Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Barcaldine By Connel
Argyll
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA37 1SG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01631 720348

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
              8/10 from 28 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (17) and Video

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 19 to 24                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cali 3 reviews from this member

Our first long camping holiday with 2 young children and found that this site was a lovely place to stay. The fact that the site is in a walled garden meant that it is sheltered from the the worst of any weather (although we had good weather for most of the time we were there), and there is no road noise to speak of.
The facilities were good inc the on site shop, laundry and washing facilities. The washrooms and showers were always clean. We were allowed to choose our own pitch. Rock pegs are recommended as some of the pitches are on harder ground. The surrounding area is beautiful and we will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whatevertheweather 3 reviews from this member

A sheltered and clean site with a pub on the sites entrance selling reasonable grub. The nearest amenities are a drive away but site shop compensates. The surrounding area is very nice, so a bit of a shame can not see because of wall. Surprisingly not too many bugs for august. Only one major down site is it is a great site for caravans but a bit too hard for tents.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 126 reviews from this member

Flat site. Walled garden means it's sheltered and quiet, but also means there are no views out to the Argyll islands. Some trees for shade in summer. Excellent site for dog owners - lots of walks in the adjacent mature woodlands, with pretty waterfalls etc. Avoid pitch beside the gate to the dog walk and Chemical Disposal Point - lots of passers by. Club site - usual high standards of care. We didn't use the bar, so I can't speak for it.

Midges - not a problem this late in the year (frosty mornings). But a) buy a midge hood, b) spray Avon 'skin so soft' onto exposed skin and hair - it's used by Forestry workers and the SAS, one application lasts about an hour. And c) take an anti-histamine tablet at bedtime. Midges are the small price we pay for such glorious scenery in the West of Scotland, or we'd be just too fortunate! And midges aren't only at this site.

Local town has the essentials including gas, a cycle distance away southwards. Oban merits a half-day, huge car park by the swimming pool on the north side of town. Fantastic golf course at Glencruitten. Good seafood restaurants at the harbour. Plenty of ferries leave from here, some very early; day-trips to Iona. Beautiful scenery to explore in both directions, especially at sunset. Coast north to Fort William includes some of Scotland's most attractive scenery. Arduaine (National Trust for Scotland) is interesting if you like gardens. Coast south to Lochgilphead via Kilmartin Glen, Crinan Canal and Knapdale(to south) is distinctive.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Flyinghaggis 11 reviews from this member

This is the first time we have been on a caravan & camping club site. Toilets & showers were very clean. The road around the sight was very narrow making it alot harder to get the caravan onto the pitch. The bar that was outside the gates was shut and had a notice saying closed until further notice. The playpark is not situated at a very good bit it is outside the gates and at the side of the bar, you couldn't let kids go there themselves.
Oban is about a 15mins drive away. Has a Tesco, Lidl & Aldi also enough shops for a nose around. You can also buy fresh fish ets at the harbour. The Sealife santuary is really worth a visit. Also if you go to the building at the top of the hill (looks like a collaseum) some views from there.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Morrisbob 17 reviews from this member

The site is located about 13 miles from Oban in a walled garden and as you would expect from a C&CC site the toilets were very clean and the staff friendly. Pitches with ehu's are located around the perimeter of the site and tents and those like us not wanting electric where parked in the centre. The site has a bar just outside the gates which unfortunately we could not use as it doesn't open on a Monday and we had only one night there before taking the ferry to Barra.
The location of the CDP and the motorhome water/disposal point by the narrow gate at the start of the dog walk could have been better positioned particularly when used by a long motorhome as they also blocked the access road around the site but that's a minor gripe.
There are walks from the site around the attractive surrounding woods which were very useful as we have a dog. Maybe we were lucky but the midges other mention were not about while we were there.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MJ Spice 9 reviews from this member

This site was unusual for a Camping and Caravan site club in that it had a bar just outside!
 
Again like all Camping and Caravan sites this was a pleasant place to stay, it is surrounded by a wall and has plenty of hard standing and electric pitches.  Hard standing is available and there is a motor home service point.
 
Staff are pleasant and helpful and there is even a mobile caravan repair service locally - he was invaluable when our electric steps broke!
 
Toilets and showers were top notch - clean all day long!
 
The site is about 13 miles away from Oban.  There is a bus service which stops running at about 4pm so it's an expensive taxi ride back to the site!  (£20)
 
While the town is nice it's not particularly motor home friendly but it's not impossible to park.
 
Particularly recommended is the ferry trip to Mull.  In town there is a distillery, a chocolate shop (marmite flavoured chocolate would you believe - urrghhh!) and a delightful gem shop - the geode has to be seen to be believed!
 
Only complaint? Midges x 1,000,000,000  

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 19 to 24      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Highlander Aeolus 4 Air Frame Tent Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally and Camping Weekend 4th to 5th July
HURRY Advanced booking now open - 3 nights camping in any unit, and admission to rally all weekend

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2805 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0498