Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 245 Reviews
              9/10 from 245 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  245 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MCavan75 20 reviews from this member

We spent a week here in August and while we had a great time there were a few reasons why we probably would not return. Firstly the positives -and there are many as endless reviews confirm. The location cannot be beaten - a gorgeous walk across a field, over sand dunes and you arrive at a breathtakingly beautiful beach. The site is really nicely landscaped and this creates privacy to the pitches. This area of Cornwall is stunning and the site is a great base from which to explore. However we just didn't find a it a very friendly site - the owners cannot be held responsible for this but fellow campers/caravanners just didn't smile or seem to want to engage in chat. We spent the previous week at a site where we met so many lovely people. My husband and I couldn't put our finger on why gwithian felt so different but it did. Unfortunately the shower block was not always that clean - old plasters and hairs were regular features and the etiquette of using a mop after showering didn't seem to exist. There was always a queue for the shower, no matter when you went with lots of teenagers who seemed to take ages in the showers. Despite these negative comments I can understand why people would return each year - for those who love spending their days on the beach with their body or surf boards I am sure the site cannot be beaten. I also think the site is more suited to those with older children, although there is a small area with guinea pigs and a sandpit this was not enough to hold our children's interest for long, this made it much harder to meet other children as there was no other communal area. So at the risk of sounding like a real grump, I do think this is a lovely site but just might suit some families more than others!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: And4maz 1 review from this member

We first visited this site about 6 years ago and have returned every year because it is such a lovely site in a great location. The owners are so friendly and obviously love their site.

It's very well looked after with lots of shrubbery between pitches, the pitches are well positioned and of a good size. There is also room for ball games and we appreciate the 9 pm curfew for ball games as it helps with getting our little one to bed.

The shower block is always clean and I rarely had to queue although my wife and daughters would plan there showers to avoid the busier times. There are family bath and shower rooms and a good washing up area.

A bonus is that the shop is well stocked and well priced, in fact we found it to be cheaper for some things than the shops in Hayle.

With just a 15 min walk to the beach the site is very well situated, we love this stretch of sand it never feels busy and has surf rock pools and golden sand.

We have booked again for may and July next year and we can't wait! Thank you.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debsannison 1 review from this member

Well what can I say ! Just spent a fabulous 2 weeks at Gwithian Farm with ny husband and 12 year old son.

As we drove over the brow of the hill on arrival the view of St ives bay was absolutely stunning. Gwithian village nestles in a natural dip just behind the most wonderful stretch of fine sandy beach and dunes. The quaint church and local pub directly opposite Gwithian farm.

The site itself is lovely, the thoughtful planning and plantings make the pitches feel nice and private. The large toilet / shower block was always clean and tidy and if you timed it right, no queues. Could probably benefit from another block at the top of the site, but wasn't a problem for us at all.

A 10 minute amble from the top gate over Telly tubby hill (as we christened it) down the winding road to Gwithian beach is an absolute pleasure, and something we did every day to enjoy the fantastic bodyboarding there. The Sunset Surf cafe offers lovely food and drinks and is also a surf shop selling all things surf related. There is also a large carpark right next to the beach.

We took a lovely walk over the dunes to Godrevy lighthouse where there are seals apparently, although we didn't see any. The scenery is simply breathtaking.

The site is perfectly placed for sightseeing/shopping with Camborne and Hayle just a few miles away, there's an Aldi in Camborne and a Lidl in Hayle. St Ives just around the Bay, but do get the park and ride its a lovely train journey along the coastal track and would be far too stressful trying to get a parking space in the town.

We have spent many happy holidays in Cornwall over the years and have never stayed at the same site twice. After staying at Gwithian I can honestly say that we don't need to go anywhere else, its got it all. Will be back again and again. Brilliant !

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chappers2341 11 reviews from this member

Have stayed at gwitthian farm many times in the past but this was our first visit for a few years.

The site has matured nicely with planting between the generally flat pitches to break the site up a little.

The owners are as welcoming as ever and don't seem to have lost any of the enthusiasm they have for the site.

The showers as ever are spotless with plenty of hot water and never any queues, with washing up and family bathrooms around the back. The shop is well stocked with grocery essentials as well as camping and beach supplies.

There are free freezers to freeze your ice packs but I would bring plenty as it takes a good couple of days to freeze them, what with everyone opening and closing the freezers and putting in their unfrozen packs. We just used ice, which is also sold in the shop.

Across the road is the excellent Red River Inn and also right outside is the bus stop.

The site is a short walk over the dunes to both a dog friendly and non dog beach and the SW coastpath.

Would we stay here again? Yes in fact we never stay anywhere else in Cornwall.

Thanks again for another wonderful stay

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joaniebiker 2 reviews from this member

Great site booked originally for 4 nights and ended up staying for 14!

Pitches are attractive with lovely planting between them and across the site.

Great location with beautiful beach 15 mins walk away across a field and sand dunes. Sunset surf cafe near beach does a great breakfast and the pub is handy being just across the road. Easy access to coastal path and some great walks in area

Showers clean and not too busy even though the site was full due to the glorious weather.

Good location for site seeing as near to A30 so access to west Cornwall is easy.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Outside in 1 review from this member

What a fantastic site, this being our first visit we found the site owners to be very helpful and friendly, checking the weeks weather forecast on our arrival. Showers/toilet block were very clean as were the washing up sinks, with hot water on demand for both. The pitches are of a good size we had a 8 man tunnel with porch and still had plenty of room for the car and trailer, the hedges that divide the pitches provide a nice area to sit/dine outside. The on site shop covers the basics and most mornings a local baker sells fresh pastries on site, a chip van visits some evenings. There are several freezers for ice pack freezing which are free of charge. The middle of the campsite is left open for ball games, running around and there is a small enclosed area with a table tennis table, sand pit and guinea pigs

The beach is only 10 minutes away with access to the path from the top end of the campsite. The pub across the road from the campsite is recommended by the owners and we can see why, you need to book a table so we took advantage of the free on site Wi-Fi to do this via email and to explain our dietary requirements, the pub could not have been more accommodating to our needs. The bus stops outside the site entrance for Newquay and outside the pub for St Ives. This is a site we will definitely be returning to.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pepe la Pew 4 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. Eight of us stayed the week after half term and the site was fairly quiet. The owners were great and couldn't do enough to help. And there is no rush to pack up in the quieter periods.

The toilets are clean and the showers hot with no queues. The site was spotless and it was in a fantastic position, 10 minutes walk from a fabulous beach. We were lucky enough to watch the dolphins playing right in front of us.

There were good bus links from right outside the site to St Ives and Penzance and you can get a train from the local station to practically anywhere in Devon and Cornwall.

You could hire wetsuits and bodyboards from the little on site shop for a very reasonable daily rate. A fish and chip van visited a couple of times a week, along with a fresh fish van. The Red River Inn across the road holds a quiz and curry night on Wednesdays and we won 120.00!

The only very small down point was the only toilet block was a bit of a walk from the top of the field. Okay for us because we didn't have any children with us and we had fabulous weather all week, but I imagine it would seem a lot further if it was raining.

Can't rate this site highly enough. If you are thinking of going to Cornwall, you must try it!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Renticular 4 reviews from this member

Spent a week on this site and walked onto Gwithians beach each day and off in car to Hayle and surrounding towns.

Nicely laid out site, very friendly and open looking as you come off the road,

At night its well lit, the toilet block spotless and modern, shop well stocked the staff and owners helpful with local advice.

I just wrote a review for the site we stopped of at on our way home, where almost every aspect of your stay was almost dictated by signage and dire warnings,

Gwithian Farm however (like the better sites it would seem) treat customers like grown-ups and they respond by not having wild parties in the middle of the night & celebratory gunfire

Would go again but for longer next time, loved it

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonford 19 reviews from this member

Stayed here again for 2 nights (first stay was May 2012). Great campsite - one of our favourites. Lovely walk to Gwithian beach to watch the sunset or surfers. Great pitches with fantastic shower block and washing area. Great location for bus or train to St Ives.

Fish n Chip van comes around on a Sunday offering Very nice food. Also good pitches for BBQs - nice and level. Good selection of hardstanding and grass

Very friendly warden/owner. Will deff return next year

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HappyBears 3 reviews from this member

Booked in for 2 nights without a hook up in a tent. Due to the very windy weather the owners said we could pick a pitch providing it wasn't already booked.

It is a lovely little campsite, all the pitches including the tent pitches are divided by lovely flower/grass beds to give you some privacy. And the site is situated close to the beach one of which is dog friendly all year round.

The toilet block was clean with facilities to clean your wet suit, the shop well stocked and you can hire wetsuits and boards.

The staff are very helpful and friendly. Even check the windspeed and direction for you.

Previous     245 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5670 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1328
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec