I'd advise rock pegs. Secondly when the site filled up on Friday night the facilities were a bit stretched. Only 1 parent and child room and 4 showers in the ladies for 80+ pitches = queues. Also no baby change facilities in ladies or mens so if the 1 baby room is busy then it's the floor. I feel mean gripping about this as the toilets really were amazing but I could foresee issues.

Lovely play area in the woods for kids with a huge trampoline and rope bridges etc, rope swings for older kids. My 20 month old loved it.

Staff very friendly and helpful; went above and beyond in all aspects from helping choose a pitch to suit our needs (advised on shade etc) to charging phones & batteries for nothing and even gave us some bread rolls which were going out of date in a few days. Good little shop, well stocked and amazing Cumberland sausage!

Site was not quite full and very quiet mid week but by Friday was pretty full and starting to get a bit more 'rowdy', with lots of families - still was quiet by a decent hour and no real complaints.

Probably my favourite site in the lakes. But 4 days of sunshine also helped! Ace!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brigadear 6 reviews from this member

Fantastic site in a beautiful area. You are able to take a variety of walks from the site to match your ability. On the last full day of our stay we got soaked whist out walking, and it is the first time we have used the drying room. Whilst it was full to capacity [there were several Duke of Edinburgh campers drying their kit] it was a lot dryer in the morning than I expected. The facilities are excellent and the shop is well stocked. We have camped at this site many times and will continue to return.

Previous     200 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Pop up Utility tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan Camping & Motorhome Show 20 to 25 February 2018
UKs biggest showcase of caravans, motorhomes, tents snf camping equipment. We've got 20 Tickets to Give Away! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2306 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977