Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Teign Valley Barley Meadow Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Teign Valley Barley Meadow Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Crockernwell
Dartmoor
Exeter
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 6NR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 024 7767 0642

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m 1m  5m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 63
Open: 13 March To 03 November 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 39 Reviews
              8/10 from 39 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 25 to 30                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Claire1965 18 reviews from this member

By far one of the best camp sites that we have been to. The showers and toilets one of the very best. If you want club rooms and pubs dont go, this is a lovely peaceful site and the owners are proberby the best we have met.

We booked to stay for one night, on the way to cornwall but liked it so much decided to stay on an extra night. This site is a perfect stop over just 15 mins from the M5 at exeter and right next to the A30.

Would recommed this site to anyone.

A visit to FINGLE BRIDGE is a must a lovely pub serving good value meals in an area to die for.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jeks 1 review from this member

What a wonderful site. It may be small in size but it more than makes up for that in the high standards of service, facilities, warmth and generosity from Paul and Cath the owners. This is customer service that is second to none. Paul, I think, is Superman in disguise! He never stops. Nothing is too much trouble. You are never made to feel uncomfortable in asking for things.

The site is clean and the pitch sizes are generous. The showers and toilet block are spotless with wonderful hot powerful showers. Bliss. The camp has a lovely homely feel and everyone there is friendly and chatty during their stay.

The morning croissants - wow and yum. The fire pits - superb. The pub in Drewsteignton the Drewe Arms - fantastic meal with great character. The surrounding area is wonderful. Make a visit to Belstone, theres a walk through the back of the village that takes you onto Dartmoor and is amazing.

One word of advice though, take ear plugs as if your pitch is on the boundary of the park on the road side and you are in a tent you are at risk of losing lots of sleep. The cars, and motorcyclists especially, race back and forth up the road. This is something that is not a reflection on the park as it's not their fault. We took ear plugs and had a fantastic stay.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hillstgas 6 reviews from this member

Just got back from spending a lovely weekend at Barley Meadow, Paul one of the owners, could not do enough for us, our power cable was too short, off he went with a smile on his face which he didn't lose all weekend, and came back with one of his own for us to use.

The site is very nicely set out all pitches are large enough to put your car next to your tent, very, showers always clean and tidy, if you want to chill out at a very good site then this is the one for you, and to top it off fresh baked pastries in the morning which went down a treat.

Overall a top site friendly owners lovely setting a lovely pub a mile or so down the road The Mulberry, can't praise it high enough.

Well done Paul keep up the excellent work

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hall68 9 reviews from this member

We stayed at Barley Meadow over the May Bank Holiday weekend and thought it was a really nice site. The owners are very friendly and helpful and they have a shop on site which stocks basic foods as well as local produce. The toilet block and showers are kept nice and clean. There are only 2 showers but there never seemed to be a queue for them. The kids enjoyed the small games room and play area. We had a pitch at the back of the site under the trees which kept it sheltered from the terrible weather we had (wind and rain). All the pitches on the site are a good size and level and there is room for your car next to your tent. The small touches made by the owners at this site make all the difference such as being able to order croissants and coffee for the morning and the hire of firepits for the evenings. We unfortunately had to leave the site a night early due to bad weather but we will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shaz4 3 reviews from this member

We have just come back from Barley Meadow with our friends and it was one of the best sites we have visited in the four years we have camped. The toilets are very clean and loads of hot water, small but comfortable, I never had to queue for a shower

It's a small site but really friendly and peaceful the grounds are immaculate and the owners are really friendly and helpful always around if you need to ask anything or buy from the shop. Lots of recycling facilites, A small games room (which we wern't sure about) having 3 children aged between 11 and 14 but they were entertain at the park and made friends easily.

You are allowed open fires and we hired one of their fire pits at £5 a night and logs at £4.50 a sack, it was lovely as we usually just burn a log in our bbq. We will keep this site in mind for the future as we didnt have long enough to visit all the walks we had planned out it was a pleasure and a wonderful weekend well done Barley Meadow keep up the good work.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marshams 6 reviews from this member

A lovely site with excellent customer service. Toilet and Shower Facilities exceptionally clean and of a high quality. Fully equipped laundry room which also has a freezer for all campers to use. Games room has pool table, table football and books etc, there is also a playground. Enthusiastic owners with good local knowledge. Shop in reception stocks basics and the pre-ordered freshly baked croissants are a nice treat for breakfast! Pub and Shop in next village - Cheriton Bishop.
Chagford is worth a visit, lovely chocolate box village with local shops and a variety of places to eat. Nearest main town is Okehampton about 7 miles away, has Waitrose and Somerfield Supermarket if you need some supplies. Ideally placed for walking in Dartmoor. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this site.

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 25 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


472 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1113