Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Glencoe
Ballachulish
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH49 4LA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01855 811397

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
              8/10 from 37 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (14)

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 19 to 24                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bruno123 1 review from this member

Its a long time since we used a camping and caravan club site. We had been thinking of joining but this experience changed our mind.

We have a campervan - we do not need electric, but we had to pay for it anyway

We really wanted to be on grass to use our awning but vans are only allowed on hard standing.

The gates get closed at 11pm - effectively locking us out if we had been for a meal. As we are in a campervan, its our only transport and our sleeping accommodation

Despite the fact we are not members all of our details are now on their database - we had stayed at another site a few weeks before and they called up our info on their computer.

Nice views from the site - too far from shops and pubs to walk.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sam1503jack 7 reviews from this member

This is a return visit for us and we decided to come back and spend our first wedding anniversary here as we actually honeymooned here. We did initially only plan to stay 5 nights and then move to Bunree further down the road but after viewing the other site we decided to cancel and stay the full two weeks.

Great wardens, fantastic site, plenty of good walks, friendly locals. Cannot fault this site and already planning a return trip next year for our anniversary. It has become 'our place'. If you have the stamina. Have a go at climbing the Glencoe Pap as the views are amazing from the top and well worth the aching legs.

The Glencoe Hotel is now open. Was shut last time we visited, good food and beer and a brilliant spot for watching the sunset over the loch.

However I suppose from a family point of view, there is not much facilities for children.However his site seems to attract more couples for whatever reason. Maybe because geared up for walkers. Great dog walk too around the site as surrounded by woods.

Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lrr77 14 reviews from this member

This campsite has a lovely location a few miles from Glen Coe. We are members of the Club and did not book in advance and managed to get a pitch. We chose a night spot and the camp site was very quiet all the time we were there.

The shower block was great and the showers were very good. I was disappointed that having paid 20 to camp there they charged to use the hair-drier and iron - surely should be part of your pitch price?

We wanted to use the tumble dryer to dry our towels before moving onto another site but there was only one and it was in constant use!

The location of the camp site is nice and its right near a visitor centre with a few small walks nearby. The site shop held some basic items but there was a larger shop in Glen Coe if required.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Almaz 37 reviews from this member

I'd have loved to have been on this site when the rain wasn't pouring down. I know Glencoe area from previous visits and know this setting is great - but we couldn't see it for the rain! Not their fault of course.

Plus points - friendly staff, large pitches, clean facilities and despite all the rain the site did seem to be coping well with the water.

Glencoe village is a mile away and has a decent little supermarket but the the nearest bar not being renovated is probably nearer 2 miles at the moment.

If you're into walking mountains, this is the 'peak' of British surroundings.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Evie34 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site with granchildren while we toured round Scotland and found it most enjoyable. The toilets were spotless and scenery gorgeous.

There was of course the midges but they did not spoil a fantastic couple of days.

We enjoyed walking with the dogs and reminiscing (met my husband many years ago quite near here)

We had all our food with us so I'm not sure what the local area is like for shopping, We would return if we were in this area again.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sam1503jack 7 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful site with great scenery. Only word of warning is the pitches on the same side as reception were noisy due to the road traffic and the midgies are also a nightmare. Plenty of great walks around the campsite and extremely dog friendly. There is a local spar, post office and takeaway in Glencoe Village and a pub approx 2 miles in each direction that serve great food and also dog friendly. It appears the only pub in Glencoe is shut at the moment for renovation. The camp owners are friendly and there is a small (I mean small) stock of groceries available. There are washing and drying facilities but due to the size of the campsite it was often very busy as only one of each machine. We would definitely go back as thoroughly enjoyed the holiday.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 19 to 24      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8514 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0469