Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Blaen Cefn Leisure Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Blaen Cefn Leisure Park
Park Road
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL48 6NA   See Map
Tel: 01766 770014
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Pitches: 45
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Refills   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 19 to 24                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caseyjones 3 reviews from this member

Blaen Cefn Camping site improves every time that we have visited. And I have been staying over 40 years now, Unbelievable - but true, just ask the same family owners, Gareth & Kerry Jones (Grandson).

But this year (2010) the over-winter upgrades really showed.

The new, and very pretty fishing lake allows wonderful views across the lake and up the valley, of the Cnicht mountain (known as North Wales's 'Matterhorn').

The brand new, additional caravan pitches are also fully loaded and very spacious, replacing an old caravan storage area, etc.

The digital (no analogue now) tv sockets give such a clear picture, even on my 'cheapey' Maplin Stores television. The Manager even offered me loan of an aerial extension cable, and f.O.C. Too! In fact, everything is free on the caravan pitches, except the 1 coin showers which give a good long hot soak without needing top-ups.

The campers and tents are also well provided for, with well drained and freshly cut grass pitches complete with plenty of water taps - and even localised 240v hook-ups (chargeable for tents). Nice bushes and small trees with a pretty stream and little bridge too.

Our children - whom have stayed here for many annual holidays, would have appreciated the lovely safe children's' games and play equipment area.

The local Penrhyndeudraeth High Street village facilities (Davies the Butcher, Spar shop, old fashioned ironmongers, and the great outdoors/fishing/gun shop with knowledgeable owner - Arwyn at Penrhyn Guns, 7 High St, etc.) are all very friendly and convenient.

My favourite pub - The Brondanw Arms at Llanfrothen (known locally as 'Y Ring') - the old landlord has returned with his excellent and reasonably priced dinner menus (children welcome).

And finally, the camping site's owners - the Jones family whom are ever helpful and friendly folk, have now employed an on-site manager (Stuart) to make sure that things are maintained in spotless condition. And he does!

Well recommended. After a month back home, we're still, even now, gob-smacked.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Major5 1 review from this member

When we arrived the manager escorted us to a number of available pitches, we could choose anyone. A very quiet site, but near enough to visit Porthmadog and the village of Portmeirion. The site was clean as where the showers and toilets, the children aged 6 and 10 went down to the bottom field to play football, there is also a small playground for the kids. As this was our first time in a caravan Gareth and his staff made us feel very welcome.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wirralot 10 reviews from this member

Following the very honest statement from this Seasons Warden Stuart stating that the site is improving, I decided to give it a go having previously visited the site for a look-see 2 years ago.

What a delight this site was. Stuart the Warden is clearly a great fan of this region and he himself has been coming to this site for many years.

The welcome from Stuart was wonderful and he made it clear, any problems to come and see him straight away and he provided his mobile number.

I was thrilled to be given a choice of several pitches and was delighted that all pitches were hardstandings with water and tv aerial to each pitch all attached to the electric bollard.

Stuart kindly loaned us a spare tv cable and asked if we had an electric cable as he had spares in the event of people forgetting theres. No charge for use which was a joy to see in this day.

Spotlessly clean pitches, well landscaped and provision of picnic benches if you wish one near to your pitch.

There is an excellent children's play area and you have a choice of pitch in sight of the play area or closer to the toilet block. The play area was a bit waterlogged as it had rained hard for several days, but my kids loved it all the same.

The toilet blocks are housed in a lovely building, but the interior is a disappointment. Stuart states they are 15 years old and they are intending on building a new toilet block this season. The toilets are functional and were spotlessly clean, just a bit worn out.

The showers - I did tell Stuart, this was my only problem with the site - the showers are daylight robbery at a 1 a go. For that money you expect a decent shower shower and cubicle for your money. Sadly the shower heads are fixed height so for me to assist my young kids aged 8 and 9 was impossible if I wanted to stay dry as well, as the head was fixed very high. Furthermore, the units were dreadful and the water temperature I considered dangerous for children as it would go from comfortable to scalding. Also, the cubicle was the size of a standard toilet cubicle so for young families it was impossible to help your kids to shower and with the water temperature problem I knew I couldn't leave the kids to shower themselves.

Local Amenities - all your essentials in nearby Penrhyndeadraeth (less than a mile away)including fuel and Spar, lovely butchers and a pub. Slightly further is Porthmadog with everything a large town has to offer with large Tesco store. Make sure you visit Portmeirion, home of the Prisoner, if you want to treat yourselves have lunch or evening meal in the village hotel, this will give you free entry into the village and it's a wonderful treat with exquisite food and and perfect service.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stu.B. 2 reviews from this member

I will be the new site manager for the 2010 season.

Yes all the comments in the last two reviews were correct, the site was for sale but the owners have now changed their minds. Improvements to all criteria will be made in 2010 and I will be appointed as permanent on site manager to solve any problems that may, but hopefully will not arise. I will be available to answer any questions at all, regarding the site and surrounding area and any complaints can be made directly to me, and I will endeavour to solve these as quickly as possible.

A new shower and toilet block is already in the planning stage and drainage problems are to be rectified as soon as possible. The skips and machinery will be moved to a specially constructed yard some two miles away in the village and more caravan pitches are to utilise the space taken up by these. An on-site reception block is also to be built.

The new fishing pond is to be improved, although it wasn't officially open last year good catches were achieved by every one who fished it. Weed was a slight problem but plenty of weed free areas are available, this we hope to improve in the coming season.

The children's play area is to be improved and moved away from the small pond which is to be fenced of to all.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: M+IWA 1 review from this member

This is a small site, very well placed to visit Portmerion, Porthmadog, Harlech and Barmouth, etc.

Pitches had electric hook-up and TV booster (although reception was very bad). Pitches also had own water tap, which was an added bonus.

We were there over the recent August bank holiday. The weather was awful, but that didn't stop us doing things.

I have to be totally honest though:

The site was up for sale and I am afraid it showed!

There was an area of land that seemed to be used for caravan storage as well as a general dumping ground. The pitches were quite close and manoeuvring with a caravan could be tricky.

The shower block building looked very nice. On the outside! It was 1 for a shower and the facilities were filthy. The toilet disposal facility was right next to the dishwashing area.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Monty64 1 review from this member

Went to this site recently. We were put on new pitches but they had terrible drainage problems. Unfortunately, it rained for virtually all of our holiday. It was so bad that we couldn't park our car on the grass next to the caravan as it was so boggy. The field next door was for tents, the grass needed cutting and the drainage was worse in there - I would not recommend putting any tent in that field until drainage sorted.

Toilets when we arrived were not clean, but did get cleaner towards and after the bank holiday. Showers in my view needed a total refurbishment and these weren't very clean especially the wooden foot mat to stand ony. Infact, I used our caravan facilities the whole time we were there. The owner has some caravans in storage on site but in between the caravans they have a digger and appear to run a skip hire business from the premises. We were woken a couple times at 8.00am with skips being collected. The caravan site is for sale and we got the impression that the owners had lost interest in the business. Very good hotel up the road from site - think it was called Oakley Arms Hotel - turn left out of site and follow road, go past Mo's Kitchen on the right and Hotel is on the left. About 2 miles from site. Very good food and lots of it.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 19 to 24      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Holidaymaker 500 Inflatable Tent Package worth over 1,000 Win an Win an OLPRO Cubo Campervan Awning

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Spring Motorhome & Caravan Show Newark 17 to 18 March 2018
First major outdoor show of the season for day visitors, weekend campers, club rallies and trade stands ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

1785 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017