Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Glencoe
Ballachulish
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH49 4LA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01855 811397

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
              9/10 from 30 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 19 to 24                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 113 reviews from this member

Early enough to beat the midges on this visit. Can't beat this site for tremendous views of the surrounding peaks. Super toilet block - clean and modern. Our minor quibble before was that it was like camping in a car park as there's no grass between the motorhome /caravan pitches. However, this is being rectified by the raised planters (?) subdividing some of the expanses of gravel.
The large flat area of grass for tents has covered picnic tables - can be useful in wet Argyllshire weather. Good dog walks off site, but bring a tick hook during the summer and check your human companion too.
Next door to the National Trust for Scotland visitor centre, worth a visit.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Megolodon 17 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have visited this site and love it. The views are stunning all around the camp site.

Toilet and shower's are spotless and large. Staff were helpful and friendly.

10 min's away from Glencoe Village and 2 min's walk to the visitor centre.

You will need rock pegs as some parts of the ground is very hard. Pitches are large and site is quiet (apart from the traffic on the road which is quite close - at night it is very quiet). Great views of the Milky Way on a clear night - fantastic.

Beware - MIDGES! lol.

If you want somewhere clean, tidy, close to ferries and Glencoe - this place is PERFECT.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Spodgey 7 reviews from this member

Mediocre campsite.

We paid 26 for a four-person motorhome + electric. The site is very basic and unappealing.

The showers, however, are FANTASTIC. Code needed for the door for security but they are of 4* hotel standard.

Though this campsite was fine, personally I would stop at a campsite nearby, which was better organised, with better views, instead.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jasper15 8 reviews from this member

This site is a gem,that not a lot of people seam to use. We just came back August Bank holiday, spent 5 days there. The space between pitches not less than 6 meters, with loads of space for tents the facilities are great really clean, shops is good, the local shops a bit expensive, the cheapest is the co-op in Ballachulish village, the dog walks are great, site close to the Glencoe visitors. The Views are just breathtaking. We will be going back even the midges didn't put us off and there were load of them.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 113 reviews from this member

Stayed one night as part of a long west coast trip. Were put on what looked like a former car park, a large area of hardstanding. Excellent toilet block / facilities. Fabulous views looking up to the peaks, but low level views enclosed by forestry and hills. Voracious midges, as we'd expected (the price we pay for the scenery)- but we use Avon Skin So Soft moisturiser spray like the SAS and the Forestry people: re-apply every hour. Good dog walk in the hills surrounding the site.

The next-door visitor centre is worth a visit - there's more to Glencoe than the Massacre, but that sad history gives the place its unique atmosphere, we feel. The building architecture is interesting, and replaces an earlier building on a much more visible site.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gordon 8 reviews from this member

Well what can we say, a brilliant site in the middle of nowhere, but just a mile or two down the down you will find shops etc, the site is very clean. Must be one of the best shower blocks I have seen in years. The managers are very helpful. The site seemed a little boggy in places, the road around site very smooth, close by a main road but you cannot hear it or see it at all, and a visitor centre just outside the gate. We were on a hardstanding which did't bother us, when it rains here it rains, when its misty its bad, but when the sun shines its fantastic. We had a bit of everything rain, mist and sun, but when the site is as pretty as this who cares what the weather is like. We will be back.

Previous     30 Review in total, now showing 19 to 24      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


563 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0449