Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Middle Grounds
Slapton
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2QW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 580538

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
              9/10 from 51 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (5)

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 19 to 24                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MarkyJ1 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic site! Just got back from 10 days here. Well maintained great wardens, even the sun was shining. Although it was very busy & quick turn around of units the toilet block was clean & tidy.

They even had the sense to close the block for cleaning mid afternoon when most people were away for the day.

Only down side is a lot of units for small toilet blocks, a bit of a queue at busy times. But not major problem.

The area is great too. My 2 boys had so much to do they didn't know what to do first. Be aware though that the roads are narrow & you don't get anywhere in a hurry, but who cares your on your hols.

Will be happy to drive for 7-8 hours again to get here. Great place!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barryandkath9999 2 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this wonderful campsite, very generous pitches, not crammed in like at some other campsites, staff very friendly & helpful, Great play area, our 6 year old loved it.

Shower, toilet & dishwashing facilities excellent & small shop in reception selling basic essentials.

Only 5 minutes walk to beach down the hill, Queens Arms pub in Slapton village 5 minutes away does great food. Start Bay Inn in Torcross a couple of miles down the coast does amazing fish & chips, get there early though!

And lastly, lovely views of the sea from parts of the site. Can't recommend this site enough, certainly my favourite of all I have used, can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow girl 9 reviews from this member

Firstly the drive from kingsbridge was tight to say the least. Try to follow a local bus if you can, or study the bus timetable so you don't meet them.

Site facilities old but clean.

Pitches seem small and on top of each other, our camper pitch was on the grass, right in front of an old couples caravan, blocking their view completely.

Pubs. Both take dogs! short walk to both. Lovely village.

The beach, shingle, hard to walk on but there is a path that goes over tom tor-cross.

Would we go back. No

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JaneH 63 reviews from this member

Friendly greeting on arrival, warden used to live a few miles away from our home town. Pitch level and generous with good views across the site out to sea.

Facilities are to usual club site standards and good variety of items in the reception shop.

Slapton Ley and 'sands' are a short walk down the hill with good guided walks, leaflets available in reception. At the entrance to the Ley there is a chalk board for sightings of wildlife which is very useful.

The walk along Slapton Sands to Torcross is worth it with the pub at the other end making it worth the effort.

Slapton village is 5 mins up the lane with 2 good pubs & food, lovely lanes to stroll around and a great village shop (licensed). We met some really friendly locals and noticed that there is a good, regular bus service with the stop just up from the campsite entrance.

We loved it here and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wonderland82 1 review from this member

I stayed on this site the weekend of the royal wedding. The weather was not brilliant, thunder storms on the first night and then rain and wind for the rest of the time.

But despite this my and I partner had a brilliant time. The weather was nice enough for 2 walk to the 2 local real ale pubs and even sit outside.

The site was very well maintained and exceptionally friendly. The staff were knowledgeable about the area and able offer lots of advice on things to do and where to eat and drink.

They were also very helpful when our car wouldn’t start as we were about to leave. The helped me contact a local garage and we very reassuring.

The site is a little hidden gem. Close to a beach that stretches for miles, a beautiful nature reserve and 2 pubs that serve brilliant beer and food, what more could you want.

This site has plenty to offer for a short stay or a week away. As a non member it was a little pricey, but I'll be going back so that says it all

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campasarow 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a short 4 day break with my OH away from our 2 daughters - bliss!

This is a lovely site. Well laid out with some pitches having fantastic sea views. It is very quiet at night and people are very good at abiding by the rules with absolutely no noise after 11.00 p.M.

The toilet block is kept immaculately clean throughout the day and even though there are only 3 showers(3 male and 3 female)I only queued once and that was for no more than 5 minutes.

Water is constantly hot and plentiful.

The reception also sells some camping basics and stocks milk, bacon, sausages, bottled water and cold cans at a reasonable price.

The wardens (and the assistant wardens)are very friendly and helpful.

Our pitch was a bit odd being on the point of a triangle with 2 other pitches diagonally behind to our right and left. This meant we had to pitch quite close to the circular road but to be honest this didn't present any problems.

As non members of the C&CC I know the pitch fee is on the slightly high side but it is a price worth paying for such a lovely, small, friendly, clean and quiet site.

The South Hams area is a really beautiful location and has quickly become a favourite.

Lovely walks, beautiful coast and some fabulous little villages and towns to visit. Kingsbridge and Dartmouth are well worth a visit and if you get the time take the drive to Start Point lighthouse and walk some of the coastal footpath. We also visited the village of East Prawle and ate a fine lunch at a little cafe (the Piglet Cafe). The Pigs Nose Inn is just across from the cafe and although we didn't eat or drink there it looked a fabulous pub selling real ales and local ciders straight from the wood.

Take a walk round Slapton Ley nature reserve nd do the walk from Slapton Ley to Tor Cross and visit the memorials marking the events when the local villages were evacuated to enable the beaches to be used for D-Day rehearsals and when the Americans lost over 900 soldiers in a tragic accident.

Eating out is a pleasure and we ate 3 out of 4 nights in the Queens Head in the village of Slapton, just 5 minutes walk from the site. It's a lovely local with some excellent real ales and good value food.

All in all, highly recommended.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 19 to 24      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3876 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1172