Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lydford Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Lydford Caravan And Camping Park
Lydford
Okehampton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX20 4BE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01822 820497

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  10m  10m  10m  5m   10m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 15/03/13 To 04/11/13

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
              8/10 from 46 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 19 to 24                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tedster 5 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this site in a tent and a campervan and enjoyed both visits. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, also a good source of knowledge for local walks.

The facilities are of a good standard if perhaps a little dated. They were always spotless and never had to wait for a shower or sink.

The hard standing pitches are level and a good size but the best views are in the tent field. Lovely dog walk around the edge of the tent field, although this did make our dog bark when others walked their dogs round behind our tent!

The location is excellent with the moors, a forest and lydford gorge all within a short pleasant walk. Also very close to a cycle route and three pubs within walking distance. The only downside is there is no local shop and the supplies in the campsite shop are very basic.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CK+B 30 reviews from this member

Just stayed on this site for 3 nights. We were expecting it to be very busy being August, but even though the 2 van fields were full, the site was still quiet and peaceful for the whole stay.

We thought the facilities could do with a lick of paint, but were always clean and the showers were nice and hot.

We ate at the Castle Inn on 2 evenings, we sat outside under a big umbrella in the drizzle with our dog - too busy inside. Food - basic, good pub grub.

There is a bus stop just down the road, and we got a bus to Sourton and walked back on the Granit Way. Also we did the route around the Gorge. Plenty to do from site without moving the van.

Make sure you have everything you need with you, no shops in walking distance, except the site shop which is just a few bits in the reception area.

We will definitely be coming back for some more peace and quiet!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Swe_UK 1 review from this member

A well organised site that splits up capervans, caravans and tents.

The views from the tent site is fantastic and best! I'm sure you can negotiate a pitch if you have a caravan/ campervan. The facilities are the best ones that we have experienced so far. The reception/ shop does hold lots of info but not so much groceries, but you will get hold of the basic stuff. Bring your own kids entertainment eg cricket bat/ frisbee/ football etc, because even if the place is busy, there is still plenty of space for kids to run around. Highly recommend!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: George+Ade 4 reviews from this member

Just spent 4 wonderful nights here and will definitly return again next year. So peaceful and relaxing with a wonderful view from the top field. Very doggy friendly with a good walk for them around the perimeter of the site with poo bins on route. Grass kept well manicured as are the trees, shrubs, flowers etc.

Showers are superb. Hot and powerful. Always kept clean and tidy.

Lots of information on walks and things to do in the local and surrounding areas.

Plenty of rules and regulations and more than happy to adhere to them to help keep this site as good as it is. A credit to the wardens who run it who were always on hand to help with any questions we had and kept the site spotless.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geoleen 21 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 2 weeks at this great site. Weather was very mixed and at times it was a bit muddy but that would happen anywhere.

We arrived on Sunday having booked for a week, by Tuesday we asked we could book for another week as we were so taken with the site and the area. The facilities are very good, hot showers and individual wash cubicles and kept very clean.

The wardens work very hard. There are lots of notices reminding of the rules but this makes for an excellent stay, they are very keen on recycling which is good.

It is a very peaceful location but plenty to do in the immediate area. There are lots of great walks around the site locally (recommend Lydford Gorge).

The Castle Inn which is about 10/15 mins walk from the site does good food. The Fox & Hounds on the A386 about a mile and half away is also very good but you need sturdy legs or a car to access it. Tavistock is a lovely town worth a visit.

We also went to Plymouth and used the Park & Ride to access the town centre. We had a ride on the big wheel, which whilst not cheap (£7. 50 each) was worth it for the views over the town and the Hoe and the docks.

All in all a fantastic 2 weeks at an excellent site at a reasonable price too.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lesley R 2 reviews from this member

We chose this site purely on position due to the route we were taking on our way south, but what luck. It was a lovely site, well looked after, and the wardens were very friendly and helpful.

It was not overly busy being midweek and during the school term but the pitches were well arranged so as not to be overcrowded. Lydford is a quaint village with a lot of history.

We enjoyed a walk through the village visiting the castle and the church and of course called at the wonderful olde worlde pub for a pint or two of Tribute!

We were only on site for one night but there is more to see and do in the area and hope to visit again in the future.

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 19 to 24      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2945 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469