Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 90 Reviews
              8/10 from 90 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 19 to 24                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Seagill 23 reviews from this member

Super location, on the edge of loch lomond.

Only stayed for 1 night but had a pitch with a good view of the loch; most of the pitches are a good size and close to the facilities.

The toilet/shower facilities were really clean but you have to pay for the hair dryer.

Wifi connection is a good price and worked well.

Didn't do anything in the area as it was just a stop on the way up to the top of Scotland.

Staff were very helpful. I cannot wait to come back here again and stay for more nights.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Waterman 12 reviews from this member

An excellent site for a stopover as it is just off the A82. Literally, the road can be noisy from anywhere on site. Mix of hardstanding and grass pitches, be careful if it has rained or is forecast to, when I was there they'd had a lot of rain and it was like a mudbath, even some of the hardstandings were under water. The first pitch I was shown to had about 3inches of standing water, but they were happy for me to move to another drier one, in fact offered to help. I know the site is alongside Loch Lomond, but it is very thickly treed, which makes getting a good view of the Loch difficult. Having said all that I like the site, and it was a short walk into Luss, which is a lovely village with a well stocked shop, and lots of little coffee shops and eateries. Also boat trips run from the jetty.

The Wardens, if only all wardens were like these, they couldn't have done more, including nipping out quickly to raise the barrier as they knew I was on my own.

Dog walk - a nice little walk on site, over a bridge and plenty of leg-lifting trees, also walk along lochside and into Luss. The info office had a guide to walks around Luss, up to a couple of miles, just what a dog needs.

Washrooms - 2, the one that is furthest away from the entrance looks a little tired from outside, but not once you get in, even fresh flowers in each of the cubicles. Spotlessly clean despite the mud. The showers were adequately sized, fixed but with a swivel head, and they are power showers, really invigorating, I loved them. Only criticism, could do with a separate handbasin for toilet use, if all cubicles being used.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 255 reviews from this member

Although the site is just off the A82 we didn't find the road noise too intrusive. Its just a short walk into Luss village which is a conservation village and very beautiful. Two coffee shops and a couple of tourist shops and there is also a small supermarket that sells everything you could think of including fresh breads and cakes.

There is a water taxi from Luss which takes you over to the other side of the loch or you can do day excursions. Cycle path runs past the site to Balloch (about 8 miles ) or Tarbert (8 miles)nice and fairly flat ride to Balloch where there are shops, cafes and plenty of loch activities going on.

Site itself is well kept and toilets / showers are clean at all times. The showers are a little old and tired looking and could do with a revamp - having said that water was hot and good pressure. Wardens were very friendly and welcoming when we arrived.

When we arrived very few on site but were still shown to a pitch away from the shore - others came in and were given shore pitches - not sure how it works with C&CC as cant see why you cant choose a pitch yourself if its free?

One thing to note if you aren't a C&CC member whilst you can join here you cant then stay for 24 hours after you join.

This is a good site on the site of Loch Lomond - reasonably priced compared to some in the area so we would use again.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: E+P1 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way to Oban. The weather had been wet and the grass pitch we were given was a bit soggy and became worse as more rain came.

We were at the furthest end of the site and away from the Loch, those staying longer were placed on the nearer pitches. There were no clear views of the Loch as the trees lined the edge. The bins are located at the entrance to the site and I got soaked walking to take the remains of our fish meal to the bin one evening (The info leaflet does say if this causes a problem to let one of the site team know)

The chemical disposal point is in the first facility block which was too far for my husband to walk so we had to empty as we left the site.

If we were staying longer we would need to request a pitch nearer to the facilities, others with walking difficulties may wish to consider this when booking.

Not much at Luss but we enjoyed a boat trip on the Loch. We didn't have much of a problem with midges, probably as the weather wasn't great.

Nearest petrol station was in Alexandria. Lots of noise from the road although it didn't stop us sleeping.

Warden cycled ahead of us to our pitch and pointed out where the water etc was but we didn't need to use the office during our short stay so didn't see him again.

Toilet block was clean but only 2 showers although there were basin cubicles. TV reception was poor but we only have the basic aerial.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Reevco 4 reviews from this member

Over all a good site wardens very helpful, showers and toilets very clean, loved the power showers very powerful, Chemical disposal area good but only ONE for a site this size, come on.

We arrived late so all the best places had gone so we where stuck with all the tents

Road noise was very bad as we where at the very top of the site and very close to the road.

Midges out in full force.

Would I come back? Yes

Would I recommend to friends? Possibly

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hollyjai 6 reviews from this member

Only Stayed for 1 night to break the journey home from the Highlands. Luss is beautiful good coffee shop in the village

The Lodge on the lock has lovely bar with views over the loch open to non residents.

Most pitches have a glimpse of the loch but the midges were out in force!

The road noise I've got to say is pretty bad, not sure I would have got used to it.

Facilities usual club standard. Rabbits & ducks everywhere very picturesque. Boat launching from site free for kayaks.

Would stay again but not sure about road noise

Previous     90 Review in total, now showing 19 to 24      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4001 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0479