Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Middle Grounds
Slapton
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2QW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 580538

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 26 Mar 2015 - 02 Nov 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 52 Reviews
              9/10 from 52 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (12)

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 19 to 24                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ghart386 13 reviews from this member

Stayed here for four nights recently and left wishing we could stay for four years! We have been members of the C & C Club now for three years and though all of their sites are excellent, this one stands out in a class of its own.

Only criticism that could be levelled is that it could really do with a second toilet / shower block & more washing up facilities. That said, we never really found it a problem if you are prepared to avoid the busy times.

Toilet and Showerblock kept spotlessly clean and loads of free hot water. The whole site is kept spotlessly clean and tidy, Wardens friendly and very helpful, small shop for essentials.

Our pitch, on a hook up, was dead level with a marvellous sea view. Many pitches have sea views though not all, some pitches seem on a bit of a slope, though not many.

Village of Slapton only a 10 minute walk away, with handy village shop and two excellent pubs. Out of the two we preferred The Queens Arms, excellent food & drink at very reasonable prices. The Tower was fine to pop in for a drink but the menu appeared to be directed more towards the gastronome than the hungry camper, if you get my drift. Reflected in the prices too!

Excellent location, short stroll and you are on the beach, handy for me as I enjoy beach fishing, or the Slapton Leys nature reserve. Slightly longer stroll into Torcross village where there is another excellent pub, Post Office stores and local butcher nearby.

Further afield, its only a short drive to Dartmouth one way and Kingsbridge the other, both ways can afford breathtaking views. Morrisons supermarket in Kingsbridge was handy. Quite a few children on the site and they all appeared to be having a good time, they seemed well catered for with a safe playing area.

Also quite a few well behaved dogs on site with their own dog walking area. For us this site seems to tick all the boxes. I don't work for the Camping & Caravanning Club honest! All in all had a wonderful time here and will most certainly be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MarkyJ1 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic site! Just got back from 10 days here. Well maintained great wardens, even the sun was shining. Although it was very busy & quick turn around of units the toilet block was clean & tidy.

They even had the sense to close the block for cleaning mid afternoon when most people were away for the day.

Only down side is a lot of units for small toilet blocks, a bit of a queue at busy times. But not major problem.

The area is great too. My 2 boys had so much to do they didn't know what to do first. Be aware though that the roads are narrow & you don't get anywhere in a hurry, but who cares your on your hols.

Will be happy to drive for 7-8 hours again to get here. Great place!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barryandkath9999 2 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this wonderful campsite, very generous pitches, not crammed in like at some other campsites, staff very friendly & helpful, Great play area, our 6 year old loved it.

Shower, toilet & dishwashing facilities excellent & small shop in reception selling basic essentials.

Only 5 minutes walk to beach down the hill, Queens Arms pub in Slapton village 5 minutes away does great food. Start Bay Inn in Torcross a couple of miles down the coast does amazing fish & chips, get there early though!

And lastly, lovely views of the sea from parts of the site. Can't recommend this site enough, certainly my favourite of all I have used, can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow girl 9 reviews from this member

Firstly the drive from kingsbridge was tight to say the least. Try to follow a local bus if you can, or study the bus timetable so you don't meet them.

Site facilities old but clean.

Pitches seem small and on top of each other, our camper pitch was on the grass, right in front of an old couples caravan, blocking their view completely.

Pubs. Both take dogs! short walk to both. Lovely village.

The beach, shingle, hard to walk on but there is a path that goes over tom tor-cross.

Would we go back. No

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JaneH 63 reviews from this member

Friendly greeting on arrival, warden used to live a few miles away from our home town. Pitch level and generous with good views across the site out to sea.

Facilities are to usual club site standards and good variety of items in the reception shop.

Slapton Ley and 'sands' are a short walk down the hill with good guided walks, leaflets available in reception. At the entrance to the Ley there is a chalk board for sightings of wildlife which is very useful.

The walk along Slapton Sands to Torcross is worth it with the pub at the other end making it worth the effort.

Slapton village is 5 mins up the lane with 2 good pubs & food, lovely lanes to stroll around and a great village shop (licensed). We met some really friendly locals and noticed that there is a good, regular bus service with the stop just up from the campsite entrance.

We loved it here and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wonderland82 1 review from this member

I stayed on this site the weekend of the royal wedding. The weather was not brilliant, thunder storms on the first night and then rain and wind for the rest of the time.

But despite this my and I partner had a brilliant time. The weather was nice enough for 2 walk to the 2 local real ale pubs and even sit outside.

The site was very well maintained and exceptionally friendly. The staff were knowledgeable about the area and able offer lots of advice on things to do and where to eat and drink.

They were also very helpful when our car wouldn’t start as we were about to leave. The helped me contact a local garage and we very reassuring.

The site is a little hidden gem. Close to a beach that stretches for miles, a beautiful nature reserve and 2 pubs that serve brilliant beer and food, what more could you want.

This site has plenty to offer for a short stay or a week away. As a non member it was a little pricey, but I'll be going back so that says it all

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 19 to 24      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a bundle of VARTA camping essentials worth over £100! Win a Festival Starter Pack, worth over £100!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 20th – 23rd August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival in East Yorkshire - PLUS exclusive 10% discount on tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6491 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0508