Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Middle Grounds
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2QW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 580538

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 26 Mar 2015 - 02 Nov 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
              9/10 from 54 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (12)

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 19 to 24                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ian Flatable 1 review from this member

Just spent four nights at this site and wish I'd booked longer as we were very lucky with the weather and had a great time. Stunning location and a short walk to the beach. Everything I would say has already been covered, except.

If you walk to the very end of the beach at Torcross there's a set of steps going up, beside a WWII pill-box, to some cottages. Beside them to the left is a narrow alley that leads to more steps heading down onto a secret beach. There's another pill-box that my 8-year old lad managed to get inside, and crystal clear waters.

Also, if looking for supplies, carry on past the post office and butchers at Torcross, up the hill, and there's a poorly signposted lane on the right that leads to a wonderful (if pricey) farm shop selling fruit, veg, fresh bread, fantastic meat, and pizzas.

Only downside was getting cold wine or beer. Impossible unless you want to pay through the nose at the farm shop. Had to drive to Kingsbridge (20mins each way) Morrisons and buy along with bags of ice.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Folding Camper Rating:
Reviewer: Gazzagadget 1 review from this member

Booked 4 nights by phone just 1 week before visit (not members of C&CC). Friendly reception on arrival (after 6pm), given a choice of pitches. We chose a pitch with sea views, fairly level, we didn't need EHU.

Very quiet site, facilities kept very clean, the small number of available showers didn't affect us as we chose to go out of the rush hour. Plenty of hot water.

Grass is kept mowed and cuttings collected so you didn't get grass trodden into your unit.

A great base to explore south Devon. Interesting local history, nearby huge unspoilt beach is small shingle, sea water is lovely and clear (but cold!).

Nearby Blackpool Sands isn't sand, it's small shingle. The facilities there are very good, beachside cafe and shop. Toilets had Classic FM playing. You can park there next to the beach, all day cost 5 (reduced to 4 in the afternoon).

Nice walk along the seafront to Torcross, about 1. 5 miles from the site.

We liked it here so decided to book an extra two nights. We were offered membership of C&CC so we could have the non-member surcharge refunded for our first 4 nights and the additional nights at the member rates, effectively getting 12 months membership at no extra cost. We took them up on the offer.

Will go back again when we next return to the area.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ghart386 16 reviews from this member

Stayed here for four nights recently and left wishing we could stay for four years! We have been members of the C & C Club now for three years and though all of their sites are excellent, this one stands out in a class of its own.

Only criticism that could be levelled is that it could really do with a second toilet / shower block & more washing up facilities. That said, we never really found it a problem if you are prepared to avoid the busy times.

Toilet and Showerblock kept spotlessly clean and loads of free hot water. The whole site is kept spotlessly clean and tidy, Wardens friendly and very helpful, small shop for essentials.

Our pitch, on a hook up, was dead level with a marvellous sea view. Many pitches have sea views though not all, some pitches seem on a bit of a slope, though not many.

Village of Slapton only a 10 minute walk away, with handy village shop and two excellent pubs. Out of the two we preferred The Queens Arms, excellent food & drink at very reasonable prices. The Tower was fine to pop in for a drink but the menu appeared to be directed more towards the gastronome than the hungry camper, if you get my drift. Reflected in the prices too!

Excellent location, short stroll and you are on the beach, handy for me as I enjoy beach fishing, or the Slapton Leys nature reserve. Slightly longer stroll into Torcross village where there is another excellent pub, Post Office stores and local butcher nearby.

Further afield, its only a short drive to Dartmouth one way and Kingsbridge the other, both ways can afford breathtaking views. Morrisons supermarket in Kingsbridge was handy. Quite a few children on the site and they all appeared to be having a good time, they seemed well catered for with a safe playing area.

Also quite a few well behaved dogs on site with their own dog walking area. For us this site seems to tick all the boxes. I don't work for the Camping & Caravanning Club honest! All in all had a wonderful time here and will most certainly be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MarkyJ1 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic site! Just got back from 10 days here. Well maintained great wardens, even the sun was shining. Although it was very busy & quick turn around of units the toilet block was clean & tidy.

They even had the sense to close the block for cleaning mid afternoon when most people were away for the day.

Only down side is a lot of units for small toilet blocks, a bit of a queue at busy times. But not major problem.

The area is great too. My 2 boys had so much to do they didn't know what to do first. Be aware though that the roads are narrow & you don't get anywhere in a hurry, but who cares your on your hols.

Will be happy to drive for 7-8 hours again to get here. Great place!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barryandkath9999 2 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this wonderful campsite, very generous pitches, not crammed in like at some other campsites, staff very friendly & helpful, Great play area, our 6 year old loved it.

Shower, toilet & dishwashing facilities excellent & small shop in reception selling basic essentials.

Only 5 minutes walk to beach down the hill, Queens Arms pub in Slapton village 5 minutes away does great food. Start Bay Inn in Torcross a couple of miles down the coast does amazing fish & chips, get there early though!

And lastly, lovely views of the sea from parts of the site. Can't recommend this site enough, certainly my favourite of all I have used, can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow girl 9 reviews from this member

Firstly the drive from kingsbridge was tight to say the least. Try to follow a local bus if you can, or study the bus timetable so you don't meet them.

Site facilities old but clean.

Pitches seem small and on top of each other, our camper pitch was on the grass, right in front of an old couples caravan, blocking their view completely.

Pubs. Both take dogs! short walk to both. Lovely village.

The beach, shingle, hard to walk on but there is a path that goes over tom tor-cross.

Would we go back. No

Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 19 to 24      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

176 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder