Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 241 Reviews
              9/10 from 241 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  241 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joaniebiker 2 reviews from this member

Great site booked originally for 4 nights and ended up staying for 14!

Pitches are attractive with lovely planting between them and across the site.

Great location with beautiful beach 15 mins walk away across a field and sand dunes. Sunset surf cafe near beach does a great breakfast and the pub is handy being just across the road. Easy access to coastal path and some great walks in area

Showers clean and not too busy even though the site was full due to the glorious weather.

Good location for site seeing as near to A30 so access to west Cornwall is easy.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Outside in 1 review from this member

What a fantastic site, this being our first visit we found the site owners to be very helpful and friendly, checking the weeks weather forecast on our arrival. Showers/toilet block were very clean as were the washing up sinks, with hot water on demand for both. The pitches are of a good size we had a 8 man tunnel with porch and still had plenty of room for the car and trailer, the hedges that divide the pitches provide a nice area to sit/dine outside. The on site shop covers the basics and most mornings a local baker sells fresh pastries on site, a chip van visits some evenings. There are several freezers for ice pack freezing which are free of charge. The middle of the campsite is left open for ball games, running around and there is a small enclosed area with a table tennis table, sand pit and guinea pigs

The beach is only 10 minutes away with access to the path from the top end of the campsite. The pub across the road from the campsite is recommended by the owners and we can see why, you need to book a table so we took advantage of the free on site Wi-Fi to do this via email and to explain our dietary requirements, the pub could not have been more accommodating to our needs. The bus stops outside the site entrance for Newquay and outside the pub for St Ives. This is a site we will definitely be returning to.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pepe la Pew 4 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. Eight of us stayed the week after half term and the site was fairly quiet. The owners were great and couldn't do enough to help. And there is no rush to pack up in the quieter periods.

The toilets are clean and the showers hot with no queues. The site was spotless and it was in a fantastic position, 10 minutes walk from a fabulous beach. We were lucky enough to watch the dolphins playing right in front of us.

There were good bus links from right outside the site to St Ives and Penzance and you can get a train from the local station to practically anywhere in Devon and Cornwall.

You could hire wetsuits and bodyboards from the little on site shop for a very reasonable daily rate. A fish and chip van visited a couple of times a week, along with a fresh fish van. The Red River Inn across the road holds a quiz and curry night on Wednesdays and we won 120.00!

The only very small down point was the only toilet block was a bit of a walk from the top of the field. Okay for us because we didn't have any children with us and we had fabulous weather all week, but I imagine it would seem a lot further if it was raining.

Can't rate this site highly enough. If you are thinking of going to Cornwall, you must try it!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Renticular 4 reviews from this member

Spent a week on this site and walked onto Gwithians beach each day and off in car to Hayle and surrounding towns.

Nicely laid out site, very friendly and open looking as you come off the road,

At night its well lit, the toilet block spotless and modern, shop well stocked the staff and owners helpful with local advice.

I just wrote a review for the site we stopped of at on our way home, where almost every aspect of your stay was almost dictated by signage and dire warnings,

Gwithian Farm however (like the better sites it would seem) treat customers like grown-ups and they respond by not having wild parties in the middle of the night & celebratory gunfire

Would go again but for longer next time, loved it

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonford 19 reviews from this member

Stayed here again for 2 nights (first stay was May 2012). Great campsite - one of our favourites. Lovely walk to Gwithian beach to watch the sunset or surfers. Great pitches with fantastic shower block and washing area. Great location for bus or train to St Ives.

Fish n Chip van comes around on a Sunday offering Very nice food. Also good pitches for BBQs - nice and level. Good selection of hardstanding and grass

Very friendly warden/owner. Will deff return next year

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HappyBears 3 reviews from this member

Booked in for 2 nights without a hook up in a tent. Due to the very windy weather the owners said we could pick a pitch providing it wasn't already booked.

It is a lovely little campsite, all the pitches including the tent pitches are divided by lovely flower/grass beds to give you some privacy. And the site is situated close to the beach one of which is dog friendly all year round.

The toilet block was clean with facilities to clean your wet suit, the shop well stocked and you can hire wetsuits and boards.

The staff are very helpful and friendly. Even check the windspeed and direction for you.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonbott 2 reviews from this member

Just spent a glorious weekend here, lovely site, excellent showers, clean and tidy site

Very close to Gwithian beach and the dunes, which the dogs loved

Friendly owners, close to the local pub, nearest shop is Hayle about 10mins away or you could stroll across the beach for a scenic walk

Local bus passes the end of the campsite which takes you to StIves, which is a good idea as it gets busy there in Summer and parking is a issue!

We will be back!

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Westcountrymaid 4 reviews from this member

Our first break of the season was to Gwithian Farm Campsite are reading reviews here.

First impressions were very good. Lovely landscaping and a warm welcome from the owners. We had booked for 4 nights but were only going to stay for 3 but wanted to leave late on the last day. The owner said that as they weren't full and as we weren't staying overnight, she would only charge us for 3 nights an we could leave as late as we liked.

We were offered a choice of pitches and chose a huge plot on the right hand side. This was behind a hedge which helped with the wind.

The site is immaculate with a shower/toilet block that was huge and looked like new.

There is a well stocked shop, small playground and washing up facilities too.

The site is situated right in the village, literally opposite the village pub. There was a beer festival on over Easter which was great if you wanted to attend but perhaps not so good, if you were pitched in the lower part of the campsite as it was a little noisy.

The campsite is great for dogs with endless walks directly from the site. You can walk to the beach in 10 minutes.

We really liked it here and we will return, hopefully when the weather is a bit warmer. It is a great spot for touring the West of Cornwall and is just minutes off of the A30.

The only reason it didn't get full marks is because the shower block isn't heated and it was a cold Easter - brrr.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: 2pateys 3 reviews from this member

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The site was large but divided into sections making it feel friendly. Owners extremely friendly and helpful. The toilet block was large and very clean. Plenty of hot water and never crowded even though the site was quite busy. Pub across the road was amazing. Needs to be booked though and dogs are made welcome. Bus stop at the gate making it easy to get to St Ives, Hayle etc. The dunes and the beach were heaven to our dog. Would come back any time.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chelsea girl 56 reviews from this member

Arrived on a Sunday in late September to find the site heaving. We hadn't booked but was told a week earlier that we would have no problems getting in but we were very surprised to see how busy it was. Owner said they had a surge on late bookings because of the lovely sunny weather.

Site easy to find, rather a sharp left hand turn into the campsite. We found it difficult to park outside reception in our motorhome as there were about 4-5 cars randomly parked there (with no owners or caravans) so space was a bit tight. Booked in and given a choice of pitches, only a few grass pitches remained. We found a lovely pitch surrounded by shrubs and quite sheltered - probably one of the best things about this site is the thought gone into the pitches and planting as you are not pitched in boring rows and some pitches do give a great deal of privacy.

A lot of the grass pitches at the top of the site are a long walk from the shower block, luckily our walk wasn't too bad but I would have hated being up the top. There is a slight slope up to these pitches.

Showers/loos - ample space in both shower cubicles and toilet cubicles. Shower block is modern with free hairdryers, they were not the cleanest I have ever been in (there was a dirt ring around a sink tap that remained there for the duration of our stay) but were adequate. The most annoying thing with the showers was there was no shower curtain and the gap between the shower & the drying area in the cubicle was quite wide so everything in the drying area got soaking wet (husband found this also a problem) Also the shower head was quite high and only the outer spouts of the shower head were producing water so I was stood under the shower head with no water coming out the middle of it and all the water spraying around, really frustrating.

We didn't try the pub opposite but it looked popular with campers and really handy as only a very short walk. Chip shop van called and they were delicious. You must try Philps pasties in Hayle.

Motorhome owners - be careful of parking down at the Godrevy lighthouse car park, the National Trust wanted 7 to park our van (which we refused). Plenty of other free car parks around on the Portreath road if you want access to the coastal path.

To sum up - nice little site and we can see why it is so popular. This site is much better than the CC site down the road, handy for the pub & beach and for visiting St Ives, Penzance and most of West Cornwall. We would return if shower curtains installed!

Previous     241 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth 225! Win a Coolbox Cool n Store Package worth over 235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 9 - 11th June
Kent - Hundreds of traders and dealers and weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5570 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.3047