Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Barcaldine By Connel
Argyll
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA37 1SG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01631 720348

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
              8/10 from 26 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 19 to 24                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 117 reviews from this member

Flat site. Walled garden means it's sheltered and quiet, but also means there are no views out to the Argyll islands. Some trees for shade in summer. Excellent site for dog owners - lots of walks in the adjacent mature woodlands, with pretty waterfalls etc. Avoid pitch beside the gate to the dog walk and Chemical Disposal Point - lots of passers by. Club site - usual high standards of care. We didn't use the bar, so I can't speak for it.

Midges - not a problem this late in the year (frosty mornings). But a) buy a midge hood, b) spray Avon 'skin so soft' onto exposed skin and hair - it's used by Forestry workers and the SAS, one application lasts about an hour. And c) take an anti-histamine tablet at bedtime. Midges are the small price we pay for such glorious scenery in the West of Scotland, or we'd be just too fortunate! And midges aren't only at this site.

Local town has the essentials including gas, a cycle distance away southwards. Oban merits a half-day, huge car park by the swimming pool on the north side of town. Fantastic golf course at Glencruitten. Good seafood restaurants at the harbour. Plenty of ferries leave from here, some very early; day-trips to Iona. Beautiful scenery to explore in both directions, especially at sunset. Coast north to Fort William includes some of Scotland's most attractive scenery. Arduaine (National Trust for Scotland) is interesting if you like gardens. Coast south to Lochgilphead via Kilmartin Glen, Crinan Canal and Knapdale(to south) is distinctive.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Flyinghaggis 11 reviews from this member

This is the first time we have been on a caravan & camping club site. Toilets & showers were very clean. The road around the sight was very narrow making it alot harder to get the caravan onto the pitch. The bar that was outside the gates was shut and had a notice saying closed until further notice. The playpark is not situated at a very good bit it is outside the gates and at the side of the bar, you couldn't let kids go there themselves.
Oban is about a 15mins drive away. Has a Tesco, Lidl & Aldi also enough shops for a nose around. You can also buy fresh fish ets at the harbour. The Sealife santuary is really worth a visit. Also if you go to the building at the top of the hill (looks like a collaseum) some views from there.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Morrisbob 17 reviews from this member

The site is located about 13 miles from Oban in a walled garden and as you would expect from a C&CC site the toilets were very clean and the staff friendly. Pitches with ehu's are located around the perimeter of the site and tents and those like us not wanting electric where parked in the centre. The site has a bar just outside the gates which unfortunately we could not use as it doesn't open on a Monday and we had only one night there before taking the ferry to Barra.
The location of the CDP and the motorhome water/disposal point by the narrow gate at the start of the dog walk could have been better positioned particularly when used by a long motorhome as they also blocked the access road around the site but that's a minor gripe.
There are walks from the site around the attractive surrounding woods which were very useful as we have a dog. Maybe we were lucky but the midges other mention were not about while we were there.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MJ Spice 9 reviews from this member

This site was unusual for a Camping and Caravan site club in that it had a bar just outside!
 
Again like all Camping and Caravan sites this was a pleasant place to stay, it is surrounded by a wall and has plenty of hard standing and electric pitches.  Hard standing is available and there is a motor home service point.
 
Staff are pleasant and helpful and there is even a mobile caravan repair service locally - he was invaluable when our electric steps broke!
 
Toilets and showers were top notch - clean all day long!
 
The site is about 13 miles away from Oban.  There is a bus service which stops running at about 4pm so it's an expensive taxi ride back to the site!  (£20)
 
While the town is nice it's not particularly motor home friendly but it's not impossible to park.
 
Particularly recommended is the ferry trip to Mull.  In town there is a distillery, a chocolate shop (marmite flavoured chocolate would you believe - urrghhh!) and a delightful gem shop - the geode has to be seen to be believed!
 
Only complaint? Midges x 1,000,000,000  

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Duncant 5 reviews from this member

This site is nothing like the Colditz of the previous review. The walled garden is enormous and the view out of it onto the woodland and hillside is beautiful.

The staff are friendly and courteous and a haven of information. The pitches are all well layed out and the toilet block is spotlessly clean and comfortable. Showers are spacious and clean.

As this is a Camping and Caravaning Club site it is dog friendly and has some of the best dog walking areas I have seen. Miles of proper paths run up and down the hills and around the estate just outside the walled area. If you enjoy quiet country walks, this is a 5star site.

Just at the entrance is a little bar/restaurant where the staff are friendly and work hard to help you enjoy your stay. Take time to try a meal in here, there is something for everyone and the portion size is generous to a fault. The Guiness was excellent!

We do get midges in Scotland and they are a pest for sure, but there are repellants and the little shop sells one of the best. Avon "Skin so Soft" is a new weapon in the campers arsenol. It is actually a skin moisturiser but the midges hate it.A quick spray and they bet the retreat and leave you in peace. Honest!

I will happily return to this site as it has so much to offer. The location means that you are just a short drive from so many places of interest. And even if all I want to do is have a quiet weekend with a nightcap at the end of the day - this is the perfect setting!

Reviewer: Sijulien 1 review from this member

June 2005
This is a very clean and tidy site with friendly management, excellent bathrooms etc. However it has MAJOR drawbacks and thus I cannot recommend this site unless you are able to deal with huge quantities of midges.
I am fully aware that in Scotland you get midges, full stop! But ....
The problem here is that the site is in a (delightful) walled garden and surrounded by trees on at least one side. It is very sheltered so unless there is a gale the air will be undisturbed and you will be infested with the bugs! Quite the worst of any place I have been. Sadly, once inside the Colditz like walled compound you might be almost anywhere, there is no outlook, only midges!

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 19 to 24      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2691 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469